Week 36

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The end of Summer at Coney Island

Earlier this year I did the end of winter at the beach, well here is the opposite side  It was the first really cool / cold days of the year here in NY, It got down to 49 f on Saturday night. It was up to 82 during the week and now it’s dropping below 50.  Fall is here. Time for some fall foliage shots soon.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-70mm  at 25 mm  1/320 sec, f/9, ISO 250

 

.

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
Part of an exercise with my Photographic Workshop about Light and Shadows.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24 @10 mm – 1/80 – ISO 800 – f 7.1

 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 “Making Groceries” – a long time New Orleans / Creole / Cajun colloquial expression meaning “grocery shopping,” from a loose translation of the French “faire son marché.”  (I’m sure that Roberta knows this expression.)

 Nikon D200, ISO 400, f/8, 1/125 sec., 45mm.

 

.

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 I passed by these flowers several times this week on my way to work.  Saturday was just about a perfect day, cool morning, warm day.  Took a “mini-vacation” just riding around on the four-wheeler and taking photos.  When I got to the flowers, these beautiful Gulf Fritillary’s (thanks, Jeannean) were there.  There were two of them.  This was about noon.  They stayed around for a long time, but if I move around the flower for a shot, they moved to the other side of the flower. (-:  I know I cut the tip of one wing off, I was sick when I noticed that.  Oh, well……..this way you know that it is one of MY photos! (-:
 
AF area mode – dynamic
Spot metering
300mm
F/8, 1/500s, Auto ISO – 500 (wing spread photo), 400 (side view)
 Look forward to seeing everyone’s photos!  Have a good week.

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thank you so much for all the kind comments. Alot more VB to shoot this week. The weather here in Fl. has finally cooled to the low 70s. I asked my wife if she would like to go for a walk with me in the new park close by. I told her I was going to look for something to shoot for this thread. She gladly came along. We were told there were some Owls on the one side of the park. It was getting dark and I couldn’t see anything. Then my wife heard the owl and spotted him. It got dark quick but I got one good shot. Nikon D3, 300 2.8, F 2.8, 1/200 sec., ISO 800, EC +1 step

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 This is the photo of a villa in the mountains that the french poet/writer Lamartine lived in during his stay in Lebanon.

The older home is on the left side and an addition was built on the right and at the top. The arched doorways and windows are typical of the architecture of Lebanon.  Those of you who are connected to me on facebook can see a few more photos of the region.

This is a panoramic shot stitched in CS4.  Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75

 

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Thanks everyone for the comments and suggestions on last week’s photos.   Your input helped me and continues to instruct and hopefully make me a better photographer, so please don’t ever hesitate to point out how I can do things better.

I am sorry I did not have time to comment on all your photos.  Hopefully in the next week , things will calm down and I can get some of my time back.

I have not picked up my camera for over one week.  This  has to be longest I have gone without taking a picture.  This post processing of the Inn photos is taking ALL my shooting time and more.  How do you process your pictures so quickly? I am posting a picture taken a couple of weeks ago at  City Park. was trying to practice taking bird shots , and working on things otherthan macro.    I don’t recall ever seeing a black swam before.   I hope you enjoy this picture half as much as I enjoyed watching and photographing this very graceful and  beautiful creation.  Notice the water drops falling off the beak , just can’t help myself !   I was 

waiting for him/her to feed to try and capture the drops.     Rick , I sure could have used  your new  300 f/2.8 with a teleconverter !!!

As always more of this bird can be seen at –  birdied.zenfolio.com

D300  70-300  at 300mm   f/5.6  Shutter 1/800  ISO200

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Here is another photo from the weekend with my photo club. We were in an area with a lot of well kept mansions and several of them also with a moat. They are all from a time where war was running against neighbour countries all the time so the mansions were well protected.

D700 14-24@14mm F/16 1/80s ISO 200 spot metering AFS 21 point NX2

Regards

Jens Frederiksen

www.fotomedia.dk

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody, thank you very much for your very kind comments on my photo last week.  This week I am sending a photo of my friend Jacqueline and myself, Jacqueline is a script writer and currently has 3 films in production (I am going with her to the films set on Friday, so I will see, what it is all about) and is writing another one purely for Hollywood. She asked me to photograph some models for a poster for the newest project and we did so last week and afterwards we just did few photos of us together. This is one of them, Jacqueline is the tall, dark haired lady.  Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/8 in a studio with two lights, one softbox and one umbrella, softbox being the main light, positioned high on the right hand side of the camera, umbrella the fill in light, positioned lower on the left hand side of the camera and the power reduced by 1/3 of the main light. 

Have a lovely week everybody and I look forward to seeing all your photos.   Jana

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

The weather has finally turned a little cooler (60’s in the early morning). I was out looking for bugs in my usual haunt on the canal bank and didn’t see much. Just when I said to myself, “not much around today”, I turned and spotted this Green Darner sleeping under this bush. (For those who don’t recognize it, Green Darners are some of the larger dragonflies who rarely perch. They’re usually seen flying around protecting their habitat.) I haven’t been happy with my flash lighting on dragonflies, so waited for more light so I wouldn’t have to use flash. This was taken just before sunrise. I liked the softer colors. Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm/1.4x teleconverter @ 1/350, f/8, ISO 1600.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

The candle girl at a christening last year.  This shot was taken inside a church and represented part of the christening ritual.  Because I don’t use flash the challenge for me was to make the best use of the available light. 

Camera:      Nikon D200  Lens:          AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED

Settings:     116 mm, 1/200 sec, f/2.8 and ISO 220 (Manual, hand held, UV filter, VR on)

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

This sculpture is located right next to the interstate in Burlington, Vermont and is very popular. Everyone associates arriving in Burlington with these whale tails. I spent 4 years in Burlington and never visited them but this weekend on the ride home I had the urge to so I got off and took the camera out. It was a perfect autumn day and I had a lot of fun shooting them. I simply love how they look and how out of place they seem. 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 Last Sunday I traveled a mere 1 hour from my home to observe perhaps the greatest sporting event I have ever witnessed, the UCI World Road Racing Championship – a bicycle race!!  And in particular the Elite Men’s road race in which fellow Australian Cadel Evans was defending his title as World Champion………   As a bike rider myself I was mesmorised by the entire performance, blown away by the sheer power and endurance of the riders and competely bewiched by the whole International Pro Tour racing scene.

          The riders cover a total of just over 260km including 11 laps of a road based riding course in the streets of Geelong, a large rural centre close to where I live.  So I went with my trusty camera and a handful of lenses to see if I could get a decent exposure or two whilst watching the riders pass by 11 times.  It was something of a nirvana for me, my own Shangri La……..  bike racing and photography combined!!  The crowds flocked to the course and we were bathed in the first warm all day sunshine of the spring – the crowd was supportive and well behaved, the entire experience was brilliant, I shall never forget this day of fun in the sun………  Something inside me has been triggered.  I still feel the buzz days afterwards……….

          This was the first time I have used any of my equipment  in anger at a sporting event.  This particular frame has been cropped slightly from full size – featuring Australia’s Cadel Evans in the white jersey, closely followed by Switzerland’s Fabian Cancellara.  Captured close to curb height through the bars of the barriers with my trusty D700 and AF-S 17-35mm attached @ 24mm, f/8, 1/1250th sec, ISO 500. 

 

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone
Todays photo is of a building taken near Docklands, Melbourne. As you can see from the distortion it was taken with a wide angle lens. I have not corrected it as i like the angles. Sorry to the perfectionists in the group 🙂
The building may be a carpark but i am not sure. Maybe Greg knows the building and can shed some light on what it is. I was just walking the streets when i came across it
D90 Tokina 11-16mm lens at 11mm  1/80sec @ F8 ISO400

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

Here are two photos in the spirit of October.  I took these at a Jack o’ Lantern Walk in Norwalk, CT a couple of years ago. The group photo was taken at night, with no light other than the candles inside the jack o’ lanterns.  It was a cold night so there was a lot of smoke and mist in the air.  That is what I tried to capture.  The ‘neon pumpkin’ was modified because I sometimes create images for cards, which was the intended use for that image. 

Thank you to everyone who emailed me support.  This week, I tried using Photo Shop Elements to resize and edit the photo for the web.  Let’s see if this has helped the sharpness of my pictures.  The support gave me the confidence to submit this week–much appreciated!

Gladys

 

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Wonderful photos last week. Thank you all who commented my picture.

 This week I go back to landscape. Serenity is the name of photo. Enjoy watching J.

Taken with Olympus e510 with ED9-18mm, tripod, 22 sec @ f/22.

Can’t wait to see yours pictures this week.

Kind regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

I was shopping with my mother and saw this “summer festival” in my neighborhood.  This is called “Mikoshi” which people carry it and send it to the shrine and sometimes they even compete or fight each other with other Mikoshi. Anyhow, this was an unexpected encounter and I hope it captured the moment.  Was also testing the new lens – 24-120 f/4 zoom.

D700, @120mm, f.5.6, ISO200.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!

It’s been a while since I’ve browsed archive for this group of ours. A month of lousy weather took it’s toll. Llast weekend I did some photography, but nothing that I’m really satisfied with… 😦 So, I’m presenting an IR photo taken back in  June. Cokin IR filter, Sigma 10-20@10mm on Nikon D80.

ISO 100, f8, 68 sec exp. Post processing in Paint shop pro.

Greetings, Filip.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

Here is my photo for this week, just another shot from the Black Sea fishermen shot with F6, 35mm F/2 ZF on Kodak Tmax 400. I will come back to you with requested personal info and photo

Regards   Bogdan

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

I’m, again, sending a shot of the Golden Gate Bridge.  This is the one I meant to send last week.  I used a tripod and a 30 second exposure.  What I like best about the shot was the reflection off the water below and the fog above the bridge.  As I stated last week, the lights on the Bridge made the sky above and water below glow in the easily recognized orange of the Golden Gate.

Thursday my girls will play in their Regional and if successful, we will play for the State Championship the following week on Friday & Saturday.  I’ll let you know next week whether we moved on or played our last tournament this week.  I’m betting that we will be playing next Friday and Saturday.

Have a wonderful week!

Gej

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I took this shot on a trip to Alaska is 2006 while touring a couple of glaciers by boat. What I really like about this photo is the 40 ft boat in the lower left showing scale. 

Nikon D90 Nikor 35-70mm f2.8, 50mm, 1/500 sec, f11, ISO 200

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/5000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

Dear Gej, Greg, Filip, Tija, Ken : Thanks a lot for your unbeatable words for my post last week. I appreciated.
@Tija : I never cropped my photos my dear friend. I’m trying to find scene behind viewfinder.
@Filip : Can you imagine everyone were changing their costumes at same time for their next turn on catwalk? Some one topless, some one nothing…. Oh my goodness. I would like to be more younger then that day!

My photo is ready one…. Captured during early days, because I’m busy for my next exhibition at first week of November. One of boatman was preventing his thirsty times early in the morning. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

I decided to submit more of a fun, though serious, but non “fine art” photo this week.

My friends, wife and I went wine tasting Saturday afternoon – here we are at Nicholson Ranch winery with a small line-up of wines to taste – 85% of these are pinot noir, rest are either syrah, and odd merlot, or a chardonnay (one white I guess for old times’ sake). This is in Sonoma County and not too far from my house, as “luck” may have it. Weather was beautiful and the wines were excellent!

Canon EOS 7D, no flash fill (not needed), ISO 400, 1/60, f/4.5.

-Ken

 

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world 

Pumpkin People – Filip Lucin

I was riding my bike trough hilly part of my county last Sunday and found this pair in front of the village school.

Photo is nothing special, but I thought it might be interesting, showing that autumn is definitely here!

And of course, credit should be given to teachers and children that created those pumpkin people. 🙂 Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@75mm, f8, 1/125 sec, ISO 200.

Greetings, Filip.

The photo that got lost last week

Another New Lens in the GroupRick Dohme

Really nice pics last week. Thanks for the nice comments. Filip my spider web picture is not supposed to be in sharp focus. Its not a Macro. I took it with a 300mm lens and cropped it and added contrast and color to give it more texture. This is another photo using my new lens. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, 1/320ss, f/2.8, ISO 500

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

