Week 60

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Spring Snow in Vermont

Vermont just never disappoints. The cold mountain creek waters feed by melting snows are crystal clear. The air has such a fresh sweet smell to it that you never want to leave.  After the bitter cold of winter and battle with the elements, this has the nicest day of the year so far, with warm bright sunshine and no need for a coat – just a sweater or sweatshirt. It is days like this that you remember for a long time.

D700    AF Zoom-Nikkor 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6D IF at 42mm  1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 320

   Tags: spring snow, melting snow feed creek, Vermont spring snow, crystal clear river

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

The morning paper

New Orleans, walking around the French quarter to get some breakfast..

Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 75mm, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/160, + 0.3 EV

 

  

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Ape Library”

 I was driving along a highway nearby, and I saw this sign, and did a double take. I almost wrecked my car. I went back to photograph it, and saw that the sign was damaged and in disrepair. Talking to a couple of locals, who wanted to know why I was photographing the sign, I found out that it originally said “Tape Library.” Signs can be so much fun.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/250 sec.

 

  

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

Hi everyone.   Ken,  I hope things are going well for you and your family.

I visited the botanical gardens in City Park a few days ago.  It was a gorgeous day filled with sunshine, birds singing and gorgeous flowers.  It was one of those days that  feeds your soul.  So, my picture this week is a welcome to spring.   I hope you enjoy.

D300  105mm micor  ISO 200

Birdie/Roberta                                                                                              www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

It has not been a very productive week; the camera was only active Saturday night, the moon, and today, Monday, for the sunrise.

I chose the sunrise because the moon light and the reflections in the water exceed the cameras EV possibilities. Had to use HDR or combine 2 photos to get the picture I wanted. Sunrise is easier and I did not have to leave the living roomJ. So here it is.

All the best, Jens 

Tags. Morning, sunrise, spring, trees.

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

Deb and I skied Mad River Glen with their motto “Ski it if you can” over the weekend with friends… wild conditions with temps 15 – 40… cliffs… rocks… un-groomed and gnarly… bumps of all shapes and sizes and steeps… what a great weekend… so I decided to go with a steep theme for this weeks picture… similar to looking down a shoot this weekend before we jumped down in… although keeping in mind warm and summer around the corner I HOPE… It’s snowing like crazy here in Connecticut today…

This picture was taken with a Canon 7D, 28 – 90mm and a UV Haze Canon filter with no photo shop from Monhegan island 15 miles off the Maine coast (in the Summer) looking down from a cliff approximately 125 feet above the Atlantic ocean.  

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello to all!

I still don’t have the time to photograph at all. 😦 So I’m sending another one from the archive. This photo was taken, or should I say created at the end of year 2008.

It’s a HDR of 6 photos. Dusk on the nearby Drava river. Nikon D80 + Sigma 10-20@10mm, f20.

Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                               Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                   Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

                   tags: river, dusk, rocks, hdr

  

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

This is the store front of the neighbor Soba (buck wheat noodle) restaurant.  Felt a touch of spring and the lamp beside the Noren (curtain in front) was impressive.  Blurred pink was actually the flowers of Ume – usually the first sign of spring.  The time was about when to open for dinner….

D700, 85mm, f/2, 1/125s, ISO400 (A priority)

                        Tag: Ume, Japanese Apricot, Soba, lamp

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This was taken at a protest against nuclear power in Taipei last weekend. It all started in the wake of the Fukushima incident and maybe understandably, Taiwanese area  bit leery of the nuclear power already here. 

I personally don’t have an issue with it, but it made an interesting site – as this protest was HUGE. 

Tags: nuclear, power, protest, nikon, d5000, nikkor, 35mm, politics, taipei, taiwan

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Hello to Everyone!                                                                                                                             I hope you are all doing well.  Looking forward to seeing all of your photos.

This week I sending you a shot I took in Pensacola.  The Seville Quarter is one of the oldest in the country.  This stained glass lantern caught my eye and I thought I would pass it on.

Have a great week!  Spring is REALLY here!

Gej

D90 – 1/80sec – f/9.0 – 18-200@130mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority

 

  

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I used to love taking shots with my Rollei, back in the good old film days. It was tack sharp, exposures were spot on, easy to use – and oh ya, the film. I really liked the Fuji film as it really popped greens and reds. The downside was the cost of extra lenses – OMG. I could buy two D300s bodies for the cost of a nice 75mm. And it took days to get the slides back since no one nearby developed this film. Anyway, here is a shot of the Badlands in South Dakota. It’s a scan but you should see the print. It’s almost 3D.

Rollei 6×6 50mm, ISO100, 1/250 sec, f18

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

I wanted to show my neighborhood – it’s been rainy and stormy here the past five weeks, with another week of rain forecasted. I shot this like color slide film – exposed for JPG only (sRGB color space in fact), something I don’t often do, LOL. My house is right in the middle. We live at the bottom of a very steep hill so feel safe and isolated from wanderers.

Photo: Sterling Way, Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 mm at 24mm, ISO 200, f/9, 1/800th, Av (aperture) mode, centered-weighted ave. metering, late Sunday afternoon, 3/20/2011.

-Ken Papai

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Well another very busy week has past. With my daughter in Thailand and no softball games I had more time to shoot. Thanks Gej for the kind comments last week. My favorite pic came as a surprise. I was heading to the store to get lunch and I spotted a large raptor on a street light pole by a lake. I went down the road and turned around and went back to see what it was. I parked about 75 feet from him and was afraid my large f350 truck would scare him off. My camera was on the back seat ready to shoot so I quickly shot some pics of him sitting still. I wanted some good flying pics so I slipped quietly out my door and got ready for him. I realized he was a full size immature eagle. My heart was pounding. He was over 24″ in height. He took off and to my surprise circled back right over my head three times. Then I spotted what had him sitting there. Fresh road kill. He swooped down and grabbed a freshly killed water bird and flew off. I got several good flying shots. These birds are amazing. I live in such a populated area but there seems to be enough water and wetlands to keep them around thanks to our counties conservation efforts.

 Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/14, 1/320sec, ISO 400

 

  

  

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello everyone
I play competition darts of a Wednesday night and love it. I am an average player though. You may well notice that one flight is a different colour to the other two. This is very strategic by me as i always throw one crappy dart and i like to know which one it is :-)))

D90 Lensbaby Composer with creative aperture kit

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

 Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                           Big thank you for the comments on my photo last week, I very much appreciate them.

This week a tribute to the female form.

Have a lovely week and I look forward to all your photos. 

Jana

 Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/125s

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

 Hello all,                                                                                                                                              I did not have access to a telephoto lens for the Super Moon event but that did not stop me from trying.  The moon pic struck me as a curiosity because I actually detected the ‘points’ around the moon with my eye (ISO 800, f/22, 5 seconds).  The orange spot? I have no idea. 

When I turned around to my house, it was cast in an eery glow; I didn’t really capture it but here it is(ISO1600, f/22, 15 sec.). I will be away next week so no submission for me next week, but I will be watching for all of yours!

Gladys           

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

This is a photo from my November 2009 files of a gentleman we saw resting in a park where we had stopped for a picnic lunch while on vacation in North Carolina.  I have always liked the feeling it gave me. 
 
Kodak Z7590

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I’m finding a lot of small bugs on small wildflowers. Spring is definitely here. This is a little katydid. (D90/60mm Tamron @ 1/125, f/8, ISO 200) Hope everyone has a good week!

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 A hornero Bird halfway building its nest on a pedestrian railway bridge in my town. I took this pic almost 2 years ago. The bird completed the nest, used to raise its “kids” and then abandoned. 
A few days ago workers were removing the nest to put a new coat of paint and I remembered this pic.

Nikon D300 + 18-200mm @65mm
ISO 4000 (Yes 4000… I forgot to check the ISO and used the night before settings!!)  – f 9 – 1/3200

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Gej, thanks a lot for your comment to my photo last week.

Young Muslim girls are enjoying their time on trampoline during a celebration two weeks ago.  They were behind safety net. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                           http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Autumn is well and truly in play here in my garden, cooler nights and mild days signal the end of warm summer flowering plants and the changing of seasons.  I was in the process of photographing this curled up / finished osteospermum daisy when a hover fly made a timely landing on top of the flower……… fortunately I had the aperture closed down enough to get the fly in focus as well…….  it’s about being prepared at the right place, at the right time……..

Captured hand held with my trusty D700 + Kiron 105mm MF micro lens  @f/11, 1/800th sec,  ISO 3200

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

This is what happens when a website collapses at night.

Nikon D200 fitted with Nikkor AF-S 18-200 mm VR @ 200 mm, 1/250 sec, f/8, ISO 100 (using on camera flash).

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from the grounds of James Madison’s home Montpelier in VA –  this was on the property back behind the house and gardens- the home and surrounding grounds are really beautiful –  I just liked the shot of the old barn down the windy path framed by some beautiful trees.   Not many people around that particular day so it was very peaceful.   A very nice place to wander around and to try to imagine what it was like back in the mid /late 1700’s –  for those of you who don’t know American history, James Madison was the 4th President.    He spent much of his life in the home – I believe they still hold horse races on the grounds –   one of many great places in VA to visit for history buffs.   

Looking forward to seeing everyone’s photos again this week – it’s always so enjoyable to see your varied talents.  Hope you all have a great week. And hope things are improving for Ken and family in Japan – always in our thoughts.

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

From the files, a leftover from my days in Burlington Vermont

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Pretty purple flowers – Rick Dohme

It was almost dark at the park and I decided to take a couple shots of these pretty purple flowers. I looked through the lens and noticed what I thought was a Humming bird hovering over the flowers.I got real excited and started shooting away. It was so dark that until I got home did I discover they were Humming bird moths. The link below tells about the Moths. Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/2.8, 1/100sec, ISO 1250

http://www.birds-n-garden.com/snowberry_clearwing_hummingbird_moths.html

 

French quarter Mule – Roberta Davidson

 Mules still work in the French quarter, but now they pull tourist around.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

