Week 61

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

3 Oldies but Goodies

They are Vera 88, Mary 89 and Connie 93 years old left to right.  This is what goes on in my house every day. My Mother, Mary in the middle lives in our house in the downstairs apartment, her sister Vera comes over just about every day and my late father’s sister Connie who lives around the corner is here every day. Let me tell you they are a handful.  I could write comedy stories about what really happens with them.  You would not believe how much work my wife does taking care of the 3 of them plus a 4th who is not pictured here, her mother. For example, not 1 of them understands the concept that the TV has to be on channel 3 and you change the channel on the cable box. At least a ½ a dozen times a week we’re running downstairs or over to someone’s house just to put the TV back on channel 3. Another difficult concept is the fact that the cordless phone must go back on its base to charge, if not it stops working after a while. We are taxi drivers; take care of doctor’s appointments, medicine distribution, shopping, fight referees and so on and so on……

Nikon D300   AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED  Shot at 27 mm

Available light  1/80 sec, f/4.5, ISO 1000  auto WB

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

On average, this weekend was the beginning of the “Cherry Blossom” season in Tokyo area, but it was extraordinarily cold winter and it is taking a bit longer to make the buds open.  I just went to check the status and this is what I found.  Not quite the celebratory stage, but kinda cute.  This was taken on the bank of a small river and in the full-blown season, both sides of the river becomes pinkish.  Tokyo is having quite normal days, except for power save mood everywhere – down escalators are powered off, half the elevators are powered off, a bit dark office area, etc.  But we are having normal days – we go to work, work, come home, sleep.  No panic at the super market, there are bottled water on the shelves, most of the shelves are full of stuff.  Thank you for your kind thoughts and I, for one, am having normal days.  Ken
www.kih.me

D700 70-180mm Macro @180mm, f/8, 1/250s, ISO200 (Auto ISO)

Tag: Tokyo, cherry blossom

 

Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

Gigantic Crab                                                                                                                           Wilmington, NC 03/22/2011                                                                                                           Sunrise Beach Walk

Taking well needed rest on the beach in North Carolina, looking for photo ops, spotted this giant crab from 100 yards away. He is well trained as it turns out and does not eat people. Still partial to seafood it seems and lucky for me!

F 3.2 ,ISO 352. No flash, 12.9 mm                                                                                            Cropped, resized, border.

Crab, ocean, sunrise, beach, sand.

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

This past weekend we attended our cousins surprise baby shower. As a token, my sisters baked these cookies that everyone got to take home with them. They spend the better part of week baking and decorating these and when all was said and done, they turned out over 300!

 Needless to say, it was a busy week in the Leotta kitchen. 

Rocking Horses, Teddy Bears, Baby Carriages and Oneies  

 D100 – SB 80DX Flash Bounced, AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Last Thursday I went for another walk in the park and took my flash. This red wing black bird just kept coming close to me and singing his heart out.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/7.0, 1/60sec, ISO 500, SB 800 flash with diffuser, Mono pod

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

The desert has many faces; the most colorful is in the spring when the cacti and wildflowers are blooming.

It is quite amazing to see such delicate and fragile flowers produced in such a harsh environment.

Pentax k20d + Tamron 90mm macro f/4.5, 1/40 sec, ISO 200

 

  

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!

As always lot’s of nice photos last week, and I’m already looking forward this week’s photos . I finally had some spare time and some nice weather last Saturday, so I vent for a walk to capture some spring flowers. And I’ve found this.

Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@240mm, f5.3, 1/400, ISO 100.

Thank you all for your comments!                                                                                          Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                         Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

          tags: spring, flower, blooming, white, yellow, green

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

I want to again say, Thank You to everyone!  You are a great group and I feel very fortunate to have you as friends.  The help, suggestions, comments and good times are very much appreciated.  I hope your week goes well and that you have an opportunity to enjoy taking photos.

While returning from the Post Office yesterday, my wife pointed out this weathervane to me.  Later, I went back and photographed the firetrucks, bells, sirens, and the weathervane.  I thought the sunset was perfect for the firefighter and added it to the photo using CS5.  I hope you enjoy the result.

Orange Beach Firefighter Weathervane

D90 – 1/200sec – f/8.0 – 18-200@65mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – CS5

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

The Back Side” Part of the New Orleans French Quarter that people seldom see. This is the back side of several buildings which were sort of row houses, each separated only by a brick wall. Each or the protrusions were at one time servants’ quarters, and are now used as apartments. Improvised remodeling and spontaneous construction becomes sort of a visual cacophony of structural modifications. This always interests me, because it often reflects a resourcefulness and economy of materials and expense.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/4.5, 1/160 sec.

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan 

These crab-eating macaques were at the Hsinchu Zoo last Saturday keeping warm. We’re finally breaking out of a cold spell here, and I’m certainly ready for a real spring in Taiwan after some record-cold temperatures. 

d5000 nikon 70-300mm nikkor

Tags: crab eating macaque monkey zoo hsinchu

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

Hi Everyone,                                                                                                                                Great week last week, wonderful shots from everyone!!   Ken,  I sure  hope things are okay with you and your family.

My shot  was not really planned.  I was out laying in the grass once again, looking for some dew drops when I noticed this very tiny spider strand between blades of grass. This little spider was sitting next to the dew drop.  Unfortunatley, there was no way to get  a flower behind the drop.  Hope you enjoy.

D300 60mm micor with extension tubes

Birdie/Roberta                                                                                               www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

  

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

The winter has been long and cold but all the ice has gone now. It’s been rough to the birds too and not all made it.

Here is a swan that did not.

P7000 F4,5 1/867,3s?? P-mode.

All the best, Jens

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                    Wonderful photos last week, I am sure this week will be equally as good, we are an exceptional group of photographers 🙂

This week I took my friend for a photography lesson to one of my favourite places, to the cemetery. I know, sounds morbid, but I love the calmness there. 

Have a lovely week,  Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/800, f/2.8 

  

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

This weeks photo was taken last week while in the BVI’s. It was taken on Peter Island on a remote beach toward the open ocean. It is a small older wooden boat that was broken up during a storm and ended up on the beach where it has fallen into decay. The material in the stern of the boat is mostly ground coral and larger pieces of coral were several inches deep over much of the beach. While at a distance this beach looks white and sandy it is virtually all bleached white coral and a few shells. To the right is the stern of a second boat which appears to have washed up in the same or a similar storm.

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

I was at my favorite place and scene again, an early morning three weeks ago. A typical passenger boat approaching to the pier. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

PS. The stain at near upper-right corner probably a rain drop.

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                             http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @20mm, f/5.6, 1/640sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello everyone
Not much photographing done this week so i am submitting a daisy. It was windy so used a higher ISO to get a faster shutter speed

D90 Tamron 90mm lens 1/800sec @ f16 ISO800

  

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I haven’t had much time to take any photos lately, but down at the beaver pond there are two Blue Heron’s guarding two nests.  So, I just have to try.  Maybe a better photo of them later.  I haven’t had much time to observe them yet, so I do not know if the female is on the nests with males guarding, or what, but I just hope there will be babies!  This poor bird is SO ugly, but please forgive him/her, I think he’s had a bad feather week!
 
Nikon D5000, 240mm, F/5.3, 1/320s, Auto ISO 200 

 

Tags:  Sharpshooters, birds, wildlife, Blue Heron

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot of a sunset just outside of Jamestown,VA.  

The picture doesn’t really do it justice – it was on of the most spectacular sunsets I’ve ever seen. Still I’m pleased with the shot and I love the vivid colors. Another historical area of the country and really beautiful too –  my kind of place. 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“A Peek Inside”

Winemaker’s Dinner at Freemark Abbey Winery, St. Helena, Calif., Saturday evening, 3/26/2011.  This is the first time ever they have held a dinner here: a food & wine pairing in their cellar room.

Photo: EOS 7D, 24-70 lens, ISO 1600, f/4, 1/50.                                                                                 -Ken Papai

 

  Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

My photo this week is more about being in the right place at the right time, plus it was somewhat comical. I was stalking some Ibis and American Avocets in the canal near where I live on Sunday morning. I was trying to sneek up on them from behind a tree (in my camo clothes ;). I got a feeling someone was watching me, so looked up, and there were three parakeets “frozen” on the trunk of a palm tree. It was like, “Don’t move and maybe she won’t notice us!”  At first, I thought they were fake, but quickly realized I’d come face to face, literally, to some of the most elusive birds around here. You see them flying in flocks or occasionally perching HIGH up in trees, but I have never seen one, much less three, this close. I slowly moved my lens up to get a photo and realized I had to zoom OUT to get the parakeet closest to me in the frame. I took another in portrait mode to get all three, before they screeched and flew off. If you’re interested, that one can be seen here:

http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/p691614033/h253e091d#h253e091d

Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/500, f/5.6, ISO 400) Tags: parakeet, wildlife

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

The puppy is our dog Jake at 6 months old, looking down the basement stairs, waiting for me to come up and play. The dog is Jake one year later, still waiting……

Settings: does anyone really care?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

7th Avenue, NYC: B&W seemed to suit this shot better because the sky was to overexposed for my taste.  I wanted to capture not only the magnitude of the buildings but how is all seems to go together like a giant jigsaw puzzle at times as well.

Regards,  Gladys

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

Stephenson’s Falls – Otway Ranges as viewed from the elevated viewing platform.

Tripod set with D700 + Nikkor AF-S 17-35mm with a Lee 10 stop ND filter.   20mm, f/9,  15 seconds,  ISO 400

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Running really late.

 Camera : D300                                                                                                                                 Focal length : 400mm                                                                                                            Exposure : Aperture-priority AE, 1 sec, f/4, ISO 1600, 1600

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Resourcefulness  – Stanley Beck

“Resourcefulness” This shopkeeper found an easy way to make his business cards available when he closed for lunch. A mousetrap nailed to his fron door frame is his card holder.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/125 sec.

 

The ‘Rape of Polyxena’  – Gej Jones

This is one of the 100 photos that is going into the ‘Italy Book’.

The ‘Rape of Polyxena’ is an amazing work of art.  I was taken by the tears.  

Not knowing what I was doing four years ago, I took 1500+ photos over ten days with a P&S Nikon 995. Last week I experimented with CS5 & Gaussian Blur until I was satisfied with the photo below.   If you have comments or suggestions, I would appreciate your input. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

