Week 66

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

WTC the Day After

The fence surrounding Ground Zero is a lot more than a just a fence around a construction site. It is a place where many families go to place memorials to honor loved ones who died there in the terrorist attacks.  On Monday the day after Bin Laden was killed by US forces, many people went there to celebrate and leave flowers to honor the fallen.

As I was walking around the site this bunch of flowers stuck in the fence caught my eye and I realized that if I got low and under it, I could see the new One World Trade Center Building in the frame with the flowers.  Must have been a good idea because after I took this photo not 1 but 2 different television camera crews saw what I did and came over and took the same shot.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED at 22 MM                                                                               1/250 sec, f/16, ISO 320 – May 2, 2011   2:54:39PM 

            Tags: ground zero, world trade center, new world trade center, sept 11

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
When in my family house in Dolores, Cordoba, a few weeks ago . A rainy day and a flower near the gate.

NIKON D300 + Tamron 70-300 @ 300 mm
ISO 800 – f 10 – 1/400

Tags: rain, flowers, raindrops

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Another zoo visit from me this week.  (The subjects are not permanent residents, however).  This time in it’s inPhoenix, with the grandkids of one of my friends.  I love the energy in this shot as they get ready to go dashing through the water fountain.

Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 63mm, f/7.1, 1/320 sec, ISO 250, EV +1

 

Tags: Pentax k20d, Phoenix Zoo

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Taken at the nearby natural park.  The scent of spring and setting sun.  Very beautiful flowers there.  I like to stroll this park and it shows different faces each season.  Lucky to have such place close to my place.

www.kih.me

D700, 70-200 VRII, @200mm, f/4, 1/800sec, ISO200, cropped by Capture NX2.

Tag: Japanese rose, telephoto zoom, Tokyo

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

This my last post fromAlabamauntil November or December.  We should be inMichiganwhen this arrives on Wednesday.  We’ve had a wonderful time.  Meeting Birdie was a treat, I hope will all of you will have the same opportunity.  Birdie truly embodies the meaning of Southern Hospitality.  Thank you again Birdie, you’re the BEST!

Grandpa Elliott Small, born Elliot Small in 1945, also known as Uncle Remus, is a street-musician in New OrleansLouisiana. He plays the harmonica, sings, and is a street icon in New Orleans. He has been featured on Playing for Change in several episodes. His debut song with Playing for Change was “Stand by Me“. He has also been on The Tonight Show and The Colbert Report. He has been a street icon on Royal Street in the French Quarter and Jackson Square in New Orleans since moving from New York City back to his place of birth in the 60’s. He performed to a crowd of more than 40,000 at Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, California, on June 30, 2009, playing the “Star Spangled Banner” on harmonica and singing “God Bless America.” His debut solo album, Sugar Sweet, was released November 3, 2009. (Wikipedia)

I had a chance to talk to Grandpa Elliott while he was taking a break on a corner onRoyal Street.  He is quite the character.  Perhaps he comes across as less than competent but I found him to be shrewd and very likable.  He is someone I would like to sit down to dinner with and listen to him talk.  I’m sure he has an opinion on just about anything.

http://www.playingforchange.com/episodes/28/Sugar_Sweet_Grandpa_Elliott

Stay safe and have a great week.

D90 – 1/80sec – f/8.0 – 18-200@200 – ISO 800 – Aperture Priority

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Simple caption – spring at Lake Champlain shoreline,BurlingtonVermont

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Oh, give me a home where the alligators roam”  Reaching back into my archives, this shot was taken on Bayou Sauvage inEastern New Orleansin October, 2001, with my first digital camera, a Nikon Coolpix 950, 2 mega pixels, in full program mode. He didn’t mind being held, but really didn’t like being tapped on the nose.

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is a panning shot of a large truck moving throughSanmin Road, Jhubei. I haven’t had a chance to get many shots lately, but took an hour to go get some panning and street shots after work tonight. 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Hi friends,

First off, thank you all again for you good wishes and prayers – I’ve just started back to reading emails and have seen even more messages from you all and truly appreciate the support.  The surgery went well and my Doctor is confident he got everything. The recovery is a bit tougher than I anticipated, but I’m not a very patient “patient” so my judgment is probably not too good.  I am feeling better day by day and am looking forward to getting back to “normal” soon!  Many thanks to you all again!

For my shot this week I’m going back out west – this is a shot of theGrand Canyonat sunset. It’s a bit hazy as they were doing controlled burns in this area of the National Park while we were there and the smoke continually drifted out over the canyon.  Even so, it’s a magnificent sight – if my family would have let me, I could have sat there for hours just looking out across the canyon at Nature’s amazing beauty. I hope this picture conveys at least a tiny part of that beauty.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!

By the time you will read this, hardest part of my life will be over. I don’t know how it will be in future, I know it will not be easy, but time heals all wounds, they say. Some of you have already seen this photo and know the story, some of you maybe noticed that I’ve sent lot of photos from the archive this year. The reason is lady in my photo, my mum.

Last six months we fought a war we couldn’t win, but we were brave and stood our ground until we could. Last Friday, my mum lost her final battle and died in hospital after another surgery.

Her primary illness, brain tumor wasn’t direct cause, but it would all come to same thing and when I think about it, she saved her self from more suffering, I’m sure.

This particular photo was taken last summer when I took her in city ofSpliton Adriatic coast, the city she loved for many reasons.

We were drinking our early morning coffee and I told her to look at me, and be nice for the photo. And she did. I know that day she was happy, and I’m glad I have this memory.

In the end, thank you all for your messages of support and your condolences. Every kind word is a another bandage on my hart.

Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                                             Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                                                  Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I missed out on these giant sunflowers last year, so was hoping I’d find a field this year. I lucked out and did. A photo just doesn’t do them justice (especially on a very windy day). Everything is so flat here, so I created a bit of a fisheye effect in PS5.

 Taken with Nikon D90/18-105mm @ 1/1000, f/8, ISO 200. Hope everyone has a good week!

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

This was taken from my in laws dock in New Smyrna Beach Fl. over Easter. What a beautiful old boat. All wood with wood mast.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, F/5.6, 1/1,000 sec, ISO 125,  mono pod.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

This colorful woodpecker was a visitor to my yard this weekend.
 
Nikon D5000, 300mm, F/6.5, 1/500s, Auto ISO 1000

Tags:  Wildlife, bird photography, Sharpshooters, Tupelo, woodpecker

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

I am sure your photos this week will be outstanding yet again. 

My photo is from a high tea party I was invited to on Sunday by my very successful friend Jacqueline. Jacqueline is a script writer and she was celebrating the release of her first film and production plans being well under way for another 3 of her films. 

Jacqueline’s parties are exceptional in the choice of guests, usually strong, ambitious, inspirational and emancipated women, and this one wasn’t an exception. A script writer; a film producer; an actress; an astrologist; an exceptional mother, who is also an aspiring interior designer; an environmentalist, a managing director of a health research company, just to name a few. The morning was fantastic, the food was very delicate, the champagne delicious, and the conversation was uplifting. A highlight of my last few months, I have to admit. 

Have a lovely week and I can’t wait to see, what inspired you lately. 

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 2200, 1/100s, f/6.3 
 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

From a small series of desert shots, same place as before, Risha desert in Jordan, a field of basalts not far from our area of operations. They stretch as far as one can see and boulders everywhere, most of them bigger than the ones seen on this pic, rather impossible to even walk, no way of driving across these fields.

Shot with Mamiya 7II, Mamiya 80mm F/4 lens, Fomapan 400 film

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Now spring is here, and we have started activities near the sea.  However, it is stil cold outside, so we are still lazy and longing for warmer weather.  I thought this image gave me some peace of mind, therefore the square format.

Per-Christian

Nikon D300, Sigma 150-500 OS @ 270mm, 1/400 @f11, ISO640

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Past week was very busy. Famous street walk of Suriname, the Wandelmars held between Wednesday and Saturday. Individual participants and groups walked in different parts of Paramaribo during all four days. It was very difficult to select one post but I decided this young lady while dancing on the street as a group leader.

You may see more photos from all four days on my blog posts here;
47th AVD Wandelmars  Day 1 // Day 2 // Day 3  // Day 4

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2.5, 1/1250sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

Busy days continued during last Sunday too. It was also Labor day and the traditional Fitness Run, organized by local telecom company Telesur.  One of the participant from 10km marathon was refreshing with his self after finish line.

You can see more photos here ; 21st Telesur Fitness Run 2011
Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

 Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Shutter Priority, f/1.4, 1/1000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

I shot my first game of soccer over the weekend.  The game is very different from AFL and I will need to adjust how I go about taking shots on a square pitch (as opposed to a football oval).  The timing on the kicks is very different because I am used to AFL players using their hands to drop the ball onto their feet as part of their kicking action.  Here is an attempt to score from 25 m out.  The keeper was beaten but the shot just went wide of the near post.

Camera: Nikon D3s

Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VRII with TC-20E III

Settings: 1/1000s at 400mm, f/5.6 and ISO 2000 (SP, handheld)

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone,

My shot this week is a departure from my usual macro shot. TheMississippi Riveris in the news with potential flooding in many areas. This is a shot of theMississippi Riverby the Bonnet Carre Spillway. The river is rising and when it gets to 17 feet they will open the spillway. This shot is looking out from the east bank of the levee , across the river to the west bank.  The wild life is certainly benefiting from the rising waters.

Gej, this is the same spot that was very dry when you were here.

I hope everyone is doing well, safe from natures wrath and out of harms way.

Birdie/Roberta

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Last weekend, I took some action shots of one of our horses to post on our website to sell him. Although this shot is not technically correct (color, focus), I still like the composition.

Welcome back Sandi.

D300s 1/320 sec, f9, 116mm, Matrix, jpeg

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“A Salute to OBL’s Demise”

Suppenküche German Bier restaurant inSan Francisco, Tues. evening, 5/3/2011.

Celebrating with friends. Canon EOS 7D, 24mm, IS0 400, f/4.5, 1/80.

Be careful out there too – all these war wounds photos.  Cheers!

-ken papai

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

On a trip toSwedenI vent to a city called Malmø, it is right oppositeCopenhagen, if that means anything to You, but between the to cities.

andSwedenandDenmark, is only a narrow sound, so tall buildings can be seen across from both cities. In 2005 when a bridge was built to connect the to countries both tried to attract people from the opposite country, money and labour, and Malmø chose to built an icon visible from Copenhagen, called The Turning Torso, like the photo, and in Denmark a hole new city was built south of Copenhagen. So now a lot of Swedes work inDenmarkand a lot of Danes live inSwedenand work inDenmark.

All the best

D700 24-70@32mm F/18 1/320s

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Another backyard ‘insect safari’ photo, this time using active D lighting set to ‘Normal’ which works well for partially shaded subject matter such as this European Bee feeding on a hybrid garden variety hebe bush.  Again,

Nikon D700 + Kiron Ai 105mm f/2.8 lens @ f/11, 1/500th sec, ISO 2500.

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

This week it’s Roberta’s turn for a photo essay

 Herons – Roberta Davidson

TheMississippi Riveris rising and will probably reach flood stage in the next week or two.  The Bonnet Carre Spillway is  a flood control operation for the lowerMississippi River.   The spillway consists of bays that contain “needles” (creosote treated timbers) that hold the water back.  When the needles are raised, the water is diverted intoLake Pontchartrain.  TheMississippi Riverlevee protects the city up to 20 feet.   However, in order to alleviate the pressure on the levee, the spillway will open when the water reaches 17 feet. On Friday it measured about 15 feet and the water is starting to seep through the needles.  This creates a feeding ground for the all kinds of birds. I have never seen so many Great Blue Herons in one place at one time. I even saw a bald eagle !!   Why oh why did I not order a telephoto lens, oh my budget , darn ! I hope you enjoy these herons, and my apologies to the true bird photographers 🙂

Photo No. 1 is a picture looking from theMississippi Riverto the spillway structure.  The out of focus red cranes are used to lift the needles to allow the water to flow into the “spillway” .

The other 2 photos are on the opposite side of the spillway structure.

This land will get 20+ feet deep in water when the needles are lifted.  The spillway is full of life, birds, wildflowers and all kinds of  insects for macro shots.   Today however my essay is on the Great Blue Herons.

 

Ground Zero, the day after – Joseph Leotta

One of the photos taken at the world trade center on Monday May 2nd 2011 – the day after US forces kill Bim Ladan in a raid on his hideout.  Photo ran in a personal special that I sent out

     Tags : World trade center celebration. Ground Zero celebration, Bin Laden celebration at ground zero

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

