Week 44

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Late Fall / Early Winter in Vermont

Its right in-between seasons in Vermont.  It is late in the fall just a few weeks till Winter starts.  All the leaves are gone and its dropping below freezing on some nights, Thanksgiving weekend marks the start of the winter and holiday season.  The Ski areas are making snow and starting to open with a few trails.. We woke up to a dusting of snow Sunday morning. Good thing we got the fall chores all done on Saturday. The wood piles are ready, the leaves all raked up and the wood stove chimney has been swept and cleaned for the coming winter fires. Cold and clear bright days are the rule.  It was nice to have a roaring fire in the stove and the whole family in the house for Thanksgiving.

 Taken Sunday by the Townsend Dam

Nikon D300      AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED at 24mm

AE, 1/125 sec, f/5.6, ISO 500 Polarizer filter    November 28, 2010  4:19:25PM 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 A pretty beach near Port Macquarie in NSW. The resident cormorant was not to be scared off his perch despite some large waves crashing close by.

 Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 55mm, f/8, ISO 320, 1/2000 sec

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 This shot is of a mission in California, just outside Monterrey. I took this with IR film and scanned it. It’s one of my favorite areas of California – one of many.

 Nikon F5, Kodak IR film, ISO 800, 1/1000 sec, f

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 While returning from Thanksgiving dinner at a friends, I noticed this barn from the expressway.  Today I returned, figured out the correct road, asked permission to walk on the owners property and once I had it, I took a number of shots of this barn.  The barn has seen better days but I thought it was interesting.  Hope you enjoy it.

 D90 – 1/25sec – f/11.0 – 18-200@32mm – ISO 160 – Aperture Priority

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 This week is special as I went on a trip.  We went to the hot spring near Tokyo, and the next day we went to the island by ferry.  Bird photo is something I feel really good about,

 D700, 28-300, f/8, 1/640s, ISO200 (bird)


 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 Woman in Market, Taipei”

This shot was taken while visiting Taipei during my first weekend in Taiwan.  The Shimen night market is one of Taiwan’s best known and became a definite stop for my girlfriend and I as I explored the city.  Night markets are pretty common in Taiwan as evening/weekend events to socialize, eat food, and… eat more food.  There are also some games and things for sale at some, but the focus is definitely on food.  I’m not sure what this lady is upset/annoyed at to this day.  I hope it isn’t the white guy pointing a Nikon at her! 

 Aperture: f/5, Shutter: 1/50, ISO 800. Processed with Aperture 3 and retouched very lightly with some auto-leveling. 

Expuipment: Nikon D5000 and 18-55mm

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Forgotten, but not gone.  I’m amazed by how many things are just abandoned in place, to be consumed by the ravages of nature.  This one is not too far from Roberta’s house, along the Mississippi River, West Bank, just south of White Castle.  (Roberta, did you lose this?)

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/320 sec.

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Winter has come, below zero day and night, 45 centimetres snow, very cloudy hope it will be possible to get a sunrise / sunset photo before next Wednesday. Looking forward to see a lot of inspiring photographs again. Love Wednesdays.

 Have a nice week.

Jens Frederiksen

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 This picture was taken on Monhegan Island off the coast of Maine… of two Monarch Butterflies while hundreds were flying around and clinging to this tree.  It was taken with a older Canon BTX 900

 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 The weeks are flying by faster and faster!  I just can’t believe November is gone already.  Hope everyone had a great weekend. 
 I had to share this photo.  I realize it is not a great photo, but, oh, the excitement I had in getting it.  I have for a long time been watching the  treetops hoping to see a hawk.  A hawk and an owl being on my list of birds I want to catch in a photo.  I missed the perfect opportunity to get a hawk a few weeks ago. So, the other afternoon (already dark) coming down my drive way from work, a bird suddenly flew up in front of my car from the drive.  I slammed on my brakes, it had lit on a branch right on the side of the drive, and not too high up.  It seemed a fairly large bird, but not huge like I expected an owl to be.  It didn’t move.  I was trying to get my camera out, took a couple of test thru the windshield, decided I’d better go with auto.  I opened the car door, and stepped out and it turned it’s head toward me and I knew then it was an owl.  I got this shot, and was going to ease around my door to get the limb out of it’s face in the next shot.  I stepped on a dry leaf, and “poof” it was gone.  So, this is the shot I have!
 300mm, AF-A, Auto, ISO 800, camera flash, and car lights!
 Have a great week everyone.

 

   

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 I hope everyone had a nice week and good Thanksgiving. I tried  something different this week, no bugs, or  drops.  I went to the zoo with the intent to try and capture the eyes of some of the animals.  Found it a bit more difficult than I thought to get them to look directly at you. Below is a young leopard  cub, lying in the shade with the sun just  hitting him in certain spots.   I like the” bokeh ” of the dappled sun light to the right.

It might have been a bit sharper if I had the presence of mind to increase the shutter speed and up the ISO .   One day this might all become second nature, if I live that long ! More of my attempts at the “animal eyes” can be seen at :   

birdied.zenfolio.com   under the Captivity folder.

 D300  70-300mm  at 300 mm  f/5.6  shutter 1/25

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

Photo taken about a month back during a hike in Carpathian Mountains. That was just days before heavy snow, now it’s something like one and half meter deep, and building up. Although Romanian Carpathian mountains are not very tall, highest peak is just a bit over 2500m, the remoteness and harsh weather makes them pretty dangerous for unprepared hikers. Each year accidents makes the headlines, particularly in the winter time. Wild animals are also common, brown bears encounters are not rare so is these black mountains goats. I had the “wrong”, normal lens on when we sighted them,  I took the shot anyway – Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 7 80mm F/4 lens, Kodak TMAX100.

Regards
Bogdan

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone. While most of you guys are about to start winter we are entering summer in Australia and what better way than to celebrate with a very hairy bee coated in gold dust (pollen). He is collecting from the flowers on a dwarf date palm which are a particular favourite for them at this time of year.
D90 Tamron 90mm lens  1/60sec @ f22 ISO200

  

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody,

thank you very much for the comments on my photo last week. This week a test shot from the same photo shoot, I was after checking the direction of light on this one and I haven’t set the camera to the right exposure yet, hence the ISO, this in fact was the first shot I’ve taken in a studio that day and Erin wasn’t even posing yet, she just looks beautiful without trying. 

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70 f/2.8@ISO 1600, f/10, 1/125s

Have a lovely week and I look forward to all your photos.

Jana

 

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

I hope you are all well! This month has been slow for me, in photo terms. Last Friday snow has fallen and I didn’t really photograph it as I would like. On Sunday morning I’ve took a stroll trough city park and found this blackbird enjoying berries. I had 27-70 lens on camera and the bird didn’t seem to be bothered with my presence so I could photograph it from meter and a half. I’ve used on board flash to add some light since it was gray day. Photo is crop of original. Nikon D80,  nikkor 24-70@70mm. F8, 1/50sec, ISO 250.

Processed in Capture NX. I’m looking forward to seeing your photos!

Greetings, Filip.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

  

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 Winter has come, with heavy winds and minus 14 centigrades as I write this.  My image this week is from just 2 weeks ago, when the fog rolled into the small park, with some more decent temperature.  This weather is just too cold to enjoy……  Shot with my compact Leica D-Lux 5. 

 Per-Christian

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Well this past weekend was relaxing and plenty of time to shoot pics. Sat morning I got up early again to go go out to the beach and the further I walked on the boardwalk towards the beach the harder it rained. Its about a mile walk to the beach and I got half way and had to walk back. Fortunately I brought my camera rain coat but I got soaked. I got plenty of pictures on Friday morning. What a great way to spend Black Friday. Nikon D3, 80-400 VR, 400mm, F/5.6, 1/320sec, ISO 800, EC-2 step

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all

Another pic from Autoclasica 2010
 
Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @150 mm – ISO 1250 – f 9 – 1/320

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 Catches win matches – here the wicket keeper, bowler and batsman all look on as the fieldsman attempts to take the catch.  It’s that moment when “everybody” is watching you.  It seems like “hours” but it’s all over in a matter of seconds.

Joshua – I would imagine that my shutter count is way higher than most (and my acceptance rate is way lower than most).

Camera:      Nikon D300

Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED + TC-20E III

Settings:     380 mm, 1/500 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 200 (AP, monopod, UV filter)

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Joshua thanks a lot for your words to my post last week.  Luckily I have one post at Boston Globe’s “Big Picture” blog this year.  You may see here : Ramadan 2010 Photos at The Boston Globe

25th of November is Independence day of Suriname. We celebrated 35th anniversary of freedom this year.  I went to the Independent Square ( Onafhankelijk Plein ) early in the morning and saw a young motorcycle rider couple, looking for preparations there while one of them sitting on the motorcycle. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,
Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/4, 1/2500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 My photo this week is from last week – along the San Clemente, California shoreline. It was a nice 5 mile walk I did with some family out and back. The weather cooperated nicely with nice form & depth in the sky and the cool light. The elements here really pleased me with the surfers’ guard dog, the flag, and boat in the distance. The busy railroad tracks along the beach add another dimension.

Details: Nov. 23, 2010, Canon EOS 7D, 50mm, ISO 100, f/9. Cropped to this square format, and sized down to 700 x 700 px. (and this is not quite half the full frame).

Ken Papai

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This is an old railroad bridge over the Winooski River in Burlington, Vermont. To get to the bridge, you have to hike for about 45 minutes along the river bank and through the woods. It’s a great way to spend a nice, sunny Saturday afternoon in VT, as I was lucky enough to do. 

 

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas

Taken Thanksgiving morning at South Padre Island, TX. with Nikon D90/70-300mm. I sure liked stalking this bird (yellow crown heron) better than stuffing a turkey! We let the hotel cook 🙂

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Annual Turkey Trot – Rick Dohme

I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving. The annual Turkey Trot runs every year in front of my house. Over 10.000 runners. Nikon D3, 80-400 VR, F/7.1, 1/125 sec, ISO 800, EC + 0.7 step.

 

Some are less fortunate than others – Gej Jones

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

