Week 58

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York 

The Battery Park War Memorial                                                                                           At the southern tip of Manhattan Island is Battery Park.  Most tourists go there to catch the ferry boats to the State of Liberty or Ellis Island.  Beside those there are 2 other main ferry terminals there – The Staten Island Ferry and the Governors Island Ferry.  It’s a very large park with several other points of interests.   Fort Clinton is in the park where the revolutionary army Defended New York Harbor from the British Navy.

See –  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battery_Park

The park is also the site of the East Coast Memorial which commemorates U.S. servicemen who died in coastal waters of the western Atlantic Ocean during World War II. A total of 4,609 names are inscribed on both sides of eight 19-foot-tall granite pylons. The pylons are arranged in two rows of four each. Between the two rows stands a bronze statue of an eagle, erected on a black granite pedestal. The eagle faces the Statue of Liberty in New York harbor. (BTW you saw this statue in week 14)

Nikon D100  AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF at 24mm    1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 400

Tags:  Battery Park Memorial,  Battery Park NYC,  East Coast Memorial

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All
A doll saleswoman in San Telmo antique fair, in Buenos Aires.

Nikon D300 + 18-200mm @56mm
ISO 400 – f 11 – 1/160

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

From a recent trip to the Pacific Northwest. The Columbia River between Oregon and Washington.

Pentax k20d + DA 12-24 @ 24mm, ISO 200, f/7.1, 1/400 sec.

 

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

This week – no hawk!  I intended to submit a sunset, however this duck won me over!
 
Nikon D5000, VR70-300 F/4.5-5.6G, 300mm, F/9, 1/800s, ISO 200

  Tags:  Sharpshooters, duck, wildlife,

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Steep                                                                                                                                                    I just loved snowboarding out in Utah.  Taken on Snowbird, just look at the angle of the trees to the hill.   As far as I’m concerned, not steep enough.  When I got back to Vermont and Mount Snow, the place looked flat compared to what I was going down out west.

Tags:  Snowbird, Utah snowboarding, Steep ski trail, rocky mountains

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

Last weeks winter look has now changed. It will not last long until the seeds from these will fill the air.

Can’t wait.

Looking forward to see a lot of great photos.                                                                         Regards ,Jens

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

This photo of the tigers was taken a few months back, at the Jackson, Mississippi zoo. Because this isn’t a very “camera friendly” zoo, I had to shoot through a chain link fence, using my 80-400mm lens with the aperture wide open to make the chain links disappear (as much as possible). I wish I had a faster lens. We need to photograph these creatures, even if they are in captivity, because they may not be around much longer.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/125 sec., at 400mm.

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

I got my first real chance last Thursday to photograph 2 eagles on their nest. The nest was on top of a cell tower at a school I was shooting my daughters softball game at. Wow what a hard job it turned out to be. The tower is very tall, the Eagles just sit there most of the time and its an almost straight up shot with a very long heavy lens. As everyone knows shooting directly into the sky also is a challenge. Bracketing my shots and shooting in raw did help. Following a bird flying 300 feet away from you almost straight up with a 600mm lens is quite a chore. I spend about an hour after the game with the eagles until it got too dark to shoot. Only one was left watching the nest most of the time. That eagle left the nest 3 times and would make a large circle and then land again. Cell towers aren’t very attractive so the shots of them sitting there look blah.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/7.0, 1/500sec, ISO 1250

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

 Hi Everyone,                                                                                                                                 Each week I continue to be amazed at the variety of subjects and the talent. I hope you all have had a great week.                                                                                                                 You all know I like to do the water drop shots.   I have been trying for  quite some time to capture the collision of 2 drops.  The results of the collision is called an “umbrella”. Not wanting to invest in electronics that space the drops and laser timers the trigger the flash, I did some research and made a “marionette  siphon”.   This is simply a plastic water bottle with 2 straws.  It still needs some work and refinement, but it allowed me to be able to  drop the water faster and FINALLY capture the collision.   Not the best  water shot , but it my FIRST umbrella.

I hope you all have a great week and get to do something you have wanted to do with your photography.

D300  60mm micro with 12mm extension tube

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Good Morning!                                                                                                                                  I had hoped to have Mardi Gras night parade photos for you today but the lightening, rain, high winds and tornado warnings cancelled all of the parades from Mobile to Pensacola on Saturday.  In an effort to resolve the flooding mess back home, we’ll be on the road tomorrow, heading north, and will miss the parades of Fat Tuesday.

 My photo today is a step back to a year ago.  I’m sending you a photo of Fort Morgan, Alabama.  It was taken about twenty minutes before sunset.  The yellow light is very evident and it warmed the interior of the fort.  This is a single shot, no HDR.

Have a great week. Gej

D90 – 1/200sec – f/3.5 – 18-200@18mm – ISO 320 – Aperture Priority

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Thank you very much for comments on my photo last week.  I was a little busy last week (had to go back and forth between Tokyo and the western part of Japan where our family grave is….) and couldn’t comment on your photos.  Will be a little tied up for a while.  Anyway, having said that, I managed to take an afternoon off last Friday and could walk about with the camera to take a few shots.  This was taken near my office, therefore this is like the Wall Street + Madison Avenue.  Beautiful Sasanqua on the busy business district.  Hope I could capture the beauty and a bit noisy surrounding.
D700, 105mm VR, f/4, 1/60s, ISO450 (Auto ISO).

Tag: Sasanqua

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Thanks Joe for the whole Holga/Lomo photography lesson and spurring an interest outside my knowledge base. I googled it and then did some reading and found a chapter in one of my PSE 9 books called “Faux Holga”. I took a photo of a yellow rumped warbler I had just taken and processed it using the “step by step” method outlined. I’ve never used so many layers in a photo before, so that in itself was interesting and informative. Not quite sure if it achieved the real “Holga” look, but I kind of liked the way it came out. It seemed to bring more depth/character to the photo. Anyway, here is the result of  my “Spring has arrived!” photo.

Nikon D90/70-300mm VR, 1.4x Sigma teleconverter @ 1/125, f/8, ISO 250.

Tags: Holga processing, warbler

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This shot is of a Brooks Lake, a high mountain lake in the Bridger Teton National Forest about 70 miles north and east of Jackson, Wyoming. One of the only ways to get in to see this lake is via a single lane logging road, cut into the sides of mountains and across creeks. The best part of the journey though was getting to Brooks Lake State Campground located on the lake with over 50 miles of hiking trails, most of which are over 9,000 ft above sea level. The campground sites (about 20) are primitive, meaning there were no hook-ups, but there was a water fountain fed by a spring. The water was incredible. In fact is was so good we filled up all available containers that lasted the rest of the trip. The next time we get up there, I’m going to take some liter glass bottles so I can fill and bring them back for special occasions.

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                          Thank you very much for all the comments on my photo last week. 

This week another one from my photo session with Coppelia Jane, this time a little French theme we also did. The Eiffel Tower has been painted by Hayley Egan. 

Nikon 24-70, f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/6.3

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana

                                  Tags: woman, portrait, French, Eiffel Tower

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!                                                                                                                                            First, thank you Rick, Greg and Ken for your comments on mine and all the other photos!

This week I’m again in the archive. Since yesterday was International Woman’s day, this photo is dedicated to all the ladies in our group. To mothers, wife’s, sisters, girlfriends. 🙂 It’s a macro shot with reverse macro technique, but I’ve used two lenses, nikkor 28-70@ 55mm + 1.8/58mm topcon lens reversed. D80, f36, ISO100, 2sec exposure.

tags: flower, red, macro, reverse macro

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

The start of a “moon rise” following the end of a sunset.  This was taken on a balmy night with a gentle breeze blowing.  Until this moment I never really appreciated how quickly the moon moves through the sky.

Nikon D300 with 70-200 VR II at 1 sec, 200 mm, f/8, ISO 640 spot metered and tripod mounted.

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

My week 58 contribution is a totally unplanned photo of this huntsman spider as captured on the kitchen wall this week.  This spider has been living inside the house for a couple of weeks now, slowly moving around the place by night, remaining dormant in daylight hours high on a wall in a corner somewhere, just minding his own business…….. however, I did have an early start for work last Monday and the spider was only a meter above the kitchen bench height so I set up the tripod and captured a few photographs before it slowly worked it’s way back up the wall.

Taken with D700 + Kiron 105mm f/2.8 Micro lens at 1:1 magnification,  no cropping,   f/8,  1.6 seconds,  ISO 1250

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is an image of Guan Gong gods in Hsinchu.  The main idea behind these is that temple donors can sponsor one. The more money you give, the closer to the main altar your name will be. 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

First – really am enjoying seeing everyone’s pictures every week – I love the diversity in styles and subjects -and I really enjoy  “visiting” so many interesting places through your eyes….

My shot this week is of the village of Villanders in Northern Italy near the Dolomite Mountain Range –  we stayed  for a couple of days in a nice Gasthaus just to the left of the church – really beautiful area!  As we were driving up into the mountains one day we noticed our village across the valley and stopped to get the shot.  One thing I like about the shot is the snow line- I didn’t really even notice it at the time I took the shot but really like the end result.   

Have a good week everyone! 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Fresh from the scanner, a shot I’ve got couples of days back on my way out from Jordan, I had couples of hours walk around the old city, stop for a coffee at a small local coffee shop where locals hang around, smoking waterpipe and playing cards.

I normally let my photo lab to process my rollfilms but this time I took my chances to do my own developing, I am happy that it didn’t turn into a disaster as I actually expect it

Shot with Mamiya 7II, 45mm F/4.5, Kodak TriX 400TX

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Almost sunrise, Monday morning, 3/7/2011 – Larkspur Landing looking towards San Quentin.

Lots of nice colors and an electrical line tower for contrast; taken from the ferry boat — getting ready for the ferry commute trip to San Francisco. 

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L lens at 55mm, ISO 800, f/5, 1/250

-Ken Papai

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 7th Avenue, NYC: B&W seemed to suit this shot better because the sky was to overexposed for my taste.  I wanted to capture not only the magnitude of the buildings but how is all seems to go together like a giant jigsaw puzzle at times as well.

 

 

 

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Godzilla – Ken Yamamoto

This was taken very close to the Sasanqua photo.  There was Godzilla Statue and I tried to make it look like real or like movie scene.  Godzilla in the busy business/shopping district and not so many people were paying attention to it.  Just one word – cool!
D700, 105mm VR, f/2.8, 1/400s, ISO200

Tag: Godzilla on the street

 

The good old days – Gej Jones

This is a photo I have shared before.  I thought it would stir some emotions to see it again! When I was 17 years old, there was a gas war in Detroit and I paid $0.13 for a gallon of gas. Three guys came out to check the air pressure in my tires, wash my window and look under the hood.

Now we’re lucky if we don’t have to mortgage the house to fill the tank.

 

 

Fishy – Jeannean Ryman

This was a week of experimenting for me (in an effort to go beyond my comfort zone and get out of this slump I’ve been in). I remembered seeing an article about Andy Teo, family physician, who uses toys and/or common items to create abstracts (Popular Photography, Feb. 2011). I borrowed my little friend’s slinky on Sunday and took a few pictures. I wasn’t getting anything I liked too much, so decided I needed to do my own take. I walked around looking for some inspiration and found this little plastic fish laying on the ground. I went home, laid down on my back, held the fish and slinky at one end, and shot straight up towards the sky with the other end of the slinky resting on the lens. Luckily I was in my yard behind the fence while I was doing this. My neighbors think I’m weird already. I kind of liked the way it turned out with the vivid colors (shot standard mode/ jpg), and in a roundabout way, it became a tribute to my last remaning fish. I have an aquarium, but there was only one little fish left after about 10 yrs. I was waiting until it died a natural death before deciding if I was going to redo the aquarium, or dismantle it. My little fish finally “croaked” this past week, so this photo is a tribute to my hardy little fish and it’s journey on. 🙂

Nikon D90/18-105mm VR @18mm, 1/1500, f/6.7, ISO 200. Tags: fish, abstract, slinky, fun photography

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

