Week 51

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Cold and Snow at the Beach

New York is having it snowiest winter in quite a while. 2 major storms and a 3rd smaller one in 2 weeks time.  Up in Vermont it would be business as usual, but it NY it’s one of the biggest messes in years.  It’s no fun down here when it snows, but great when it happens up north in Vermont.

One thing that was on my list of things to do was to get some pictures at the beach after a big snow.  It was about 20 degrees F without the wind when I went there last Thursday.  Throw in strong winds coming in off the Long Island Sound and the wind chill factor took it below 0 degrees F as the sun was setting. 

The skin on my head went numb and my fingers could not operate the camera after about 10 minutes. I could not get back to the car fast enough.  It actually hurt to get these.

  

 2 brave people down at the far end of the Beach. I don’t know how they could take that cold.I’m used to Vermont winters, was a ski instructor for 25 years at Mount Snow and that was the coldest I’ve been in a long time. 2nd they were walking thru over 12 inches of snow.

Nikon D300  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-EDTop at 90mm  1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 400, Compensation: +2/3  Bottom at 62mm 1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 400, Compensation: +2/3

Tags: Orchard beach in Winter, snow covered beach, sand and snow, bronx winter waterfront

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 My hope is that the weather this week is treating all of us well.  Good to know that Grant and Jana are safe and dry.  I haven’t heard from Don but the Atlanta weather report is for temperatures above freezing (during the day) for the next week.  That’s good news!  We are warming up too!  In the Florida Panhandle we’ll see high 50s before the end of the week!

My photo this week is another HDR.  I took this about three hours before the sun reappeared last week.  I looked out and saw the Gulf illuminated by the first rays of sunlight coming though the clouds.  This was the end of the storm that hit Georgia and continued up the Eastern United States.  Even though the cold continued, it was nice to see the sun again. 

My best to everyone!  , Gej  

 D90 – 1/60, 1/250, 1/1000sec – F/8.0 – 18-200@18mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Exposure Bias 0.0, +2.0 -2.0 – HDR in CS5

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks for the kind comments this week. I’m glad everyone in the group has survived all the bad weather. I went out Sat. with a friend to some parks,woods and gulf beaches to shoot water birds, eagles and osprey. The eagles left their nest before we got close and never returned. So we walked about 4 miles looking for any photo opps. My lens and camera gets very heavy after a while. Not sure what the correct type of bird this was but he let us follow him around. Nikon D3, 300 2.8, TC-20 E 111, 600mm, F/9, SS 1/250, ISO 800, Monopod

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 At a walk along the cost I spotted this seal on a rock. Could hardly believe  my eyes but as you can see it is for real!

A very foggy day so not as sharp as I hoped but you get anyway. First time ever I have seen a seal, wild, here at the coast.

Got my P7000 with me, F/5.6 ISO 100 1/40s 42.6mm

Tags: seal, coast, winter, fog

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 I just took a long walk again to burn some calories last Sunday.  Not that this is a great shot, I don’t think, but the sun and shadow with blue sky and cloud seems to be  as if it were Mediterranean or Caribbean summer…..  But with the long shadow means it is still in the middle of winter.  Take care everyone!
D700, 17-35mm @35mm, f/8, 1/3200sec, ISO200

Tag: winter sun, reflection, contrast, street

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Another pic from the Autoclasica.  An old car expo a few months ago.
Here the Hudson bird flying.

Nikon D300 + 50mm – f 1.8 – ISO 200 – 1/1000

Tags: Hudson Mascot

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 In keeping with the current season, an archive photo from this past February. We don’t get snow like this very often where I live. I’ve passed this shack numerous times, but it never looked photo worthy until this snowfall. It proves that a subject comes to life if you wait for the right time.

Nikon D200, ISO 400, f/11, 1/500 sec.

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 Winter is alive and strong in New England!  Icicles are everywhere.  We even have more than 3 foot long ones hanging off our porch.  Here is a side shot of my house.  I liked the way the bare tree looked against the yellow house.  When it warms up, I will need to watch where I walk…  Gladys

 ISO 100, f/5.6, 1/1000

Tags: New England, winter, Icicles

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

I haven’t had the chance to photograph much lately, so I’m back to the archive. And back to summer. 🙂 This was shot couple minutes after the what speared to be summer storm rolled over me. I liked the sharpness of the rocks in contrast with smoothness of the sky and sea. Thanks to all that commented!

Ken the theme of this photo was odd – even.

Ah, and BTW, I’ve selected my best 12 photos for last year, if someone is interested, the link is:  http://www.filiplucin.com/wordpress/en/best-of-2010/

 Greetings Filip.

tags: sea, storm, sunset, rocks, purple, clouds

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 I’ve been practicing with getting panning shots right lately, and this is my latest try.  I think I’m getting the shutter speed figured out as well as the post processing – I really liked how messing with some coloring and vignetting helped the people stick out on this one.  Also, sharpening the people on the bike was important, though much of the effect was done in-camera.  

 These have been fun trying to tackle, and as I’m hoping to visit Thailand this summer, I hope to get more panning shots of the local transportation preferences – rickshaws.  

 Details: D5000, F5.6 at 35mm with my prime 35/1.8 lens.  Shutter speed was 1/40 and ISO 200.  Post-processed in Aperture 3 from a single RAW file.  

Yags: scooter, motorcycle, hsinchu, taiwan, asia, prime, lens

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 This is my attempt at playing with black and white on an otherwise nice landscape shot. I wanted dark and a bit of foreboding with light coming through the clouds.

Nikon D300s Nikkor 35-70mm f2.8, 40mm, 1/200 sec, f7, ISO 200, matrix metering

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi Everyone,

I hope the weather has settled down for everyone.   No bugs around  still, so I am back to messing around with drops. The below is a macro of a drop just as it is about to fall on to the point of a needle. Boredom leads me to experiment with the water drops 🙂  I really want to try some of the smoke shots and the paint that dances to music next.

 D300   60mm micro with 20mm extension tube  ISO200 f/16 shutter 1/200  EV-1.00 ( trying not to blow out the side of the needle)

 Hope everyone has a great week.

 Roberta/Birdie  –   birdied.zenfolio.com

Tags: Water Drops, Reflections, Macro

  

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

 Sunrise after a snowstorm.

 Canon EOS20D  Tamron 28-105

2011 01 17

1/400 s  F5.6   ISO 400   No flash 105mm

 

Tags: sunrise, water, seabirds.

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello fellow Sharpshooters
This weeks photo is a friend or fiend presented from two weeks ago but this time as a predator. He has caught a grasshopper and is not very happy with me trying to photograph him preparing dinner. Kept trying to hide underneath the leaf and then on top. Doesn’t look a very tasty meal but he was not going to let go.

D90, Tamron 90mm lens, 1/100sec @ f16 ISO200

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

Another Mississippi “snow scene” !  I just thought he looked very snug in his blanket of snow.  Can you tell I have grandkids? 
 
70-300 @180mm, F/5, 1/500s, Auto ISO 560

Tags:  snow, toys, Sharpshooters

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Haystack Ski Area

Last operated in 2005 and is still not open.  Someday it will return hopefully.  It’s sad to see a closed ski area just getting overgrown.

 Nikon D100  Nikkor 28-80 mm f/3.3-5.6 Shot at 44 mm  Program AE, 1/350 sec, f/10

Tags: Haystack Mountain, closed ski area, ski lift, chair lift

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas 

 I’m glad everyone is doing ok with the weather in their corner of the world! In my corner, it’s been chilly and wet. The sun came out for a while on Sunday, so I ran out with my camera to see if I could find something. About the only thing stirring was this cucumber beetle. They must really like sunflowers because that’s about the only place I see them. (Wish I’d find them on something else, because sunflower yellow gives me fits exposure wise.) Taken with Nikon D90/Tamron 60mm@1/90, f/8, ISO 200, natural light.

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Shot from a recent assignment in Amman, Jordan. Although it’s plenty of similarities with other cities and places in the region there is something very special about Amman and Jordan. This is one shot out of a series of films I’ve just got developed and scanned, I might try to put together a short story as per Joe’s suggestion, an excellent idea by the way…

Technical info: Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 50mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak Portra 400NC

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Dear Peggy, Ken, Gladys thanks a lot for your unbeatable words to my post last week. I would like to send my many thanks to everyone for your all earlier, wonderful comments. Probably I missed some of yours, sorry for this. Thanks a lot.

 I went to river side few times last week. I saw this small boat light on the top of boat but the Suriname River was little wavy. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Shutter Priority, f/2, 1/8000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 This is in Napa County and the Carneros AVA region.

Cuvaison Estate vineyards – lots of syrah and pinot noir growing here.

This was Sunday afternoon, 1/16/2010, about 30 minutes before sunset. For you NFL fans, we were doing a little wine tasting because the Jets were leading the Patriots at halftime and my wife REALLY wanted to get out of the house then – she’s too nervous as she’s from Boston and so loves her Patriots! If she’s happy then I am happy so let’s visit a couple close-by wineries.

 Canon EOS 7D, 25mm, ISO 400, f/7.1 at 1/100, uncropped. Shot raw and processed in PS CS5.

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 Two dragonflies.  A macro lens would have been ideal for this shot!  Note to myself – buy a macro lens.

 Camera: Nikon D300 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings: 1/250s at 200mm with f/2.8 and ISO 220 (Manual, hand held, UV filter)

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 During one of my visits to the Desert Botanical Gardens last year, I hung around after sunset to capture some of the colors in the sky.

On my way out, there was a flurry of activity by these birds, and I was fortunate enough to capture one after several tries. Not sure what the bird is, maybe someone can identify it..

 Pentax k20d, DA 55-300 @ 90mm, f/6.3, 1/100 sec, ISO 1600.

Pentax AF 540 flash

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 Another backyard ‘insect safari’ photo, this time using active D lighting set to ‘Normal’ which works well for partially shaded subject matter such as this European Bee feeding on a hybrid garden variety hebe bush. 

 Nikon D700 + Kiron Ai 105mm f/2.8 lens @ f/11, 1/500th sec, ISO 2500.

  

Special Bonus Photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 A Whiter Shade of Pale – Jens V Frederiksen

 Went to a New Year concert Sunday evening with The Danish Radio Orchestra and Procol Harum.

The photo taken while giving the ‘A whiter Shade of Pale. How much better can it be?

 Tags: music, concert, procol harum.

  

Taipei 101 – Joshua Fahler 

 This shot of Taipei 101 was taken last summer while visiting the site for the first time.  We had just seen the observation deck, though due to the weather I didn’t get any breathtaking shots even though they do have an open-air area which gets you away from the pesky windows.  

 Taken as a 3-exposure HDR at -2, 0, and +2 on a D5000 and processed in Photomatix.  Middle photo was approx. at f/3.5 and 1/40 sec. and ISO 200.  Taken hand-held – thank god for VR! Post-processed in Photomatix and Aperture 3. 

Tags: hdr, taipei, 101, taiwan, landmark, skyscraper, city

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

