Week 35

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Lets go wide

Nothing like shooting with a really wide lens to change the perspective of a photo. I have been saving up for a long time to get a ultra wide lens. I got another good bargain for a Nikon 12-24 DX zoom.  Ebay if your careful can be a great place.  This one was  in excellent condition and came with a B&W UV for $425.00.  So like last week it is off to play with the new toy.  Probably the last one I’m getting for a while.This time it was up into Westchester to the Rye Beach Pier.  The day was very hazy but the results came out better than I expected. Now I need to get a 77mm polarizer.

Nikon D300     AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED  at 12mm

Program AE, 1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 320  September 22, 2010   5:24:55PM

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 Two gourds at the Desert Botanical

 

  

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 New Hindu Temple in Flowood, Mississippi.  More documentary or photojournalism than fine art, I was more interested in this unique local subject than composition (plus, I’m not comfortable trampling around private property with my camera).

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/500 sec., 24mm.

 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 What great photo’s last week. Thank for the comments. This weekend I was with my Photo club at our yearly trip to a place (different each yearJ) we hope will give us a lot of great scenes. I went for landscapes and here is one of them. The bridge in the background is a suspension bridge with the worlds third longest main span, 1,6 km (1 mile) between the top of the pylons, it connects the two largest islands in DK. What you can see is only part of it, he bridge is 17 km long. On this photo you can see 7 km. The island to the right connects the suspension bridge with a 10 km beam bridge.

Looking forward to see your photos.

Jens

 Larger photo at fotomedia.dk/WednesdayMail/

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello folks!

I hope you’re well and the light is serving you well, all over the world.

Last couple of weeks the weather is not friend of my photography. It’s nice and warm during the week, and it’s ugly and rainy during the weekend. So, this Sunday I’ve decided to try some still life, inspired by painters… I know it’s no masterpiece, but I wanted to see if I could produce something that could look like painting. I didn’t want to simulate painting, I just wanted to create something similar. So, I present, apples, grapes and nuts in the plate. 🙂

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/Moj      blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

 Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 This week I’m revisiting my trip to San Francisco.  After having a marvelous dinner at the Presidio Social Club, my eldest daughter suggested that I take some night shots of the Golden Gate Bridge.  The fog hadn’t arrived yet or was at least high up in the sky.  We headed to the shore between San Francisco and the Golden Gate.  Using a tripod and a 30 second exposure, I captured this shot of the Golden Gate.  The lights on the Bridge made the sky above and water below glow in the easily recognized orange of the Golden Gate.

 

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
Taken last Saturday in a Buenos Aires Park. I love taking pictures about concerts and musicians
Here Paula Andrea Sadovnik, a Facebook friend of mine, playing chello. She plays in several Baroque Music groups but here is playing with Yira a Tango-Rock group

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @170 mm – f 5.6 – 1/80 – ISO 1600

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 The tarantulas at the Melbourne Museum were among the living exhibits on display over the weekend.  They were housed behind a thick layer of glass.  On average, females live 20-30 years and males 10-12 years (if well cared for and depending on species).  While not considered to be venomous, the hairs on the legs and body of tarantulas can cause allergic reactions with human skin.  So be aware.

 Camera:      Nikon D200 Lens:          AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200 mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED VR

Settings:     150 mm, 1/20 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 1600 (AP, hand held, UV filter, Spot, VR on)

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

thank you to all of you for your very kind comments on my photo last week. 

My photo today is of my son, I took him on an outing to South Bank here in Brisbane, there are some swimming pools there, plenty of restaurants and cafes, it is a very exciting place and the day was perfect. Nothing more to add. 

 Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70mm, f/2.8@ ISO 200, 1/2000s, f/2.8

 Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing your photos. 

Jana

 

 

  

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 My shot this week was inspired by Roberta. She showed me a cicada wing she shot after it had flown it’s last flight. I’ve been on the lookout and found one at the dog park the other day. I was amazed how it looked like gold metal up close. I loved Roberta’s brilliant idea and just had to try and do one too. Thanks Roberta! Shot with Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm/Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/250, f/8, Auto ISO 900.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi everyone.  Sorry for no communication from me these past few days.  Have been trying to take pictures at the Inn at Willowgrove for their web site.
Just got home.  While I was there, they held a benefit for the local animal shelter.  The Blue Traveler, a group popular in the ’90’s played.    They were GREAT!!
Willow Grove asked me to try and take a few candid shots of the band.  Putting my hearing at risk, standing in front of the speakers , got a few shots.

This is definitely something different for me.  Never shot a group in concert.      Hope you like this.   In the shot is  lead guitarist Chandler Kinchla.

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone. For all those that asked yes the sewing machine was a Singer
This weeks photo is of the alleged old Post Office at Sugarloaf near Stanthorpe in Queensland Australia.  This community is no longer and was at an old tin mining centre that in its hay day was the largest producer of tin in the world according to the local museum. It is on a property that has been in my family for 50 years and now belongs to my father. He wants to repair the old building but i told him in jest a match might be a better solution

D90 Tamron 17-50mm lens at 26mm  1/500sec @ F6.3 ISO400

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Again, thank you so much everyone for commenting on my last week photo as well as texture photo.  The texture photo was the last ditch I found at the bar with my camera on Friday night.  But I think it turned out to be a good one.  Thank you all.  Now for this week, a bit different subject.  Another hobby of mine – watch.  Got this beautiful used Seiko recently and just took a shot for the record.  May not be your cup of tea, but I just don’t believe what I can’t see, meaning that the transparent back or see-through movement is the “must” for me and that is where the beauty of watches is 🙂

D700, 85mm PC-E, manual mode, 2.0s, f/16, ISO200

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Feeding time of shepperd’s dogs somewhere in the Carpathian mountains. Although not big, they are mean dogs fighting with the bears every night.

 Shot taken with Contax G2, Zeiss 45mm F/2 lens, Kodachrome KR64

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello everyone.

The last ten days has been crazy for me. I had an unplanned construction work in the home. It was a lot of work and little time so I unfortunately missed to send photos. But it’s over and here I am, back with a new photo. This summer, local designers held a fashion show in the open. Personally I’m not interested in fashion, so I focused on portraits of models. On this occasion I made a portrait of this lovely young lady. Looking untreated photography, my first association was a jazz club. So I added the grain during processing in order to achieve the atmosphere of the jazz club. Of course, photography was previously converted into b/w.

 Some photo data: Olympus e510, oly ed 40-150@150 mm, iso 800, 1/160sec @ f/5,6.

I look forward to your photos. Until next week, regards.  Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

.

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 As many of you know, my daughter is participating in dance competitions.  Training 3-4 days a week, and competitions once a month.  The discipline is called “freestyle/discojazz” and is very popular among youngsters in Norway these days.  The contestants are dancing, leaping and running fast in very high-beat music, and the motions are fast and precise.  You have to present yourself to 5 judges, who are placed on different parts of a dance floor a bit smaller than a ishockey floor, and you have to get their immediate attention, as there are approx 15 other dancers there at the same time.  They have about 70 seconds to prove themselves worthy of going to the next rounds and semifinals, and finally there are 6 persons left for the finals.

 As you probably understand, the photographer is one proud father…. 🙂

 Nikon D300, Sigma 50-150 @ 90mm, 1/320 sec, f4, ISO3200.  Manual exposure control but with Auto ISO, so that shutter speed freezes the action and the lens is not at the softest aperture.  A bit of Neat Image noise control is added, as this image is not run through Adobe Lightroom.

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 Spring is very slow to unwind, cold stabbing winds most days make wandering the landscape for photographs more like work than pleasure so I’m resorting again to a favourite of mine from past years.  I pass this scene every Friday morning and afternoon on the way to and from work.  I love the linear nature of the raised cropping beds in this field and the way the sun plays on them at different angles depending upon what time of day it is and which part of the year.

 Taken with my D700 +  70-200mm f/2.8 VR  @70mm, f/9, 1/200th,  ISO 800

.

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 So why do you think that they call it Church Street

 

 Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 Here is a photo I took of a cousin of mine visiting NYC.  We walked all around downtown on a rainy day looking for ‘photo opps’.  He is 16 and loved having my takes photos of him all day.  I took about 112 that day, just of him!  This is one of his favorites.  I shot it with my Nikon S8000.  With this point-and-shoot, I often find turning off the flash is enough to capture the subject on a gray weather day.

 Hopefully this comes through in focus.  If not, don’t post it.  I will work it out with you first, then start posting again.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 Scene along the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway, early morning sun shining on the ends of the hay rolls, and mist rising off the waterway behine them.
 
F/8, 1/160s, 75mm, ISO200, manual. 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Nikon D2Xs, AF Nikkor 35mm f/2.0D, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/60sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67 / I used LumiQuest’s 80-20 flash diffuser.

Thanks a lot for your unbeatable comments to my photo last week. I appreciated.
I was only and alone invited photographer for Miss Suriname 2010. 18-year-old Jo-ann Jie Foeng Sang of Paramaribo was crowned as Miss Suriname 2010 at the Congress Hall in Paramaribo. She is not in this frame but visible here : http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/blog/article/33/miss-suriname-2010

Three finalists are fixing their bra’s each other. It was hard but funny night for me.

Take care and many cheers you to all. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

This is what I’ve been doing in my spare time. I’ve shot over 10,000 Volleyball pics in the last 14 days. Nikon D3, 300 2.8, 145mm, f/3.2, 1/640 ss, ISO 6400

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

A couple of years ago, my wife and I drove from San Francisco to Seattle over a 2 week period. While in Oregon, we found a state park on the coast with miles of trails. This shot is of the trail (easily seen at the center of the shot, notched into the side of the hill) in the mist coming off the ocean. In fact, the shoreline is to the right and 800 ft down the slope.

Rollei 6×6 50mm f2.8 lens, Fuji ISO 80 film, f8, 1/100 sec, scanned image

 .

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Raygun Gothic Rocketship to the moon! (via San Francisco local and group planet Earth).

Square crop from the frame – just clue, empty space at left cropped out.

Canon EOS 7D at sunrise, 9/28/2010, 50mm, ISO 200, f/9, 1/80 and infinity focus.

-Ken Papai

 

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world  

 No Snakes this week – Roberta Davidson

As most of you know , I was asked to do the photos for the Inn at Willow Grove.  As most of you also know, I don’t normally shoot anything but macro.

I did the photos last week.  It was a blast! Here is one of the first night shots of the outside of the inn all lit up –  gas lights on  and in the dark! This is truly  a gorgeous Inn .  Everything is done to the highest of standards .  The attention to detail in each room and through out the entire property is outstanding.

The is no way my pictures can ever do this place justice.

 .

Signage – Gej Jones

I’m always looking for a sign that is a little different.  This one makes me wonder what the world is coming to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

