Our 3rd special edition

SUNRISE / SUNSET

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York 

 Zooming in on the Sunset.

From a normal range this was just a good sunset. Zoom all the way in on the small section of the Horizon and you get a dramatic shot. No increase in saturation in post processing. I think that the telephoto pulling effect deepened the colors a bit.  See the small insert for the overall scene

This one was taken a few weeks ago at the same time and place I took the Vivid Color thread – Sea Shore Restaurant. I was so tempted to use it for Vivid, but I knew that Sun rise sun set was coming

Nikon D300 DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm  Shot @ 120 mm  1/160 sec f/6.3, ISO400    November 9, 2010   5:49:53PM

 

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

   Hello to all

I took this shot at our youngest daughter’s wedding last year.  We had traveled to Kauai.  This being my first trip to Hawaii, I was so excited to capture this shot our first night on the island.  Little did I know, nearly every night was equally as beautiful.  

 D90 – 1/100sec – f/11.0 – 18-200@90mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority

 

Joshua Fahler –  Jhubei City, Taiwan

 On the Edge of Heaven” 

 This HDR was hard to finish, so please critique where necessary.  It was taken in Miaoli, Taiwan, home to some beautiful temples that surround a pretty amazing mountain ridge.  Monks live on the top of this ridge and the temples are devoted to both Chinese Buddhist/Taoist gods. Before I start, I have to say that I hate, hate, hate “overprocessed” HDRs.  However, I see HDR photos (yes, I know I’m using this term loosely and won’t get into the fact that this isn’t “real” HDR no matter what) as a great tool when faced with lighting situations like this.  I wanted detail in the dragons, but wanted to emphasize the fact that the only light source was the quickly setting sun on the other side.   I had some trouble with getting this to work well, but did my best in making shadows exist, but enough emphasis being put on the subject (the dragons) to make the composition work.  Let me know what you think.  

 Photo was taken with 3 exposures (-2 EV, 0 EV, +2 EV). Aperture: f/11, shutter speed: 1/500, ISO: 200. 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida  

Well spending Thanksgiving weekend on New Smyrna Beach Florida was sure an advantage for this week. This was one of the firsts shots I took as the sun took along time before it rose. This lighthouse is on the south end of Daytona Beach. I was about a mile from it as the crow flies. Shot at 8.02a.m. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400 VR, 400mm, F/5.6, 1/250sec ss, ISO 800, EC -2 step 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania  

  Sunset: not doing much sunset photography recently I found this photo taken in Oman Waad desert earlier this year, locals playing football at sunset. Shot with Nikon F6, Zeiss ZF Makro Planar 100mm F/2, Kodachrome KR64. 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark  

  Chose to turn my back to the sun and got this colourful view of the houses around the harbour.

Sunrise at about 07:10. (old photo) Unfortunately it is much too cloudy to get any sunrise/-set photo at the moment.

Have a nice week.   Jens

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi  

 

 My photo was taken in August 2010.  It was very hot and dry.  I liked the sun reflecting in the dust behind the tractor as my husband plowed.
 
Nikon D5000, 70mm, F/5.6, 1/200s, manual, ISO 800. Pushed up the shadow protection to 9, saturation to 8, and color boost to 14.

   

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina 

Hello All
People returning home after a day at the beach.

NIKON D300 + 18-200 VR@ 200mm – ISO 200 – 1/250 – f 13.0 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia 

 Hello all!

Since it’s snowing too much for my taste, I’ve remembered summer vacation and decided I would like to remind my self to it. So, I’m presenting you a panorama created out of 12 vertical images. It was about to rain (dark clouds on the right of the image)

and the clouds were great that morning! Nikon d80, Sigma 10-20@10mm. F8, 1/40, ISO 100, Capture NX to edit and Microsoft ICE to stitch the panorama. I’m looking forward to your photos from all over the world!

 Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut  

This picture was taken while returning to Athens Greece by boat at Sunset. The birds were following and seemed to be riding the draft created by the boat.  It was taken using a Canon 7D

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona  

  This sunset was captured from a ferry in Norway whilst crossing one of the smaller fjords.

 K20d, Tamron 28-75@75mm, f/4.5, 1/200 sec, ISO 250, EV +0.3 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi  

 Sunrise in New Orleans, over the Mississippi River, at the French Quarter. If you notice, under the sun, the twin towers of a lift bridge – I used to live to the right, maybe just out of the frame. Most people see this, however, as a “sunset,” because so few people get up early enough to see a sunrise. To me, they look different, but you must see a lot of both to see the difference.

 Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/11, 1/200 sec.

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

I really had forgotten how much I love sunrise and sunset photos until this special edition 🙂 It has been a very long time since I was in a location that has those marvelous sun rises and sun sets. Rick, I am so envious of where you live  !!

This is a picture from 2004  taken with the D100 .   I was attending a  business meeting in Key Biscayne, FL and got up really early to walk on the beach. The yacht was anchored out in the Gulf of Mexico .  As the sun rose  behind it, the reflection shown through the yacht window.    I hope  you enjoy this .

Roberta (Birdie)

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas   

 

I’m looking forward to this seeing everyone’s photos! I really need to practice this type of photography more since you don’t have long to shoot. This was taken at South Padre Island during our Thanksgiving stay. We drove over to the bayside to watch the sunset and I took five frames of this fisherman drifting across the sunset. I liked this one the best and hope you do too. I wish the sky had been clear and the wind calm, but you can’t always order the weather. 😉 Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/90, f/6.7, ISO 400.

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 I was on the ferry boat home as the 4:50 PM sun was setting. The clouds were perfectly sized, numbered, and positioned in the sky as had my camera super handy. Since this photo’s date (11/18/2010) I had several other fine sun rising and setting photos I rejected before submitting this one.

What: Sunset & Mt Tamalpais above Marin County, Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 lens at 32mm, ISO 400, 1/200, f/4.5.

Edit: Shot raw and processed in PS CS5. I added a little contrast curve in the post. I edit my 18MP images in the ProPhoto color space and 16-bit pixel depth; then I resize them to 700 px wide, convert to sRGB and down to 8-bits for the JPG save and submit to our forum (204KB at 700×468 image size).

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York  

 Lake Champlain,  Burlington Vermont

 Shot this on the shore of Lake Champlain in the spring. Was a particularly colorful sunset that night so I jumped in the car with the camera and shot a couple of pics. 

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia  

  Hello Everybody,I am sure this special edition will be truly fantastic, unfortunately, nothing too exciting from me, as I rarely photograph the sunrise or sunset, but this one made it’s way into my photos, as I’ve never seen a sky like this before. 

Taken with Nikon D700, 24-70 f/2.8@ISO 560, 1/50s, f/13

 I look forward to seeing your photos, they should be spectacular given the theme this time. 

 Have a lovely week,nn  Jana

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

  I enjoy photographing the sunrise and sunset as much as the next photographer.  Low angled sunlight is a natural light photographer’s bread and butter, their staple diet so to speak.  I’ve always struggled to be up and at ’em for sunrises unless I’m going to work.  However, on holidays in April this year I was well enough organised to to be ready to shoot these magnificent stone boulders at Moeraki on the South Island of New Zealand.  Luckily for me I had a low pre-dawn tide and the sky was perfect for a dramatic sunrise. 

This shot was taken on a tri-pod using my D700 and old Nikkor 16mm f/3.5 fisheye lens.  You may note the scene is split approximately 50% sky and 50% water.  A fisheye lens can be used to great effect in landscape photography without suffering the extreme keystone barrel distortion effects it can produce if the horizon is placed roughly along the center line of the frame.  The radial sun rays effect is achieved by closing the aperture blades down very tight, in this case right down to f/22.  This is the first time I achieved this appearance in a photograph and also had some great subject matter to aid composition.  I was in the right place at the right time and was able to make a good fist of the outstanding scenery and light I had laid before me.  This sunrise photo shoot is one of the most rewarding and satisfying photo opportunities I’ve experienced.   I’ll never tire of sunrise / sunset shots and am always on the lookout for interesting subject matter to spice up any scene at either end of the day. 

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 

The only thing I like about this shot is that it can be greatly improved.  The sun had set (bottom right) and the colors are what happened shortly there after.  I took this today using a tripod.  One tenth of a second at 140 mm and ISO 500.  Nikon D300 plus 70-200 VRII (fitted with 2x teleconverter – yes, I was too lazy to take it off).

  

Ken Yamamoto– Tokyo, Japan

Didn’t have time recently to take sunrise/sunset photos….  This was taken while I was still in New York, in April this year.  Wonderful sunset with clouds flowing….
D700, 24-70, @70mm, 1/200s, f/8, ISO200, PP by NX2
Thank you!!  Ken 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia 

 This shot is of the Tetons at dusk. As you can tell, I’m not very good at evening type shots, so I’m looking forward to this special photo show.

 Nikon D100 ISO 1000, 35mm, 1/100 sec, f2.8, matrix metering

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America 

 Nikon D2Xs, AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, Normal Program, f/4, 1/60sec, ISO100 @ 36mm

 The sky still covered clouds and gray as I wrote you yesterday. I have to use this old one, taken two years ago.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

  

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi,

My sunset was taken on Drava river last Spring.

Olympus E-510, ED9-18mm at 9mm, ISO 100, 1 sec @ f/22, tripod.

 Best regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

  

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 

 We have received a lot of snow today here in Norway, and for the summer hungry in our small group, here is a sunset photo taken this summer, reminding of those lazy summer evenings, when you may calm down, and enjoy life!

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 It was taken with a Cannon EOS 10D quite a few years ago in Carmel, CA.  Settings:  f/5.6, 1/60, ISO 400.  Let me know if this one comes through as well.  Both should be sharp.

 Plugging away at this…      Gladys

  

Special Bonus photo

Some sent both a Sunrise and a Sunset

 Rick Dohme  

 I had so many beautiful sunrises and sunsets to choose from I hope you don’t mind if I give you my favorites of each. This was shot on the river side of the beach from my In-laws dock. The view from there dock is amazing every day. Many boats cruise by and the bird and dolphin show is awesome. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400 VR, 280mm, F/8, 1/1000 sec, ISO 400, EC + 0.3 step

  

Bill Shenton 

 This picture was taken at sunrise in Louisiana while duck hunting. There are a number of pictures in the series from a light orange / red glow shown as a ring on the horizon… three inches in diameter… to a full fledged fire from horizon to horizon. This one was about mid sunrise and is much more tranquil.

  

And then some could not decide between 2 good ones 

 Roberta Davidson

 I really had to search for this one.  This is a scan from film. This picture was taken many many years ago with a Nikon N90S.  I was on an old wooden schooner on  the  Apalachicola Bay  in Florida  when  this shrimping boat passed by.   There are not too many small  shrimping vessels in the area any more as they are being replaced by the large commercial vessels. The sun was setting and I really liked the way the boat is in  silhouette with the sea gulls catching a ride.I hope you enjoy a view of a dying  family was of life

 Sunset on Apalachicola Bay, Florida

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

