Week 38

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Dockside at Twilight

Tuesday – 5:20 PM – panic time. The Wednesday email goes out tonight and I have not shot a single picture all week, and I don’t want to go to the files for a photo. Grab the camera and get into the car. Oh no the sun is getting low in the sky, running out of time.  City Island is only 5 minutes away………….

       And that’s how this photo came into existence. Yes –  a bit of luck and a bit of always having a photo in the back of your mind that you have been meaning to take. All in all I think that it came together very nicely.

The 3rd spot that I stopped at yesterday afternoon – The dock for some of the charter fishing boats on City Island in the Bronx.

 Nikon D300  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED Shot at 32 mm

1/320 sec, f/9, ISO 800  October 19, 2010   5:46:58PM

  

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

Life of a nut

Pentax K10D  SIGMA APO 70-200mm F2.8 EX  Shot at 190 mm

Aperture-priority AE, 1/250 sec, f/6.3, ISO 250

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 This is one of the three last functioning steam engines running along the very last narrow forest railway still in service in Romania. Although now it became more and more a touristic attraction it still serve its original purpose of bringing the logs down from the mountains.

I find interesting to know that new seam engine locomotives were still manufactured in Romania till 1986 and that before 1989 there were 15 functioning forest railways spreading over 1000 km of rail.  Economic changes and transition period was fatal for all these sites, most of them being decommissioned and dismantled, engines and wagons scrapped or sold.

I got to say that a ride with one of these beauties is indeed a very special experience, time machine that gets you back in time. The rail follow Vaser’s river trough a wild and spectacular landscape. Full length of this railway is about 40Km, only half of it is open for tourists. Train goes very slow and makes few stops to get more firewood and water for the engine, grease the gear, free the railway of falling trees and rocks, and well, what would be such trip without a glass or two of home made alcohol?!
Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, 80mm F/2.8 lens, Velvia RVP100F

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 The following picture was taken this past weekend in Damirascotta Maine at their annual Pumpkin Festival (you can Google it… Utube clips). They have many great events all revolving around Pumpkins and Halloween… I have other better pictures and of better quality… although not as unique. On Sunday they have the Pumpkin boat races. These are giant pumpkins some in the 1000 lb category that have been hollowed out and modified a bit to support an outboard engine.They race three times around a 1/4 mile race course. Water temps 53 degrees or so… Very unique. The other events are shooting pumpkins from large cannons… an 80 ft and 100 ft cannon… They hold the Guinness record… they say they can go 1/4 to 1/2 mile… The great pumpkin drop, where they drop a giant pumpkin from 200 feet onto a car.  There is little left of the car… Hope you enjoy…

 Bill

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka  was taken with a Nikon D60-did not note the settings( which I will learn to do for this group!)

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 The face of contempt.  Animals and wildlife are one of my photographic interests.  I realize that I may never have the opportunity for a wildlife photography safari, so I must make do with what is at hand.  This means my backyard, wildlife parks, and trips to the local zoo, to see what new poses the animals will provide.  The Jackson Zoo is small, and still has a lot of cages and chin link fences, and is not as camera friendly as others, such as in New Orleans or other large cities, but still some shots to get.  This Orangutan always looks bored and contemptuous of visitors with cameras.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f /5.3, 1/60 sec., 80-400mm (340mm), cropped at left.

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thank you to those who took the time to comment on my picture. Stanley I was on the east coast looking out at the Atlantic. Tampa is on the west coast better for sunsets. Well this week was filled with alot of senior activities for my daughter Kaley. Homecoming football game, Senior Volleyball game and the Homecoming banquet. I got to borrow my customers 1970 Chevelle SS thats worth around $100,00.00 and drive Kaley and three friends to the Homecoming Banquet. I also was there personal photographer for the night. Not all dads get these opportunities. We went to some beautiful gardens for pictures. My little girl is growing up. 😦 Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120, 120mm, F/8, 1/60 sec, ISO 400, SB 800 flash with diffuser.

 

I just had to send one to show off the car.:)

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hello everyone.  I hope this past week has afforded  you the opportunity  to follow your passions andenjoy life.  Thank you for all your comments on my photo last week. I really am so sorry that I have not been able to comment lately. Not too many bugs around , so I took the opportunity to try some early morning dew drop shots.    I had forgotten how much I enjoy doing these and the water drop shots.   Hope you enjoy it.
D300 60mm micro ISO 200  f/20   shutter 1/15  SB900 on camera diffuses with Opteka  soft box.   Manual hand held, with lens resting on bean bag.
White daisy petal with yellow daisy refracted in the drops.

More can be seen as always on   birdied.zenfolio.com 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 This week photo is from ‘the Deer Garden’, a 4000 acres large area north of Copenhagen founded in 1669, where the present King established a hunting resort with a lot of deer, around 2000 today. It is no longer an area for deer hunting but a public ‘park’ open to everyone. The world oldest amusement park established in 1583 is also part of The Deer Garden.

The first official soccer game in DK took place there too, the 7 of September 1879.

Hope you all will have a pleasant week.

 Regards Jens Frederiksen

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

thank you for the comments on my photo last week. This week I have a photo from a marketing shoot I did for my friend, she has an eco-wedding business and creates decorations out of recycled materials and she asked me to photograph all her new products. These paper cranes are made out of a colourful magazine paper and they looked wonderful. I chose to show them as almost silhouettes, as I thought their shape was rather self-explanatory. 

Shot with Nikon D700, 24-70 f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/3.5

Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

 Jan

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone.
I have been mucking around again with hibiscus flowers. It is almost impossible to get the whole flower sharp but they still amaze me with their form and colour.
The stamen is better than the flower i believe
D90 Tamron 90mm macro  1/80 sec @ F16 ISO200

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Hello.  A week passes so quick.  Still unpacking stuff at the new office and quite hectic week.  Didn’t have enough time to go out.  So, here is an old one, but re-realized how good this is (well, to my eyes anyway :-).  This is a fond memory of this summer…  If I have posted this in the past, I apologize…. Ken

Thank you so much for comments for my photo last week and I am so sorry that I couldn’t do the same.

D700, 24mm, f5.6, 1/640s, ISO200, NX2

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello people! Today I’m sending panorama. It was created from 12 vertical photos stitched together in MS ICE. It’s a railroad station in the small town named Ivanec. As you can see, it’s small and empty. Few trains go there, unfortunately. Since I’ve shot it from the hand, it’s not the best panorama you’ve ever seen, but I liked the effect of curve that panorama created on the tracks.

Thank you all that commented! And I look forward to see your new photos.

And as for B&W theme, I’m down with it! 🙂

 Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I was going to my first photography class Saturday morning (continuing education class offered by the university I teach at), but fooled around and let it close before I paid for it. So instead of going to the class, I got my camera out and went out to “my” field at dawn. I couldn’t believe my eyes! Everywhere I looked, there were bejeweled dragonflies stuck on dead sunflower stalks. It was a magical sight! I wish I could have photographed the whole lot of them, but that’s what I need a photography class for. 🙂 At least I got some individual shots. Here’s one of the first that morning and others can be seen in my Zenfolio here: http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/p174132935
Shot with Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm/1.4x teleconverter/SB 600 off to the left side with my new flash bracket and ball head.

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

“Open wide and say, Arrrrrhh! “, says the dentist.  Dentists expect you to answer their questions while your mouth is dislocated with dental padding and foreign objects …  but funnily enough, not when they check my dog’s teeth!  

 Camera:      Nikon D300 Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED

Settings:     70 mm, 1/500 sec, f/3.2 and ISO 720 (AP, hand held, UV filter)

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

I just have to post another image from the holiday in Lillehammer, Norway.  These are made in Maihaugen, a open air museum with lots of local old buildings and lots of space.  Really a place to visit, if you are nearby.

Nikon D300

 Have a nice day! Per-Christian

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Hello to everyone!

It’s been a busy week and I apologize for not commenting last week.  I’ll do better in the future.

Golf is over.  We dug a pretty deep hole for ourselves with disappointing play the first day but improved our score by 29 strokes the second day and moved from 8th to 6th place in the D2 State Finals.  All in all, I was pleased with our finish.  Yes, we could have done better but with three kids who had never played at this level, and my second best player injured, I think the girls did very well.  As the coach, I wiped away tears, encouraged when the kids were not at their best and cheered when a 30 foot putt dropped for par.  I’m already looking forward to next year.  My photo this week came from Drake’s Beach.  I enjoyed shooting here because there were few people around and the light was amazing.  In the weeks to come I will probably submit some of my other photos from here.  Hope you week goes well.

Gej

D90 – 1/125sec – f/32.0 – 18-200@70mm – ISO 800

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Photo taken on a field trip with colleagues from the Photo Club last weekend on a nearby hill.

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

Dear Greg thanks a lot for your valuable comment. I’m glad all miners and rescuers saved.

Lady seller was busy with sorting brownish long fresh beans. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 Hello, all.  I’m sorry I missed last week, and was afraid I was going to miss this week also, but made it home in time to submit something.  We spent a couple of nights at Desoto State Park in Fort Payne, AL.  These deer were feeding on acorns in the yard of a church in the area one afternoon as we were passing.  I am always excited to get any shot of any kind of wildlife, so that is what I am sending this week.  I hope it is ok.  I added a little saturation, and pushed the sliders in on the histogram a little bit.   Please feel free to tell me “what I should have done.”  Have a great week.
 
Nikon D5000, 70-300 F4/5-5/6G VR lens, F/5.6, 1/40s, Manual, auto ISO 1600.
 
Peggy

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 In 2007, my wife and I took a trip to Wyoming in late summer. On the way back home, we decided to go through the Medicine Bow mountain range south of Laramie. The day was rainy and cloudy, but it started to clear when we got close to the main peak in the range. I took this shot just as the sun broke through and highlighted the main peak in the range. This peak is primarily made up of quartz, so the sun shining on it made it look translucent. Unfortunately, in 1955, United flight 409, a DC-4 prop airplane hit the peak at 10,000 ft or about 2,000 ft below the peak (over 3,500 ft is visible here). All 66 people died on impact, and most of the wreckage is still there.

 Nikon D100 50mm Nikkor, f9, 1/320 sec, ISO 200, center weighted

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Another one from Lake Champlain in Burlington Vermont

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “There’s Light at the End of the Tunnel”

This is highway 101 just north of the Golden gate bridge, going up Waldo Grade. “The first bore of the tunnel was completed in 1937 and the second in 1954.”  I was driving home from work today, Tuesday. Once again I fretted over which photo to submit and I liked this one.

 Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 lens, ISO 800, 1/125, f/8

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All
A small egret in Japanese Garden of Buenos Aires. From the small lake a pipe sprays water into the air.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 @200 mm – 1/400 – ISO 200 – f 5.6 –

 

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Sunny Bug – Jeannean R

  The sun was coming up and the light was a beautiful gold. Gold and diamonds…a girl’s best friend! 😉

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

One more bugRoberta Davidson

 While the temperature may not be cool here yet, fall and cool weather are on my mind . So, I went out for about 1 hour searching for some fall colors . This was the first time I had the camera in my hand in a couple of weeks, and boy did it feel good to take some photos. 
The only thing I came across that had fall colors was a butterfly believe it or not! This is not what I was looking for, but it is what I found. 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

