Week 64

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Clouds

I love dramatic clouds.  It is not that often that I find them, but when I do they make for very interesting elements in photos.  I was not happy new the new bunch of photos that I shot this week so its back to the files for one from last year.  Taken up in VT at Lake Champlain inBurlington.

D700 AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF  Shot at 60 mm

Tags: Clouds, Dramatic clouds, Sailboats, Lake Champlain, Lake sunset, Nikon digital, vermont lakes, burlington vermont

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

While trying to capture a humming bird, I took a couple of photos of, what I would call, an early stage of a Bottlebrush Flower.  I never captured the humming bird but am reasonably please with the Bottlebrush.  Hope you like it too.

D90 – 1/40sec – f/8.0 – Micro-Nikkor 105mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Everything is coming up roses” I love this time of the year – flowers pop out and insects and wildlife come out of hiding, and it’s still not too hot.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/11, 1/200 sec.

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Nothing exceptional to show this week.  Spring is progressing at the Beaver  Pond.  This goose was giving us a very loud warning that we we not welcome!  I think he was as surprised as we were (my husband and grandson and the dogs were with me this trip).  I do like photos of the wild geese that visit us so much better than the ones that have established squatter’s rights at Veteran’s Park.  The blue heron’s are still guarding their nests, but I haven’t seen any little ones yet.
 
Nikon D5000 300mm F/16 1/250s ISO200

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Here is another Sakura photo, but a bit of challenge on my side.  Different angle and post processing.  Not sure if this turned out good or bad, but I kind of like this.  Let me know what you think.  The place is called Happo-en, where traditional wedding parties are held, a few minutes from my place.

D700, 16-35 f/4, @16mm, f/8, 1/60s, ISO200, Capture NX2                                                        
Tag: Tokyo, Spring, Cherry Blossom, Sakura, Happo-en

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                            Thank you very much for your kind comments on my last photo, I very much appreciate them. 

This week something from my latest photo session, I like this dreamy, gentle pose the lady, Miss M., adopted on this photo, she was a treat to work with. Completely natural in front of the camera, incredibly beautiful and very approachable. An ideal client, if you ask me. I have a make up and hair stylist working with me on my boudoir shots, and we both just couldn’t praise Miss M. enough. I am really fortunate to have this rewarding line of work, I have to say. 

I look forward to seeing all your photos, I love Wednesdays, you all inspire me.                 Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/125s

              Tags: portrait, woman, boudoir, pearls, black gloves

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

On Saturday, I went to our Earth Day festival at a local nature/birding center, and had the pleasure of meeting Jonathan Wood (Nikon Pro Birding staff/founder of The Raptor Project) and see his Birds of Prey show. When I went, I had no idea what I was in for. It was spectacular, educational, and most of all, fun! I took tons of photos, so asked Joe for the photo essay slot next week. Having so many photos to choose from makes it hard to pick just a few to share, but thought I would do “opposites” this week. The first is the granddaddy of the birds of prey, the American Bald Eagle. I have never seen an eagle in real life, let alone so “up close and personal”. No need for cropping these photos. I should have zoomed out with my feet! This eagle was rescued 13 yrs. ago off theNew Jersey turnpike, where it was hit by a car while feasting on roadkill. It’s wing is still damaged, but he’s made a remarkable recovery and has a pretty good life with Jonathan and his family.

(Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm macro @ 1/500, f/6.7, ISO 400)

Tags: American Bald Eagle, Jonathan Wood, The Raptor Project

It’s “opposite”, is the smallest bird of prey, the American Kestral. I don’t remember it’s rescue story, but it’s doing very well too (however, none of these birds can be retintroduced into the wild for various reasons). I’ve tried to get a shot of these many times here, but have only managed one from a long way off while sitting on a power cable. They always fly off when I lift my lens, so it was a real treat to finally see one up close. They are really beautiful!

(Nikon D90/70-300mm VR, Sigma 1.4x teleconverter @ 1/350, f5/6, ISO 400)

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/                                                                                                                

 Tags: American Kestral, Jonathan Wood, The Raptor Project

 

 Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all, and thank you for your comments, Jens and Peggy! My photo for this week is spring leaves bathed in sun. Simple as that. 🙂 Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@140mm, f6.3, 1/250 sec, ISO 100.

Post processing in CaptureNX2.

I’m looking forward to your photos.                                                                                            Pozdrav, Filip.

Mojefotke:http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                                              Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: spring, leaf, sunlight, tree

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
I love siphon bottles! I took the pic of this pair in a anticuarian shop in Colonia, Uruguay

NIKON D300 + 50mm 1.4
ISO 200 – f 2.8 –  1/800 sec

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

 This is another shot from the bread shop I’ve visited some time ago somewhere on the countryside. Recently I had the chance to go back to that place and bring some prints for the ladies working there, they were indeed very happy to get those pics, most likely they never believe it that I would actually go back and bring their pics. Of course, I took the chance to snap few more shots.
I find this little bakery shop somehow special as they run small bread production based on old technology. The oven is heated up with fire wood, dough is manually made, probably using traditional receipt without much modern ingredients. The fresh bread out of oven is something incredible, you just can’t stop eating it…
These kind of shops were very common some times ago, providing bread for local community. Most of them shut down as they could not meet the new EU regulation. My grandfather worked 25 years in one of these shops and the smell of this bread brings a lot of childhood memories… funny enough, he never made one single break at home…
On the technical side, contrary to my minimal post processing habit, I’ve had to decrease the saturation of this photo a bit. Although the film I used was Portra NC, a rather neutral negative, the scans turned up some sort of unrealistic colors.

Shot with Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 45mm F/4.5 lens, Kodak Portra 400NC film.

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks for everyone’s kind comments on my pic. Stopped by the botanical gardens on Friday to check for butterflies. Only saw a couple and they wouldn’t stand still for me. This was my only shot. I liked the colors.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/5, 1/200sec, ISO 100, SB 800,diffuser, mono pod

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Just got back from Europe and had a day to walk around inPariswith my pocket Sony. This is a different perspective of theEiffelTower- from below.

 Sony HX5V, 1/250 sec, f3.5                                                                                                               

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

I saw this feather floating in a murky green pond and well it just caught my attention.    I darkened the water in post, and while it is simple , I hope you enjoy it.

Have a great week everyone.

Birdie/Roberta                                                                                               www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Looking forward to a lot of great photos.

Not much to say about my contribution, early April morning at the harbour, hours before the sun took over.

All the best.                                                                                                                                             Jens

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello All,                                                                                                                                        Sorry for my absence of late.  I have been looking at all your photos and long to comment but time has been eluding me.  Your photos are outstanding, individually and as a group, I must say.  Here is one from my trip toArizonarecently.  Taking a walk in the desert climate is always reminiscent of the ‘Old West’ for me…have a good week (and Ken, I hope things are still well and safe for you).  Gladys

ISO 100, f/4.6, 1/640

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

It’s well and truly Autumn in the Southern Hemisphere.  Usually at this time of year we are preparing to travel to New Zealand to see our great friends Rudolf and Christina but this year we are not going to see them as we have chosen to travel much further to the West Coast of the USA for the first time (San Francisco and northwards)  So I’m going to miss New Zealand and my friends this year but can reflect on great autumns spent with them in the past.

This photo was captured last year inNew Zealand, in a delightful arboretum on theNthIsland in mid autumn.  The shoes in the photo belong to my friends and also my partner Susan – I just liked the way this one looked inside the frame. 

Taken hand held with D700 + Nikkor 85mmf/1.4 @ f/3.5, 1/500th sec,  ISO 400  straight out of the camera.

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Here’s another photo fromBurlington. This is a springtime spot alongLake Champlain, a great place to take a walk or lounge on the shore.

 Nikon D100 Nikkor 28-80 mm f/3.3-5.6  Shot at 28 mm                                               Program AE, 1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 320

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Another from the archives..                                                                                                             This is Port Macquarie in NSW, late afternoon

Pentax k10d, Sigma 70-300 apo dg, @ 120mm, f/6.3, 1/1250, ISO 320

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Jens, Dear Peggy thanks a lot for your valuable comments, I appreciated.

I was at one of my favorite places again. The last spring tide was during sunrise at 18th of April, 2011. It was high tide and people calls the hide tide as “fruduwatra” in Sranan Tongo. Luckily I caught some pink colors and silhouettes of one of my boatman friend, while he’s cleaning his boat.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com

Nikon D2Xs, AF Nikkor 35mm f/2.0D, Aperture Priority, f/5, 1/60sec, ISO720, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Happy Easter everyone.  Even our local cockatoos are on the lockout for the Easter bunny.

Camera: Nikon D300                                                                                                                       Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VRII                                                                        Settings: 1/1000s at 140mm with f/2.8 ISO 200 and 0.67EV(AP, handheld)

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is from a Chiang Kai Shek statue garden here in northernTaiwan. It is located at his mausoleum, which was built to hold his body until he is reburied after the Republic of China retakes the mainland. I’m not sure if that’ll happen any time soon, but it’s an interesting story and mindset. This statue garden was created after statues were sent back from Taiwanese schools. 

It was once a law to have his statue in a school – when that law was repealed, many of these were sent to one central location – it creates a kind of surreal/scary atmosphere! 

tags: taiwan, roc, republic, of, china, chiang, kai, shek, nikon, d5000, 35mm, nikkor

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Loma Alta Flower Field”

This was the very last photo I took on our hike last Saturday morning.  I considered 4-5 other photos from that morning before submitting this one.  Loma Alta is a prominent hill above the Big Rock pass, very close to home (just a 7 mile drive to the trailhead).  It’s adjacent to hard rocker James Hetfield’s property (something like 1,000 acres he owns). Hetfield is the Metallica front man.  I got a few nice shots the next day inNapaValleybut don’t always want to submit “just wine/vineyard” shots.

What: Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L lens at 27mm, ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/640, center-weighted average auto metering.

-Ken Papai

Tags: Loma Alta,MarinCounty, Flower field, Spring time, Big Rock Ranch

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This shot is fromCulpeper,VA.near theShenandoahNational Park- we stayed in a lovely old farm house in this area. We climbed the hill behind the house hoping to catch some wildlife and a great sunset.   No wildlife that night though we did see bear tracks by a pond.   And the sunset was really nice- my shots not so nice….    However, I did get this moon shot and I really liked the way the branch framed the moon and evening sky colors 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

This week Joshua has a 3 photo essay

“Following the Goddess.” – Joshua Fahler

These dancing gods represent San Tai Zi, or 三太子, also sometimes known as Nuozha or 哪吒. He represents a “trickster god,” a boy who is known for pulling pranks and causing mischief. He’s also seen as a god of lotteries and good fortune. 

 Crowds surround the moving altar of Mazu, goddess of the sea as faithful participants kneel down in front of the altar. The altar actually passes over crowds, and is seen to be a major blessing when it moves over the person. 

 

Fireworks go off inChanghuaCityas Mazu moves through the town. These fireworks are not only seen as offerings or signals of celebration, they also seek to slow the goddess down.  The idea is that the longer she is in the town, the more the people will be blessed.  

All of the photos were taken with the 35mm. I absolutely love this lens!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weekly thread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

