Week 48

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Snowing in Vermont

Mother Nature does some of her best artwork in Vermont.  Meanwhile we’re snowed in here in NY, after 2 days the local roads have not even been plowed yet in many places.

This one from  the same time  time of year  last winter ,  was taken on a back road on the way to the Somerset reservoir 

 Nikon D700 AF Zoom-Nikkor 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6D IF  Shot at 98 mm

AE, 1/320 sec, f/9, ISO 320

tags :  Vermont, vermont winter, vermont snow picture

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello, I hope you all had a nice Christmas and holiday.  I had a very good time with family, taking a cruise around the Tokyo Bay with lunch service.  I took bunch of photos on the ship of the sister’s family and mother, etc.  along with the sea and landscapes.  This week’s my pick is this one – An aircraft taking off from the Tokyo International Airport with the back ground of Mt. Fuji (the highest mountain of Japan).  It was a gorgeous weather and really nice day for the cruise.  By the way, the cruiser is not mine, but some cruiser company does this all the time 🙂  It’s a big cruiser with hundreds of people on board capacity.  Nice experience.

D700, 28-300 @200, f/11, 1/320s, ISO200, at about 3 o’clock when the sun light was becoming orange-ish.
http://www.kih.me


Tag – cruise, airport, aircraft take-off, mount fuji

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 For the first time since year 1900 we have had two white Christmas in a row!

With a ‘little luck’ we might even have the coldest December for more than 25 year!

So what is more appropriate than a photo from the beach.

 Happy New Year to your all. Jens

Tags: Winter, Ice, Beach.

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi everyone, hope your holiday was wonderful.  We went to Las Vegas last week and here is a picture from the Venetian/Palazzo Grand Canal .  I was up very early walking around the closed shops and  noticed the refections in the  canal.   The security guards followed  me around and kept an eye on what I photographed.   I actually called  one over to show him the reflections in the water.  He was amazed as he said he had never noticed them before.

 More of my take on Vegas can be seen at – birdied.zenfolio.com

 Hope you enjoy  —

 D300  12-24mm lens at 22 mm

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Happy Wednesday from Orange Beach, Alabama.  

 Yesterday Sally decided to head out for the Sunday paper.  The door slammed shut and about 10 seconds later she rushed back in.  She yelled to me that, “It’s SNOWING!”  By the end of the week we should see 60s-70s.  Never a dull moment.  I hope the weather is perfectly to your liking wherever you are.  As long as I’m on the green side of the grass, I’m a happy camper.

I took this photo Christmas Eve Day.  While taking the boardwalk to the beach, (probably 1/4 mile long) I turned to look at where I had come from.  This is what I saw.  I took shots last year similar to this but facing south.  This photo was taken while facing north.  Lines & Shadows seem to be a subject I enjoy photographing.  I hope you feel the same.

D90 – 1/400sec – f/8.0 – 18-200@105mm – ISO 400 – Aperture Priority

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

First, thank you for your comments! I do appreciate them very much! And as we are on the verge of the new year, let me wish you all the best in new year! May it be happy, healthy, joyful and full of photo opportunities!

My photo for this week is a recent one, I’ve been on nearby Drava river just before sunset. When this photo was taken sun was already low over horizon, and the clouds were painted with it’s light. Two filters that I was using added little more red color to the clouds. Shot with Nikon D80, Sigma10-20@10mm, f9, 2.5 sec and ISO100. I was using Cokin 2stop ND and 2 stop GND filter. Post processing in Capture NX2.

 Greetings, Filip.

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Hope everyone had a great time during the holidays with family and friends. This Iguana was just hanging out along the side of the road in Cozumel. He just sat there while I got real close and posed for me. I was hoping he wouldn’t get scared and attack. My Spanish isn’t very good so he wouldn’t know what I would be screaming at him.:) Nikon D200, Tamron 28-300, 110mm, F/13, 1/640sec, ISO 500

 

 Tag: Iguana, Cozumel, Mexico.December 2010

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 I’d call this shot on Kodachrome “there is hope” but I am not really sure about that, my last 31 rolls of Kodachromes are lost in the blizzard somewhere between Europe and US… I sent them to Dwayne’s for processing ten days ago but I haven’t got any more status updates after parcel left my country… very likely I’ll miss processing deadline which is Dec. 30th… well, I still have the option to processed them in B&W if I ever get the rolls back…such a life for a film photographer.

Wish you all Merry Christmas once again

Warm Regards, Bogdan

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 This was taken at the end of November.  He/she was out in the sun warming.  What do you think?  Is he sharp enough, is the background blurred ok?  Any feedback appreciated.
 
Have a great week everyone!

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

On holidays … so one from the archives.

Rodger Federer … covering all the angles.

 Camera: Nikon D200  Lens: AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

Settings: 1/500s at 98mm with f/4.6 and ISO 100 (Manual, hand held)

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Winter before the snow came

 One more shot from Burlington this winter just before the snow starts to fall

 Nikon d100 sigma 28-200

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 I hope everyone had a great Christmas. In Brisbane ours was extremely wet with plenty of localised flooding. In between heavy showers i slipped into the garden and managed to photograph this little guy having what looks like a drink of water. He was very fidgety and took a lot of patience to photograph. He was about 8mm long or 5/16″ for those of you still using imperial measurements

D90 Tamron 90mm Lens  1/80 @ f18 ISO200

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,

 I hope your Christmas was fantastic this year and there would be plenty of mention of some new gear in this week’s descriptions. 

My photo is from the snowy Czech Republic, I took this right at the beginning of my stay, the mist was very thick that day and it made the whole world appear ghostly and quiet. 

 Taken with Nikon D60, 18-55 mm, f/3.5-5.6@ISO 1600, f/9, 1/40s

 Have a lovely week.,  Jana 

 

Tags: Winter, snow, trees, mist

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 Geisha Girl in Hong Kong.  Although this photo was taken in color, I am drawn to the black and white version.  Moments later, she donned sneakers and had a cell phone to her ear, while still in full dress. 

Canon 10D:  ISO 100, f/4.5, 1/125

 

 Tags: Hong Kong, geisha

 

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 A seasonal entry.

Merry Christmas from Radio City 2009. Archive. Almost annual family outing to 30 Rock and The Tree!

Love and PEACE to everyone.

 Coolpix P5100   f/2.7   ISO 400  No flash

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas

I went out early Monday morning while at my mother’s (in the Austin, TX. area for Christmas) to see what I could find in the freezing temperatures (29F). Now HER neighbors think I’m a loon too (mine already do). I was laying on the grass in freezing temps with my warm rope on taking pictures of frozen dew. Most likely, Roberta will be the only one to understand this craziness. 😉 Taken with my new Christmas present to myself, Tamron 60mm macro@1/90, f/8, ISO 400. Photo is a stack of three images in PSE 8.

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This shot was taken during a temple procession in the heart of Jhubei City a few months ago during a “Double Ninth” parade.  The festival refers to 9/9, which actually occurs during the Western/Gregorian calendar month of October, but exists on the Chinese Lunar calendar.  The concept here is that the number nine represents evil spirits, so a giant parade is performed to appease the gods and scare away the bad spirits.  

 Taken with a 70-300mm at 250mm, f/5.6 at 1/400 flash and an ISO of 400.  Cropped to put the focus on the kids and put through an Aperture 3 filter. 

 Tags: taiwan, jhubei, nikon, 70-300mm, chinese, culture

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Bixby Bridge – Pacific Coast Highway One – Big Sur, California.

Photo date: Dec. 28, 2010, Ken Papai

Canon EOS 7D, 24mm, ISO 100, 1/160, f/9, partially into the noon winter sun.

 I was on a mini vacation with my wife to Monterey and drove the coast and back today. We had excellent weather and I took 500 photos the past three days.  This is a quick one as we just got home. I’ve not even looked at all of the shots yet. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

(Bixby Bridge was built in 1932 and no doubt was part of the USA’s WPA at the time to help employ workers at a massive social scale during the Great Depression. Wow.)

-Ken Papai

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 Just back from my parent’s farm this afternoon – this photo taken last evening hot out of the camera…….  My parent’s farm being on a flat river valley floor has curiously prolonged summer time evening light which allows the keen photographer to walk around for close to an hour with this sort of charming ambient sunset lighting.

Taken with D700 + AF- S 17-35mm lens @ 35mm, f/5.6, 1/160th, ISO 800

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Free Beer – Grant Tanner

 It seems appropriate as we come into the festive season. It is a sign I found in a store and has hung in my outdoor entertaining area for a few years now. I smile everytime I see it
I am not sure how it will come up email size so just in case this is what it says “Customers over 100 years of age and accompanied by their parents, get their second beer FREE !!!”

Regards  Grant

 

Fish Story – Jana Hughes

 This is the usual sight in December in Czech Republic, we eat carp for Christmas dinner and by about mid December you can find massive tubs filled with this fish on almost every corner in every city. I tried to photograph the carp properly in the tub, but all of them swam down by the bottom and I couldn’t manage a decent photo, so I combined two images to illustrate this Czech tradition. 

 Taken with Nikon D60, 18-55mm, f/3.5-5.6@ISO 100, f/4.8, 1/80s

 

What was under Jeannean’s tree

Christmas present to myself: Tamron SP 60mm f/2 macro lens:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

