Week 57

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

A Winter Twilight                                                                                                                                 The Bronx has a lot of shoreline. Just in my neighborhood there is Orchard Beach, City Island,  and Pelham Bay all off the Long Sound. That’s followed by almost 3./4  of the Bronx’s perimeter being on rivers or  other water bodies. It does not stop there. Leave the Bronx going north into Westchester County and you follow the Long Island Sound all the way into Connecticut thru New Haven. Then you can go out to long Island where Jim lives and have 100’s of miles of shoreline and beaches. That’s followed by Queens and Brooklyn all with extensive waterfronts. Oh yea, Manhattan is an Island. I can’t help but to take a lot of photos involving water landscapes.

This one was taken last week off of Shore Road in the Bronx at Turtle Cove (another good fishing area). It combines 3 of my favorite elements – Waterfront, Snow and Twilight.

 Nikon D200  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED  Shot at 22mm       1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 400, Compensation: +1/3 – Raw processed in Lightroom v2.3

Tags : Turtle Cove Bronx, Pelham Bay, winter twilight, city island road, shore road

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 This one is from my archives.

Moonrise in Sedona at around sunset

K10d + DA 50-200 @ 160 mm, F/11, 1/400 sec, ISO 200

 

  

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Little  Cottonwood Canyon                                                                                           Another from last week’s trip to Utah.. This was taken at the top of Snowbird looking down the Little Cottonwood Canyon into Salt Lake City. The road running up the canyon from SLC is closed several times each winter either because of avalanches or the danger of avalanches. With steep mountains on each side, tons and tons of snow can slides down onto the road very easily.

Nikon D100  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED  Shot at 18mm     1/640 sec, f/13, ISO 320    Raw – NX2

Little cottonwood canyon, salt lake city, snowbird, rocky mountain winter snow

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All
Here my nephew Pedro running wild on the almost desert beach a few days ago.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24mm @15mm
ISO 500 – f 4 – 1/4000

And another child in another Uruguayan town, this time in Colonia, taken 2 years ago

Nikon D300 + 18-200mm @65mm
ISO 500 – f 8 – 1/3200

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

“Freddie”                                                                                                                                    (Hyla Cinerea – Green Tree Frog) has been living in my gardens for several years. I ran into him the other day while trimming my rose bushes. He’s much bigger now than when we first spotted him.

 Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/500 sec

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 There seem to be a long time to spring, but sometimes it is possible to get one self out of bed early to catch the feel of a cold, cold morning.J

This was taken just before 0700 and seconds before the sun broke the horizon. I lightened the foreground to show the ice a little better.

Thanks for the comments on last weeks photo, All the best. Jens

 P7000 F/4 1/100s ISO 100 14,5mm-(not sure how to relate it to a normal lens)

Tags Ice, winter, sunrise, cold

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 The weather is warming up down south, and yard work is the order of the day.Purchased some new bedding plants, and just had to have a go with focus stacking on the gorgeous poppy.  Stanley,  I just had to try to get some drops and reflections !

This one is from 7 shots , hand stacked in PS  Hope everyone has a great week and finds some time to laugh.

 Roberta “Birdie”                                                                                                  www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 D300 60mm micro with 24mm extension tube. Lighting was tough, used some led flashlights as well as the SB900

 Tags: Flowers, Poppy, Dew, Reflections, Macro

  

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

This week’s contribution is a photo of one of my favourite flowers, the highly scented golden brugmansia, a tropical bush from equatorial central and south America.  This bush was grown from a cutting that was given to me by a dear friend and has thrived this spring/summer on the plentiful rainfall we have received.  The flowers have a beautifully perfumed sweet scent which is at it’s best when carried on the cool evening breeze.
I purchased my Af 85mm f/1.4 D Nikkor as a portrait lens but as I’m a truly lousy people photographer, I love using this lens and it’s glorious bokeh for botanical portraits such as this.

Captured hand held with my trusty D700 + 85mm Nikkor @ f/5.6, 1/1000th sec, ISO 400

  

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Sensational photos last week.  Great conversations and lots of knowledge shared.  Thank you to everyone! I worked most of the week on the Palm trees and didn’t spend much time with the camera.

 This young man had just finished surfing.  I thought he looked exhausted.  After being up close, I can’t imagine going into the water with air temperatures in the 30s F and the largest waves of the winter (January).  I talked to one of the old-timers who was sipping a mug of coffee and staying warm in a winter jacket and an Elmer Fudd hat.  He told me the waves were 15-20 feet and unless there was a hurricane, these would be the largest waves we would see this season.

 Mardi Gras starts here on Friday!  I’ll try to get some night shots for next week. As always, have a great week and stay safe.  

 D90 – 1/500sec – f/5.6 – 70-300@300 – ISO 400 – Shutter Priority 

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

We visited a very popular tourist spot of Tokyo – but had not been there for decades.  This place – the town called Asakusa – has been the “true” downtown of Tokyo for the past few hundreds years and where Tokyo-eans gather.  The center of it the Sensou-temple and it still is the center of tourists attraction.  This is the straight street toward the temple and on both sides are small shops for tourists, they seemed to be doing quite well.  I felt really good visiting here because I was actually born and grew up not far from here and my mother seems happy, too.  Oh, by the way, there was Tokyo Marathon on the same day and I took funny runners here – http://www.kih.me/p69543947 – and the rest of the Asakusa are here – http://www.kih.me/p17908734.  Hope you have a great week.

D700, 28-300 VR, @300mm, f/11, 1/125s, ISO200.

Tag – Asakusa, Tokyo Tourists Spot, Temple.                     

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello all!                                                                                                                                                    Today again something different from what I usually do. I’ve tried panning this mother and child on their bikes. While it’s not perfect panning, I liked the outcome.  Sort of abstract, I reckon. 🙂 Thank you that commented on all photos!

 Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/  

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: panning, movement, bicycle, people

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Another great week of photo’s. Thanks for the kind comments. Was watching this egret stalking lizards close by me Friday at work. I was a few feet away from my truck and had my camera inside ready to shoot. I’ve never been able to catch them with the lizard in there mouth. Its only seconds from capture to swallow.

 Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/16, 1/800sec, ISO 800, mono pod

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

This is the same hawk I submitted last week, after he flew.  Just had to send one more.
 
Nikon D5000, VR 70-300 F4.5-5.6 lens, 300mm, F/9, 1/800s, ISO200.

 

 

Tags:  Hawk, Sharpshooters, wildlife photography,

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

This was taken at a dance-off in Hsinchu last Sunday.  We had a beautiful weekend weather-wise, and an extended one at that.  2/28 is a holiday commemorating a massacre that happened in the 1940’s – which is seen much like Memorial Day or President’s Day in the US. Every public place was packed, and it was easy to understand why.  

I went with the 18-55 on this at 18mm to get a wide angle. I used the SB-600 on a low ISO at about F/8.  I preferred the context here – it was a pretty lively event and I hope to have captured that. 

Tags: hsinchu, dance, music, hip, hop, 

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                       thank you very much for such nice comments about my photo last week, I really enjoyed all your photos.

This week another portrait from the same day as my last week’s pin up photo, Coppelia Jane (Brisbane burlesque dancer) and I prepared 3 different set ups/3 costume changes, this one was more revealing, hence the close up portrait today, as I don’t want to push it too much :-), but for anybody interested in seeing more, have a look at my boudoir website www.whatthebutlersaw.com.au 

I look forward to seeing all your photos and I hope to get some time this week to comment.

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/6.3

 

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello everyone
I have a new lens, the Lensbaby Composer. How difficult is this to get used to? If any of my colleagues knows of any tricks to get pinpoint focus in the area you want it. could you please let me know. I practiced on a bromeliad in my garden and had great difficulty so a little leniency this week would be appreciated

D90 Lensbaby Composer with Creative Aperture Kit

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

Lonely cow.  On the way home from an outing I saw this cow in the middle of the country side.  It was interesting enough for me to stop and take this shot.  I hope everyone has had an enjoyable week.

Camera:      Nikon D300                                                                                                         Lens:          AF-S Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED VR II                                                     Settings:     145 mm, 1/125 sec, f/8 and ISO 400 (Manual, hand held, UV filter)

  

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

I didn’t have much time to follow up the last couples of Wednesday photo editions, we’ve got pretty hectic times at work with the ongoing project but last week looks very good indeed. It’s amazing what Roberta can do with such a limited set-up, those two photos are really gems.
I also had a quick look at Joe’s site, it’s been a while I didn’t check it, it’s really amazing how all these photos comes together. Although the pics are all different styles and visions they do have a great visual impact when viewing them together.

My pic for this week is an portrait of a local Bedouin in NE of Jordan, we came across his place while scouting the current project area. Actually we found one of their sheep stranded in the desert, we pick it up and took it back to the owners. They did invite us in their tent for a traditional tea and coffee but we could clearly feel they were a bit uncomfortable with us. Pretty  understandable, you never know who is who around these deserts.

Mamiya 7II, 80mm F/4 lens, Kodak TriX 400TX

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America 

 Dear Ken,  Stanley thanks a lot for your nice words to my post last week. Ken I shoot only NEF every time and just convert my photos to JPG with Capture NX2. I liked my Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2 a lot.

Its really incredible lens. Some people scare about its manual focus but there is an easy way with green dot (ZF.2 models comes with chips) even there is also another possibility to use focusing screen like from http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/ .  Its sharpness, bokeh and colors are really fantastic. You may check more photos at http://www.zeissimages.com/

 We were at trip with a friend of mine photographer from Netherlands and I saw that a young lady was enjoying from tropical rain while taking a shower under overflowed water storage tank. I ran to her immediately under rain and captured few frames. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

 Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                      http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 This is a shot of my constant companion-  Beemer –  yes, she is named after the automobile- BMW- it was a condition of my husband’s for getting another dog – he got to choose the name…  we’re looking for a 2nd dog as well and her name will be Porsche- can you guess that my husband is a fan of German cars – of course, he is German so that makes sense!    Anyway, Beemer keeps me company when my husband travels and since my boys are all grown and out of the house.   This shot was taken after she had been doing a little digging in the yard as evidenced by the bits of dirt on her nose.  She’s a bit spoiled but a great companion – can you resist those big brown eyes?? 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Mantis Silhouette- taken a while back, but never processed. Finally got around to it. Two images blended with different exposures. I hate post processing for several reasons: (1) I don’t know how to do it very well and (2) I would rather be out shooting (or something besides sitting behind a computer working). Congratulations to Peggy on her first year anniversary with the group! It’s so nice to have you with us. Hope everyone has a good week. 🙂

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Larkspur Landing Sunrise”                                                                                          This photo is from this morning – taken from the stern of the ferry boat as it was pulling out. San Quentin prison is the “structure” you can barely make out in silhouette at the center, with lights atop. This was about 10-15 mins. before actual sunrise and this perfect light lasted only 2-3 minutes. I grabbed my camera and took three shots, this is the first of the sequence. There’s another ferry you can barely make out in the distance and some early morning rowers from the Corte Madera rowing club.

You CANNOT beat the natural beauty which early morning light affords us! Get up and get out there.

Photo: Mar. 1, 2011, EOS 7D, 6:30 a.m., 24-70 2.8L at 38mm, ISO 800, 1/160, f/7.1.

Ken Papai

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I took this shot while my wife and I were walking around Sydney harbor one evening. I liked the ambient light (or lack of) and the lighting on the opera house. I knew the result would be blurry since it was free hand at such low light, but this I really like the artsy result.

Canon Powershot S70, 1 sec, f5.3, ISO 200

  

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo this week is for the birds

Drying the wings – Rick Dohme

Caught this Anhingas drying his wings.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/8, 1/640sec, ISO 500, mono pod

 

 I’ve been here 1 year – Peggy G

This week is my one year anniversary of participating with this group.  It has been such a great pleasure sharing and learning with such a wonderful and diverse group
It started with contacting Roberta about a little yellow bird photo she had posted followed by her invitation to join the group.  So I’d like to offer my own little yellow bird this week, which can’t compete with her’s (nor anyone elses).  And that doesn’t matter at all, because this is a sharing group.  To the greatest group ever!!

 

Tags:  birds, Sharpshooters, wildlife photography

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

