Week 43

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The Bronx Zoo

There are 2 fantastic places in the Bronx right across the street from each other, Last week it was the New York Botanical Gardens, This week we go across Fordham Road to the Bronx Zoo.  When I was growing up I have many memories of my parents taking family trips to the Bronx Zoo.  I can go on and on about it but you really should Google the Bronx zoo and take a look,  I need to plan a few trips there each year.

http://www.bronxzoo.com/animals-and-exhibits/exhibits.aspx or

http://www.kwaree.com/blog/2006/10/05/back-to-the-bronx-zoo/

 From the Congo section here’s a Mandrill.

 D300 AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED at 220mm
 1/25 sec, f/5.3, ISO 1250, Compensation: +2/3

   

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 I’m an American teacher living and working in Jhubei City, Taiwan.  I first got into photography after deciding to move overseas and bought a Nikon D5000 and 18-55mm kit lens as a result.  I now use the 18-55, a Nikkor 70-300 and a Nikkor prime 35mm f/1.8.  My website is located at http://joshintaiwan.com and I’m on Flickr at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jfahler

 This photo is an HDR of the East Gate of Hsinchu City, Taiwan.  The city wall was first built in 1827 by the Qing Dynasty to protect the city’s Chinese settlers.  The Japanese colonizers destroyed much of the complex, leaving only this gate when they reconstructed the city.  

 I chose this framing because of the obvious Westernization and change just behind it.  Interestingly enough, it is also a spot for young Taiwanese to hang out and even practice hip-hop dancing.  

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Been away on vacation and has seen some of the architect Gaudi’s buildings in Barcelona.

One called ‘Casa Batlló’ with a lot of fantastic forms and functions were amazing. Here two photos from inside the building, an open staircase covered with blue tiles, at first one notice the colours and the windows but the banister, witch you can’t see, is partly made of raw glass and looking through that gives the impression of being under water.

P700 F/2,8 1/30s NRW handheld

 Venlig hilsen

Jens Frederiksen

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 Hot Air Balloon race, Natchez, Mississippi.  I’ve had this one for a little while, but I really like it, probably because I had to lie on my back to get it.

 Nikon D200, ISO 400, f/3.5, I/180 sec., Aperture Priority

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 A color shot of those fishermen guys, a bit underexposed as light was still sub-optimal. This time was Mamiya 7II with 50mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak Portra 400NC and Nikon Coolscan 9000ED.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 This is our lake.  Our house sits on top of the hill behind the trees.  I have taken this same shot at different times, because of the patterns of the sun and trees on the bank in the afternoon.  I finally decided I liked this one enough to let you see it.  Hope it is ok. 
 
Cropped a little, and a little color boost.  26mm, AF-A, Dynamic, F/4.2, 1/125s, ISO200, Manual, Spot metering. 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
Last month a friend of mine asked me for help. She had hired a photograper to take pics of her 4 years old daugther Francesca birthday party, but the man was forced to cancel at last minute. For me photography is only a hobby and I really hate social things but of course agreed  to help her. I get exhausted after 2 hours of taking pics of around 12 kids, mostly with Down Sindrome as Francesca. The vitality of these kids!!!  The best was that they liked my pics and the worst, that I will be the photographer for next year party!!

Here a friend of Francesca
Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4D  – ISO 1000 – f 2.0 – 1/640

 

   

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 I visited Taiwan, and Kaohsiung in 2008. Unfortunately, not a very long visit. Hope to get back there again some time.

Cheers

Haig

Attached photo is a pedestrian bridge somewhere south of Kaohsiung..

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 While visiting South Dakota a couple of years ago, we decided to check out Custer State Park. If you find yourself anywhere nearby, I highly recommend a visit – they have grasslands and mountains, and all sorts of animals roaming wild. Here is one checking me out…

 Nikon D100 ISO 800, 25mm Nikor, 1/500 sec, f11, matrix metering

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 This week is special as I went on a trip.  I went to the hot spring near Tokyo with my mother and it was fantastic.  Hot spring was great, food was great, and the autumn leaves are really turning red (10 more days, and it would have been so much better, they say).  Anyway, here are what I saw and I couldn’t pick only one…
D700, 28-300mm, f/6.3, 1/25s, ISO800 (for #3359)

 

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 Aother dance shot from me this week.  😉  As you understand, this is one proud father, and my daughter’s dancing is taking much of my spare time.  Combine that with a camera and some fast lenses, and I guess you can all imagine me looking at the competitions through the viewfinder! 😉

 D300, Nikkor 70-200  (One of the nice consequences of turning 50 – a nice gift from my parents).

 And, I am sorry that I have not had time to comment on your photos last week – I’ll try to shape up  😉

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

thank you, Joe, for your very nice comments. I admit, I have been very slow with comments, mainly because I’ve had a lot of work, the business is going well, but my free time is very scarce. 

My photo this week is from a photo shoot I did on Sunday, I had a client, who requested a make up artist and a hair stylist to be arranged before the shoot, this was a great fun, as I’ve met a wonderful girl, who provides both services and with whom I will be working in a future as well. Erin, the client, was extremely nice young lady, she was very beautiful and very easy to style and photograph. A dream job, I would say. We ended up with 550+ good photos. 

This one was my choice of photo for some promotional work I will be doing, I’ve retouched the photo according to the way Patrick Lavoie from photo.net once recommended in his article, 200% magnification and size 10 healing brush and dot by dot, pore by pore, imperfection by imperfection, 10 hours later I had this one more or less to my liking. Erin has now requested this photo too. And to add to my happiness, she is booking another photography session with me in January!

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/4.5, 1/200s

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos.

Jana

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi everyone .  I hope you all had a great week .  Thanks to those that commented. It is much appreciated and a very important part of this group.  Greg, made a comment about knowing why we pick our favorite photo for the year . I think that is a great idea and  it also might be interesting if we could comment on our weekly photos  and what it means to us.

So, I will start with mine this week.

I was out looking for something , anything that caught my eye when I spotted this little cucumber beetle.       It was very windy  and here he is alone , on the top of a blade of grass  just blowing around in the wind.  And I do mean blowing around !  Not the best conditions to do shoot a handheld macro, but I just had to give it a try as he was so symbolic .  This little guy summed up how I was feeling at the time-   

out on a limb, doing things never dreamed of and hanging on for dear life.   So, hang on , the wind does stop and you never know who is looking and watching and maybe learning from you.

Thanks everyone for the great pictures every week .

Roberta “Birdie”

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

D300  105mm micro  ISO 200   f/5  Shutter 1/200  SB900 diffused

 

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello everyone
I met Haig on Friday afternoon and did some photography with him. We had a great afternoon wandering the streets of Brisbane before Jana came in for coffee and to take over from me. If anyone else from our little group wishes to pop down to Brisbane then we would love to see you.
My photo this week is from a rodeo Saturday night. I had so much trouble trying to get shots without a flash so if anyone has any great tips on shooting in low light then i would love to hear from you.
I converted it to B&W to help get rid of some of the noise

D90 Tamron 90mm F2.8 lens 1/160sec @ F2.8 ISO3200

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Happy Thanksgiving to all those who celebrate. We have a family reunion dinner of sorts with all my wife’s 75 relatives at a park every year. This past Sunday a couple of moms dressed there little girls in thanksgiving outfits. This one was so cute with her dress and hair bow. She was calling her Mom and trying to get her to pick her up early from the nursery.Thanks for your kind comments and I’m off to the east coast of Fl. for the weekend. That means 2 days of great beach sunrises and sunsets.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, let me too welcome Joshua. Welcome aboard and enjoy the ride! 🙂 Thank you Joe for the comments. And of course, for keeping this group alive.

Last Wednesday my new 23″ monitor arrived, what proved to be source of frustration instead source of enjoying in working on photos on large screen. To cut the long story short, it took me until Monday to sort everything out, and now everything is OK. Finally. 🙂 Weather was lousy last weekend so I didn’t photograph anything. So, I’ll offer a photo from (not so old) archive.

This was taken three weeks ago when I decided to go out using only my film camera. I’ve taken my filters ND and GND and tried to get some decent long exposure shots on film. And I have one nice sunset that I’ll spare for the special sunset theme. 🙂 Today, long exposure, but without filters.  It was getting dark, but it was bright enough so the clouds could be captured, but dark enough for city lights.

So, I got this, red wall! 🙂 Topcon RE Super, topcor 35mm@f8, ISO 200 (cheap film from drug store). I don’t remember how long exposure was, but I’m guessing about three, four seconds…

 Thank you all, see you, and take care. 🙂 Greetings, Filip.

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 This picture was taken at approximately 5:31 AM last Friday at sun rise while duck hunting in the marsh in Louisiana. The grass in the foreground is part of the duck blind. We arrive at the boat house around 4:30 put our gear into the mud boats and with no sun or moon light travel through the swamps for 30 minutes on the way to the duck blinds. During the boat ride we use flashlights to see the course and they also illuminate the eyes of the alligators lining the water on the way. We are careful not to get too close to the alligators or poison snakes… mostly water moccasins…  but on occasion we find ourselves swimming with these creatures. This picture was taken by a new Canon SD1400IS 14.1 mp.

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 This week we welcome a new member, and in the US we celebrate Thanksgiving.  I would like to thank Haig for passing along a number of helpful hints and walking me through some difficulty I was having with Photoshop.  I would also like to thank everyone else who encouraged and helped me with Large Prints.  I think I’ve got it!   I also learned how to make an Action and am now using one of my own.  What a timesaver!  

This week my photo comes from our trip to Italy in 2007.  If there ever was a place that I would return to over and over, it would be Italy.  Milan, Florence, Venice and the Tuscany area are a photographer’s dream come true.  The time I spent with my family will be cherished for ever.  It was extra special because our children had invited us to meet them there while they were seeing the sites.  It was very special to be included.

 Have a wonderful week and Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

 E995 – f/3.6 – 16.9mm – ISO 100 – 1/20sec

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello everyone,

After a two week break due to work, I am back. This photo was taken a month ago on photo trip with colleagues from Hungary.   Dry branch stands as a guardian of the valley. Shallow DOF is intentional, so that the main emphasis on the branch. Texture and light were the main reason for converting images to black and white.

 Exif data: Olympus e510; ED14-54 f/2,8-3,5 on 14mm; f/2,8 ; ISO 100, 1/1600 sec

 Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I decided to submit this photo of a Green Kingfisher taken this past week in the canal by my house. It’s pretty ugly water, but some of the wildlife drawn to it is pretty nice. This photo reminds me to be thankful for what I have in my own back yard. I met a couple of men not long ago, who had traveled a long way (Florida and Srilanka) to take photos of a Green Kingfisher, and I see them all the time on my walks. Tomorrow (Thursday) is the Thanksgiving holiday in the US, so even though it’s not a great photo, it reminds me of one part of my life I’m thankful for. 🙂 Nikon D90/Nikon 70-300mm/Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/180, f/8, ISO 200.

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Dear Joshua welcome to the group.
Thanks a lot to everyone who commented to my post last week. Finally I build a completely a new computer system since yesterday but still busy with moving my data.
My photo is from last week. Javanese Muslim ladies  were on their worship for beginning of  Eid-Ul Adha  or “Festival of Sacrifice” . You may know at my earlier posts that Suriname home of Javanese immigrants from Indonesian island of Java during colonial period.  One of young boy never released her mother neck. Hope you like it. Thanks for stopping by and many cheers to you all. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/3200sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This picture was taken on the Winooski River in Vermont. The graffiti is on the concrete supports for the interstate overpass above the river at this point. There was some really interesting artwork on the pillars here and I def spent some time checking it all out. I snapped this picture without using a tri-pod, so I’m pretty happy with how steady I was able to keep the camera for this slightly longer exposure. 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 Six!  Which means the batsman hit the ball over the boundary on the full – the equivalent of a batter scoring a home run in baseball.

 This shot was taken with a D300 and 70-200 f/2.8 VR II lens fitted with a TC-20E III teleconverter (and monopod mounted) – 400 mm at f/5.6 using a shutter speed of 1/500 s and ISO 200 (over a distance of 75 m from the wicket).

 Hi Joshua and welcome aboard.

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 After having it sit in my camera bag for just over 6 months, at last I get to break out my new Lee “Big Stopper” – a full 10 stop neutral density filter, I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to use it for so long but never was inspired to try it out until last Wednesday when my partner and I ventured into the Otway Forest which is a temperate rainforest blanketing a small set of coastal mountain ranges about 30 min from home.

 This is Hopetoun Falls, one of the finest waterfalls in the Otway Ranges.  I shot it last autumn but the sun was out and worse still shining directly down the lens so my exposures were ordinary at best.  This spring, however, I managed to pull off the trifecta of having a multiple stop ND filter, the sun behind high clouds so shadows were minimal but ambient light was still good and a strong water flow after tremendous spring rains!!  This exposure was set up under the elevated viewing platform with the lens about 45cm above water level.  The Lee ‘Big Stopper’ causes a strong blue cast over the image but this is very easily corrected using a RAW file in PS and adjusting the WB and temp.

 Tripod mounted D700 + Nikkor AF-S 17-35mm @ 17mm,  f/9,  15 secs.  ISO 400

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world 

 More Fall Colors –  Ken Yamamoto 

 D700, 28-300mm, f/6.3, 1/30s, ISO800

  .

  

And even more Fall Color – Filip Lucin

 This was taken on the same day as red wall photo, but in the morning.

 Little different autumn photo.

Topcon RE Super, topcor 35mm, ISO 200.

Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

