Week 46

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The Annual Christmas card Photo

Ever since my first child was born 22 years ago, we have included a photo of the children in with our Christmas card.  This is the 23 year for the tradition.   Over the years we have evolved from inserting a wallet size photo, to a commercial photo card, back to inserting a 4X6 print, and for the last several years a completely homemade card.  The cover is usually a winter scene that I photographed the winter before, the inside is the family photo on top with a Christmas greeting on the bottom and the back cover is a few photos of the kids from the past year.

Here is this year’s photo – left to right Janine a high school sophomore, Jillian a College sophomore at the University of Vermont, Joe Junior who you all know and Jamie a high school Senior.  Taken the day after Thanksgiving up at the house in Vermont, the theme was flannel shirts.

 Nikon D300  DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm @ 35mm

AE, 1/100 sec, f/4.2, ISO 500 – pop up flash used as a fill flash

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This was taken while walking around Hsinchu City, the nearest large city to me in northern Taiwan.  I hadn’t realized it, but hip-hop dancing is pretty popular with teens and young adults here.  They’re pretty good at it, too.  In fact, I took some shots at a dance competition not too long ago and was very impressed with what I saw.  I

 had my D5000 with a 70-300 lens attached, and these kids started showing off, which I thought was funny.  When I pointed at the camera, they danced more – this guy was pretty excited to see himself breakdancing on the back of the camera body… it made the whole day’s worth of walking around the city worth every second. 

 Taken with a 70-300mm at 70mm focal length.  ISO: 250, f/4.5, and at 1/40 shutter speed. 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

This weekend I went to another camera buddy to the seaside to take some seasonal light-up events.  Here is the Rainbow Bridge seen from the artificial island which is now a very popular place for romantic set-up.  Yeah, I went with a guy but my purpose is to take pics anyway 🙂  So, the Rainbow bridge is really rainbow color with the Tokyo tower special lit up in the center, and several boats floating with passengers drinking and eating, enjoying the view….  I realized that it is really difficult to take the night scenery and this is where I have to train up, too.
D700, 28-300 @62mm, f/8.0, 1.6sec, ISO200, Tiopod.
Ken – www.kih.me

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 The shots last week were superb.  Although already mentioned, Jens, you have a Christmas Card in the making!  Jeannean, your stacking was the impetus that I needed to get to work trying new things.  Thank you!  Everyone did a wonderful job.

 With the cold weather pummeling the South, I thought a little frost with fit right in.  This was all that was left of a patch of Black-Eyed-Susans.  They are very hardy and will be back next year but for now they are covered with a blanket of snow.  Although not a macro lens, I was able to get in pretty close with a P/S.  This was a fun shot!

 Have a great week.  Gej

 E995 – 1/45sec – f/2.6 – ISO 100 – 8.2mm

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 Life is dreary and cold here right now.  But one good thing about winter is that I can see the hawks in the trees! (-:  This one was on the side of the four lane highway that I travel to work each day.  This is not the sharpest photo I have of him.  I did get a pretty sharp one the next morning at the same place, except he was sitting on a wire.  So, overall, I thought maybe the tree would add enough interest to make up for the lack of sharpness!  I took it out the rolled down window of my car, and the traffic passing was shaking my car, so let’s blame the lack of sharpness on “car shake”, ok?
 
Nikon D5000, VR70-300mm F4.5-5.6G lens, 280mm, F/7.1, 1/400s, ISO400, -.07EV (why I do this without knowing it I haven’t figured out yet).

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore,Denmark 

 It has been a cold and windy week so my camera has not left the camera bag.

Until half an hour ago though. View from my window at the sunrise, -10 c and a cold wind from the north.

At least the clouds have gone for a while.

Have a nice week all.m   Jens

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hi all!

Thank you for your comments on last week photos. Jens, thank you for idea, but the distance between fore and background was about 50 meters, I don’t know if I can have all sharp using telephoto lens?

Mine photo for this week is again winter shot, taken in park of our town. It’s a castle just before night.fall.  Shadows that you can see in the bottom of the photo, are children that are enjoying in the sledding there, Nikon d80, sigma10-20@14mm, f8, 10 sec, ISO 100. Post processing in Capture NX2.

Thank you all, and see you on Wednesday!

Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 “House available until early Spring” Not really much to say other than I liked the contrast between the weathered birdhouse and fence next to the flowers, and the red leaves behind. Just one of those things that we photographers notice, while being overlooked by most people. I guess that is our job.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/60 sec., manual, 24-120mm lens (90mm).

 

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 This shot is from Petra.  People who are leaving the main site, and do not want to walk back to the entrance can catch a buggy ride for about 20 Dinars ($30). The lack of suspension on these carriages makes for an interesting ride when you ride over some of the cobblestone areas. It feels like you are paint can in one of those ‘mixers’ you see in hardware stores!

And of course it’s fun to see guys on horseback ‘texting’ on their cell phones J

 Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 43mm, iso 320, f/5.6, 1/1000 sec.

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 I find myself more and more in love with the B&W photographs, it is a timeless feeling that I hardly get it with color films.

Here is a shot I took this summer at a War Veterans celebration day, this elderly had such serene and dignifying attitude that stood out, his neat national way of dressing was also something special and pretty rare to see these days.

Nikon F6, Zeiss ZF Makro Planar 100mm F/2 lens, Kodak Tmax400, Nikon Coolscan 9000ED

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I took this shot of the Roman aqueduct while visiting Segovia Spain.

If I remember correctly, it was used until the 1970’s but the most astounding fact is that there is not one ounce of mortar used in the construction – all those stones are dry fit. For size perspective, look at the far right of the picture and note the person standing near the base.

 Nikon D100, ISO 200, f8.0, 1/250 sec, 35 mm, matrix metering

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 A Saddle-billed Stork (Ephippiorhynchus senegalensis) in Temaiken, a Biopark near Buenos Aires.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @ 200 mm 1.4D  – ISO 200 – f 5.6 – 1/1250

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 I went to the Audubon  Insectarium  Sunday and had a lot of fun taking butterfly pictures.

A macro lens opens my eyes  to a world I never dreamed existed.   Each  time I pick up the camera and look for a macro shot, I am amazed and surprised by what I find.

 This butterfly had the most interesting patterns – zebra stripes and  big cat colors and patters.    Hope you enjoy.

 D300 105mm micro F/9 shutter 1/80  ISO 200  SB900 diffused

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everyone
I found it very hard to do justice to todays photo of a ginger flower. To see it in full bloom is truly spectacular and to have it in my backyard makes it even better as the plant is covered in these flowers at this time of year. Each flower dies within a day only to have another flower open out of the cone tomorrow
D90 Tamron 90mm Lens 1/60sec @ f22

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I found this mantidfly early Sunday morning and got a few shots before it warmed up enough to fly off. They are very cool looking bugs (IMO ;). I used my tripod again so I could try stacking, and was able to stack two photos for this one. Once they move, the opportunity is gone, so you have to be pretty quick sometimes. Shot with D90/Sigma 150mm, pop-up flash -1 for fill light @ 1/30, f/13, ISO 400. A few other shots of it can be seen here.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

thank you very much on the kind comments on my photo last week. This week an orchid, that is just flowering in my bathroom. 

Taken with Nikon D60, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6@ISO 100, 1/15s, f/8, off camera flash  

 Have a lovely week, I look forward to seeing your photos ,  Jana

  

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 Wembley Ma.

 Coolpix P5100

12/06/2009 

 1/180s,   f/4.3 ,  ISO 64 ,  10mm ,  No Flash

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 Lake Placid 2009,

 another ‘grab shot’ on the water, looking to catch a fish

Coolpix S710, f/6.7, 1/400—

  

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 Quite another kind of image from me this week – more like a test.  😉   As many countries are experiencing cold weather, I thought I’d go back in my archives and find a summer image.  I have done some tweaking in Adobe Lightroom, and some major cropping.  The square format was chosen to emphasize peace and tranquility.  

  Per-Christian

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 Out caught – off a no-ball – so not out! (two images 1/8 sec apart)

 Camera:      Nikon D300

Lens:          AF-S VR II Zoom-Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G IF-ED + TC-20E III

Settings:     240 mm, 1/1000 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 200 (AP, monopod, UV filter)

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America 

 Dear Ken, Gladys thanks a lot for your valuable comments to my post last week. I’m planing to be on the streets more, after long computer problem.  Captured in the city harbor few days ago before powerful washer arrived. I liked rarely available yellowish muddy color of Suriname River a lot. Hope you like it too. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Aperture Priority, f/2.5, 1/4000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Wow are things every crazy at my house. Taking my wife on our first cruise for her birthday on Thursday. Can’t wait to get some pics from that. So many little kids in their Christmas outfits I can’t resist. Shot this on Sunday. Thanks for the nice comments on my pictures. I love everyones pictures. I wish I had time to comment. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-200 2.8, 80mm, f/5.6, 1/60 sec, ISO 640, SB 800 flash with diffuser.

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 My Week 46 contribution harks back to the wet winter we had here in S.W. Victoria, Australia.  This is a photo of a very long agricultural drain which runs through one of the properties I work at.  It has been completely dry for the past 7 years and has only seen small partial trickles in the 4 years prior to those past 7 dry years.  After consistently good winter / spring rains it is 100% full and flowing again and really breaks up the local landscape. making scenes more interesting.  

My photo is of a distant canola oil seed crop in full flower with a 90 degree elbow bend in the drain but appears as a 180 degree bend because I used my old 16mm fisheye lens to take this photo and experimented by hand holding my 77mm CPL filter in front of the fisheye lens to see what results could be had. The aperture was set to f/22 to fight the sun in the frame and I think I’ve got a bit of diffraction loss happening here and it looks much better as a larger image, but the image was still worthy of editing and sharing.  I adore the carpet of creamy sky esp. in the top right of the frame, it just goes on forever.  Surprisingly the reflections on the water are still quite vivid and clear, i expected the CPL to kill these off more that it did…….  

Nikon D700 + 16mm f/3.5 Ai  Nikkor fisheye @f/22, 1/640th sec, ISO 400 with hand held Hoya CPL in front of the lens.

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Scene from inside a very dark Toronado ale house – beer bar.

I’ve been going to the Toronado since 1992. It’s located in San Francisco on Haight Street, near Fillmore. Arguably is the is the best beer bar on the West Coast. Dave Keene is the proprietor and he is a righteous man indeed. You won’t find any light beers, rice beers, or corn-based beers here… as life’s way too short not to drink real beer.

This one printed large (13×19 inches) *very well* – the original is in raw at 18 MP.

Photo: Sat., 12/11/2010, Canon EOS 7D, 24mm, ISO 800, 6 secs. At f/18 for deep DOF.

 CHEERS!  Ken Papai

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This graffiti is on the supports of I-89 in Burlington, VT. There was quite a lot of graffiti and a lot of really interesting pieces of artwork. I definitely spent a lot of time examining it all and of course, snapping some pictures. This one is my favorite from those shots.

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 This picture was taken at sun set the same day as the sunrise I sent in earlier. This picture was taken while fishing for Red Fish in the late afternooning as we headed back in during sunset. Taken with a Canon SD1400 IS DF 14.1 MP.

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Christmas is coming – Ken Yamamoto  

 This was taken at the new International Terminal of the Haneda Airport which is in Tokyo, unlike the other (New Tokyo) international airport which is hours away from Tokyo.  Just opened last month and I went there (about 20 minutes from anywhere) and shot some.  This is the seasonal shot at the airport.
D700, 24mm, f/1.4, 1/100s, ISO200.
Ken – www.kih.me

  

More Christmas decorationsJeannean R

Before getting involved with photography, I was a collector of a lot of stuff, but namely holiday ornaments. This is one of my favorites by Patricia Breen, called “Santa for Vera” produced exclusively for Neiman Marcus Catalog in 2001. It sold out immediately. I bet most of you can guess why this is one of my favorites. (Patricia Breen ornaments are designed by her, and the molds are carved by her husband Eric. They have a small studio in Krakow, Poland and employ local artisians to blow and paint the glass. Everything is done the “old fashioned way” and are made in limited quantities.) D90/Sigma 150mm @ 1/6, f/8, ISO 320.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

