Week 63

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Flight

Sometimes the simplest pictures are the best. I saw this seagull out of the corner of my and quickly pointed the camera in his direction and hoped for the best. Got a little lucky and was able to get off 2 shots before he darted away. A little crop in post to center him and here’s one that I could look at for a long time. I just find the simplicity of the wing spam in a graceful glide supporting the bird’s body amazing. Makes flight look so easy. Graceful is one of the words that come to mind.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED  at 135 mm         Aperture-priority  1/8,00 sec, f/5.6, ISO 800, Compensation: -1

Tags: Seagull, seagull flying, bird in flight, birds gliding, soaring brid, wings 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Duo” Two street musicians warming up early in the morning for their days “work” in the New Orleans French Quarter. These two generally lay claim to a spot at Jackson Square, in front of the Cabildo and the St. Louis Cathedral.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/500 sec.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Springtime……………………
 
Nikon D5000 300mm, F/5.6, 1/640s, ISO200

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

At a long walk in the forest Sunday found this weekend house just wanting to be photographed. A beautiful spot that made me wish it was mine.

Not possible but now I can look at it as often as I likeJ

Alll thebest                                                                                                                                            Jens

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning to all my friend around the world!  I’m looking forward to viewing your work this week.

Last week the Gulf Coast got hit pretty hard with high winds and heavy rain.  I tried to shoot the ensuing lightening but found it to be very difficult.  The low cloud cover caused most strikes to be seen only as brilliant bright light behind the cloud cover. I took numerous 30 second shots but none of them gave me the results I was trying to capture.  No lightening flashes were actually visible until an amazing flash that went across the sky.  Of course I missed that one but I was fortunate enough to catch this one near the end of the storm.  There will be more storms!  If you have suggestions as to how I might improve my opportunities, please let me know.

Just a side note: Birdie and I hope to meet next week when my wife and I visit New Orleans.

D90 – 30seconds – f/5.0 – 18-200@60mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello everyone.

Thank you for comments for last week. About my photo, no I didn’t photoshop the mark on the sky. Contrails made it. 🙂 My photo for this week is form last Sunday, I finally had some time to photograph. Unfortunately, I forgot my IR filter at home so I didn’t photograph what I was hoping for but at least I got out and did some photography. This photo is your typical spring time landscape that could be almost anywhere on earth.

Nikon D80, Sigma 10-20@10mm, f13, 1/50, ISO 100.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                   Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: spring, landscape, flowers, forest, trees, hills, house

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Another week has flown by. Thanks for the kind comments on my picture. Last Friday as I was shooting my daughters softball game out of the sky fell a bagel and almost hit the right fielder on the head. I was about 20 feet from her. We were shocked and thought someone might have thrown it at her. Then out of the sky dropped the bomber and grabbed the bagel and flew off. Gave us all a laugh.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/10, 1/1,600sec, ISO 1000, Mono pod

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hi all.  Great photos last week, everyone. 
I thought I would post Sakura again this week because the last weekend was the peak, but the weather was not spectacular and didn’t like any of Sakura pictures I took.  Instead, I submit this – a flower I found in the same park as Sakura.  People were all looking up for Sakura but this one was very beautiful on the side.  Anyway, Spring has come to Tokyo as usual.  Rest of the shots including Sakura can be found on my album.  Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 16-35 f/4, @18mm, f/5.6, 1/100s, ISO200.

                     Tag: Tokyo, Sakura, Cherry Blossom, Park

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Another shot from my subway way shot from a week back. This is the 6 train, the train I ride for 2 hours everyday to and from work. This shot is very deceiving. While the subway looks spacious and empty, this is a rare occurrence. Typically during rush hour (the time I’m lucky enough to ride everyday) these cars are packed so tight it’s difficult to move arms. 

I played around with the post-processing and am pretty happy with the final result. 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

From the same series as previous week, one of the first true springtime days.

Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm ZF F/2 Distagon, Kodak TriX 400TX, scanned with Coolscan 9000ED

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Lately, life is getting in the way of photography, so this was taken two weeks ago along with the Green Jay from last week. Just as I was leaving, this Long-billed Thrasher (they have such orange eyes!) started serenading me with it’s beautiful song for about 15 minutes or so. It was sitting atop a yucca, but unfortunately, the flower had already died. (Imagine a beautiful white yucca flower instead of the dead one. 😉 They sing their hearts out, so this was a real treat for me to just listen and watch for a while after taking a few pics.  Nikon D90/70-300mm VR, Sigma 1.4x tele @ 1/500, f/5.6, ISO 400. (tags: long-billed thrasher)

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/                                                                                                             

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone, hope you all are doing well.  Hard to believe another week has come and gone.   I would say that spring is here, but we have jumped straight into summer with heat and humidity. My lens fog up now when I go outside!

Never in my wildest imaginations did I ever think I would look forward to early mornings going in my yard “hunting” for subjects.   I am still amazed by the world that a macro lens unveils.   This young jumper was between the petals of a white pansy.  He was so small about  1/8 ” and he was hunting a flower thrip that was MUCH smaller, just amazing . I know spiders are not something everyone enjoys, but for those who do, I hope you enjoy this little guy.

Roberta/Birdie                                                                                                                              Choices Matter                                                                                                www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

Grant TannerBrisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone
Todays photo is of a hibiscus. Not much else to say about it

D90 Tamron 90mm Lens 1/80 @ f16 ISO200

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 This week’s contribution from me is a macro study / a ‘ mechanical portrait’ of the front brake calipers on one of my bicycles.  I’m obsessed with bicycles and the intricacies of their workings.  Come to think of it this image represents both my favorite hobbies, photography and cycling. This image has had both left and right of frame cropped with all red image colour masked and a partial de-saturation performed in Photoshop. 

Captured in later afternoon sunlight with my trusty D700 on a tri-pod with a Kiron 105mm manual focus macro lens.  105mm,  f/8, 1/13th sec, ISO 400.

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

thank you very much for the comments on my photo last week, this week one more photo from the burlesque show I photographed recently. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 6400, f/3.5, 1/60s

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Another detail from Cordoba Cathedral. An Angel looking to the altarpiece.

Nikon D300 +Nikkor 50mm 1.4 D
ISO 800 –  f 1.6 – 1/50 sec.

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

This is a 4 shot panorama of Bartlett Flats.  The lake levels are quite a bit down, and there are a lot more rocks exposed.

Pentax k20d + DA 16-45 @ 16mm, f/11, 1/320, ISO 200, manual exposure.

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from Antigua – we were invited by some friends to join them on a 7 day sailing trip and it was absolutely beautiful and an incredible experience.  The variations of blue in the water color is amazing. And there is something special about being on a boat and just sailing from place to place without the hustle/bustle of the real world – definitely good for the soul. 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Greg, Dear Gej thanks a lot for your comments to my photo last week. I appreciated.

My photo taken while returning from the pilgrimage site of Batavia almost two months ago.  I was on the boat in a rainy day.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                         http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Alexander Valley – Bud Break”

The vines are just starting their spring bud break – should portend a great 2011 vintage I hope! This is Alexander Valley, in northern Sonoma County, near the small town of Geyserville.  I took a lot of photos of vineyards this day (Fri., 4/8/11) and perhaps there may be a couple better I got (with some blue in the sky), but I like this with the rolling terrain.

Canon EOS 7D at 40mm, ISO 200, f/5.6.

KEEP UP the good work everyone! Excellent shots the week past.                                           -Ken Papai

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

After 48 years the Under 16 High Jump record which stood at 1.90 m was smashed by 11 cm in the ACC Athletics Meeting at Olympic Park Stadium.  It now stands at 2.01 m.  The opportunity to break this record at Olympic Park Stadium will no longer exist in the future because this iconic stadium will be torn down later this year to make way for the AFL Collingwood (Magpies) new HQ.  An official told me that the “recently laid” track will find a new home in Europe.

Camera: Nikon D300                                                                                                                      Lens: AF-S Nikkor 200-400mm f/4G ED VRII                                                               Settings: 1/320s at 200mm with f/4 and ISO 200 (AP, monopod)

Farewell to Olympic Park – 200 m (this shot was taken by my son Zoli, after I dialled in some settings).

Camera: Nikon D200                                                                                                                 Lens: AF-S Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR                                                            Settings: 1/320s at 55mm with f/6.3 and ISO 100 (AP, hand held, -0.33 EV)

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This man is one of hundreds of thousands, taking part in a pilgrimage for the sea goddess Mazu last Saturday. The Mazu Festival is Taiwan’s largest and one of the biggest religious pilgrimages in the world, as it snakes around the entire island. 

Taken with the 35mm prime lens at f/2.8, shutter 1/200 and an ISO of 200. I used the flash because of the crazy shadows with the sunny weather and took back the exposure in Aperture since it was a RAW file. 

nikon, d5000, 35mm, sb-600

 Tags:, pilgrimage, mazu, taiwan, religion

 

Special Bonus photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Blue skies – Ken Papai

Blue skies over Alexander valley just the other day. What an excellent locale for wine tasting for all who appreciate good wine – whites, reds, or rose’s.

“Life is Too Short to Drink Cheap Wine”

 

High school Musical #2 of the year – Joseph Leotta

 One is not enough. Janine goes to a all girls school – Preston High school. When they do their annual High School Musical they need to import boys. They come from some of the all boy high schools in the area.  This was the case earlier in the year with “Once upon a Mattress” which I showed you.  This also means that when the boy’s high schools put on theirs, they need to import girls.  Salesian High School did Bye Bye Birdie this past weekend and of course Janine was one of the girls that went.  In fact there are several all boys or girls schools involved in the swap and Janine will also be doing Hairspray at Mount Saint Michael High school.  It has been a job for my wife driving her and some friends around to different high schools on different days of the week.   2 down 1 to go.   I’m also sure that the bunch of girls that show up at a all boys high school are the center of attention.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

