week 34

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 A day ends beautifully

I’m on a low budget for photo gear these days. I’m always looking for a bargain as it’s the only way I can add to my collection. I found a good looking Nikkor AF-d 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6D Lens ending on eBay and got it at the last minute for $45.01.  The lens came this Friday and it looks brand new. The kid with a new toy had to go try it out right away. I took a ride to City Island and shot a few as the sun was getting low in the sky. BTW that’s the Throggs Neck Bridge in the background which connects the Bronx with Long Island.

Yes a nice end to a day, Beautiful sky to shoot with a good lens at super price.

Nikon D200  AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6D IF  Shot at 28 mm 1/250 sec, f/10, ISO 400, Compensation: -2/3

  

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

The same venue as my texture photo – a nice restaurant with the night view.  On the way there, I saw a wonderful (to my taste) composition with night sky and roof top structure of the adjacent building.

Again so many thanks for the comments to my photo last week.  I truly appreciate it and I know I must do the same every week, but it was so hectic for the past and coming few weeks, so please do forgive me.

D700, 24mm, f/1.4, 1/50s. ISO1100 (AUTO)

 

 Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Euphorbia forest

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

The weather was closing in around us as we drove to Lizard Point in the southwest of England. The coast is very dramatic and while I was setting up the shot, one of the locals inserted himself. As he set himself up, I took the shot and got what I consider a good landscape shot with a little something extra.

D300s 14 bit, 35 – 70mm f2.8 Nikor, 35mm, f11, 1/400 sec, ISO 200

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Lake Champlain Sunset

 

 

 

Peggy Grissom – Tupelo, Mississippi

Discovered this area just off the Natchez Trace Parkway.  I am a sucker for water lilies.  I loved the brown pods, I didn’t know those came from water lilies, until I saw these.
Hope you like them.

Nikon D5000, 135mm, F/6.3, 1/800s, ISO200

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Just some things that came up “volunteer” in my garden (Mushrooms).

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/500 sec., 105mm macro len

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

one of Upstate, NY,  The lake photo were taken with a point and shoot Nikon;

Sorry to have missed last week,

Gladys

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

No bug pictures from me this week !  I am trying to expand my horizons and venture out of the bug world.

This photo was taken this past Sunday.  I went to what is called “City Park”.  They have many lagoons and if  your timing is right  you can find different birds.

Unfortunately, I was there in the middle of day , not exactly the best light, but you go when you can  and do the best you can, right.

This Mallard Hen was sitting on the log and I was watching her.  She

looked up to the sky and the light was hitting her face just so.   I

wish I had been able to get higher elevation to focus down on the eye, but no way to do so nor did I think of it.

I felt like she was saying what I was thinking –  Please let me get this right!

D300   70-300mm VR  at 210mm   ISO 200 Shutter  1/800  Aperture 5.3

Shutter Priority Mode

 

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 Here it is rather windy and wet. Autumn, winter mood beginning to take over and the other day,

When walking along the coast even discovered that the ice-cream booth had closed for the season.

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Although it’s spring here ‘Down Under’ at home, we are still lighting out wood fired heater most nights so I’m still carting up firewood from the bottom of the garden up to the house.

I was loading the wood box the other day when the bark peeled off a small fire log and revealed this male European Wasp.  Although these are feral / pests / introduced species in Australia, I’m fascinated by the wild yellow hornet like colouration of the European Wasp’s bodies.

Captured with Nikon D700 + Kiron 105mm microlens @ f/22 – this is a 1:1 magnification with a 50% frame crop.

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I too loved all the texture pics. Thanks for the nice comments on last weeks picture. This is another pic from the gardens on Sat. The water lilies there are so beautiful in color. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8 AF ED, 300mm, 1/160 sec, F2.8, ISO 500

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
A granite statue of a Samurai in Japanese Gardens of Buenos Aires by artist Baku Inoue. Its the first of a trio o sculpures to be installed there. A Hime and a Shogun will follow.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 @200 mm – 1/100 – ISO 200 – f 5.6

 

 

 Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi everyone. Loved all the texture photos and the very different ways of showing texture.
My photo today is from my father’s property. I came across some rubbish from many decades ago.
Anyone for sewing

D90 Tamron 17-50mm lens at 50mm  1/60sec @ F6.3 ISO200

 

 Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

I thought I would break away from the landscapes and show you what I do in retirement.  I coach golf.  Actually I drive the ‘bus’, wipe away the tears, cheer the girls on and make sure they are drinking enough water.  It’s a great job and I thoroughly enjoy it.  This shot could have been last Friday when we tied the #1 team in the state for 1st place in a tournament.  The two girls without medals had given their medals to the kids who didn’t get selected to play that day by their coach (me).  Sportsmanship is special to me and my girls know what is ‘correct’ and ‘right’ when it comes to behavior and treating others with respect.  Needless to say, I’m very proud of my Young Ladies.  The older-young lady, second from the right, is my assistant.  Mary Jo is a Great Lady and a Good Friend!

It is absolutely beautiful here today.  A far cry from the rain we got last Thursday.  2.5 inches in an hour and a half.  This was the heaviest rainfall since the 1800s.

I hope you all have a wonderful week and the weather treats you well.

Gej

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Did not shoot this week.  These shots are from the 12 Sep 2010 EDFL Grand Final week end.  Action and reaction.

The little big man flew high to take this mark and then kicked the goal put the grand final beyond doubt.

Nikon D300, Nikkor 70-200 VRII, 70 mm @ 1/640 sec @ f/4 and ISO 200 (AP, UV filter).

 

 His team mates celebrated the goal.  The little big man was voted best player by the EDFL adjudicators.

Nikon D300, Nikkor 70-200 VRII, 160 mm @ 1/801 sec @ f/4 and ISO 200 (AP, UV filter).

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello people!

Busy week we have. Textures, plenty of interesting photos. I’ll try to comment both themes on weekend. The weather forecast tells about rain on Saturday, so there will be time. 🙂 OK, about the photo: ” And, now, for something completely different, it’s…. Zsofia!”. 😀 Last weekend I had an opportunity to photograph models in abandoned building.

As you that are not new to this group know, I usually don’t photograph people.

Since we was invited by our Hungarian friends to join them on this session, I’ve decided to try it. Now, I have classic portraits,plenty of them.

But I’ve decided to try this shot with wide angle. I’ve asked the model to spin the umbrella and had a little longer exposure. I kind of like it, I know it could be done much better, but this is the best that I could do at that time. Shot with Nikon D80, Sigma 10-20@10mm, f6.3, exp 1.6 sec, ISO 100. I’ve used flash bounced of the ceiling.

Processing in NX2, cropped and desaturated everything but the model. I hope you all had time to read all this. 🙂

Greeting Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Shot during Ramadan month in Kuwait, praying time after breaking the fasting. Temperatures over 50C (we’ve got a +57 one day) and no water all day long doesn’t go well together, a bit excessive I’d say.

Congratulations to everyone for a great Texture special edition, really nice work everyone and interesting different visions of the subject. It proved impossible for me to find a matching photo so I skipped this time.

Shot with Nikon F6, 35mm F/2 Distagon ZF, Kodak TRI X 400

Best Regards

Bogdan

 

 Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas

 I decided to submit this itty bitty crab spider instead of another butterfly photo for this week. I wasn’t thrilled with the exposure, but thrilled I got focus on it’s eye. It’s TINY and hard to see. The whole spider is about .4″ or 1cm. Shot with Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm/Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/180, f/13, ISO 250. Larger version can be seen here:

http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/p174132935/h2503bfba#h2da87484

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

thank you to everybody, who commented on my photo last week, I really appreciate it. My photo this week is from our recent steam train trip, I thought the driver’s hand provided a good contrast to the mechanical parts of the steam engine.

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/2.8, 1/200s

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing your photos.

Jana

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Close-up of Shimano Dura-Ace 7800 caliper brakes – road bike. I swap to new parts on my bike as needed and these were added almost two years ago.  Last week I had a new 7900 rear derailleur installed to replace my worn out, 8-year-old derailleur.  Maybe my photo for next week? I figured a nice photo of the hard working brakes deserved a shot for the spot this week. Nice bikes cost as much as good cars to maintain.

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 lens, 40mm, ISO 400, -2/3 EC, 1/125, f/4.5

Keep the rubber side down!

-Ken Papai

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

My dear friends, thanks a lot for your unbeatable comments to my photo last week. I appreciated. A boat driver cleans his boat early in the morning. This is a candid shoot with manual focus. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 

 Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world 

 Tornado hits Queens NY – Gladys Millman

one of the tornado (yes, an actual tornado!) that touched down in front of my brother’s house last week and tore a tree we have loved our whole lives in half.  That is the lamppost dangling off of the side of the car

Gladys

 

Spring coming to South America – Alejandro Held

 
Yesterday Spring arrived to Buenos Aires. To celebrate this Kenzo, the perfume maker, presented an installation in San Martin Square with the famous red poppies.

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4 – 1/8000 – ISO 200 – f 1.8

 

 And for a 3rd

What Roberta ran into – Roberta Davidson

If you can use this as bonus will help explain why I am trying something other than macro bugs.

The below is one of the reasons I am trying things other than macro.  The bug shots in my yard are getting very scarce so I found a new spot on the edge of the swamp less than a mile away.I was crouched down looking for bugs  ( swamp has very interesting  bugs) when I saw this egret.   The egret did not see me since I was  crouched behind the high grass. I got a few shots of the bird,  when I noticed it looking a few feet  to my left.   I glanced over, almost had a heart attach when I saw  this water moccasin about 4 ‘ long less than 5 ‘ away from me.It was looking at me flicking it’s tongue.  For those who do not know the water moccasin is a highly venomous , aggressive in the wild , snake. I slowly got up and backed away and make this shot.   Notice I did not really take time to focus.   Needless to say, I’ll not be going back anytime soon

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

