Week 45

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York 

 One more Sunset Shot

 Our Special edition this week was fantastic.  I’m sure several of us had a hard time choosing a photo for the thread; I know that I had several.  The one photo that was missing was a inner city urban sunset. 

This one was hard not to use on Monday, No problem – Save it for Wednesday. This one was also shot at the same time and place of another recent photo, my NY skyline from a few weeks ago. Long Island City Queens looking across the East River towards Manhattan.  The D300 really does some job of metering under tough situations..  (Matrix used)

 Nikon D300 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED at 12mm

 Program AE, 1/800 sec, f/18, ISO 320  October 8, 2010   4:37:01PM 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 Scene from Sedona, in Arizona. These two rocks are known as the ‘Praying monks’.

Originally in color, I thought the BW looked great as well.

 Pentax k10d, f/11, 1/400, ISO 200. DA 50-200 @ 73mm

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Hello!  Guess where I was last week for business?  New York!  I was too busy to do anything else, but the morning on the day I leave, I went out early to take some “sunrise” photo, but not really satisfactory for the subject, but here it is.  Not quite a sunrise, but an interesting=okay photo for the compact P&S.  NY was much cooler than Tokyo, needless to say.
Panasonic Lumix LX5, 1/100s, f/4.0, ISO 80 (Apperture Auto mode).  Thank you!  Ken
http://www.kih.me

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 July leaves for Christmas Color. Another one of those occasions when I spotted something interesting while having my morning coffee on my patio. Sometimes, you just have to sit, relax, and just take in your surroundings.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/90 sec, 105mm macro lens.

 

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 There are just so many beautiful places all around the world.
I hope to find time to comment this time.

My photo this week is form a trip to Tivoli in Copenhagen with my grandchildren on Sunday. Lots of snow, very cold and a good time in wonderful surroundings.

 Happy Wednesday all.  Jens

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 This picture was taken on the Damariscotta river near the open ocean this past summer and shows a number of lobster trap buoys that have become tangled due to the 10 to 13ft change in tide which takes place four time each day. It was taken with a Canon 7D … 75 – 300mm at 100mm at 1/125. 

 

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Sunset/sunrise theme was sensational! So many beautiful photos….

But, back to reality. Winter showed it claws last week in my part of world. It wa snowing almost every day, and weekend was good for photography. Some sun, blue sky, clouds and of course plenty of snow.

But, today I’m presenting something little different from what I usually photograph. This shot, I have it in my plans for some time, but conditions were not perfect for it. Until this week. 🙂 It’s simple repetition/lines/contrast shot that I for some reason like. Perhaps it will be appealing to some of you. 🙂 Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@195mm, f9, 1/400sec, ISO 200. Little post processing in Capture NX.

Greetings, Filip.

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Congratulation to all for a beautiful Sunset special edition, very creative and surprising views of a theme considered more of a “cliche”. I like Roberta’s shrimping boat, the fading world of old style fishermen and their boats is touchy to me.

My submission for this week is a shot from deep forest in the mountains taken this November, nothing special about it but I like the way it turned out on B&W.
Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 80mm F/2.8 lens, Fuji Acros100 film

 

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Well seems like I’m getting to see alot of wonderful pictures in a short time here. This is keeping me on my toes. Really enjoyed the sunrise and sets. Mine is another from the beach a week ago. This egret came out of nowhere and decided he wanted to mate the egret I was trying to photograph. Now this can really mess up a good photo shoot. You can tell by his look he was very determined. My subject had a headache and wanted nothing to do with Him. Nikon D3, 80-400 VR, 360mm, 1/250 sec, SB800 flash w/diffuser. 

 

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

This shot came from the Colorado National Monument.  It was my second choice from our special, Sunrise & Sunset.  I took the shot just before the sun disappeared behind the western ridge.  You can see the divide between sunset and shadow on the far wall.

Hope you enjoy it.

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

Thank you very much for the very kind comments on my photo last week.  Also, the sunset/sunrise edition was superb! The one that was most unusual for me was Jeannean’s photo, the sun looks surreal, I’ve never seen anything like it in a real life.  An abstract from me this week, am playing with some ideas for Christmas photos, hence the ice theme. No comment on the high ISO, one day I might finally learn 🙂 

Taken with Nikon D60, Nikkor 18-55mm, f/3.5-5.6@ISO 400, 1/1250s, f/9

 I look forward to seeing all your photos.   Jana 

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I took this dragonfly photo on Saturday morning. The dew wasn’t as heavy as my last dew covered dragonfly shots, but you take what you get. I wanted to try for natural light instead of flash (flash creates a more dramatic shot, but less natural when in low light), so took my tripod with me. It’s a pain to haul it around trekking through fields of high grass, but I guess it was worth it. I liked this one best because it was wiping the dew off it’s face. Tech: D90/Sigma 150mm/1.4x teleconverter @ 1/60, f/6.7, ISO 400.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 A fast bowler requires a high arm action in order to generate speed and bounce.  Just as crucial is the grip on the ball which must be firm without being too tight and with the seam of the ball held upright. 

 Camera:      Nikon D300      Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED + TC-20E III    Settings:     400 mm, 1/500 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 1000 (AP, monopod, UV filter)

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

This photo was taken last week through the passenger window of my vehicle on the way to work.  It’s just a frame containing some grass and trees and an old barbed wire fence.  But it has meaning to me as my partner planted those trees 15 years ago and now they are flowering and only a short 14 months ago there was hardly a blade of grass to be seen inside this frame.  I’m just enjoying the meter high carpet of grass heads dancing in the breeze for the time being, it’s been 17 years since this particular frame has looked so good.

D700 and 85mm f/1.4 D at a fairly open aperture just pointed through the open window of my vehicle – photo took 15 seconds to capture, a simple pleasure, nothing more……

 

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all
Last week I went to a concert, given by my Baroque friends. They are students and this was their last exam of the year. Here the two flautists waiting to play their part.

D300 + 18-200 VR @ 170 mm – ISO 3200 – 1/40 – f 5.6 –

  

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 have not been able to take my camera out on a walk for some time now, but last Saturday my daughter competed again, this time in “Dancer of the year”, which, for these youngsters, is Christmas, New Year and Birthday all in one.  Her father’s pride was even higher as she came in 7th in the Master class, which her best ever.  Next time, we’ll bring the trophy home!

 Nikon D300,  Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VRII @180mm,  ISO 2500, 1/200 @f3.2.  SB800 @ -2/3 EV 

  

 Joshua Fahler –  Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This was taken at a market in a rural part of Taiwan that is popular enough that people from nearby cities visit the village.  I liked the contrast of this monk with the people rushing around behind him – it makes me want to shoot some sort of time-lapse with one of these guy sitting out someday.  

 Thanks for the comments on my photo, everyone.  Everyone had some great shots and I’m sorry I didn’t get around to making more comments.  I’ll be sure to do that in a few hours – but probably after Joseph sends out this email.  

http://joshintaiwan.com

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

Hi everyone!  The special edition was just breath taking!!!

 I have not had much time lately for photos, so this is from several weeks ago. We have our first cold snap and I am hoping for some frost as I want to try and get some macros of ice crystals.

Hopefully next week you will see ice in detail.

 Dandelion After the Rain

D300   60mm micro

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Dear Gej, thanks a lot for your valuable comment to my post for sunrise/sunset edition. All the photos were exceptional.  My photo captured last year, while the fisherman unloading the boat.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Aperture Priority, f/1.4, 1/400sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Sun setting on San Francisco last week. I shot this from the ferry back home to Larkspur.

I REALLY really enjoyed everyone’s sun set/rise photos from the other day!

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L, ISO 200, 1/1000, f/5.6

 

 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 This was taken on November 1, 2010, at my peaceful, beaver-made pond.  This heron is much shyer than the two herons at Veteran’s Park.  About as soon as he was lighting in this photo, he was taking off again after seeing me. 
 
220mm, F/8, 1/1000s, ISO200.  Cropped a tree out on the right.

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This is a shot from Winooski, VT on a bridge that goes across the Winooski River. I feel the simple B/W conversion really does a lot for the photo. 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

I am attaching one here that was taken Sunday morning at sunrise in Westport, CT.  Camera settings:   taken with a Nikon D60, ISO 400, f/22, 1/250. 

 Thanks, Gladys

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 Back to my favorite subject – California landscapes. There’s a slight possibility someone might recognize the scene in this shot as the location for “Summer of ’42” and “East of Eden”. I took this shot with B&W film and is small neighborhood on the west side of Mendocino.

 Nikon F5, ISO 400, 1/250 sec, f11, Kodak B&W

  

Special Bonus photo

This week it is tips and techniques  

 What can sun do – Filip Lucin

 2 photos, same day, 40 minutes time difference. It was snowing hard and I decided to take a snapshot trough my window.

And little later snow stopped, and clouds cleared a little so the sun that was already low on horizon shined upon the fog and gave us this reddish apocalyptic end of the day. It lasted maybe five to ten minutes and night fell immediately after. This are small and seemingly insignificant things that I tend to remember for a long time…

Greetings, Filip. Once again. 🙂

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

  

Macro Depth Of Field tricks Jeannean R

 Really, really enjoyed everyone’s sunset/sunrise photos! Thanks so much for sharing them. My photo this week was taken early Sunday morning. I spotted a little beetle on this Mexican Hat flower and started to take a photo when I saw some antennae sticking out from underneath. I turned it over and saw a cluster of sleeping (resting) tiny bees. I was taking natural light shots, so had my tripod, took three photos in different focal planes, and stacked them to increase the apparent DOF with PhotoMerge-Group in PS Elements 8. This is my first stack of more than two photos, and was fairly pleased with the result. I certainly need more practice though. I’m including the first and last photo for comparison of the narrow DOF when shooting macro, and why many choose to try stacking. Tech: D90/Sigma 150mm/1.4x teleconverter @ 1/60, f/11, ISO 400.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 Final stacked image

 Front in focus

 

  Rear in focus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

