week 59

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 NYC Street Performers                                                                                                                It’s getting a little warmer and the street performers are coming out. I always run into a lot of different acts around central park.  When I went downtown Saturday to shoot the Tram for the transportation special, I went over to the south east corner outside the park at 59th and 5th Avenue.  It is right by the Plaza Hotel, and a favorite place to get Horse drawn Carriages (backup shot for Transportation).

Right away I spotted a very large group of people surrounding this group of performers. They had a very good act the combined dance, gymnastics and comedy. In fact they put on about a 1/3 hour show that was very well received by the large crowd that gathered. Actually enjoyed watching them and hope I run into them again.

 Nikon D300  AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED @120 mm                  1 /125 sec, f/5.3, ISO 320   March 12, 2011   2:54:22PM                                                               

 Tags: Street performers, New York Central Park, street dancing,

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All
New buildings and its reflections in Puerto Madero neighbourhood a trendy area now in Buenos Aires city.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24mm @24 mm
ISO 1250 ( Yes…I didn’t check the camera properly before shooting…will I ever learn???)  f 6.3 – 1/160

                                    Tags: modern architecture, reflections, glass

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

The runoff at the base of the Multnomah falls after a cold snap in February.

Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 55mm, f/8, ISO 200, 1/100 sec.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

My photo this week is from last fall during our trip to Desoto State Park.  I was thrilled to get a few photos of deer.  This little fawn was adorable.
 
Nikon D5000, 220mm, F/7.1, 1/250s, auto ISO 800

 

Tags:  Desoto State Park, Fort Payne AL, fawn, wildlife, Sharpshooters International

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

I do not recall who asked for a photograph of the Pharmacy i showed a few weeks ago but here it is, with the narrow street too. I think it looks very neat and it really is a shame that the old houses are now only used as warehouses for the shops in nearby streets.

Hope you are all well, wherever you are

Jens

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Bradford Pear Flowers.”

 It’s that time of the year when we can rejoice to the fact that Spring is near, and the dreary days of Winter are almost gone.

Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/4, 1/1000 sec., 105mm f/2.8 macro lens.

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

I have spent 2 hours on Sun. and 2 hours Mon. at Eagle Lake Park about a mile from my house. Spring is really here in Fl. We are having great weather. Tonight as soon as I got to a small lake were I go to shoot I spotted this Hawk. I got off a couple of shots before he dove out of the tree and tried to grab a baby duck. There were 2 mother ducks with about 10 new borns   each. I wish I would have got a shot of that. Really enjoyed the Transportation special. I knew everyone would come up with something really nice. Great job everyone.Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/7.0, 1/800sec, ISO 800, + 1 step, Mono pod. Still my favorite lens. 🙂

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone, hope all is well.    Ken, hope that you are still doing  well.  The news seems so bleak and so much heartache. My picture this week is one with dew drops.   I thought it was on a  spider web, but I not sure that is what is was .

I hope you like it .  I call it Nature’s Jewelry.

Nikon D300  60mm micro with 24mm extension tube

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello all.  Again, thank you so much for your kind words and thoughts.  Very touching.  Fortunately, Tokyo is in good shape, much better than you may think.  But the nuke plant in the north is really worrying.  But it is really far from Tokyo…..  Also, thank you for commenting on my Transportation photo, which is very memorable journey for me now.
I was too busy last weekend with other family stuff and I couldn’t go around with my Nikon.  But here is what I took last week, the evening before the quake.  This is the close up of a watch

 

– I attended some reception of a watch brand to present the novelty this year. Although I just had Lumx, I think this one came out very good, despite poor lighting.  Must be the camera 🙂  I can’t explain what is what in this limited space, but pretty interesting complicated watch.  The whole watch picture follows the close-up, in case you wonder where the watch is 🙂

Panasonic Lumix LX-5, 24mm (in 35mm camera term), f/4, 1/60s, ISO 160 (A mode)

Tag: watch, Lange & Sohne, Regulator, Tourbillon

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,                                                                                                              wonderful job with the Transportation Special, I enjoyed the photos, and the ideas of what actually could be considered as transport, very much.                                               Also, thank you for the comments on my last photo, I appreciate them very much.

This week another take on the pin-up theme, this time with a little voyeuristic twist. 

Have a great week,  Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm, f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/160s

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

One of nature’s most efficient forms of transportation (yes Joe, a macro ;). The bee. Without the bee pollinating flowering plants, we’d live in a very drab world, have higher food costs and not as much variety. In this month’s National Geographic, there is a great article on the importance of bees (Nikon D90/Tamron 60mm macro @ 1/180, f/11, ISO 400):

http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2011/03/pollinators/holland-text

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!                                                                                                                                           Great photos last week and in special theme, as always. 🙂 First to Ken in Japan, my sympathies to you, your family and the people of Japan. Terrible tragedy is going there. If this happened anywhere else on the world it we would be already in millions of victims…   As a kid I remember the Chernobyl disaster and I’m not sure that we are not now suffering effects of radiation from it.

Ah, to nicer things. My photo for this week is from last autumn, a picturesque Trakoscan castle here in Croatia. I hope you like it.

Thank you for your comments from last week.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/

Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

I’ve been without a computer & internet since last Tuesday.

Ken, I’m so happy to read that you are OK!

Sorry to have missed the transportation theme on Monday.  

I had hoped to offer up the following:                                                                                  Where in the US can a plane pass over a car, while the car passes over a train, while the train passes over a runner, while the runner passes over a boat…… all at the same time?

My photo this week is of the St. Michaels Cemetery in Pensacola, FL.

D90 – 1/500sec – f/5.6 – ISO 200 – 18-200@135mm – Aperture Priority

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

For the first time in my life I shot with a “full frame” digital body and a long telephoto prime lens.  It set me back a few dollars to do this but it was a wonderful and fulfilling experience.  I really I wanted to simply hire a 200-400 f/4 VR II for my D300 to bring it to a cropped 600 mm at its longest reach.  But it was not available (apparently not returned during a hire out).  With this telephoto prime I also had to hire a D3 body to keep the focal length at 600 mm. 

 All I can report is that both the body and lens are extraordinary.  The equipment is heavy but easy to manage with a monopod.  But the bulk is something else.  The results are stunning and as one commentator put it, the DOF is so razor thin that you could shave your legs with it.  Those with a passion for shooting birds will love this lens.

 I have been using my 70-200 fitted with a TC-20E III teleconverter for some time now.  This brings it to an effective 140-400 at f/5.6 in FX format or 210-600 at f/5.6 in DX format.  While the TC-20E III has raised the image quality to a new (and very acceptable) level, the difference in image quality between this set-up and the native glass equivalent is still there and becomes more evident when viewing the images in larger file formats.

My shot is part of the cricket finals matches that I was photographing over the weekend.  At this size it is harder to appreciate the image quality of the lens.  But the detail in the enlarged images is amazing.  Well, the dream is over but the joy of this experience will live on through the images taken over the weekend. 

Camera: Nikon D3                                                                                                                     Lens: AF-S Nikkor 600mm f/4G ED VR                                                                                Settings: 1/801s at 600mm with f/4 and ISO 1000 (SP, monopod)

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Back Out West again- my favorite destination.   This is another shot from Canyonlands National Park – actually after we came off the off road trails and looking back out over the landscape – I’m drawn to the wide open spaces and in this shot I really like the color contrasts – the blue of the sky against the multi-shaded rock scapes. 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is an offering table for the gods of Longshan Temple in Taipei.  The temple is a must-see if you visit Taiwan and is always very full of activity. I often return when I’m in the area since it’s in a good, central location and next to the Longshan subway stop.  

This table is full of food for the gods.  People present offerings of incense, food, flowers, and other items.  Food is then taken home and eaten.  

Taken with the 35mm at f/8.  I was getting a nice 1/320 speed even in the shade with an ISO of 400.  

Have a great week, everyone!

                                             Tags: religion, temple, longshan, taipei, nikkor, prime, 35mm, d5000, nikon, travel, chinese, culture, taiwanese

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

First of all I’m glad Ken saved with his mother. This earthquake and tsunami in Japan are really a huge disaster but I’m more afraid about the radiation leak now. Ken, please be more careful, take care.
I missed week #58 because I was at French Guyana. But my post from Suriname, captured few days ago. A traditional passenger boat approaches to the pier, early in the morning. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1250sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Photo: Chevron’s Oregon Voyager medium sized tanker ship, built 1999, sailing towards the Bay Bridge. I took this photo Monday (3/14/2011) on the ferry boat leaving the SF Ferry Building heading home from the office.

Canon EOS 7D, 35mm, ISO 200, 1/1600, f/5 on a really gloomy day.

** My best to Japan and their recovery from this large disaster **

-Ken Papai

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

One from the end of last summer up in Burlington, Vermont

D100 – Sigma 28-200 zoom

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This shot has nothing really going on but I took it because it reminds me of a place I love to go – back up in the Rocky Mountains on a logging road. This place is about 30 miles from the entrance to Teton National Park, but since it’s a logging road, no one (except a couple of locals) drives it. The views are awesome and as long as you can pull off the road, you are allowed to camp. These roads are mapped and weave through the mountains for over 100 miles (at least in the Teton National Forest) – just stop by a National Forest Ranger Station and pick up a map and bear info. I hope I’m doing this in about 4 or 5 months….

Nikon D100 1/320 sec, f11, 50mm Matrix

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and not everything is as bad as it might appear……..
Top photo is a 5 day old hatchling New Holland Honey Eater.  I Found the nest in a relatively open place in my garden a couple of weeks ago and saw it had two eggs inside it.  Both eggs hatched and at present both hatchlings are strong and healthy.  Getting both to demand food simultaneously was very difficult.  As you can see, the hatchlings are ugly.  But as the bottom photo shows, ugly soon becomes beautiful, these are adult New Holland Honey Eaters, photographed in my garden around this same time last year. 
The world may appear to be a dim and foreboding place at present but if you look hard enough there is always some beauty to be found……..

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello everyone,

I am still living the hectic life but want to keep up, so here is a photo I took a while ago in Tuscany. I think the town is Montepulciano.  Great town, great wine, great food. We found a way in to town that was away from the tourists. This was taken along that path.

Gladys

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Spring at the lake – Rick Dohme

Spring at the lake. Mom and her kids. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, Nikon TC-20E III, 600mm, F/7.0, 1/100sec, ISO 800, mono pod

 

 

Playing with the Holga lens – Joseph Leotta

The $24.00 Holga all plastic lens came yesterday. Ran a few test shots with the D300 to see what it can do to turn back the hands of time. Seems to give the desired effects as described.  There is no real focusing, just 4 focus zones, no aperture, just fixed F8 which leads to a dim viewfinder. There is no way to meter thru the lens so you set the camera on manual and play trial and error with the shutter and ISO till you get a good chimp. Took me 3 shots to get this exposure.

Looks like it has a lot of possibilities.  As shot in jpeg – resized only

Tags : Holga lens, holga digital photo, holga plastic lens on DSLR, Holga Nikon lens

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

