Week 56

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The pastels of winter

Soft colors from soft snow.  Not much I can say about this one because it falls into the “a picture is worth a thousand words” category.   This time the picture speaks better than words.

Taken a recently on another ride to Orchard Beach in the Bronx. This truly was nature’s pastels, look how much the green fence posts stand out.

 Nikon D300AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED [II] @ 50 mm

 1/640 sec, f/13, ISO 400

tags: winter pastel colors, snowy beach, Orchard beach, snow drift fence 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“The Raven”

This guy was shot in Brice Canyon, Utah in the Spring of 2009. He was doing what many wild creatures do these days – panhandling. How quickly wildlife learn where to go to be fed by humans, and they can be quite insistent about it, too.

Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/11, 1/200 sec., cropped slightly from both sides.

 

  Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

Now that I am living in the city more and more, I am always looking up to see what I would ordinarily miss.  I have a thing for American flags these days and I thought the smoke added a touch.  I never noticed it in the warmer weather…maybe the cold creates it?

f/4.3, 1/800, ISO 100

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone,  Thank you for your kind comments last week.  They are greatly  appreciated.   We have had several very foggy mornings, which usually make for great dew drop opportunities. I found this very small spider web with all these intermingled strands  covered in dew.    I placed different types of flowers behind the web to see what I could get.   I loved  the way the dew drops looked like bubbles . The below is with a daisy.   I also used a marigold and a  primrose for very different effects,  which you can view if you wish at: http://birdied.zenfolio.com/p786136035/h2c594d80#h2c594d80   (Look under latest or refractions /reflections folder)

D300   60mm micro 24 mm extension tube   SB900 diffused.   Focused stacked in CS5

I hope everyone has a great week filled with time to take photos.

This is another one from the dew covered web.   I really like the way this one reminds me of an underwater scene and rising bubbles.

Hope you enjoy I hope everyone has a great week filled with time to take photos.

Tags:  Macro, Dew Drops, Spider Webs, Refractions

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello, everyone.  Thanks again for nice comments on mine last week.  This week is a bit different from my usual subject.  I was just passing through the over path of the train station and found this locker (called “coin locker”, which you can rent for a day or two with a few dollars worth of coins) with international flavor.  I don’t see such “decoration” on the doors of those lockers.  Just a snap of the city scape I found interesting.  Thank you!

D700, 85mm, f/2, 1/1000s, ISO200 (A priority)

 Tag: Station, crowd, locker, hello

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I pass this tree on Veteran’s Blvd. every day going to work.  Yes, it is close to my Veteran’s Park!  I have wished for months that a bird would be in this tree some day while I was passing.  Lo and behold, here he was and on Valentine’s Day, too!  I haven’t had a hawk with his back to me before.  He was on the verge of flight in this photo. 
 
Nikon D5000, 70-300 vr 4.5-5.6 lens, F /9, 1/800s, ISO 200.

 

Tags:  Hawk, wildlife, Tupelo,

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore,Denmark

 After a week with rain an clouds it is now time for winter again. Ice all over and very cold. Can’t wait to get temperatures over +1CJ

Thanks for the comments on last weeks photo.

 Regards, Jens 

Tags Ice, winter, cold

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 This orchid was about the only thing I shot this past week I felt was acceptable to post. Hope I get out of this slump soon! I need to get creative since I’m not finding much of interest to shoot. D90/Tamron 60mm/SB 600 @ 1/200, f/9.5, ISO 250. Tags: orchid, macro

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Outstanding photos last week.  Your photos were magnificent.  I enjoyed looking at them and all the comments.  I would like to thank everyone who commented on my photos for your kind words.  I need to comment more and will try to do a better job in the coming weeks.

This was one of the last sunsets I shot while in Florida.  The sunset was beautiful and I’m a sucker for silky water!

I sure am glad I’m in the Deep South, parts of Michigan are without power and some of our family have been told it could be three days until the electricy comes back on.  Last week it was close to 50 degrees and all the snow had melted.  Last night they got freezing rain and in some areas, 9.5 inches of snow.  Michigan weather….If you don’t like it, wait a few minutes it’s bound to change!

Have a wonderful & safe week,  Gej

D90 – 1/30sec – f/20.0 – 18-200@18mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority

  

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 This time, a picture from me taken at our local marina.  Not too much activity, as the temperature was minus 10 degrees Celcius, but in a few months, we can start seeing open water again!

 Thank you, everyone, for the nice comments to my image last week!

 Per-Christian

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks to those who commented on my picture. Yes is was pretty pixelated. Jeannean pointed it out in her comments. The original not downed sized version is not as bad.This little red winged blackbird just kept singing at me so I thought I’d make him famous and send his picture around the world.

 Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/9, 1/60sec, ISO 2,000, mono pod

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
The same Hawk House of last week. I took this pic almost 2 weeks ago at sunset.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR@ 26mm – ISO 200 – f 5.6 – 1/320

Tags: Atlantida, Uruguay, Casa del Aguila, Hawk House

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

This was taken at a concert for the lantern festival here in Jhubei. This festival marks the end of Chinese New Year and goes out with a bit of celebration in pretty much every mid-sized or major Taiwanese city.  I was fortunate to get pretty close to a nationally-famous Taiwanese band “F.I.R.”  Count this as another time I was wishing for an f/2.8 70-200 🙂 

 Taken with D5000 and 70-300 at f/4.8 at 125mm.  Shutter 1/160 and ISO 3200

 

tags: 70-300mm, nikkor, nikon, d5000, taiwan, jhubei, lantern, festival, fir, music, concert

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 Here is not a pretty picture that I’ve got last autumn while visiting Corvin medieval castle in Transylvania, also known as Hunyadi‘s castle, only to realize that right across the street was a totally different ruins of more recent times.
 This is the site of what used to be a huge steel and metallurgic plant built under the communists. The fall of the system and subsequent “free” market wildness shut almost all of these huge industrial mammoths down all around the country, nowadays the functional fraction of this complex is owned by Mittal Steel.
The environmental disaster seen here is pretty shocking, a well set scenery for one of those apocalyptic, end of the world movies. It appeared to me that there is a sort of attempt to clean up the site but the sheer size and contamination makes this task look preposterous.
Technical info: Nikon F6, Zeiss Distagon 35mm F/2 ZF, Fuji Provia 100F RDPIII. Color balance is not exactly right, a monitor calibration kit is the way to go but it’s very close to reality….

Best Regards. Bogdan

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I keep going back to my shots from my trip to England last year because there were so many picture opportunities. I still haven’t made a decision on which lens I will buy (yes, I know its been months since I asked your opinions) – I want to carry my camera without taking all my equipment and I want one lens. Don’t say it….I know. Anyway, this shot is of St. Michael’s Mount in the Southwest of England, taken on a dreary but photographically interesting day.

 Nikon D300s Nikon 80-200mm f2.8, 1/400 sec, f10, 135mm, center weighted, ISO 200 converted to B&W

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 A big thank you to all of you that left comments here and on my Norway photos on Facebook..

 A stand of Aspens This is an old photo from 2007, shot in Aspen Colorado, converted to BW in CS3.

K10d + DA 50-200 @ 160mm, f/7.1, 1/1600 sec, ISO 200.

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,  Thank you for your very kind comments on my photo last week, I really appreciate them.

Something a bit different this week, I photographed wonderful burlesque dancer and we’ve decided to aim for a traditional pin up photo. I’ve been looking through many pin up photographs and pictures in the past few weeks and I’ve noticed, that most of them have light, pastel backgrounds, not many props, just the essential ones to determine the theme of the pin up, one strong light source creating an essential shadow and first and foremost – a pretty lady posing some cheeky way. A dash of humour is an absolute must with this kind of shot (I’ve seen a funny picture of a lovely girl, who’s skirt has been caught in an elevator door and the elevator started ascending, thus lifting her skirt up 🙂 

I feel, that I’ve achieved the real pin up result with my set up, I have also used all sorts of photoshop tricks to make the photo look almost like a painted picture. I hope you like it.

 Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ ISO 200, 1/160s, f/6.3

 Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. , Jana 

 

Tags: pin up, woman, phone, vintage

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everyone
My photo this week is of a shell. No particular story to it just found a shell i liked and photographed it on a white background

D90 Nikkor 50mm f1.8 lens 1.3sec @ f16 ISO200

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 My mother-in-law discovered a pure white kitten under the walk-way in their backyard.  That was 17 years ago.  Here is a shot of this cat today.

 Camera:      Nikon D300

Lens:          AF-S Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Settings:     200 mm, 1/640 sec, f/2.8 and ISO 220 (Manual, hand held, Spot, UV filter)

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!  First, thank you for the comments.I really appreciate them.

My situation is still hectic, and I’m not photographing anything interesting for wide audience.  So, this is a photo that I made couple weeks ago…

I look forward seeing your photos!

 Pozdrav, Filip.

///—-\\\Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

Tags: figure, sign, holding, that’s all

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Dear Joshua, Jeannean, Ken and Peggy thanks a lot for your great words to my post last week. I appreciated.

I was walking on the open street market past Sunday and saw those ladies were stooped at front of closed store’s shutter for parking their motorcycle. They were chatting and one of them trying to fix her hair after removing the helmets. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/3000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This shot is from a trip last spring we took to Italy- of course, this is Venice.  It was an absolutely beautiful day – I love this city – it is so vibrant and has so many photo ops.  I ljust liked this view – the Rialto Bridge just coming into view – the clear blue sky  – the colorful Grand Canal –   just a fave shot!

Sandi

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

I’ve been into skiing and snowboarding since before I can remember. I’ve always been riding in Vermont, primarily at Mount Snow and have been dreaming about going out west to ride the amazing mountains and snow that everyone is always talking about. This past weekend, I finally took a trip out west to Snowbird Ski Resort. And all I can say is WOW. I had no idea that snowboarding could be this good or this much fun. This particular part of the mountain is called ‘Road to Provo”. While I was out there, a major storm hit (about 3 feet of snow). Road to Provo was closed a majority of the time that I was out there for avalanche control. This is really interesting. Snowbird has old guns from WWII that they use as avalanche guns. The entire time I was out there, I heard the artillery being fired into the mountainside, causing some serious avalanches. I can’t wait to go back!

Nikon D100  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED @18mm

AE, 1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 320  February 21, 2011   11:59:45AM  raw – NX2

Tags: snowbird, utah, rocky mountains in winter, deep power snowboarding 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

As a result of the wettest spring summer on record here we have a rapidly increasing population of Southern Brown Tree Frogs.  These little fellas are rather small, easily fitting into a regular sized matchbox.

This image was cpatured hand held crouching into the garden bed using my D700 + Ai 55mm f/3.5 Nikkor micro lens @ f/8, 1/1,600 sec,  ISO 1250  It was right after a huge rain shower and it was 30 deg c outside so there was some condensation residue on the corners of the image from the lens front element fogging up in the humidity.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Old Vines”

Pinot Noir high above the Anderson Valley in Mendocino County, Calif.

This is on the Esterlina Estate – the Sterling family (“Esterlina” = is ‘sterling’ in Spanish) vineyards. My wife and I tasted at 8 wineries over two days and stayed in the wonderful Boonville hotel – an excellent weekend also with excellent beer and delicious food.

Photo: KJP, 2/19/2011, Canon EOS 7D, 85 mm f/1.8 lens, ISO 100, f/5 at 1/320.

 

Guest Submission

Joseph Jr Snowboarding at Snowbird in Utah taken by his friend John Duffy

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

In honor of the victims of the New Zealand earthquake – Ken Papai

New Zealand – South Island – Hay Bales   In honor of the victims of the New Zealand earthquake in Christchurch.

N.Z. was one of the favorite places I have ever visited: friendliest of people, excellent value and quality in all aspects, a beautiful country – glaciers into the rain forest!  I met a Kiwi when I was in Anderson Valley wine country — summer of 1993 with lots of ale — and that meeting convinced me my next overseas trip would be to N.Z.

 I hope the people recover as soon as possible and may the victims of this bad quake R.I.P.

 -Ken Papai

 

The Fishcamp – Gej Jones

 This was my first attempt as stacking.  Not done to change the focus but instead to have all the lights on.

Excellent Restaurant with Excellent Service.  Hope you enjoy the look.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

