Week 62

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Clouds and Haze over Manhattan                                                                                      I took this one from Ferry Point Park in the Bronx looking across Hells gate towards Manhattan. It’s called Hells gate because several bodies of water converge there making for strong currents and tough shipping. The Long Island Sound, Atlantic Ocean, East River, Little Neck Bay and Pelham Bay all meet there. The tidal action has torn boats apart in the old days of wooden shipping thus earning it name from the early settlers.  This photo shows a small section across the gate towards the East River and Manhattan. 

This photo came as sort of a surprise. The telephoto effect of pulling objects together completely changed the normal perspective from get from here.  The first body of land in the foreground on the right is Rikers Island which normally seems very far away and then the skyline which is barely noticeable from the park. Interesting that the telephoto effect was so pronounced with only a 135mm lens DX (200mm full frame).

I had the D100 laying in the car for those just in case ops. The D100 has had its sensor cleaned since I took this last week.

Nikon D100  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED at 135mm             1/2,000 sec, f/11, ISO 250

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona 

 One from the archives, shot in 2008.

A rejuvenated mission church in old town Scottsdale. Converted to BW in CS3.

Pentax k10d + DA 16-45 @ 23mm, f/8, 1/400 sec, ISO 125

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia 

 A couple of weeks ago my boss invited me to watch the Saturday qualifying sessions at the Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix.  My boss is a historical sports car enthusiast and owns a few collectible sports cars, one of which he was driving as part of the Historical Car display which was an on and off track display over the running of the Grand Prix weekend.  This year he had entered his 1964 Ferrari 275 GTB as part of the display.  I had a great day photographing the historic cars both on and off the race track – so much so that I did not bother to photograph the F1 race cars, the historical cars really grabbed my attention. 

This photograph was taken on the dummy grid as the cars and drivers were waiting to be ushered onto the race track for their daily 20 minutes of display laps.  The car on the left of the photo is my boss’ Ferrari 275 GTB, he was parked next to another car with identical paint colours, both cars apparently have original paint colours.  The photo was taken in very dull light with high overhead grey thick cloud cover which muted colours somewhat.  I have extensively used colour and illumination dodging in Photoshop to lift the perceived ambient lighting and to better saturate the colours in the entire frame.  The image has a somewhat HDR look to it but for this sort of subject matter I think the “look” is appropriate.  I have also used a masked gradient layer in an attempt to bring some definition to the otherwise lifeless overhead cloud cover.  I’ve not used layer much in Photoshop so the whole experience was painstakingly slow but very rewarding.  I’m having this one printed out into a 20″x30″ matte print to present to my boss as a gift.
Taken hand held with D700 + Nikkor Ai 16mm f/3.5 fisheye lens @ f/8, 1/800th sec, ISO 800

This is a photo of my boss driving his Ferrari 275 GTB into turn 1 on the Grand Prix track at the Melbourne Formula 1 race this year.  I have had very little experience with sports or action photography and was keen to use my 70-200mm f/2.8 zoom for this occasion.  The historic cars lapped the race track for 20 minutes and I was high up above the track in a stand so I had plenty of opportunity to change my camera settings and try some different capture techniques.  I have settled on this photo as a favorite.  Nearing the end of the session I slowed my shutter speeds right down to as low as 1/100th of a second, set the continuous shooting mode to high speed and used the VR mechanism on my lens to try to keep the image crisp and  clean as I followed the car as it made it’s way into and out of the corner.  The light was dull and colours were muted but the exercise was really about trying to capture some still action frames whilst capturing a feeling of movement and motion.  I now really have an appreciation for sports photographers and how it can be difficult to isolate a subject and capture it crisply and yet convey the energy of motion and action in in the press of a button

Taken hand held with D700 + Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 lens @ 200mm,  f/6.1,  1/125th sec. ISO 1250, with VR set to on and normal.

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi 

 “Going to work” I couldn’t resist this shot of the early morning fog on the Mississippi River, just before sunrise. Pictured is the Canal St. Ferry, plowing through the surface fog, with the river bridge as a backdrop. It is a long common way of crossing the river, and at that hour, people from the west bank of the Mississippi River are heading for work in the central business district of New Orleans.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.3, 1/60 sec, on a tripod.

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark 

 I like to sneak inside gates to see the backside and courtyards of townhouses. I did that the other day to see the courtyard of the Pharmacy I send in a few weeks ago, and here it is.

Thanks for the comments on my photo, very much appreciated. Will try to find the time next week to send my comments.

 All the best                                                                                                                                         Jens

 

Tags. Townhouse, courtyard.

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!

First I’d like to say thank you to Ken and Gej for their comments, I appreciate them very much! My life is still not mine so I don’t do much photography this days… 😦 So, another photo from last year. I hope you like it.

Nikon D80, Sigma 10-20@12mm, f8, ISO 200, 30 sec. Cokin IR filter.

Greetings, Filip.                                                                                                                                 Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                              Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: Infra red, IR, black and white, cross,

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Middletown Road elevated subway train station. The IRT number 6 train stops a few blocks from the house and takes me back and forth to work.

Nikon D100 Sigma 28-200 Zoom

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Hello & Happy Wednesday!                                                                                                                   I hope you are all doing well and had a restful weekend.  The warmth has returned to the South.  The flowers are exploding with color and as Stan told me earlier, the bees did come back!

While shooting what I call Bottlebrush flowers, I was drawn to the sound of bees and this guy posed just long enough for me to say.  ‘Got-ya!’

Gej

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana 

Hope everyone is doing well.  What a great weeks we keep having.  I really look forward to each week and  to each photo. I was out in my garden the other morning and surprised this little green tree frog. He jumped on my hand a few times and did not want to leave. It was a amazing moment in nature.  Some critters I don’t mind having a close encounter with 🙂

I am still trying to increase the magnification so experimenting with the 105mm micor, extension tubes and the Canon 500D. The lighting was with the R1 macro lighting .

Hope you enjoy                                                                                                                         Birdie/Roberta

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks for the kind comments this week. I went on a guided fishing trip Saturday with my close friend. When we got back to the dock the captain started to clean our catch. This drew a crowd of about 20 pelicans and other assorted birds. I just stood there and shot 200 pictures of the pelicans fighting over the leftover fish parts. Each time he would throw in a piece of fish these two lazy bums would open there mouths and try to reach out and grab the fish without diving into the pile. They were about 5 feet from the fish each time. I don’t blame them. There was quite a scrum in the water. Its a good thing pelicans don’t have sharp teeth. If you look closely on the top right corner you will see the carcass of a speckled trout flying threw the air.

Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120 3.5, F/13, 1/2,000 ss, 102mm, ISO 800.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi 

Storms, rain, storms again make the beautiful days even more special.  Sunshine and flowers just go together!  Native azalea on the bank of our lake.
 
Nikon D5000, 270mm, F/5.6, 1/640s, exp. comp -1.3 EV (by mistake), ISO 200

 

 

  

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 

I shot this bird (not sure exactly what it is) at the end of January.  Its blue eyes stood out among the many sulphur crested cockatoos that feed off the fruit trees around this time of year.  I had forgotten about the shot but Jeannean’s experience with the parakeet reminded of it.  As Jeannean pointed out with her wonderful capture of the “frozen parakeets” being in the right place at the right time are the magic moments of good fortune.  And when (in her case) you can say, I had to “zoom OUT”, that’s the icing on the cake.

Camera: Nikon D300                                                                                                                       Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VRII with TC-20E III                                                   Settings: 1/100s at 400mm with f/5.6 and ISO 220 (Manual, hand held)

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello everyone
A shot of the stamen on a day lily. Not sure of the botanical name. It was taken with the lensbaby, which i have not had much of a chance to really get familiar with yet. Too busy
I am sure many of you would be very creative with this lens but it is not for everybody. Mostly people either love or hate it with no middle ground

D90 Lensbaby Composer. Cannot remember the aperture as i have to put it in manually. Sorry

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

The spring has finally come – to some of the cherry blossom trees.  Not all are full blown, but some are showing nice touch of spring.  Taken last weekend.  Very warm – probably hi 60s in F and close to 20 in C.  Nice weather, a bit sweaty for me, though.  I still remember the last year DC tour and shots and I really miss those days.  But this is Tokyo and Tokyo is having its usual spring time….  Life goes on.  With tele and wind is blowing, so I had to use high shutter speed, thus a bit high ISO.  I need some breakthrough on photography.  All most every weekend I walk around with camera with a few lenses.  I want to think that I am getting better, but am I really?  Any suggestion?  Maybe I should go out to other distant country side, maybe I should try people shooting (I am extremely poor at it) or portrait, maybe learn more about PP other than Capture NX2, maybe try out B&W or film or….

Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 70-180mm macro @180, f/16, 1/500s, ISO900 (Auto ISO)


  Tag: Cherry Blossom, Tokyo, Spring 

  

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 

Hello Everybody,

thank you very much for the comments on my photo last week. This week a photo from a burlesque show I photographed last week, it was a fantastic evening and this lady, La Viola Vixen, took my breath away, she was utterly beautiful and was all adorned in peacock feathers, in fact she undressed to few peacock feathers, but I will keep those photos for now 🙂 

The light conditions were very difficult and the dancers were constantly in motion, so my priority was a very high ISO and I kept changing the aperture and shutter speed constantly (I only photograph in full manual mode). 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 6400, f/2.8, 1/250s

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. They are getting better and better every week. 

Jana

  

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Sorry I couldn’t send an image for last week. I had arrived wednesday morning from Cordoba Province, in the middle of Argentina. I stayed a week more than original planed and had run out of spares pics!
 
Detail of an angel on a chapel. Inside Cordoba Cathedral.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 70-300 @125mm 
ISO 2000 – f 4.5 – 1/40

Tags: church angel 

 

 Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut 

As last week… this picture was taken in the BVI’s. My wife and I were watching a local fisherman throw a net into the water near the beach. He was trapping small bait fish to use to catch Red Snapper during twilight. He would throw the net in a circular motion where it would spread out and cover a 12′ by 12′ area. Lead sinkers on each end of the net would fall quickly to the bottom. He pulls a string and the corners draw in and he has trapped anything covered by the net…  He transferred the caught fish into his bucket… The endless story of big fish eating littler fish and odd ad infinitum…

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut 

I was in Phoenix, Arizona last week with just my Coolpix from Nikon.  This is a different kins of shot but I liked the effect and the colors.  It is taken through the colorless vapors of fire pit that were between me and the somewhat ordinary scene (for Arizona) in front of me.  It was somewhat impressionistic and I wanted to try to capture it.  ISO 160, f/5.6, 1/640

Hope everyone is well,                                                                                                                       Gladys

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I went out to Bentsen State Park/World Birding Center Saturday morning hoping to spot a Painted Bunting or some other “cool” bird, but didn’t find anything unusual. However, I do love the Green Jays. This was my favorite because it’s so hard (for me) to capture their eyes. I enjoyed a nice spring day and hiked somewhere close to 10 miles. I got this shot while sitting on a bench after a 5 mile trek to the hawk tower. Love this type of day. 🙂 Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR/Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/180, f/5.6, ISO 400.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

  

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

First – week 61 was another great week with so many wonderful shots again-  it just gets better and better.   Thanks to those who offered comments -one day I hope to add some as well but in the meantime I applaude everyone’s shots!

This is a shot of an old barn on the property where we stayed in Culpeper,VA – near the Shenandoah National Park- just thought it was a neat shot and I liked the combination of the fall colors and the bleached out barn against the bright blue sky – I like that the owners have left the old barn standing and it just completes the shot for me and fits the landscape around this area.

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Gej, Greg thanks a lot for your great words to my photo last week. Greg here are lots of storm, sunny periods even in an hour.

One of guest priest watching to documentaries about Blessed Priest Peter Donders,  at the pilgrimage site of Batavia during the annual meeting of the Pontifical Mission Societies (PMS) Directors – Dutch Antilles, in Paramaribo, Suriname almost two months ago.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                             http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @16mm, f/5.1, 1/350sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania 

I’m back on line after missing last couples of weeks, some personal commitments kept me away from photography for a while. But the urge to get pictures was hard to overcome so I start thinking about a small personal photo project about life of ordinary people living in provincial small towns.
While I could comfortably drive around I actually preferred to go by train and pick some photos up on the way. This was a commuters train and obviously I was not blending very well among the other travelers with my camera around my neck, drawing curiosity of these two kids.

Shot with Nikon F6, my 35mm ZF regular lens and Kodak TriX 400 film.

 

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

Not much time for much detail as I’ve been categorizing a few hundred shots from last weekend’s concert festival called Spring Scream here in Taiwan. This is a band performing on the third night of the festival. I was lucky enough to get stagefront/backstage access, which made it possible to work very closely with the 35mm.  

More on this later – I hope everyone’s week is great! 

 Tags: d5000, nikon, 35mm, prime, concert, photography, japanese, band

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is one of my favorite pictures of a hallway in the cloisters of Canterbury Cathedral. I was told by one of the staff of the cathedral that this exists today, nearly exactly (except for the wooden frames on the walls) as it did during the time of Thomas Becket. In fact, I took this picture because it is thought to be the path that Becket took to the entrance of the cathedral (just to the right and out of the picture) where he was murdered. The stone seats against the wall still show graffiti – names with dates, tracings of shoes, designs, and board games. When I look at this shot, I can picture a scene where clergy members are sitting, enjoying a a bright warm afternoon, playing a game before mass.

Nikon D300s Sigma 14mm f2.8, 1/50 sec, f3.5, matrix metering

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Golden Gate at Sunset

I was driving this Tuesday evening to pick up my mom at SFO airport.  I pulled up into the Marin Headlands on the way to the airport to get a photo just before sunset of the GGB and the SF skyline. Excellent weather here today.

EOS 7D, 24-70 at 24mm, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/250 -2/3 EC (reduce camera shake, processed in raw), 4/5/2011

 

Special Bonus photo section

This week we have our first 3 photo essay. During the year each member of the group can present one.

 A walk in the Park – Joseph Leotta

Let’s go for a walk in one of the most famous parks in the world, New York’s Central Park. Located right in the middle of Manhattan, it’s always a hotbed of activity. Photos are all from the same short walk I took last summer and taken within a 10 minute time span.

1st some row boats by the boathouse (restaurant) that are available for rent.

2nd walking a little further down, you pass Bethesda Fountain where you get a look at what can go on at any time in the park.  For the life of me I can’t figure this one out.  This was taken at lunch time on a Tuesday afternoon, but that’s central park for you.

 

And 3, something that you find all over the park, Street performers and Musicians. These guys actually had a great Jazz sound.

All photos – AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED                                               Shot raw  processed in NX2 and shot in a 10 minute span of each other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

