Week 49

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 The River is just about covered over

I will new get tired of taking pictures in Vermont. Each of the 4 seasons brings has breath taking  scenery, completely different from each other.  To find this one you really have to go back woods. It was taken from a small log and plank bridge over the summerset river on a timber logging road.  The more I wander around and explore, the more I find.  I’ve been going to Vermont for over 30 years and just found this spot only last year.  The road is not really kept up in winter. Any deeper into winter and it will be completely impassable. Just have to love those 4X4 wheel drive SUV’s.  If it was not for the small crack in the snow exposing the river, you would think that it was a road that had not been plowed after a snowstorm.

Tags: Snow cover river, Winter scene, vermont scenery , Shaphshooters picture

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hope you all had a wonderful New Year!!!  I know that I am looking forward to this year.

 Focus stacking is something I am determined to try and learn.  Before I start trying on a living critter, thought I should practice  on a flower.    After trying this, not only am I amazed, but mind  boggled how some will focus stack  +10 photos of a insect.  Amazing to say the least!   Lot of practice needs to be done, but it is getting  me out of my comfort zone .

 Below is 6 photos stacked in Photoshop Elements 8.

 D300 60mm micro lens with 24 mm tube   f/11 ISO 200 shutter 1/5  SB900 

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 For the holiday photo I first send a photo from my summer holiday which apparently was not right. I assume I should have distinguished between holiday and vacation! Where vacation is ‘summer holiday’ or any kind of holiday that does not fall at the same time or date every year, right?

Anyway, this first week of 2011 I got my IR converted D70 to get some photos that is not all different shades of white. This is really a very nice looking, romantic even, cottage that I tried to give a dramatic look, – right out of the camera.

 Looking forward to a lot of great photos

Jens

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Walking Iris

 Is it too early to start looking forward to Spring? This is an archive photo, taken in April of 2002, with my first digital camera – a Nikon Coolpix 950 (2 megapixel). This was in my garden in Chalmette, Louisiana. I’m lucky to still have a few photos from then. Now, If I can only find a place nearby to buy some of these. Mine were given to me, and some people call them weeds.

 Nikon Coolpix 950, f/5, 1/60 sec., normal program mode.

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Good morning!  

It was a terrific year for Sharpshooters International.  I feel as though I have friends around the world, all who share a common passion for photography.  My best to all of you! Thank you to everyone for the wonderful New Years photos and the information on how to shoot fireworks.  

As the new year starts, I’m sending you a photo taken on the 30th of last year.  We were moving to Florida and I saw this incredible cloud-bank as I came over the last bridge in Alabama.  We had a three o’clock meeting with the rental agency but I decided that it could wait if I was going to get a shot or two.  Early that day I had read an ‘Ansel Adams Lesson’ in one of Kelby’s books and decided to give it a try.  Pretty easy to do and I like the results.  

Have great week!  And, as I told my students at the end of every week, “Try to stay out of trouble.”  

 Cheers! Gej

 D90 – 1/500sec – f/4.5 – 18-200@18mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – CS5 Layers & Channel Mixer (very easy)

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

While waiting for a train at the Atocha Station in Madrid, I noticed there were no trains and no people and took the shot.

 Nikon D100  1/500 sec, f5.6, ISO 200, 145mm, 12 bit, matrix metering

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I got a new toy for the new year. A Nikon TC-20E 111 2x AFS converter. It is a perfect match for my 300 2.8 AFS. I took it out to the Park Last Friday to try it out. I only found a few birds to shoot. This White Ibis was my first victim. This is an awesome lens. Can’t wait to try some Macros with it. 🙂  Thanks for all your kind comments. I’ve really enjoyed everyone’s pictures. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8 AFS, Nikon TC-20 E 111, 600mm, F/14, 1/800 sec, ISO 800, Mono pod.

Tag: New Years,White Ibis 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I’ve sent this guy in before in another pose!  This one shows off his fishing skills.  He is one of the two blue herons that live at Veteran’s Park, they will tolerate a me for a little bit longer than the one I see “very occasionally” at my house.
 
Taken with Nikon D5000, 300mm f/5.6, manual, auto ISO 800, 1/200s.

Tags:  Heron, birds, nature

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 I missed last edition as I was traveling, so first of all Happy New Year to everybody, wish you a better year, photographic wise or not.
I took this shot last November but with the usual film delay (developing, scanning, etc.) it is new to me. On a side note it takes anywhere between next day to couples of months between shooting the picture and actually seeing in, not an easy exercise sometimes but I’ve got use of it..
Actually this year didn’t start on the right foot photographic wise, my last 30 Kodachrome rolls shipment to Kansas got mixed up and ended up on ship freight, missed processing deadline so it will never get processed in color.
The exposure of this shot was about 15min if I recall it correctly, I am pretty bad at keeping records of technical details. The red fluorescent lamps on the tower were rather tricky to expose, I did a bit of bracketing although I am not much fan of this technique.

Shot with Mamyia 645 Pro TL, 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Portra 160NC film

Looking forward to see next special photo edition although I have a hell of a time trying to choose one for myself…

Best Regards, Bogdan

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This long-exposure was taken in a shopping district of Taipei, the capital and largest city here in Taiwan.  It shows Taipei 101, the second-tallest skyscraper in the world, just passed up in 2010 when Burj Khalifa opened in Dubai.  Understandably, it also has the world’s fastest elevator and a really cool publicly-viewable wind damper.  

 Exposure: 1.7 seconds at f/22 with an 18mm focal length at ISO 800.  I did this handheld, so I had to crank up the ISO and turn on VR.  I noticed that converting to B&W definitely helped lower the noise levels and brought out the light trails.  Some processing included some removal of lens glare, and some denoising.  

Tags: taipei, taiwan, 101, light, trails, city, nikon, b&w

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Summer is officially here after a mild, slow start but the heat is now on and insects are frantically harvesting pollen and nectar from the abundance of flowers in the garden here.  This year has been particularly good for ‘Painted Lady’ butterflies.  They appear here every summer but only by the dozen.  This year sees literally hundreds of them in the garden, perhaps a result of the excellent winter / spring rains we received in 2010.

I enjoy chasing insects with the macro lens, hand held exposures and only an old manual focus at close to 1:1 magnifications, so plenty throw away poorly focused exposures but the occasional keeper too.  This photo is a no crop hand held effort taken with my trusty D700 and Kiron Ai 105mm f/2.8 micro lens @ f/11, 1/640th sec, ISO 3200

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 I took a walk on the third day of the new year (three first days of the year are always holiday in Japan) to take something “new year”.  It is traditional and popular to go to shrines for the year’s health, wealth, safety and such.  But then i realized that I hate crowded places so I just took a walk to find something.  I walked for good hour and found one.  I may have mentioned many times here – THE Tokyo Tower.  This is how it celebrates the new year and I am glad I walked that much.  Again, a Happy New Year, everyone!
D700, 24-120 @120, f/8, 1/50s, ISO900 (auto)

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hi Everyone and happy New Year to all
Todays photo has me stumped. I am not sure whether it is a spider monkey or young guy with a trendy hairstyle :-)))) I am fascinated with the face on this spider.
It was taken in my backyard with D90, Tamron 90mm Lens  1/60sec @ f13 ISO200

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 My photo is a view of the Melbourne New Year fireworks display shot from the strand along the Williamstown waterfront.  The city of Melbourne can be seen on the far right.  This shot may create the impression that the fireworks are close to the ship, but they are literally a few miles away.  The grey haze is the accumulation of fireworks smoke.

 Camera: Nikon D300 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings: 1/25s at 150mm with f/2.8 and ISO 2800 (Manual, hand held, VR on, Spot and -0.33 EV)

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

It’s already 2011! The time flies like crazy.

Thank you all for your wishes for new year, I did reply, but some of your servers marked me as spam, so not all you received my wish.

So, now when our almighty 😉 Joe sends it, you all will see it: Happy new year!!!!! 🙂

My photo for today is a railroad one. I love trains and everything connected to them, I guess it’s childhood memories when long train ride was connected with summer vacation and everything connected with it. This is a photo from last year when I was on river Drava, and this is a rail bridge over it. I hope you like it.

Now, I would like to tell something about commenting photos. While I would love to comment on all photos, it’s becoming rather difficult for me for couple of reasons. First, I want to comment on all photos and not to pick only couple of them. Having that on mind, to give meaningful comments on 20+ photos in a language that’s foreign to me, it’s really mental stress for me, and it takes a lot of time.

I hope you’ll understand my absence from commenting photos last couple of months…

 Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

Tags: train, railroad, bridge, river, winter, snow, trees, — clouds

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

Thank you very much for the comments on my last week’s photo. 

Today I had a chance to witness partial solar eclipse, the sun was right behind the trees in our garden, hence the branches on the photo, but otherwise the sky was clear and we could watch it easily. I didn’t have any filters with me, but I set the camera on the narrowest aperture and the fastest shutter speed and got some OK photos. Nothing special, but as a documentary photo it will do. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to your photos.

 Jana

 Nikon D60, 70-200 f/3.5-5.6@ISO 100, f/32, 1/4000s

 

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

 Happy New Year everyone! I hope the new year has started off well for each of you. My photo this week is my first attempt at using extension tubes for increased magnification. Along with my new Tamron 60mm, I bought a set of Kenko extension tubes and added a 36mm tube for this shot. I definitely will have to practice more, but was overall pleased with the increase in magnification (in the larger version, I can see all the individual lenses of the eye). Focus stacking would benefit this type of shot, but the cucumber beetle wouldn’t cooperate. It was on the move and only paused for a few seconds before it flew off. Nikon D90/Tamron 60mm w/36mm Kenko extension tube/pop up flash -1 @ 1/500, f/8, ISO 200. (tags: cucumber beetle, macro, extension tubes)

  

Gladys MillmanWestport, Connecticut 

 This photo was taken down my street of bare trees against a bright winter sky– nature at its simplest.  Settings: ISO 200, 27mm, f/2.8, 1/3200.

Group:  I am looking at the world differently since I joined this group.  Although I have always been attracted by forms (including forms of nature), I now am looking at everything a composition worthy of shooting.  Now, all I need to do is develop some skills…I am on my way, though, and enjoying myself!  Gladys

Tags: trees, winter, bare, sky  

  

Per-Christian Nilssen Sarpsborg, Norway

 This time a coooold photo from me, taken at Oslo Harbour just before Christmas, and in a temerature of minus 18 degrees Celcius (-1 degree Fahrenheit!).  The smoke is from the water which is approx 20 degrees C hotter than the air.  Not the right mood for a swim, I guess 😉

Leica D-Lux 5, ISO 250, 35mm eqiuivalent of 90mm, 1/125 @ f3.3.

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Nearly every end of year my wife and I have a tradition of going to the Gloria Ferrer Champagne Cellars (a Catalan Freixenet company) in Sonoma and having a bubbly picnic. A friend or two usually join us… thus, this photo from 12/31/2010. Happy NEW YEAR!

Canon EOS 7D (no flash), 16-35 lens at 26mm, ISO 800, 1/50, f/4.

Tags: New Years, champagne, picnic, friends, Gloria Ferrer, tradition.

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 A shot from Burlington, Vermont. I really like how the sunlight is coming through blades and the glow it gives the photo. 

  

Special Bonus photo

 The bonus photo is of special interest

Fire – Stanley Beck

 It was a cold, crisp, dark, and moonless night in Fannin, Mississippi, and I could feel the heat from the embers as I gazed into the dancing flames. . .

Nikon D200, ISO 800, f/5.6, 1/6 sec., Aperture Priority, hand-held, 24-120mm (90mm).

  

Stonehenge – Don Enderlein 

 I took this shot of a very familiar landmark and when I got home, I thought what a boring picture. So I played with some reverse color filters and settled with this. I like the way the other tourist look ethereal and druid-like in the background.

Nikon D100, 1/500 sec, f12, 50mm, matrix metering

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

