Week 54

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Once upon a time……..

Actually once upon a mattress, this is the title of this year musical put on by my daughter’s Janine’s High School. It’s also known as the Princess and the Pea. The Queen puts all Princesses thru a royalty test which they must past before they can marry her son the Prince.  The test is rigged  so that all will fail and the son will not get married.  Janine is playing Princess number 12 and is shown taking the test from the Queen’s wizard in the first scene of the play.

These high school musicals have stunning production put into them.  These kids have been working on this since October. To bring this Fairy tale to life look at how much work they put into the costumes.  They put on 4 shows this weekend.  I’ve become the unofficial photographer for them.  I shot the dress rehearsal and made them a set of 13×19 prints which they displayed in the lobby along with several 8×10’s during the 4 shows. I shot 3 more nights of the show and have about 1000 to go thru and will make them a set of about 60 8×10’s.  I’ve gone full circle, I started with taking photos for my high school yearbook and now I’m taking high school yearbook photos again 40 years later.

I shot with the D300 tripod mounted with the 24-85 F2.8 D and handheld with the 18-200 VR

This shot  DX VR Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G  at 65 mm, AE, 1/160 sec, f/6.3, ISO 3200

Tags:   Preston high school, Preston Players, Once upon a Matress, Princess # 12

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

Twin little pools reflecting a golden sunset. 

Georges River National Park in NSW Australia. 

Pentax k10d, Sigma 70-300 @ 120 mm, F/8, 1/50 sec, ISO 320

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 A tiny bee in my garden. Heavily cropped.
 
Nikon D300 + 50mm 1.4 D – ISO 640 – f 5 – 1/180

Tags: bee flower

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

 I Love the bright colors they use to paint the dwellings in the Caribbean. This building was on the road near English Harbour on the island of Antigua and the piocture was taken a few weeks ago with a Canon D7 EF 20 – 35mm 1:3.5 – 4.5. 

 

  

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 I like the way using ND filters and grads slows down the photo capture process.  Just a couple of weeks ago I visited Stephenson’s Waterfalls near my home for a fourth time in 10 years.  I have shot these falls every time and have had gradual improvements / more enjoyment with each visit. 
I took 6 exposures in a 45 minute time frame before the sun broke the high cloud and there was too much light/dark contrast.  Of the 6 exposures only 4 were really any good, I ditched two of them even though they each took 5-10 minutes to set up.  I was really able to sit and enjoy the scene.  I took in the smell of the forest, the sound of the cascades and noticed how much greener it was than on previous visits. 
In the same time I was there perhaps as many as 20-25 people came up to the falls, took infinite numbers of photos from only the viewing deck and left in only a matter on minutes.  It was also a public holiday that day so I watched in amazement at how rushed others were, despite bothering to drive into the falls 4.5 miles off the main road on gravel and walking a mile to the falls.  Not for me, I was taking it all in and getting to know the place a little better……….  sometimes less is more…….
Taken on tri-pod with Nikon D700+ Nikkor AF-S 17-35mm lens with a Lee 10 stop ND filter.  17mm, f/9,  5 seconds,  ISO 200 

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Last Sunday I was with a group af birdwatchers out looking for Fish eagle, White-throated dipper and Kingfisher. Saw them all plus several common buzzards but unfortunately not close enough for my 70-200 + TDC-20EII. Instead I got this of a girl feeding a bunch of Mallard ducks.

 All the best,  Jens

.

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 More of B&W photos: Moorish Villa in old harbor city of Constanza.
Former Greek colony of Tomis founded around 600BC, captured by Romans and changing hands many times during rough course of its history, its the oldest living city in Rommania. The architecture reflects its inherit cosmopolitanism: a Greek orthodox church, Protestant church, Turkish mosque, Genoese lighthouse are just few landmarks to remember.More recent history didn’t favor the city much and many of its buildings are not inhabited anymore just as is this villa too.

Technical info: Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 50mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak TriX 400TX, Nikon Coolscan 900ED.

  

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 Stone Bridge over City Park lagoon, New Orleans. This one is for Gej – get out early and take advantage of the light. Even things that you’ve seen all of your life can capture your attention when the light hits it in just the right way.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/f.6, 1/125 sec.

  

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

It is cold  and with lots of wind and snow in many parts of the world now.  Here is one of the photos I got on a small walk at sunset earlier this week.

Leica D-Lux5, ISO200, 1/160 @ f4.5

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

First I’d like to say, I’m sorry I haven’t had time to comment on everyone’s photos the last couple of weeks.  They were all great, as always! 
 
As for my photo this week, I was trying to sneak up on a Cardinal in my yard this morning.  This squirrel just stopped in this position and stayed that way for several minutes.  I guess he thought if he would be really still I wouldn’t notice him!  Or may he is just a good model!
 
Nikon D5000, F/8, 1/320s, ISO 400, Auto white balance.

 

 

Tags:  squirrel, wildlife

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi everyone.  Hope you all have survived the weather and all is well. Thanks to everyone who commented on the photos last week.   I enjoyed each and everyone !!

 A  rainy weekend found be bored and playing in water again.    The below is a water drop shot , but with glitter and a bit of paint added to the water.

D300  60mm micor with 20mm extension tube 

Roberta/ Birdie Davidson

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

Tags, Water Drops, Macro

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Last week was one of the best since Joe started this adventure.  Everyone did an incredible job and I so enjoyed looking at your work!

This week I’m sending a photo I took the morning we moved back to Orange Beach.  I wanted to shoot all the restaurants we had visited during our stay in Florida.  While shooting Flounder, I noticed this bit of ambiance sitting to the right of the entrance (We had always entered from the left side of the restaurant).  The truck is on blocks and as you can see it sits where moisture drips on the windshield.  I converted the shot to B&W and then painted in the Budweiser sign.  I didn’t find out until later that the sign is lit during the eventing hours.  I’ll go back sometime in the coming months to get that shot.

Have a wonderful week.  I look forward to seeing your incredible work on Wednesday!

Gej

D90 – 1/5sec – f/11 – 18-200@20mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – B&W and Selective Color in CS5 

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 A pair of pigeons started to build nest few meters from my balcony. I was happy with idea that I’ll have a family of birds so close, that would be great photographic opportunity. Unfortunately, pigeons decided that they were too close, so they abandoned this place, and found new one, somewhere around my building, but not so close. I see them every day, they are here…

Techs are: Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@300mm. ISO 200, f8, 1/160. Shot from tripod.

Greetings, Filip.

 

  

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks again for the nice comments. BW was awesome. Spent several hours at a lake stalking ducks and birds right before sunset.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/5/6, 1/1250sec, ISO 800, mono pod, EC+ 1 step

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

A long way from home.  My wife was near a palm tree when she heard a quiet thud on the grass.  She looked down and saw this creature.  It must have fallen about 8 feet.  I was carrying my D200 and 50 mm lens when she called out to me.  This is what I saw. A baby ring-tail possum.  I picked it up to see if it was OK (it seemed to have good energy and nothing appeared to be wrong).  When I put it back on the ground it started to follow me around.  I think the warmth of my hand is what it wanted.  It was very close to nightfall. To cut a long story short.  We placed it in a cardboard box until nightfall.  It was then released at the base of the palm tree.  Soon after I heard something go up the palm.  The baby possum was no longer at the base of the palm tree.  At that point I believe the mother and baby were reunited.  The “day sounds” I have heard coming from this palm tree always made me think “birds”.  But now I know better.

shots were taken manually (hand held) at f/1.4 and 1/100 sec (ISO 125 on the grass and ISO 100 in the hand) with my D200 and 50 mm prime lens.  The “hand shot” was done with the possum in my left hand and camera in my right hand.

  

  

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from a trip to the Outer Banks where my husband participated in the OBX marathon- this was taken at sunset near the small town of Duck- we were hoping for a really spectacular sunset but it was a rather hazy day – still-  I like the soft muted colors that just blend into each other and the quite solitude of this shot.  Taken with my Canon Powershot –

Thnx,  andi

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This shot was taken inside the Grand Palace in Bangkok. I carried a Canon S70 and wished I had taken my D100 – so much more flexibility.

Anyway, I had to shoot this at an upward angle so I would miss the other seemingly 4 million people a the Palace.

 Canon S70 1/1000 sec, f6.3

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

Here are a couple of shots of the never-ending snow in the northeast.  Both taken in New York City after the last heavy snowfall.  

 

 It is raining now, the snow is melting, the ice has been hacked off the roof (no ‘snow dams’ for us), and cold temps are on the way.  I hope everyone is keeping safe from the weather events around the world!  

Gladys

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

 This girl was trying her luck at a lottery table in Hsinchu yesterday, marking the first day of the lunar year in Chinese culture.  It’s a good day to test your good fortune, and the lottery vendors are certainly out in full force this time of year.

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Here is my submission this week.  This is a very old fire station near my place.  Perhaps one of the oldest that is still in active duty.  The twilight was nice and I thought this was a good shot…  Across the street is also an old police station…. Very old as well.  Around here are mix of very modern Tokyo and very old Tokyo.  I like to walk around on weekends.  Thank you. Hope you have a great week.

D700, 17-35mm, @20mm, f/4, 1/20s. ISO800

 

Tag: Fire Station, Old building, Tokyo, Twilight

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 We had some of the coldest weather in the last few years on Thurs/Friday (28 degrees!). I woke up early Friday morning excited to see what I would find. *Everything* was covered in ice. We had quite a bit of sleet. I’m not all that good at lighting to begin with, so throw in ice, and it was even more of a challenge, not to mention the 36mm tube. I have some more ice shots in my Zenfolio if you’re interested(http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/p174132935). I chose this one because I couldn’t pick one myself, so went with some opinions of others. Taken with D90/Tamron 60mm, 36mm tube, SB 600 on side bracket @ 1/90, f/9.5, ISO 250 while bundled up in four layers with gloves on! 😉 Tags: macro, ice, COLD

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America 

Thanks a lot for your comments to my post last week, I appreciated.
I took my photo ten days ago. This is from one of my favorite places and luckily caught the dark washer clouds there. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @10mm, f/7.1, 1/800sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

This shot is from Burlington, VT, my favorite my place to shot. I took this one on the Burlington Bike Path, which runs along the shore of Lake Champlain for 7 miles. This is a gorgeous path on a warm, sunny day to take a ride on as I did on this day. 

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

A early Happy Valentines for everyone Roberta Davidson

 

Funny store fronts  – Ken Yamamoto

 Funny store front in Osaka (western Japan)
A few weekend ago, we went to Osaka city, western part of Japan, the second largest city of the country and took a tour around the apparent food street where we found several funny/ interesting store front decoration.  Just take a look 🙂
Panasonic DNC-LX5

Tag: Store front, outdoor advertisement

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

