Week 68 – May 18 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Haze at the Shoreline

It rained all day Saturday and Sunday. Late in the afternoon on Sunday, the sun finally came out for a little while, but the storm left dense haze. Taking a ride just to get out, I went past theNew Rochelle shoreline up by Glen Island.  Being extremely bright and extremely hazy it led to an interesting background for this shot.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR at 130mm                                1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 250 shot raw – processed in NX2

Tags:Westchester shoreline, rock jetty, sharpshooters international, Joseph Leotta

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Yellow Lilies” — The nice thing about these is that the bulbs stay in the ground year after year, then sprout up and bloom in the Spring, then disappear and stay out of the way until the following Spring. I wish Spring would last all year.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/80 sec

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 I took this photo of the SS. Natchez just prior to it leaving on a dinner cruise.  This is a sternwheel steamboat based inNew Orleans,Louisianaand was built in 1975.  I found the following to be interesting:  In 1982 theNatchezwon the Great Steamboat Race, which is held every year on the Wednesday immediately before the first Saturday in May, as part of the Kentucky Derby Festival.  She has also participated in other races, and has never lost.

While still moored, I tried to catch the water droplets flying off the paddle wheel, without getting wet.  I was only partly successful, but my camera stayed dry.

Have a wonderful week

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

These are crates of 台灣啤酒 – Taiwan Pijou, or Taiwan Beer – located in Ershui, a small town in centralTaiwan. Taiwan Beer is the “official beer” ofTaiwanand is a light lager – much like your lower-quality American brews. While I’m not a huge fan, it’s hard to avoid inTaiwanand despite a lack of real flavor, is part of the experience visiting the country. 

I missSierra Nevadahere oh-so-badly, but can easily/somewhat cheaply get my Boston Lager at 7-11.

 Tags: food, drink, beer, 啤酒, taiwan, 台灣, nikkor, 35mm, nikon

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

After two weeks in southernItalyI have to go through hundreds of photo’s and YOU might get one or two later, but here is one.

Not an unusual sight bringing goods up hill and crops, lemon, down from the terraced ‘fields’.

All the best.                                                                                                                                             Jens

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all                                                                                                                                              Here is a pic of Flor de Durazno house (Peach Flower) A rural house that belongs to my mother family in Dolores, a small hamlet inCordobaProvince. More than a century old, the humble house has a lot of history and good memories for us. I spend 10 days in march there. I send the Google kmz archive 

Is an HDR of 2 images. I had began to practice with HDR but not very happy yet with the results. I like the HDR that “doesn’t look” as HDR. 

Sadly is not the case with my image here. So I have to practice and learn a lot more!!.

I like de work of Theo Jacobs with HDR specially his architectural picshttp://www.rtjacobs.nl/Theo/index.html                                             http://photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=630124

Nikon D300 + Tamron 10-24mm @10mm ISO 200 – f 7.1 – 1sec + 4 sec 

Tags: House, rural, hdr

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

While innew York Cityvisiting our two daughters for Mothers day I noticed theEmpireStateBuildingin the back ground of the park where my wife and I were having early morning coffee… Taken with a Canon SD 1400 IS 14.1 MP one of the best small…  inexpensive cameras I have owned… throw it in your pocket (much smaller than a phone) with a 16 GB card and you have picture and Video on demand… What a great city…

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!                                                                                                                                            Another photo from the archives today. Some of you might seen it on FB, but never mind. I’m cataloging my archive, and I’ve found this photo. At the time I didn’t think it was something, but when I stumbled on it, I’ve decided to play with it little more, crop it differently and I liked the outcome. I hope you will like it too! See you all on Wednesday, take care and enjoy!

Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                                            Moje fotke: http://www.filiplucin.com/                                                                                         Moj blog: http://www.blog.filiplucin.com/

tags: fields, green, potato, path, yellow, blue, clouds, spring, summer

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Spring has come everywhere.  This is one of the photos I took at the nearby natural park.  Was checking the lens that fell by the quake whether it functions well while the appearance is flawless.  It seems to be doing okay.  I don’t know the name of this flower but it was so nice and beautiful, especially when closing in.                                                                     www.kih.me

D700, 70-200 VRII, @200mm, f/4, 1/320sec, ISO200, cropped and sharpened by Capture NX2.

Tag: Tokyo, Spring, Telephoto zoom, bokeh

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Shot from old street and district of Lipscani in Bucharest. In better times this area used to be a trade hub for all sorts of goods coming from West Europe and East or not that far Constantinople, most of the tradesman being of Greek, Turkish or Jewish origin. During the Communists the area was scheduled for demolition, most of the shopkeepers and original businessmen were evicted, shops shut, houses confiscated and given to people of “healthy origin” as the communists used to say. An ambitious restoration program is currently under way, almost all area start looking pretty good now but something is always lost to the irreversible flow of time.

Nikon F6, ZF Distagon 35mm F/2 lens, Kodak Tmax 400 film, Nikon Coolscan 9000ED

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I enjoyed some wonderful time with my older sister and her husband at South Padre Island, TX. last week and will be there again Tues. – Friday. I love this place. However, I’ve learned I’ve been stalking the herons on the wrong end of the island. There were tons on the jetties waiting for the fishermen’s castoffs.  I liked this picture because the guy was especially generous with the birds and it was right before sunset, so there was a gorgeous pink light surrounding everything. It’s a magical place for me, and the weather couldn’t have been more perfect. We have been going here since we were all little, and as we always say, it never disappoints us. The jetties is like a nature show in real life…birds, turtles, dolphins, fish, people, etc. Always something interesting to see. 🙂 Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/250, f/4.8, ISO 800.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

Tags: herons, beach, sunset

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 This was an experiment where I had no expectations – I just wanted to see what it looked like. I like how it turned out with the richness of the colors. I keep trying to get away from landscapes but it’s difficult – my hands shake, the lens wanders, exposures spike, my release finger freezes, and that’s before I pick up the camera….

Nikon D300s, 70mm, 1/800 sec, f5.6, ISO 200, shutter priority

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Collonges-la-Rouge is entirely built with red sandstone, its existence is proven since the eighth century thanks to the donation of the count of Limoges of the parish to the monastery of Charroux.  The village is a member of the Les Plus Beaux Villages de France association (“The most beautiful villages of France”), and is actually where this association was created. Its one of the most visited sites in the Limousin.  (Wiki)

For the first week of my stay, I was at a place called Corlac house, in Sarrazac.  (It’s close to Brive-La-Gaillard). It’s an old farmhouse and barn that had the interiors refinished, and the barn changed into a guest house.   We had some great meals, with excellent and very inexpensive wines.  The whole area is riddled with castles and little medieval villages. All with flowers and roses on the walls and in the windows. It was just a delightful time of year to be visiting southernFrance.

Pentax k20d, DA 12-24 @ 12mm, f/8, 1/125 sec, ISO 320, EV + 0.3.

 

The second shot is of Corlac house. Built much more recently of course..

JHTC EVO 4G camera used.

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Wow, these weeks are just flying by. This 2yr. old girl just stole my heart with her china white skin and blue eye’s. I got to try my new flash out on her.

Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120 3.5,1/60 SS, F/10, 120mm, ISO 640, SB 900 flash.

                               Tags: pretty 2 yr. old, blue eyes

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                                My photo for this week is another one of my earlier client, she’s seen her printed photos for the first time this week and was so taken with the results, that she’s agreed for me to use any of her photos for this group. I particularly like this one, because of the bright red accent the feathers add. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to all your photos.                                                            Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/125s

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 Of course, some shots are mandatory:  Family under blossoming trees  😉   Here my daughter in a traditional dress from the Western part ofNorway(the Hardanger fjord)

 Nikon D300 and Nikkor 24-70

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

My shot this week is of a pigeon applying the brakes as it headed toward the fence. 

D300, 200 VRII at 1/2000s, f/2 and ISO 500 (Manual, handheld)

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Sunset on the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway.
 
Nikon D5000, 55mm, F/11, 1/60s, ISO 640.

Tags:  Sunset, Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway, Sharpshooters,

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 I’m busy with reorganizing my archive and this earlier taken photo caught my eyes after receiving dear Joseph’s reminder.  Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                             http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @10mm, f/4, 1/180sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.33

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone, hope all is well.     I have been trying to practice with the D7000. I am getting a bit better with it, or at least I hope  so.  Still have a lot to work on ! I thought I would give you a break from a bug and send you one of my favorite flowers  this time. The gardenia is still on the bush, I just darkened the background in photoshop.   I wish you could smell the wonderful fragrance from this beautiful flowers.

 Now, if anyone misses the bugs,  I got some neat spiders this evening. You can always view them under the latest folder on :

www.zenfolio.birdied.com

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 Our month long journey through NWU.S.A.continues…..

 Today we tried to visit many of the volcanic features in theBendOregonarea to find everything either closed or snowbound still in mid May.  The dull skies worked in my favor as I managed to take some photos of Ponderosa pine tree seedings fighting their way out of the shallow surface snow.

Taken with D700 + AFS 70-200mm f/2.8  2

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Live Tracks”

These railroad tracks will soon be carrying passenger traffic between Marin & Sonoma Counties. It may not look like it here but short test runs have occurred.  A few miles north of here freight trains are scheduled to run betweenSonomaand North Marin.  This photo is very close to my backyard. I shot it Sunday morning because a rain storm was threatening and I wanted to get out ASAP and beat it and bag some shots.

 EOS 7D, 85mm 1.8 lens, ISO 200, 1/640, f/6.3.  Cropped quite a bit and reduced to just 700 px high for this Leotta photo club.

 

 Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 Hello All,                                                                                                                                          Sorry for my absence of late. I have been dealing with some heavy family issues and have been out of town. I plan to step it up in June. In the meantime, here is a photo I took with my iPhone inArizona. It is one of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Sprites. I like her mischevious yet whimsical expression.

I hope everyone is doing well. Your photos have been outstanding!

 Regards, Gladys                                                                                                                                         

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Just a simple red flower up inVermont

 

Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Mother’s Day Orchid – Bill Shenton

On to a flower shop and a beautiful Mother’s Day Orchid

Taken with a Canon SD 1400 IS 14.1

Bird on a Camera – Greg Kowalczewski

 My bonus photo is of another pigeon given the task of “dropping off” a D7000 to Roberta.

 D300, 200 VRII at 1/8000s, f/2 and ISO 1400 (Manual, handheld)

 And a 3 photo essay

National Day of Norway – Per-Christian Nilssen

Today is May 17th, and it is the National Day of Norway.  We are celebrating our constitution, which was signed on May 17, 1814.  Almost 200 years ago.  Until that day, we were first a part ofDenmark, but asDenmarklost in a battle against Napoleon-friendly forces, we were “given” toSwedenas part of the loot.  In 1814, an agreement betweenNorwayandSwedenwas formed, and we were given some kind of freedom, but it was in 1905 thatNorwayfinally tore itself apart fromSweden.

 

Our National day is celebrated, as in 19th and 20th Century, with children participating in parades all overNorway.  Schools are closed, and all children in the first 8 grades participates in the parades, with some teachers and  some parents present, and lots of  school bands.  We do NOT celebrate this with military parades; in fact, the only military you can see are military music bands in front or in the back of the parades, if such bands exist at the local festivities.

 

Henrik Wergeland was a writer who lived in the 19th century, and he has been given much of the honor for making the May 17th celebration a “children’s day”.  The children are happy, and are the proof of coming generations and a symbol of the future ofNorway.  On this day, hot dogs (sausages in a thin potato cake), soda and ice cream are mandatory requisites, and there are lots of balloons as well.  Norwegian flags everywhere.  Many schools have opened their gates for family entertainment and games, and young and old photographers are everywhere.

Everyone dress in nice clothes, and having a great time.  The parades most often end in a public park, where there are speeches by politicians and by pupils, singing, bands playing, and everyone participates in the national anthem.

Happy May 17th, everyone!

 All shots taken using a Nikon D300 and Nikkor 24-70

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

