Week 50

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Winter Horses part 2

Looking at Lil’s photo of the year reminded me of this shot.  Last year in week 4 I posted a photo from this farm which is in my town in Vermont.  I drive past it periodically. This time they had 2 houses out and a lot more snow.  Since you should get better the more you do something, I think that this year’s photo is the far better of the 2.

As much as I’m a sucker for new cameras, I still like to use my older ones.  I never believe in cameras becoming obsolete. When you first buy a new camera you always become impressed with the image quality. Well that camera does not change because more advance models come out. It will still take the same pictures today as it did when it was new. This one came from my 1st digital SLR which is almost 9 years old, a Nikon D100. 

 Nikon D100 AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF at 45mm , 1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 640

 Tags:  Vermont Barn, winter horses, red barn, horses in snow, vermont winter

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This is 盧廣仲, or Liu Guang Zhong, a popular Taiwanese singer-songwriter who played at the New Year’s Eve concert last week.  I was pretty impressed by not only his stage presence but also his musical skills and for me, it was refreshing as it wasn’t the normal Taiwanese pop music I’d been hearing all night.  While I understood very little, it was all pretty great.  

 Taken with the D5000 at ISO 3200 at f/5.6 and 300mm with a shutter speed of 1/160.  I thought I’d post this after the lens discussion – it’s been a good lens for me, but I do wish it were faster.  Unfortunately, I’m not rich 🙂 

 

 tags: 盧廣仲, music, concert, taiwan, nikon, chinese

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi Everyone,

 I hope you are all doing well .    My lap top is off for repairs , and I am struggling on my husbands pc.  ( I use a mac and I know nothing of windows 7 !)  Thanks to suggestion from Gej,  I downloaded NX2 trial for the PC.   I do miss my photoshop and the disc I have is for mac only.

I took some pictures to try and focus stack, but will have to wait until my machine is back to work on those.      Following is one taken this afternoon, just messing around with drops and reflections.   Hope you enjoy.

 D300 60mm micro with 20mm extension tube  SB600 and SB 900 both off camera.

 Everyone who is dealing with the rains  in Australia my thoughts are with you.

 Roberta/Birdie               www.birdied.zenfolio.com

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 The temperature just rose to +1 C so the local creek runs again. Surely it won’t last, but here in the afternoon sun I think it signals spring and that will have to do for nowJ

All the best

Jens

Tags: winter, creek, snow

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 Sorry……….you get another photo of the hawk I’ve been chasing again this week.  I hope he is a little sharper in this one.  Do you think?  I have learned the best way to catch him is to pull over on the side of the road, rolling down your window as you go, and lean over and get him out of the window!  So far he has been too quick for me after I try to get out of the car.
 
Peggy – Week 50

D5000, VR70-300, 300mm, F/8, 1/320s, Auto ISO 200. 

 Tags – hawk, bird photography, Sharpshooters

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

I’ve enjoyed all of recent photos. Best of year, and classic Wednesday as well. Today, I’m in a “different” mood, so my photo will be little different from my usual stuff.

Last Saturday couple of us from our photo club organized little photo marathon for us in neighboring town.  It was whole day outing, and we had 8 themes on which we had to take photos. One theme was odd – even, and that is a theme for my photo. I look forward to see your photos.

Nikon D80, Sigma 10-20@20mm f8,  1/10sec ISO 200. Cropped in Capture NX.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 tags: pair, shoes, odd, even, pavement, lines, circles

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Happy Wednesday!  I have to admit that seeing all the incredible photos in the Favorites, really blew me away.  I looked at them for over an hour this morning.  I will continue to enjoy all of your excellent work again and again.  Thank you for sharing and of course, thank you Joe for making it all happen!

 I tried something new.  With a little help from Darrell Young, I finally figured out how to bracket my camera.  Over the weekend using bracketing I shot and then, using CS5 I produced my first HDR Photo.  It was fun!  If you have time, let me know what you think.

Gej

D90 – 1/800sec – f/8.0 – 18-200@56mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Exposure Bias 0.0, +2.0 -2.0 – HDR in CS5

Tags:  HDR, CS5, Nikon D90

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 I went to the park on New Years evening with my new 2x converter to try and get some new shots of the owls. I even tried using my flash this time. It is a very tough shot to take. The owl is sitting in a pine tree that’s about 60 feet tall. The Owls will let you get right under the tree so your closet shot is straight up. My camera and lens is extremely heavy to hand hold. The mono pod or tripod won’t work for a straight up shot. So after a few minutes of holding this beast over my head I really start to shake and have trouble focusing. I would love to lie down in the grass that would be better but chiggers would eat me alive. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC20E 111, 600mm,1/60 sec, F/14, ISO 800, SB 800 flash.

 Tag: Horned Owl, Eagle Lake Park, Largo,Fl.

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 A “virtual shelf” created by using appended photo stacks.  Many thanks to Roberta and Jeannean for putting the idea into my head.  Seven shelves and seven photos.  No sharpening was applied to this composition (because everything looked more natural this way).  Natural light source (overcast day).

 Camera: Nikon D300 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings: 1/160s to 1/801s at 200mm with f/4 and ISO 200 (AP, tripod, VR off, and 0.33/0.67 EV, UV)

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone
I have been doing some more macro photography this week. The only good thing about all the rain we have had is that the insect life is abundant at present. Many of you may have seen the flash flooding in our area that will claim many lives with the amount of people missing. Spare a thought for the people swept to their deaths, many of whom are children.
This is a fly i found and i am not sure whether that is his tongue protruding down onto the plant. Once i used to curse and swear about flies here in Australia but now see their beauty.
D90 Tamron 90mm Lens 1/80sec @ f16 ISO200

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 I was taking a walk in the big urban park (imagine a bit small version of Central Park) and several camera nut were shooting for something.  Interestingly, they were all in their, apparently, 60s or older and have good (read: expensive) equipment.  There was a small and cute, beautiful blue-ish bird on the branch of one of the trees.  I, then, try to shoot that, too.  But the lens I had was too short….  So, instead, I shot those who were shooting.  I know this is not such an artistic shot, but kinda funny.  I realized how I might look when I am shooting.  I then took off and shot something else from a bit away from them. 

See the rest at my site: www.kih.me

D700, 24-120 @105, f/5, 1/200s, ISO200

Tag: park, shooter, photographer, telephoto, bird photo

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all
A like these kind of simple pics playing with shadows, transparency and translucency.

Nikon D300 + 50mm  1.4 D – f 1.4 – ISO 640 –  1/800 sec 

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas 

As the rest of the country has been COLD, we’ve been having very warm, sunny weather (until today when the front came in and dropped temps down 40 degrees). On Saturday, I found this dragonfly to be a willing subject with my Tamron 60. I’m still working on light diffusion (trying to keep the ugly white hexagon shape out of the eyes) and managed to do fairly well. I taped some hard plastic pieces I found on the ground by a lumberyard to the front of my LumiQuest softbox. I was also messing with calibrating my two monitors and think I messed up one. It looks totally washed out on my MacBook Pro, but looks ok on my iMac. I guess it’s time to get both recalibrated. Hope it looks ok on yours. D90/Tamron 60mm/SB 600 @ 1/90, f/11, ISO 500, FEC -1.

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

Tags: macro, dragonfly 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Sleet and freezing drizzle – not what I would necessarily call a winter storm, although that is what the weather people were calling it. There was not much photo-worthy results, either – just lousy driving conditions.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/125 sec.

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 This is a spot I came across on a hike in Vermont. I took a couple different shots from different angles, but this one turned out to be my favorite. 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Winter Snow

 We had a beautiful snowfall this past weekend in Connecticut.  A neighbor’s fence down the road always depicts the season (year round) for me, for some reason.

 ISO 100, 11mm, f/4, 1/160, Coolpix S8000

Tags: New England, snow, fence

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

 Thank you very much for all the kind comments on my photo of the year, I really appreciate them.

My photo this week is a little reminder of my trip to the Czech Republic, I miss the snow and the crisp, lovely Winter. 

 Nikon D60, 18-55 f/3.5-5.6@ISO 100, f/11, 1/40s

 Have a lovely week., Jana

Tags: nature, sun, forest, snow

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 This is an afternoon shot of a linseed crop one of my employers sowed before Christmas.  It’s been a wet spring and now with more summer rain this crop is particularly strong.  I adore the pale powder blue flowers on these linseed plants, they intensify in colour with the blue sky – under cloudy skies they appear white until you get right up close to them.

 Shot was hand held with my trusty D700 and 17-35mm AF-S Nikkor with a polarised filter attached @22mm,  f/9,  1/200th sec,  ISO 400

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 One of the first photos of this year, casual shot of a bird feeder in Bucharest. This part of the city was entirely re-built in last years of communism, large swats of this city that used to be called Petite Paris were erased to erect those so typical blocks of flats changing it forever and surely not for better…

 Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 50mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak Portra 400NC

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Busy days during end of year 2010 and still continue, even no more time to read e-mails regularly. I appreciated for your selection of photos for me 😉

I wish Happy New Year you to all too.

I was busy with sorting / processing of photos from earlier days and need to walk up to second story then I saw my neighbor and good friend Mr. Borger that he was cleaning their backyard and fired some of them. I asked his permission immediately and took some shoots from the window of our library at second story.  I  preferred Shutter priority because sun rays through smoke clouds.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Shutter Priority, f/8, 1/80sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 I’d like to thank everyone in the group that has made comments and sent wishes for the New Year. 

It certainly was a year of impressive photos. Also thanks to the committee for picking my photo of the year.  Great choice!

This shot is from my trip to Jordan last summer.  It was taken on the way to the Treasury in Petra. Using wide angle lenses can be fun, especially if you occasionally bend your knees, and get closer to the ground J

Pentax k20d, DA 12-24mm @ 12mm, f/5, 1/25 sec, ISO 200

Tags : Petra, Bab-el-siq, Pentax k20d, DA 12-24mm

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 When you see a sign like this, you know you’re not in Kansas anymore….

 Canon Powershot S70 1/60 sec, f4.0, ISO 100, flash

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Gothic Raygun Rocketship and the Bay Bridge

 Jan. 5, 2011 – San Francisco, along the Embarcadero at Pier 14.

This outdoor work of art enthralls me and combing it with a perfect sunrise with expansive backdrop makes for something interesting.

Where do you want to go – the outer Solar System, or far to Deneb’s strange system, or perhaps nearer  to Wolf-359’s system? (the inspiration for the naturally red hued image, no trickery, as W359 is a red dwarf less than 8 light years distant).

EOS 7D, 18mm, ISO 400, f/4, 1/200.

Tags: rocketship, art, Bay Bridge, San Francisco, Embarcadero, Gothic, Science Fiction

 

Special Bonus Photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Its Snowing – Peggy G

Our share of the southern winter storm.  In our part of North Mississippi we probably had at least 6 to 7 inches of snow.  So, a play day.  This is one old southern lady who admits she has no business what so ever trying to drive to work on snow and ice. 
 
Nikon D5000, 70mm, F/7.1, 1/200s

Tags southern snow, landscape, Sharpshooters

Home made pinhole camera –  Filip Lucin

 Today, I had film developed from my DIY matchbox pinhole camera. Since pinhole (or camera obscura as we call it here in Croatia (from the Greek origin)) is the basic principle of photography, I like to play with it. If Joe selects this for a bonus, I suppose some of you may ask, if I’m crazy or something, what kind of photos are this? Well, I suppose you will not photograph a wedding with a pinhole camera, but it can be fun and quite rewarding when some shots turn out better than we imagined.

 Anyway, here are two photos. First of the camera it self, and second is a self portrait in snow. It was about five second exposure on Fuji 400. The white edges that can be seen are actually snow flakes! And of course, it would be better if I haven’t moved during exposure. 🙂 Greetings, Filip.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

