Week 52

This week we celebrate 1 year of posting photos

  

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Roads in Winter

The scenic part of winter driving. Makes for nice pictures, but you have to be very careful. In my house all we drive are 4 wheel drive SUV’s. Between the house in Vermont and 2 of the kids going to college up there, it the only way to go.  People who get a 4 wheel drive for the first time don’t get the basics and get into trouble.  A 4 wheel drive can get you going in snow and ice, but does nothing to help you stop.  You still slide the same on ice.  In fact you can get into more trouble because they will get you going when others can’t. Believe me I learned the hard way in the beginning.  These days I love to take it slow down roads like this.

So why am I ranting about snow and icy roads – Last week I gave my daughter my Toyota 4 runner to go back to school with because her Durango had a bad tire and I wanted her safe.  She met our old friend BLACK ICE on the highway just as she crossed into Vermont. She was going slow , but still fishtailed across the highway – the car behind her did the same thing and hit her. Thank god there were no injuries.  The SUV is sitting in a body shop in Vermont with a good amount of damage including the left front wheel knocked off. For those of you keeping count – that’s 2 front wheels knocked off of 2 different Toyota’s this year.

Nikon Coolpix 885  8 mm  Program AE, 1/218 sec, f/7.6, ISO 100 thru car windshield

Tags:  Winter Road, Snow cover road, Scenic back road, Vermont winter

  

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 Thnx for the warm welcome and instructions- I’m a little behind the game tonite as I’ve been out of town and just arrived home a bit ago- not quite with the program yet.    I’m attaching a photo from a trip I took out west a couple of years ago- a lot of photo’s will be from prev trips as I’ve not had a lot of time recently to get out and take some new shots- I’m a little intimidated by the great shots I’ve seen from everyone else but will give it a go…

 This shot is from Utah – Canyonlands National Park in the Island in the Sky section – we traveled up this road to the top of the canyon eventually –  I really love it out west- the wide open spaces and the sense of stepping into another time and place.    I’m using a simple Canon Power Shot right now. 

Sandi

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 I took this pic almost 2 years ago, one of the first with my Nikon D 300. On the ferry crossing the Rio de la Plata from Colonia port in Uruguay to Buenos Aires. I use to do this trip several times during the summer holidays and most probably is what I’m doing right now.  Is time for my holiday and visiting most of my family that are already in Uruguay enjoying the beaches and the sun there.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR – f 10 – ISO 650 – 1/5000

Tags: River – lighthouse –   

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi, everyone.   Hope you are all doing well and not suffering from  any  weather. Jana and Grant, I hope you have dried out and that things have stabilized. The cold weather has even reached the deep south ( sorry Gej !)    We had frost on the ground for the past 2 mornings.  Did not last long, but I had to try and get some macro shots.  So the crazy lady was out once again at the crack of dawn laying in the lawn looking for frost shots ! I saw this frozen dew drop and well had to try and get a reflection .   The colors you see are the reflection of the flower. The shot is focus stacked from 7 shots.    Hope you enjoy .

More of my frost attempts can be seen under latest folder on:

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 d300 60mm micro with 20mm extension tube f/20 shutter 1/15

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Thanks for the comments on last weeks photo. Bad weather. time for indoor photography. This little flower was surrounded by 2 SB600 and 1 SB900

while I was fooling around with my 60 mm D macro. This is the best I could get. As always, at fotomedia.dk you can see a larger photo.

Looking forward to see a lot of inspiring photographs on this special week.

 All the best, Jens

Tags: macro, Flower, Close-up.

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

I’m a full time outdoor worker and always wear polarized sunglasses where and when possible.  I love how polarised sunglasses allow me to ‘spy on the sky’ so to speak, I can be busy working outdoors all day but I get the benefit of seeing how the clouds contrast against the sky.  I also wear polarised lenses so I never miss an opportunity to photograph a scene with special clouds, I love my landscape photography and of course clouds are an important element in a lot of landscape photographs.
Last Thursday I was on the lawn mower at one of the places where I work and was doing some serious sky peeping all morning.  It was a very bright sunny day, the air was extraordinarily clear and clean and I was able to see over 50km to the Nth. when driving on the ridge on the way to work early in the morning.  I had been observing this constant stream of whispy clouds being ripped off the ocean to the S.E. (about 30km away) stretching across the sky in long bands towards the N.W.  In my lunch break I got into my vehicle and drove across to the S.E. corner of the farm where there is presently a healthy linseed crop growing.  I intended to shoot the linseed crop that day so I had all my camera bag and a tripod.  I was really taken with the swirling nature of these clouds and it came to me to try a time lapse exposure to see what sort of cloud drift I could capture. 
I set up my camera with my old fisheye lens and simply held my Lee 10 stop ND filter by hand up to the front element of the fisheye for the duration of the exposure.  I quickly settled on around 15 seconds to get a decent exposure.  The air at ground level was very still and quite hot so fortunately the linseed flowers remained still over the length of the exposure.  Unfortunately I should have cleaned the micro dust particles off the front of the fisheye front glass element – these show up as the small flared reflections near the sun blaze, however, all in all I’m very pleased with the way the clouds have been caught doing this twirling / twisting motion, something I’ve not seen to this degree before last Thursday…….
Nikon D700 + Ai Nikkor 16mm f/3.5 fisheye  @ f/22,  15 seconds,  ISO 400

 

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Left and Right
In winter, typically the air is cleaner and more transparent so I can see further.
From my place, I could see Mr. Fuji – the highest mounting in Japan, a dormant volcano, hundreds of kilometers away- on the left (which is west) in this season.  I wanted to take it reflecting the morning light right after the sun rise. 

 

On the other hand, literally, totally different view – the highest building there houses some of the largest investment banks and other financial institutions in the world.  Very interesting contrast. 

 Ken
http://www.kih.me

<Mt. Fuji> D700, 70-200, @200mm, f/4.5, 1/640, ISO200 – further cropped
<Buildings> D700, 70-200, @130mm, f/5.6, 1/400s, ISO200

Tag: Mt. Fuji, Roppongi Hills, Tokyo, morning light

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 In a fog. Sometimes, instead of finding a great photo, you must make the best of what you have. Here, the most important thing about making this photo is what I chose to leave out.

 Some years back, I awoke to a foggy morning, got onto my bicycle, and rode to a nearby park to take some photos. What I got was soaking wet, forgetting how wet fog can be. The photos were not great, but sometimes it is what you learn that counts the most.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/180 sec.

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello group!

This train of ours is getting bigger and bigger, welcome aboard Sandi! And happy first birthday to Joe’s baby, this group of ours! 🙂 Since this is special weak, I thought i would dig up something not everyday…

So, I’ve found this spring/summer panorama that was on my drive for some time before I’ve decided I do like it after all. 🙂 It was taken in Hungary somewhere in May if I remember right. 🙂 I don’t remember the tech data. But it was my D80 + Sigma10-20@10. That much I’m sure. 🙂 Greg, Gej, Roberta and Ken, thank you very much for your comments, and I’m especially grateful you spent your time on my blog! I really appreciate it.

Pozdrav, Filip

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

Tags: panorama, cloudy, field, hills, oilseed rape

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 I thought it would be fitting to finish the year with a photo of the moon.  Sort of the end of a wonderful day but in our case, a wonderful year.   I’ve met so many helpful and generous people from around our world.  All thanks to Joe.  By the way, I had now idea how this all started until I received your email, Joe.   This has been a fun ride.  Thank you for the invitation.

Have a wonderful week and thank you all for your help, kind words and just being you.  You’ve made a difference!

Gej

 

  

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 Hi folks,

This time a more experimental photo from me.  It was taken at sunset, minus 12 degrees Celsius, but luckily from inside my commuting train.  The train travels at 160 km/h, so you have to take a lot of photos, and hope for the best.  This image, which I have altered a bit in Lightroom in order to get a more even more blurry and abstract feeling, was taken with my compact Leica D-Lux5, ISO800, 1/40sec @ f3.2.

 I find it quite fun to play with the images, not every one should be crisp clear and sharp!

 Per-Christian

 

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 What would life be without a coveted shot of the family pet?  This is Molly and she was an outstanding pet!

Description: ISO 100, 70mm, f/6.7, 1/350, Canon EOS 10D

 

Tags:  Yellow Lab, dog, snow 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks everyone who commented on my photo last week. Happy one year anniversary to all. I took off right after work on Monday, about 45 min before sunset to look for something to share this week. With such a short amount of time I was in a little panic. I checked around for the Owls and didn’t see them. I was heading towards my truck when I heard a ruckus coming from the bushes close by. Out flew this red tailed Hawk and landed about 100 feet from me. I was able with pretty low light to get a few shots of him before he flew away. It was very cloudy and I shot this exactly at 6:04, that was today’s scheduled sunset.

Nikon D3, 300 2.8, TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5.6, !/100 sec, 2000 ISO, EC +1.0 step, Mono pod

  

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

Icons”

2006 02 17 08:41

Canon 20D 1/60s ISO 100 72mm

Every time I go through my archives I am drawn to this picture. Sometimes when I look at it I think a bright blue sky would make a difference. Sometimes I feel the light reflects the “state of the nation”. Sometimes I want to edit the blue sky in and sometimes I know this would be wrong. I chose to create a photo album border effect to magnify the iconic nature of the photo as a reflection of a moment seen not only daily by thousands but in a fleeting moment by one. To me it reflects the attitude of down, but not out, sad, but not forlorn, shaken, but ready to stand tall.

Say it, I know you want to, I was thinking it myself… “shaken, not stirred”! After all, I don’t take myself that seriously but I can get introspective at times…

 New York City, just like I pictured it, skyscrapers, and everything!” Stevie Wonder, “Living for the City”.

Can’t wait to see everyone’s work for the 1st anniversary.

Regards,  Jim

 

Tags: Flag, Empire State Building, NYC

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

This was taken while on a walk down a busy street here in Jhubei.  These little shops that serve assorted (and inexpensive) food line up everything – making it pretty much unnecessary for me ever to cook, which I  like a lot!  

Taken at f/4.5, 35mm with my prime 35 lens.  Shutter speed was 1/80 and ISO was 800.  

Tags: nikon, nikkor, jhubei, taiwan, prime, street, photography, restaurant

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 First, I’d like to thank each of you for contributing a part of your world each week. It’s a wonderful highlight of the week. I admire and respect each of you. I’m proud to be included in a group with such wonderful, talented, and helpful people (and a possible lottery winner too…come on Gej…win it! ;).

My shot this week wasn’t one I had planned on, but was chosen for a few special reasons. I went out early Saturday morning with fog in the air and hopes of finding a dew covered dragonfly. I didn’t, (but found some other interesting things most people wouldn’t care to see, but I find fascinating), however, by chance, I stopped to take a dew drop refraction because they can be so beautiful. Roberta does some of the best I’ve ever seen. She is a dear and generous person as well. Due to her generosity, I now have a Nikon DR-6 right angle viewing attachment. I don’t have to lay flat on the ground anymore for a photo like this! I also chose this shot because as photographers, we are said to always be “chasing the light”. In macro photography, we have to rely on flash lighting much of the time for those really close up shots, but this served as a reminder that sometimes, the bigger picture is more than the finite details of something. I just simply liked the light, and a 1:1 ratio was just fine. No need for teleconverters, extension tubes, or flash…just what was. Greg’s beautiful dragonfly shot last week reminded me of that as well. You all inspire me each week and bring a new perspective to my wonderful hobby. Thank you all! (Shot with Nikon D90/Tamron 60mm@1/500, f/8, ISO 320, natural light.)

 Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 Another picture of Alaska, about 100 miles down the Denali Highway from the park.

Nikon D100 Nikon 80-200mm F2.8, 1/640 sec, f6.3, ISO 200, matrix metering (big mistake)

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

I watched this bug cling to a grass blade and withstand the onslaught of a stiff breeze that caused its wings to flap in all directions and reflect the sunlight. 

Camera: Nikon D300 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings: 1/125s at 190mm with f/8 and ISO 500 (Manual, hand held, UV filter)

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

We are now back….

This was taken on the Island of Antigua near English Harbour. Many of the houses and buildings are brightly painted and very festive. This one was on the road less traveled…

 Take care,  Bill

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Congratulation to all for one year anniversary, excellent work everyone and great dedication from Joe keeping the ball rolling. Thank you all for kind comments and attention to my photos, it’s a pleasure to share bits of my visual journey through all these places with a friendly group like this.
I was considering another photo from Jordan for this week but I settle down to this photo from last autumn.
This is a Sphinx from Carpathians, and although is indubitably proven to be the creation of wind effect on sandstone a lot of people gives credit to some sort of magical properties and subtle energy of this area.
These believes comes in connection to the history of ancient civilization of Dacia and the Dacians, inhabitants of this part of the land two thousand years ago. They believed in one single god called Zamolxis and that the soul was immortal, religion that made them fearless in the battles and bother the Romans a lot on their way to conquest this land.

Some historians claims some connections existed between the Dacians and the Druids, the unusual sanctuaries in  sacred area of Dacian capital Sarmizegetusa Regia might give this theory some credit.

If Joe does not mind I attach a second shot taken in Sarmizegetusa Regia last summer.

Techical info:

first shot – Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 50mm F/4.5 lens, Tmax 100

second shot: Mamiya 645 Pro TL, 55 mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Portra 160NC

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody,

I tried something new this week, I’ve always admired Lomo photography (and own Lomo camera myself), so I tried to replicate the Lomo look following a tutorial online. I do like this effect, as the colours are very vivid and the photo is imperfect, which is sometimes a welcome change. Now I can safely say, that I will be the most imperfect photo here this week 🙂 

 Congratulation to Joe for organising our group and keeping us going. Joe, I admire your hard work you put into this project. Thank you. 

Nikon D60, 18-55 f/3,5-5/6 @ ISO 100, 1/250s, f/5.6

Have a lovely, Jana 

Tags: rose, lomo, snow

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello everyone
This photo reminds me of a song by Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazelwood where he asks his ladybird to come on down 🙂 It took a while for me to get a photo of a ladybird where it was just not a round orange blob on a leaf.

D90 Tamron 90mm lens 1/80sec @ f16 ISO200

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Sandi welcome to the board.
Dear Greg thanks a lot for your nice words. There is a proverb I remember that says “tailor can not repair his rent” 😉 Most of photographer doesn’t have their own photos as you know.
Dear Ken, I’m glad you liked my shoot. Thank you.
Dear Jashua, many thanks for your words. I think the surface worked well. The lens ( Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2 ) is a manual focus lens and I waited long time for it. It’s more expensive, If you paid with Euro 😉 Week 23 : https://sharpshootersinternational.wordpress.com/weeks-21-25/

My photo taken again same day as I posted last week. Chinese ladies were moving Jellyfishes in baskets. No body eats Jellyfish here but people says Chinese eats everything 😉 Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/ 

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Shutter Priority, f/2, 1/4000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Gothic Raygun Rocketship

How far do you want to go? Interstellar or merely interplanetary in our local Solar System?  This art piece on the Pier 14 location of the S.F. Embarcadero has intrigued me for many months since its first installation last August. I am a DIE HARD science fiction fan and reader and love space opera of the likes of H. Beam Piper (SPACE VIKING) and Dan Simmons (the four volume Hyperion novels).

Sail on! Tiger Tiger! To the Stars! Full power Scotty!

 Photo: 1/20/2011, EOS 7D, 24-702.8L at 28mm, IS0 800 (prior to sunrise), f/6.3, 1/100.

 Ken Papai, live long and prosper!

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 One more of Haystack, empty chairs at  closed ski area

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 This is a portrait from 2009 that I was playing around with recently.. Shot at the desert Botanical Gardens

Pentax k20d + FA 50 f1.4. Exposure f/5 and 1/25 sec

Thank you for all the comments and a big welcome to Sandi.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 Made a trip by Veteran’s Park this week to check on all my “friends.” (-:  The blue heron seemed very cold, looked like he wished he’d gone a little farther south for the winter.
 
Nikon D5000, 75mm, F/7.1, 1/640s, Auto ISO 450

Tags  Veteran’s Park, Blue Heron, sharpshooters

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Sydney harbor – Don Enderlein  

I took a walk in the early evening at the docks of Sydney harbor and found a festival going on. I pulled out my little pocket Canon S70 and snapped a shot. What I got was not what I expected, but I still like it.

Canon S70, 1.0 sec, f5.3, ISO 100

 

Damsel Fly –  Jeannean Ryman

 One of a damsel fly I shot on the same morning as the dew drops and added a bit to it. Use it at your discretion. 🙂

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Where it all began – 1 photographer, 1 photo to share and it took off from there

Week 1 – a year ago

 This is Brooklyn by Joseph Leotta

To be a little more specific, Coney Island . Still no time to get out and shoot these days, and this past weekend I was feeling sick and didn’t fee like going out into the brutal cold weather the NY area was having. This one was from a few weeks ago while I was in Brooklyn for a business appointment. Stopped at Coney Island ’s Nathan’s for Hot Dogs and took a short walk on the boardwalk at Twilight.

I have spent the last week getting everything I need to process B&W film again and picked up a total of 20 rolls of Tri-x and Plus-x.  I’m really looking forward to this. (Hope I can still load film onto a stainless steel reel)

 Nikon D300  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 Shot at 24 mm  Program AE, 1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 250

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

