Week 39

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The crossroad of the World

Times Square – 42nd Street.  .  It is always filled with sight seeing tourist all sporting cameras snapping every thing. So I acted like a tourist and joined them on Sunday evening. You must take the time to see the sights in your own backyard

 Nikon D300  AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF Shot at 24 mm

1/60 sec, f/6.3, ISO 800, Compensation: +2/3 October 24, 2010   6:14:14PM 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 This my attempt at being artsy at an air show.

 Sony HX5V, f8, 1/500 sec, 4.3mm ISO 80

 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Just one of my New Orleans cemetery images that I decided to convert to black & white, to try to achieve a somewhat melancholy effect, in keeping with the season.  Somehow black & white seem to add a bit of “chill” to graveyards.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/125 sec., manual, 24-120mm (38mm)
Converted to B&W in Photoshop

 

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Sister gave me a pair of tickets for an exhibition of Degas at our home town for my birthday and mother and I went there last weekend.  Well, the town, or rather city called Yokohama located less than an hour train ride from where we live now, changed a lot.  It’s been a long while since I came around here last time.  There is a new museum near the sea, not only that, but the entire new town was created near the sea.  30 years ago when we moved to here, there was nothing but dark piers and the sea. 
Anyway, this is what I found in the new popular seaside town, meant to be some kind of open air sculpture.  Just thought interesting.  I just bought Panasonic LX5 for the visit.

 

 

 Jen s V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Thanks for the comments last week. The absolutely last photo from my job, this yearJ At the end of the season a fair is set up like an old marketplace with shops and artists. This is from the last day and as you can see, a little rain do not stop the show.

Hope you all will have a nice week

 Jens Frederiksen

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

Thank you all for the comments.    I am so very sorry that I have not been able to comment lately.   There have been so many wonderful shots, that I have enjoyed so much, so please just let me say thank you.   I am back with the dew drops, as there is something calming and soothing about them for me .   This is  a shot of the last zinnia from my garden.    Hope you enjoy.

Nikon D300 f/18 shutter1/ 8   ISO 200   EV +.33    SB900 diffused
Hope everyone has a wonderful week.  Can’t wait to see your photos!!!

Roberta

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Shot from a weekly farmer fair, a place where taking photos attracts not very friendly comments and looks. Nevertheless, this guy actually asked me to take his picture with his horse he had for sale.
Best Regards
Bogdan

Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm F/2 ZF lens, Kodak TriX 400TX

  

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 This was taken during a walk in Athens Greece with my wife during a recent holiday. We were walking in the market area and this was a local watering hole… taken a dusk… using a Canon 990.

 Take care, Bill 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Hello to everyone!

I took a Photoshop class over the weekend.  Friday night, all day Saturday and all day Sunday.  I’m no where near where I want to be but, Haig, you’ll notice that I finally learned how to imbed a copyright into my photograph.  

This week my photo comes from San Francisco.  Inside City Hall to be precise.  It was a little dark in the area I shot this and I was impressed with this light fixture from above.  Although the lights are not gas, they did remind me of the old gas lights of yesteryear.  Hope you like the results.

 Birdie – We are starting to gear-up for our trip to the warmth of Southern Alabama.  Forty days and counting.

 Have a great week everyone!

 D90 – f/8.0 – 18-200@44mm – 1/6sec – ISO 500 – Aperture Priority

  

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 More from our trip to Ft. Payne, Alabama.  This was at Desoto Falls.  However, the falls was barely a trickle.  It was even drier in NE Alabama, than is has been in NE Mississippi!  Hope you like it. Nikon D5000, 18-55mm F/3.5 lens, @55mm, AFA, F/5.6, 1/320s, manual, center weighted metering, auto ISO 900, white balance-cloudy.

  

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

It’s the height of spring here in Victoria, Australia.  The weather has opened up to delightful days with prolonged sunshine warming my back, the ground is still soft under foot and nature is rolling out it’s full glory.  Both plant and animal worlds are in over drive mode in my garden, making best of glorious weather and fine growing conditions.   Last weekend I pulled my 500mm lens out of it’s case for the first time in 6 months.  Sunday afternoon was spent shifting camaera and tri-pod around in the garden, capturing spring time in it’s fullest.  This New Holland Honey Eater (nectar feeder) was born in the garden and the spiny hybrid prostrate flowering grevillea it is feeding from is also a seedling produced two parents growing in the garden here.  Life is good.

 Taken with Nikon D700 + Nikkor 500mm f/4 Ai-P manual focus lens on trusty tri-pod. 

500mm @ f/5.6  1/1500th sec ISO 800

   

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks for the Kind comments from last week. Ken “The Guy” is an old friend nothing serious thank goodness. Want her to be at least 25. 🙂 Well I shot so much volleyball the past 2 weeks. So you get more VB. This match was very intense between two cross town rivals. #12 plays with so much intensity this really shows up in her face. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8 AF, F/3.5, 1/640 sec, ISO 6400

  

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 Face to face with a wild urban rabbit.

 Camera:      Nikon D300

Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED + TC-20E III

Settings:     400 mm, 1/500 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 720 (AP, hand held, UV filter)

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone
Sorry but i do not have much to offer this week. This photo is of a weed that has sprung up in my garden. One of the better looking weeds i have seen:-)))
D90 Tamron 90mm macro lens  1/60sec @ F16 ISO200

  

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello folks all over the world!

I’m presenting you a photo that I’ve taken last Saturday on a morning trip with Davorin and a friend from our photo club. It was early morning on nearby Drava river, rather cold and misty. 

Nikon D80, sigma 10-20@10mm, f8, 30 sec, ISO 200. Capture NX2.

Jens and Ken, thank you for comments, I hope I’ll have time to write them next weak.

But photos were as always, very interesting and good!

Greetings, Filip

 

  

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Last weekend I was with two other friends on early morning trip to nearby river. Forecast was good and we hoped to take some nice photos. Still was the night when we came to the river. After half hour first sunbeams start breaking thru clouds and mist. In that magic moment everything around us get colored in red and orange. I was happy like little child becouse I can take this picture.

Taken with Olympus E-510, ZD 9-18mm @ 9mm. 1/8sec @ f/10. ISO 100. Tripod, Cokin NDgrad S filter.

 

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I went down to South Padre Island (TX) this weekend for the annual Sandcastle Days Festival. Had a great time and saw the master works of 24 of the world’s best sand sculpture artists. Unfortunately, by the time we got there the crowds were thick and I’d brought the wrong lens for this kind of photography. A lesson learned…don’t leave the camera bag back in the car…you never know what you might need. Anyway, since Halloween is coming up this weekend and one of the sculptures was a Halloween theme, I decided to post this one (plus it was one of my favorites). D90/70-300mm

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

Purple artichoke flower

Pentax K20D smc PENTAX-DA* 50-135mm F2.8 ED [IF] SDM Shot at 70 mm

Manual exposure, Aperture-priority AE, 1/15 sec, f/4.5, ISO 160, Compensation: +0.7

 

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Normal Program, @20mm, f/6, 1/160sec, ISO100

Dear Jens, Ken thanks a lot for your valuable comments.

A homeless, Brazilian lady crying and asking help after her epilepsy attack. I saw her while laying on the street and turned there immediately. No one stopping for help to her and we called an ambulance with one of another driver there. Luckily she recovered with her self and told the story… They used her in the gold mines at interior and threw her from the car. This was taken 8 February, 2008 and I saw her many times again in the city, on the roads but she was lost her mind completely. Unfortunately newer saw her again soon and hope she returned home land or saved for better life. I’m attaching one more photo while she’s laying on the street. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Normal Program, @10mm, f/7.10, 1/200sec, ISO100

She was laying on the street and all the vehicles were passing without stopping.

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

thank you very much for the comments on my photo last week.  This week again a photo from my marketing session I did recently, but now my photos have been requested by Queensland Bridal Magazine, they want to do a feature on sustainable weddings my friend organises, providing I let them print my pictures! Yey! This will be a third time in a row the editor has picked my photos for an article. I cannot be any more excited about that. 

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70 mm, f/2.8@ISO 200, f/5, 1/50s

 Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

No more boats

Summer is gone

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 The Archer

Taken at a jumble sale. Thanks

D300 + Nikkor 50 mm 1.4 D – ISO 200 – f 1.8 – 1/4000

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

A different photo from me this week: loaf of bread and Italian parsley. During some soup I was making I took this shot.  Trying to be fresh each week, it’s been a slow one.

 -Ken

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Still Summer? – Rick Dohme 

We are still enjoying summer like weather here in Florida. Ya’ll come visit. Fishins’ great.  Nikon D3, 80-400 VR, 1/250 sec, f/5.6, 400mm, ISO 800

 

 

Best Friends– Jeannean R

After seeing all the amazing work by the artists, we saw what I thought was an even more amazing sight. Not the greatest angle, but these guys followed their owner (girl in the shorts in front) everywhere. They didn’t get excited at everyone staring and getting excited by them. They just strolled along like best buds taking in all the sights. It was amazing to watch.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

