Week 47

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Cold and Clear Days

 December‘s cold and clear days are here in full force.   On crisp cold days, the blues in the sky always seem richer and deeper (no polarizer filter effect here).

        The rock jetties at each end of Orchard beach were built to protect the sand from tidal erosion, always have become interesting elements in photos that I have taken there.  At high tide the water comes up to near the top of the jetty on the right and shortens the beach on the left. At low tide as shown here you can walk around the jetty and surf cast into a area very rich with Bluefish and Stripped bass.  I have spent 100’s of hours fishing from this spot, during the summer and fall.

 Nikon D300   DX Nikkor 18-135mm f/3 at 18mm , 1/250 sec, f/16, ISO 250

Tags – winter beach photo, Orchard Beach, Jetty, Rock Jetty, Bronx waterfront

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hope everyone had a great week .    The photos last week are wonderful.    
I had one morning of frost.  So , I just had to try and get a macro shot of it.  Of course the only frost was in my front yard, where my attempts are witnessed by everyone in the neighborhood as they went out and about.  I am sure the neighbors will now keep their kids away from the crazy lady who lays in the frost.

So, here is my attempt ,  I need more of the foreground in focus ( darn that dof in macro)  .   This a focus stacks from 3 photos of frost on the edge of a leaf.  Look how delicate and intricate it is –   nature is amazing.  Now I just need more frosty morning to practice!

Tags – Macro photography, Frost, Focus stacking

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 “Popps Fountain, City Park, New Orleans.”  I spent time this Summer photographing this New Orleans landmark.  The gates are closed until mid morning, and closed too early for evening light.  This day, they were unlocked late, so I was trying to find a way to make the most of a subject in poor light.  After walking around and around in the hot New Orleans humidity, I finally sat, soaked with perspiration, and decided to take a close shot of the fountain itself, which was recently restored after sitting vandalized and abandoned for decades.  As it usually happens, this “grab shot” turned out to be my favorite.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/750 sec.

Tags – Fountain, Water fountain, Water spraying

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Another car that is not mine, sadly.
(The ISO number is because I forgot to change it, since the last time I had used the camera )

D300 + 18-200 VR @ 200mm – ISO 1250 – 1/200 – f 7.1

Tags – Jaguar,  Hood ornament,  Classic Car ornament

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Merry Christmas to your all.

White Christmas and shopping for presents to family and friends.
The nice surroundings help bringing everyone into the right mood.

J Both for Christmas and shoppingJ

I always end up buying presents in the last minute, don’t know why?

 All the best, Jens

Tags: Christmas, shopping, snow, winter.

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This was taken at a lion dance and drum competition here in Jhubei that I actually was lucky enough to come across by chance over the weekend.  It gave me a good chance to test the limits of the D5000’s 4 frames per second and I had pretty good light for some pretty fast shutter speeds.  This was taken at f/4.5 at 70mm and a 1/400 shutter speed at ISO 200.  What really did this for me was the AF-C (AI-Servo on Canon) mode along with the focus point tracking.  I was also on continuous fire – shooting about 4 fps as mentioned above.  I did hear a guy next to me with a D3 – sounded like a machine gun! 

 The subject involves a lion dance – in this case, it involves a lion jumping on these very small platforms.  Very impressive, especially with 2 people with a giant suit.  I did get a photo of these guys completely in the air (with them both jumping), but liked this one more because you can see the first performer’s face.  I wouldn’t want to try this as a hobby and can’t imagine the amount of preparation that goes into this act.  

 

Tags: lion, dance, jhubei, taiwan, asia, nikkor, 70-300mm

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Happy Holidays & Merry Christmas to one and all.  I hope the Wednesday email finds all of you in good health and enjoying this special time of year.

This photo comes from a restaurant we visited last week.  Grazie in Orange Beach, Alabama – Excellent food.  Because of the time of year and their location, we were the only patrons in the restaurant at the time.  The Service was superb.  

I was drawn to the shutters on the half-wall between the restaurant and the bar area.  We were later told that they came from the original home that sat on this location.  Their colors and textures were wonderful and I asked the manager if he would allow me to photograph the interior and all was well.

For the most-part the interior was lit with natural light and the first couple of handheld shots were throwaways.  I tried a flash but that was a throwaway too.  So I placed the camera on a tabletop set the aperture to f/4.0 and hoped for the best.  If I’m able to return and shoot again, I’ll have my tripod with me and set the aperture to f/16 or smaller and placed one of the blue chairs in a more prominent location.  I wanted to avoid noise and am reasonably pleased with the results.  I also tried a different type of border this week.  I hope you like it. 

Find time to enjoy being with your family and friends!   And as always, Thank you Joe for all you do for us!

Gej

 D90 – f/4.0 – .8sec – 18-200@18mm – ISO 160 – Aperture Priority

Tags : Grazie  Orange Beach, Alabama, restaurant, table and cxhairs, bar

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

As always, lot’s of great photos, I expect the same this week! 🙂 My photo for today is photo of this little bird that I’ve found knocking on the tree with it’s beak. At first I didn’t see it, just heard it knocking. So, I’ve expected a woodpecker, but I’ve found this nuthatch. Nice little bird. 🙂 Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@300mm, f8, 1/200, ISO 200, cropped heavily and post processed in Capture NX.  

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 We were in NYC last week for our annual family Christmas visit, where we typically go to a show… The Rockettes.. the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree… Macy’s, and just take in the beautiful city at Christmas… I couldn’t help but remember your comments and others in the e-mails… about a little Holiday libation… so I shot this picture where we were having dinner and was thinking of you… Thanks for all of your hard work coordinating this photographic endeavor… I am humbled each week by the beauty from others…  Hope you enjoy… Merry Christmas to you and your family…

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I took my wife on our first cruise this past weekend for her 50th birthday. We went out of Tampa to Cozumel Mexico and back. Had a great time. This pic was shot as the sun rose when we docked the ship. Glad to be back home safe. Ate way too much food. Thanks for the nice comments on my pic last week. Hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas with family and friends. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400 VR, 230mm, F/11, 1/400 sec, ISO 800,

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 Yellowstone is one of my favorite places to visit and shoot pictures.  I could spend months there and wear out many many cameras. This is a shot of a hot spring that’s recently been active (25 years or so) and killed nearby trees and built a beautiful snow-white calcium fall.

 Nikon D100 1/400 sec, f2.8, ISO 200, 58mm Matrix Metering

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Sorry to send you another Hibiscus stamen but i am intrigued by them. I love the colour and architecture.
I hope everyone has a safe and merry festive season

D90 Tamron 90mm Lens 1/80sec @ f22 ISO200

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan 

 This was shot on the same night as the last week rainbow bridge shot.  We were walking around to find the better spot for the shot of the Tokyo Tower lit up.  Then I came this spot – just like a movie scene.  No one is around, just a street light, lots of fallen leaves, and a bench (actually, behind me).  Nice, I thought….
D700, 24mm, f/1.4, 1/25s, ISO 200


Tags – Street photo, foliage, park, night 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody, 

 thank you for your comments and the wonderful Christmas wishes. My photo this week is from my recent trip to the Czech Republic, the snow was wonderful and I finally had a chance to experience this beauty with a camera in my hand. 

Taken with Nikon D60, 18-55mm, f/3.5-5.6@ISO 100, f/10, 1/60s

 Have a lovely week and Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays to you all. 

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 I’m unlucky this year, I’ve got to spend Christmas in the field so I don’t have a recent photo on the spirit of the season’s celebrations.
Here is one from my home town, last year Christmas decoration with the City hall in the background, shot on Fujichrome  Tungsten T64, Contax G2 and 28mm F/2 Biogon lens, tripod.

Merry Christmas and all the best for everyone in the group, wish you enjoyable time with families and friends.
 
Special tanks for Joe for all his effort he put in this Wednesday photo of the week, it was a great photo experience year indeed. Thanks all for kind comments and critiques, wish you good luck in the pursuit your photography and looking forward for the best shot of the year…

Best Regards  Bogdan

  

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello everyone!

Last winter at this time it was very cold (-22 degrees Celsius). Then I take some of my best photos ever. Last weekend temperature was dropped to -21 celsius ( -5.8 Farenheit ).  I could not resist temptation so I went to the same place again, hoping to record interesting photos. Motif was the same like last year, frozen boat on river. I hope you enjoy watching.  J

 Photo data: Olympus E510, Olympus ED9-18mm @ 14mm, ISO 100, 2sec @ f/8, cokin ND Grad S, tripod.

 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone!

Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

Tags: boat, river, snow, dawn, water, winter

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

Merry Christmas, everyone!  I almost missed the thread this week!  This is a full moon from about a month ago.  Hope it looks ok. 
 
Nikon D5000, VR70-300mm F/4.5-5.6G, 240mm, F/5.3, 1/100s, Manual, Auto ISO800.

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 This is a recently taken photo of an Australian Raven which likes to sit up in a tree just outside our kitchen.  We adore our ravens and like to watch then as they raise thier young in our garden every year.  These birds are traditionally associated with death and doom both through history and even today carry a stigma associated with death and bad luck.  Of course I love them and usually portray them in a positive light and if one observes these birds for long enough it is clear that they are no different to any any other birds in that they care for their young and need somewhere to raise them.

 I took this photograph during a very deep orange sunset late one evening and for a change decided to heavily edit the image to portray the raven in a dark and foreboding light.  I have mainly used thec burn tool in PS and desaturated the green from the leaves to gain this effect. 

Curiously I have emailed my “positive” light photos to friends in the past and never got much of a response – this image however gained quite a strong response………..

 Taken hand held with a Nikon D700 + 70-200mm VR lens  @135mm, f/6.3, 1/1250th sec, ISO 800

 Merry Christmas to all contributors!!

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 This is a  photo of a New York City moment.  I am often amazed what I see when I look up.  Who says New Yorkers walk with their heads down?  I was waiting for the light to change to cross the street and heard a growing cooing sound.  Imagine my surprise when I saw a Hitchcock scene just above my head!  It may not be the sharpest or best composed shot, but it is a ‘NYC moment’, for sure.  No camera settings on this one, I’m afraid…

 

 Tags:  NYC, pigeons, streets

  

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 Sebastian Age 3 My adorable nephew, IMHO!

Loves Bob Dylan music. Has never seen a TV! But may watch selective video on a laptop.

 “Subterranean Homesick Blues”

 Coolpix 5100

1/60 s Flash ISO 64  f/3.1

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 I was at one of my favorite place on last Sunday. Actually I never shoots birds / animals like this but it was end of low tide on Suriname River and the water was rising again then I saw this hungry white egret and sat more closer. I didn’t disturb he or she and captured lots of photo. My arms and legs already sun burned after sitting two hours under powerful sun in the middle of day. Suriname have only rainy tropical summer due its closer layout to Equator.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/5000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 My final sports photo for 2010 is a twin pack.  Two wickets off the last two balls of the innings … the bowler will have to wait until next year to attempt the “hat-trick” (three wickets in three balls).  Two months to think about the next delivery!

 Camera: Nikon D300  Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II with TC-20E II

Settings: 1/500s at 400mm with f/5.6 and ISO 720 (both images) using a monopod

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Golden Gate Bridge at Sunset

Dec. 15, 2010, Ken Papai

Canon EOS 7D, 85mm 1.8 lens, ISO 200, 1/640, f/9

The ferry I was on had just passed Alcatraz and I was afforded a nice view of the bridge. Every week I’ve strived to submit a *recent* photo (with the past week or less). So far so good – and now, Happy Holidays!-

Ken

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 I had a friend tell me the other day that the place where we live, will never feel like “home” to her because it doesn’t get very cold here. (It’s 87F/30.5C here today and she’s originally from Iowa.) Cold, wintery weather is a thing best kept to photos for me. Along with the warmer weather, we usually have mosquitoes around as well. You take the good with the bad. 🙂 Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm macro, Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/250, f/11, ISO 640. Tags: macro, Sigma 150mm, mosquito

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This shot is from Burlington, Vermont on College St. This building overlooks the lake and has some stunning views of some great sunsets. I snapped this on one of my many photo excursions through Burlington on an absolutely gorgeous day.

  

Special bonus Photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 From Vegas – Roberta Davidson

 We went to Las Vegas for a few days.  Met with rain the entire time we were here. Here is a photo of the lobby at The Palazzo

 

Happy Holidays – Rick Dohme

 Joe gave me an Idea to share my family with everyone. Daughter Kaley 17, son Kyle 19, Wife Carolyn, And Me. Happy Holidays from the Dohme family.
D3, Nikon 24-120 3.5, 55mm, f/10, ISO 640, SB 800 on camera with diffuser, two strobes one reflector and one soft box, wireless remote shutter release

  

Another holiday “bonus” photoJeannean R

I took this photo with my Canon SD890. I grabbed whatever was available for a quick shot because I didn’t want to miss this opportunity! This is PeeWee and Lincoln (my neighbor’s puppies) tuckered out after a play session. They just cuddled up and fell asleep on the box under my Christmas tree. Happy Holidays! 🙂

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

