Week 55

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Seeds from Italy

Arthur Avenue’s Little Italy may have some of the most photogenic shop vendors in the Bronx. Saturday I was in the mood for a good Panini Sandwich from Mike’s deli and went to the Arthur Ave retail market.  It is a large building that houses several vendors indoors. Off in one corner was this new stand that just appeared recently.  This Plant stand also sells a large selection of Seeds from Italy.  He has quite the selection of Vegetable seeds, all Italian favorites.  Now if you know anything about Italians, it’s that they like to grow their own vegetables over the summer. I put in a dozen tomato plants along with eggplants and peppers in my yard each spring and get plenty in July and August. Besides the veggies, we grow mint, parsley and plenty of sweet basil. All summer long we have  homegrown tomato salads with basil and Fresh Mozzarella.

I buy plants that are started and in pots ready to transplant to the garden, but old-timers always start their plants from seeds indoors in late March. His seeds imported from Italy are going to be very popular with those old-timers.

 Nikon D200    AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED  1/45 sec, f/3.5, ISO 800, Compensation: +1/3  Shot raw and processed in lightroom v2.3

tags: Arthur Avenue retail market,  seeds from italy, seed vendor, little italy 

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 The Hawk House

This house is in Atlantida, a small summer town in Uruguay. Very near where I will be taking my holidays. The house is looking at the beach and was built for an artist, several decades ago. Then was abandoned and in ruin when the city council take charge and use is as a small museum.
I will try to take a new pic of the building at sunset to compare. 

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @ 38mm – ISO 200 – f 10 – 1/1000

Tags: House Hawk

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

Thank you again to all those of you that took the time out to comment.

This shot is from Norway, on the island of Munkholmen.  A tiny little island close to Trondheim. It was quite the gorgeous day in August, and the water was blue and almost like a mirror. My only regret that day, was having only one lens with me.

Pentax k20d, Tamron 28-75 @ 43mm, F/11, 1/400 sec, ISO 250, EV + 0.3

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

A touch of snow

I’ve photographed this before, but was never satisfied with the results, since it was always so dark among the trees, and everything was always the same color. This past Thursday, after our latest “Mississippi Blizzard”, I drove around looking for some subjects, and I was struck by the way the touch of snow created a nice, strong diagonal, and separated the hay bales from the buildings.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/60 sec.

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 We had another frosty morning and well had to give the focus stacking one more try.   My eye sight is not what it used to be ( actually nothing is what it used to be  !)  and finding where the focus starts and ends on these very tiny things is becoming a huge challenge. This is stacked from about 7 pictures.

 All taken with the D300 60mm micro with 36mm tube ISO200  f/11 shutter 1/20  SB900 diffused on camera

Hope everyone has a great week ahead of them filled with wonderful photo opportunities.

Roberta “Birdie”

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

Tags:  Refractions/ Reflections/ Dew/ Frost

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

 More of my Veteran’s Park friends.  These geese flew toward and landed in front of me, startling me.  Anyway, the exposure settings sounded ridiculous, even to me so I’m not posting them! (-:  I hope it is not too dark to show up well this week.

Tags:  geese, sharpshooters, wildlife photography

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 Thank your for the comments on last weeks photo, much appreciated.

It has been a rather wet period this last week, not bad, all the snow disappeared.

Here is a photo from the centre of Copenhagen on a rainy day.

 All the best

Jens

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!

Last week I had to spend some time in our capitol city. And it wasn’t a pleasure trip.We had couple of unusually warm days so I’ve decided to spend part of the morning walking by the river. I had only small P&S compact camera and this is what I got.

 There were plenty of you who commented on photos. Thank you! I appreciate them all!  Peggy, no, my Tamron is miles away from Rick’s lens. It’s cheap plastic fantastic lens that can do nice job if there is plenty of light. Or tripod like in this case. 🙂

 Greetings, Filip.

 Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: man, bike, bridge, path, city, skyline

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Happy Wednesday everyone!  The South is getting warmer, at least in southern Alabama.  Our kids arrived last week from 60 degree weather and spent the week with us.  It was miserably cold most of the week, sunny but cold.  We ate like kings and I know that I have some exercise ahead of me.  

My photo this week is another B&W.  I added the color back when I realized that it was the only red in the photo and the only flowers in this shot.

 Hope you had a nice Valentine’s Day!

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I took this shot of King Henry VIII’s armor by sticking the camera right against the glass and pressing the button. No flash – just ready, aim, fire. Something different….

Nikon D100, 35mm 1/25 sec, f4

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 This is another shot from our trip Out West a couple of years ago -this is “Balanced Rock” in Arches National Park.  I really like the contrast of color between the cloudless blue sky and the red rock… If you have never been to southern Utah and red rock country and have the opportunity to go – do it.  The various rock formations and arches are truely amazing.   This shot was taken near the base of the formation and looking upward -amazing that this huge rock is balanced on that narrow neck!  Definitely a fitting name and a natural wonder.  Who knows how much longer it will remain intact and how sad it will be when it eventually falls! 

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

 Epiphany day on 6th of January, large number of people queue up to collect the Theophany water. One of the last holiday of the Christmas celebrations, it is almost equally important as is the Christmas, Baptisms are performed by priests by sprinkling holly water over people present at the church and then the priests would go and bless the houses as well.

Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 7II 50mm F/4.5, Kodak Portra 400NC

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks to those who commented on my bird pic last week.Great photo’s everyone. I found this little heron walking around the house I’m remolding. He wasn’t afraid of me. He was very determined to find a lizard to eat. Still playing with my new 2x converter.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/16, 1/1250sec, ISO 800, mono pod

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,

 Wonderful photos last week, Roberta, I have to admit your colourful sparkles were exceptional. 

My photo this week is a documentary style photo of my make up artist preparing a client for a photo-shoot. 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8 @ ISO 1600, f/2.8, 1/125s

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana

Tags: portrait, woman, B&W

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 I really enjoyed the photos last week and thank you to those who commented. I’m sort of in a winter funk, so didn’t shoot much this last week, and what I did shoot, didn’t really like, so am resorting to a photo from the icy morning on Feb. 4th. This buff bellied hummingbird found shelter in my hedge during the cold nights. When it came out to have a little libation, it looked surprised to find it was frozen. Most of us were surprised by this icy morning, since it rarely freezes here. (It defrosted by mid-day, so it was able to drink then.) Nikon D90, 70-300mmVR@ 1/8, f/8, ISO 250. Tags: hummingbird, ice

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan 

Thank you very much for commenting on mine and I should do the same, but it has been hectic few weeks.  Sorry about that.  I will try again soon.  I was in the northern part of the country for the weekend plus Monday.  The photo shows the frozen lake and mountains afar together with the setting sun.  Beautiful sight but I didn’t have enough time to process it, so I hope I could convey something.

D700, 17-35, @25mm, 1/4000s, f/5.6, ISO200

Tag: lake, sunset, winter, frozen lake, mountain

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

Last week when I was viewing the great pictures that everyone had submitted and the ones of the recent snow storm… I looked just past my monitor to the current snow storm outside. I decided to take my picture for this week while sitting in my office chair. The picture on the monitor is Mount Snow Vermont… the ski area that Joe Leotta, his family and mine… ski most weekends during the winter.

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

 A pigeon on its way down with the sun (both retiring at the same time).

 Camera: Nikon D300 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings: 1/801s at 170mm with f/2.8 and ISO 200 (Manual, UV filter)

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 This week’s contribution is a medium term project come to fruition.  We have a breeding pair of Brown Goshawks (Accipiter fasciatus) nesting 35m above the ground in some massive old pine trees along the edge of our garden.  The parents have been hunting rabbits and small birds in our garden all summer and in the past week two fledglings have appeared, very uncoordinated in flight thus spending most of the daylight hours sitting in trees in our garden calling for the parents to come and feed them………  so the fledglings call is a dead giveaway as to where to creep up slowly with the camera and hopefully capture one in a photograph! 

I managed to take three decent images of this one particular – very loud fledgling, it allows me to approach a little closer than the other more shy fledgling.  This image was taken as it began to lift off into flight calling out to the parents as it took off.  This is a 100% crop of the orginal frame.  Image captured hand held with D700 + AF-S 300mm f/4 prime lens @ f/7.1, 1/5000th sec, ISO 1600.

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 I don’t remember whether I have posted this before, but I want you to remember that summer is just a few months ahead!

 Thanks to all that have commented my photo last week!

 Per-Christian

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Jamie’s Baking

My sister loves to bake. Last year I showed you one of her creations – The Hamburger Cake. We’re going to have home made from scratch chocolate brownies tonight.

D100 Sigma 28-200 with flash bounced off the ceiling

  

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

This pagoda is in Lotus Lake in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, which I visited over my Chinese New Year vacation.  I was pretty amazed at the cluster of temples and religious shrines in this area, as there was also a twin set of pagodas, a large Confucius Temple, a giant statue of the Chinese warrior god of heaven, and another winding dragon mixed with the god Guan Yin.  

Overall, the weather held out for us, and it was beautiful our entire time in both southern and northern Taiwan.  

 

Tags: kaohsiung, taiwan, chinese, taiwanese, culture, religion, nikon

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

View across the entrance to the Golden Gate of Mt. Tamalpais – east peak.

In the foreground is the Point Bonita lighthouse close to Rodeo Beach. This photo is from last Saturday, 2/12/11 standing at Pt. Lobos in S.F., next to the Cliff House. Everything you see here my wife and I hike a lot.

Just prior to and during World War II this area was heavily fortified with batteries of big gun armaments (shore to ship), and later with Nike surface-to-air missiles in the ‘50s and ‘60s during the Cold War’s Russian bomber threat. Those areas are now all open and you can walk through everything.

Ken Papai

Canon EOS 7D, 85mm 1.8 lens at ISO 100, 1/500, f/8.

  

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Greg, Peggy, Jens thanks a lot for your great words to my post last week. I appreciated.

It was a busy past week with many Bishops from neighborhood countries, all over Caribbean even from England, France and  they made a special trip to pilgrimage site of Batavia.  You may see some of my photos from earlier one with Paramaribo Bishop, Monseigneur Bekker here : Grand pilgrimage to Batavia ( Please move your mouse over the slide and click at the center for auto play/stop)

We were on the preparation of our return way but the boat drivers warn us to stay more because coming tropical rain. I captured it before arrived to our surround. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/ 

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/2000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

I had an opportunity to stroll through Central Park last weekend for a couple of hours.  The willow trees have been so interesting.  I don’t seem to recall noticing before in the wintertime.  I like the way its winter skeleton looks against the sky in it natural environment.

f/3.9, 1/640, ISO 100

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Gej’s Lunch – Gej Jones

Our daughter and son-in-law Prepared a Delicious Lunch for us.  It was even better than it looks and it looks very,very good.

 

 

Fish Market Panorama – Joseph Leotta

 A little different take on street photography – A panorama style photo of Randazzo’s Fish Market on Arthur Avenue.  The Bronx is getting back to normal as the sidewalks are clear of snow.

Tags : Randazzo’s fish market, Arthur Avenue, Bronx little italy, Street scene

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

