Photo of the year 2010

we posted over 1200 photos last year by 28 photographers.

Here is what we feel were our favorites from 2010

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 

I may have had one of my best years photographically in 2010. This group inspired and pushed me.  I had a few photos that I really liked this year, but when it came to picking one, this one popped into my mind right away.  I think that the story behind the photo had a lot more to do with it rather than the photo ascetics, and artfulness. 

The events of September 11 have always weighed heavy on my mind.  1st I was at the site  in the first days after the disaster and saw and experienced it first hand and 2nd for the past 6 years I have installed and maintained the access control system at the location. I don’t spend much time there now, but in past years I spent weeks and weeks there.

This photo which was taken Sept 11 2010 of the towers of light that are set up each year on the anniversary seems magical. It has a sci-fi look to it with the light beaming upwards and a surreal feeling with all the birds flying to the light showing up as the white specs

From week 33

  

Lil Judd – Rancho Cascades, California 

Lil was one of the 5 original members of the group and contributed till the beginning of August when personal issues put photography on hold. I’m sure that she will be back one day.  For photo of the year I asked the other original members to see if we could agree on a photo of hers. 

This one was picked by 3 of 4.  Lil had sold a horse a few years earlier and had kept his brother. After a few years she had the chance to buy the horse back and reunited them.  From her narrative:

 But I got a lovely shot of them together. I feel it shows their strong bond & love for each other. They may have been apart for four years, but you would not know it looking at the two of them. It’s 18 year old Destined on the right & soon 11 year old Naboo on the left. Destined was smelling & licking something on the overturned feed barrel & Naboo checked it out with him. The two geldings are very close & I feel the strong bond in between them in this shot. To us, three years of misery are now over. Naboo’s home again & here he will stay.

From week 10

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 My favorite photo posted here in 2010 year is the 15 second exposure of Hopetoun Falls taken back in Novemeber.  I think I like this one the best for two main reasons.  Firstly this image represents a change in seasonal fortunes – after 15 years of very poor rains and subsequent drought where I live, this winter spring and now early summer have been puntuated regularly by heavy rainfalls and mild weather.  Even as i type this contribution message it is raining heavily again outside and it’s nearly Christmas – something that has not happened in over a decade here at home.  This waterfall is approx. 45 min. drive from my home, set in the midst of a beautiful temperate rain forest.  In multiple visits to the forest, it was on this recent visit that the forest had really changed for the better, water dripping from every possible place, damp ground and the wonderful scent of crisp clean cool air under the dense forest canopy.  The whole day and photo capture experience was a sheer joy and pleasure. 

My second reason for choosing this image is that i think I made a very good fist of the exposure.  I love the composition and the image is illuminated very closely to the way I looked at it through the viewfinder.  There were a few challenging elements involved in this image, a lot of dark/light contrast areas, subdued colours to accurately capture and the use of a 10 stop ND filter which I had never tried before.  The tri-pod was also set up on some very slippery rocks just above water level which made stability a challenge too.  I had previously visited this waterfall before and really failed to capture it in it’s true glory.  I’m very pleased to have taken the opportunity to re-shoot Hopetoun Falls with such a strong flow running over it’s cascades.

Captured on a tri-pod with Nikon D700 +AF-S  17-35mm f/2.8 lens and Lee 10 stop ND filter fitted  @17mm,  f/9,  15 sec.  ISO 400

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

This photo I’ve shown you in week 10. I’ve chosen it for a photo of a year, not only because it’s one of the best I’ve taken this year, but because this photo was on charity auction for an ill child and it was sold for over 100 euros! Now, I know that 100 euros don’t look too much for better part of you, but this auction was on facebook only, the market for photography is non existent here in Croatia, and the average salary is not too big here too. So, I’m really glad and happy that my photo achieved nearly the highest price out of 64 photos (there were some renown photographers there too), and subsequently money payed for it was enough for three months worth of drugs for kid that is fighting the bone cancer.

 I firmly believe that all good that we do someday return to us, and I was really proud that day when the auction finished.

 The techs about the photo:

Nikon D80, sigma 10-20@14mm, f16, ISO 100, 153.8 sec exposure.

 Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan 

 It’s been 7 months already since I came back to Tokyo.  I went to NYC briefly earlier this month for busy business trip and I didn’t feel one bit of stranger-ness there.  I guess I have spent such a loooong time that I am still not back to who I was yet.  May never be back, I imagine.  Anyway, I picked this one because that was the first time to make a trip there in the season in 15 years and I regret so much I hadn’t .  So beautiful cherry blossoms and I wish I had done justice to them with my skill (and equipment, of course 🙂

D700, 70-180 Macro Zoom @180mm, f/8, 1/1000s, ISO 200

  

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

Most sports images are cropped, even if only to a small degree.  The reason is to allow some breathing space (especially if the action is random).  Football is a very random game where the movement of the ball is fast, furious and in any direction.  This shot was taken hand held using an f/2.8 70-200 VR II.

 The challenge is always to see how tight one can shoot in one direction (thereby restricting cropping to only one direction) while at the same time keeping the horizon horizontal.  And of course, the timing has to be right.

 This shot ticked all the boxes.  The shot is not cropped in the vertical direction; and its composition is such that it is “balanced” when viewed in a square format (as presented here), in a 5 x 4 format or in its original uncropped 6 x 4 format.

 The above shot is symbolic of “how close” I try to shoot all sports shots.

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

I chose this interior photo from an old Swedish cottage at my summer job. Only because I happened to be there at the right time wit the sun shining trough doors and windows in a very helpful way.

 Looking forward to a great photo year!

 Jens

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 I have gone through my submissions this year, and it is not easy to pick the “best photo”, but I am particularly fond of the photo in week 43 (also because it has a story I remember well) so I pick that one to represent med in the”best photo 2010″ mail.

  Per-Christian

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 

I chose this as my favorite because it represents two things that I’ve been exploring for the past year.  Taiwan and photography.  In terms of photography, I’m still pretty new to this hobby, so I’ve made some good “leaps” in terms of being able to get moving objects and look forward to bringing it all to the next level in 2011.  

 The second area is Chinese culture.  Exploring Taiwan has been wonderful.  The people are great, the cost of living is low, and the variety never ends.  It’s a photographer’s paradise.  In addition, I’ve always seen Taiwan as a great representative of Chinese culture, and this is going to be a big part of my life as I became engaged to a Taiwanese woman over New Year’s Eve.  Hope everyone has a Happy 2011!  Thanks for making me a part of this group. 

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 

Hello Everybody,

 I can’t wait to see, what you have all chosen. 

My choice was simple, I really like the effect of artificial water droplets on a window I created here, I think the whole photo has a vintage feel, as I chose a classic stiletto and a 1950s skirt for this photo and I like the mystery it evokes too. 

I look forward to seeing your photos.

 Jana

 Nikon D700, 24-70 f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/7.1

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

Sunrise on the Mississippi, at Jackson Square, French Quarter, New Orleans, Louisiana. This is my favorite of my submissions, because it was made in that narrow time slot between the time that the sun came up, and before the lights turned off. Early morning is my favorite time of the day. Also, this is an environment that is an intimate part of my life – that always makes it meaningful.

 Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/11, 1/200 sec.

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Going through all the past weeks and looking at the photos again was definitely a trip down memory lane. You all have done such a marvelous job, I don’t know how you are going to pick a favorite. I can’t wait to see what you all have picked as your favorites.  I wonder if it is the one I have in mind???   I really enjoyed looking  at everyone’s photos again.

I have chosen the one I posted in week number 27.   I have picked this  photo because if actually captured 2 things I enjoy photographing —  reflections and refraction.    This was really a hard choice for me as  the sun shots really called to me , but since they were not taken this year , I went with this one.

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

This is my favorite from 2010.  It was my very first photo-shoot that I had ever planned and I had a vision as to what I wanted to capture.  As I stated in my earlier writings to you, not everything turned out as I had planned.  Not even close.  First, the Ferris Wheel had ceased turning for the night.  Second, it was close to freezing outside.  Third, I had to determine whether to shoot at ground level or from a balcony and finally my timing had to be synchronized so that I missed people coming out of the late movie at the theater.  One more surprise when I got home, I discovered that while shooting, I had not seen two zip-lines and as it turned out, they were very distracting.

Kick in Plan ‘B’:  Since the lights of the Ferris Wheel were blinking on and off in different combinations, my first goal was to get a shot of the Ferris Wheel with all the lights on at once.  Second, I had to place my tripod so that my shot would include the row of lighted palm trees.  Staying warm got lost in the fun I was having and as it turned out, the people didn’t come into the mix.  The cold temperature sent them quickly on their way.  After I got my shot and downloaded it to my computer, I discovered the zip-lines.  I now needed to learn how to remove the zip lines from the photo.  Having never used any software that allowed me to add or subtract from a photo, it was all about trial and error.  I finally got the lines removed and the photo was sent to Joe.  The rest is history. 

Thanks Joe, for making it all possible.

D90 – 15sec – f/4.5 – 18-200@44mm – ISO 100 Aperture Priority

  

Jeannean R – McAllen, Texas 

When I heard we were to choose a “photo of the year” I immediately knew which one I would choose. I don’t think it was my best shot of the year, but it certainly was the most magical for me. Everytime I look at the photos I took at dawn that morning, I remember the wonder and magic that nature put on display for me. I was the only one there and the feeling was just…well, magical. That’s why I chose this. 🙂 (tags: dragonfly, macro, dew)

Jeannean

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 

This is my pick from my own photos as my personal favorite.  I stopped on the side of the road early one hot summer morning.  It was already steaming, and my lens fogged up.  This photo is the result.  It wasn’t a planned result, but I like what I got.  It has a dreamy quality to it that I hope you like also.
 
This has been a wonderful year of photography.  This group has kept me going at learning this amazing hobby (for me). 

Thank you to everyone, and to Joe for keeping us all going!

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida 

Well I guess it was probably hard for everyone to pick there own favorite. This is like choosing between my children which one I like the best. I choose this Owl picture because it got the most attention this past year. This was the first time I had seen an Owl in the wild.I got it published twice and sold 6 copies to people who saw it in the newspaper. I’ve been back and photographed the Owls several times now and haven’t got a pic that I like this much. Nikon D3,

 Nikon 300mm 2.8, 1/200 sec, F/2.8, ISO 800, EC+ 1 Step

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hi everyone.
The photo i have chosen is from week 7. It is a cityscape from Melbourne. The reason i like this photo is because i love Melbourne and the area of Docklands where this photo was taken. The watercolour affect of the photo appeals to me greatly and combined with the reflections of clouds and buildings in the water, it has a great look. Also that i only had this light for a fleeting minute made it special for me

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello Everybody!!
Hope all of you had had great Holiday days around the world!
Sadly for me and my family was not the case. My father died December 19. The empty chair was felt  strongly those days…but life goes on and he is not suffering any more.  

Well…. about the Best picture of the year… difficult because really I don´t think I have a Best picture of anything…too much to improve and learn yet.
Looking back through the weeks the ones I like more are: the first one I sent to this mail thread for week 8, the cathedral interior, the acrobat of week 19 and also like a lot the musicians of week 28, because it was the first time taking pics of classical music. I had no idea that I would enjoy so much taking concerts!! ( I asked Father Christmas for a D3s body and a 70-200 2.8 VR II,to improve my concert pics,  but nothing!!!! the letter must have been lost! jaja)
But if I have to choose only one, It would be the lonely man looking the waterfall of week 40 (by the way, I must have Alzehimer! because I have just realized that I had choose the same photo for Black and White Week and the Water Special, sorry !!!!)

Perhaps it reflect my mood these days,

by by
Alejandro

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 

I choose this photo because it’s iconic for a vanishing world that in no time will be history. A ride with one of these beautiful beasts is a unique lifetime experience. It’s the moody personality of engine, the sound, the smell,  everything is just so special, a truly time machine that gets you back somewhere to the beginning of last century…

Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm F/2  Distagon ZF, Kodak TriX 400

Regards
Bogdan

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 

 I would like to choose the first one I submitted, which was of NYC architecture for Week #35.  I choose this one because I am always amazed at how changes in weather creates images on NYC buildings.  It is easy not to look up when you are rushing about in the cityscape, but when I do, I always notice something that intrigues me.  On this particular day, there was a quick and fierce rainstorm rolling in, but the sun was glowing above the clouds.

 Gladys

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

I am going with my photo from Yosemite – of the valley from the Tunnel View as my “photo of the year”. Many reasons why, including it was a super wonderful time for my wife and me and was the first time she’s seen the park this way and with me as her guide. It’s a classic shot done many times but the water was falling nicely and the light was excellent for this shot.   (It’s re-attached just in case)

Ken

  

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 Make it the Goose with the sun. Reminds of early days in Southold and things to look forward to!

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia 

My choice is my shot of Alaska in week 14. I like the composition – to me, it’s dramatic with the clouds being dragged across the peaks, the mountain’s sheer size and the main highway in the foreground. Again to me, this screams Alaska and all we can do so far is build a dirt road.

 Rgds, Don

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 

 I like this photo for a number of reasons. For one, it was taken in Burlington, VT. Second, this picture reminds me of the great day this was and the beautiful little hike I had on this gorgeous day. Now, the actual picture itself. I really like all the different lines you have in this photo and the B/W conversion really makes the steel structure pop out against the sky. 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America 

Selected by a sharpshooters committee for Ertugrul

 Ceremonies of new president’s inauguration, his cabinet’s sworn, reception at Presidential Place, public party at Independent Square. We were expecting el president Hugo Rafael Chávez Frías from Venezuela after his confirmed visit but last minute cancellation.
This young lady was a daughter of one new minister and trying to capture Mr. President during his speech after the cabinet sworn
. 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Selected by a sharpshooters committee for Haig

 Geiranger Fjord in Norway

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut  

 Selected by a sharpshooters committee for Bill

This was taken during a walk in Athens Greece with my wife during a recent holiday. We were walking in the market area and this was a local watering hole… taken a dusk… using a Canon 990.

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia 

       

Selected by a sharpshooters committee for Davorin

 My sunset was taken on Drava river last Spring.

Olympus E-510, ED9-18mm at 9mm, ISO 100, 1 sec @ f/22, tripod.

 Best regards, Davorin

http://www.davorinmance.com 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

