Week 71 – June 8, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Rites of Graduation Ceremonies

We had a High School Graduation in the family this past weekend.  Jamie graduated from Preston. She’s going on to Pace University this fall.

There is a lot of tradition in graduation ceremonies. Usually at the end of the ceremony, the graduates celebrate by throwing their caps into the air. I was thinking about this shot for the last 2 years since our older daughter graduated from the same school and I watched the cap toss then. The only problem was that the sky was completely overcast and white. Almost no traces of blue were out. The almighty polarizing filter saves the day.  It got enough of the blue sky to come out.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR at 22mm 1/400 sec F11 Iso 800    Circular Polarizer shot raw and processed in lightroom   

 Tags : Preston High School, Graduation ceremony, Graduation cap toss, graduation tradation, Sharpshooters, Joseph Leotta photography

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Morning dew and a sleeping butterfly                                                                              

 I am sure that if I look hard enough I can find sights like this here in the desert.. but I took the lazy route, and took this shot while I was in France.

Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 40 mm, f/5.6, 1/80 sec, ISO 200

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Massive sand storm approaching our desert camp. Shot taken in the few minutes of lull before the storm smashed in, a very calm and surreal moment with nothing moving and a very interesting soft light. As soon the sand passed the rain followed. I got my old newly refurbished F3HP fitted with Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D, a bit too long but I had no time to change lens to a wider one. Film was Kodak PlusX 125PX.

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Here is another shot from the trip to Yugawara (hot spring area, one hour from Tokyo).   Actually this is the start of the trip taken at the station near my place.  I just turned it into B&W and it became very nice.  Hope you like it, too.

Panasonic, Lumix LX5, Aperture Priority Mode, f/4.0, 1/125sec, ISO320 (Auto), @120mm (35mm equivalent)

www.kih.me

Tag: Train, Station, Tokyo, Hot Spring

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Have had a busy week at the job, brought my camera and got a few shots. It has been a very sunny and warm week and looking at my photo I maybe do not need to feel sorry for myself for have to spend too much time in surroundings like this.

Hope you all have had a nice week.

Jens

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Navy Color Guard preparing for a ceremony at a localNationalCemetery. The ceremony was to honor theMississippisoldiers killed in the Gulf War. In attendance were many of the soldier’s family and friends, who still show their grief.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/2000 sec., slightly cropped (to remove some junk)

 

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Yes, this guy is a very proud father – again.  And I simply cannot resist posting another picture of my daughter – this time a half-body portrait of her happily posing with her 1st prize after the dance competition last week.  You did not think I would let that opportunity pass, did you? 😉 😉

I know some of you looked at the YouTube video link I posted the other day.  Freestyle/discojazz can seem a bit overwhelming when you look at all the dancers at once, and I am happy not being a judge here.  What for the novice can seem like spams and ucontrolled movements and jumps are in fact coordinated movements which they have practiced on for weeks and months.  However, each dancer has her own movements and jumps.  Speed and rythm is essential for succeeding in this sport.

Next week I can promise you not to post a dancing picture – Joe has already received it.

 Nikon D300, Nikkor 24-70mm @ 24mm. ISO 200, onboard flash spot on….., 1/250 @ f:3.2

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Still trying to get all 4 babies and mom together. Haven’t seen them out at all this week. Thanks for all the comments on my modeling job.

Nikon D3, Nikon 80-200 2.8, F/11, 1/80 sec, ISO 500, SB 900 FLASH.

 

 Tags Babies, Raccoon, palm tree.

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

I hope everyone had a great week.   Thanks to those who made comments  on last weeks wonderful set !

 No rain for weeks on end have made the bug hunting very difficult.   I was very fortunate to find this beauty last night.  This is only the second time I have found one this color. I love damsel’s and this one is so bright and beautiful.  If my ID  is correct this is a female  Rambur’s Forktail.     I hope you enjoy her

www.birdied.zenfolio.com

D7000 105mm with 20mm tube   ISO 640 f/14  shutter 1/160

Tags:  Damsel, Rambur’s Forktail, Micro

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all

These men are training for a tandem cycling paraolympic competition. The second rider in both tandem bicycles is a blind person.

Nikon D300 + 50 mm 1.4   –

ISO 100 – f 16 – 1/50

Tags: tandem, bicycle, racing, cycling

 

 

 Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Just a common red-winged blackbird.  I liked the limb the bird is on and the background as much as I liked the bird, and for some reason I liked him pretty much in the middle of the photo

Tags:  birds, wildlife photography, Sharpshooters

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

My husband and I are currently at the beach so thought I send a shot from here…  This fellow hangs out on the docks behind our condo hoping for handouts from the fishermen as they clean their catch.  He’s pretty lucky as everyone is pretty generous!  Anyway – having a good time here but it is sooo hot!  I think I really prefer the early spring or fall for beach trips these days.  Hope everyone has a great week.

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone

On Sunday i had an early start for a golf game at a course i had never played before so i gave myself plenty of time and arrived 30 minutes earlier than planned. It was cool so i stayed in the car for 15 minutes listening to music and then decided to hop out and survey the course from the clubhouse. The carpark is hidden from the east so i got a surprise when i walked around the treelined carpark and saw the sunrise happening. No camera :-((( but i did have my Iphone and photographed it. Not a great photo and does not do it justice. It was a magnificent sunrise reflected in a lake on the course

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

We are in an “extreme” drought situation which has made everything around here pretty drab, so it was a real treat to go with my sister to the Corpus Christi Botanical Gardens and see some flowers. I can’t remember seeing a water lily in years.  Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/350, f/5.6, ISO 400. Hope everyone has a great week!

Jeannean

http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

My photo for this week is of my little son Sebastian collecting some leaves on our outing at South Bank here inBrisbane. It was a beautiful day for us.

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos.                                            Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/2.8, 1/3200s 

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Greg I’m so glad that you are fine and saved your equipments lately.

My photo from the day before yesterday. I saw a rookie photographer while he is trying to capture his shadow on muddy river bed without using the viewfinder, during the low-tide period. PS. The photo not straightened 😉

The huge vessel seen at horizon is NORSUL SANTOS, IMO 8128652 from Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. Rivers are most preferable and feasible transportation way in the Amazon areas. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @14mm, f/4.8, 1/500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

 Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hi all!    This week I’m sending recent IR photo. I’m still struggling with IR, and I can’t always get all the things as I would like to, but with this photo I’m rather satisfied. Greg, I’m glad your camera find the way to your arms 😉 and thanks for your comment from week before last, I’ve sent my mail before you sent your comments.

Looking forward to your photos tomorrow!

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

tags: IR, infra red, tree, sky, clouds, grass, trees, landscape

 

 

 Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello all,

I am trying to get back on track with submitting photos.  My jobs have been keeping me very busy without much time to ‘play.’  too bad for me because I need time to improve.  Anyway, once the summer gets under way for me, I will free up a lot of time!  In the meantime, here is photo of a NYC mannequin I found interesting.  I like it better in B&W, even though the ‘makeup’ is colorful, because the shininess is less distracting.

Greg-glad to hear you regained your equipment.  Rick- I like the photo of you under the light-you look quite erudite.

Until next week,

Gladys

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Hi everyone.  It’s now officially winter inAustraliaand the local Kookaburras are on the look out for the earthworms that the wet weather brings.  The redness under the beak is the soil residue associated with plucking earthworms out of the ground.  These birds have exceptional eye sight which allows them to see their prey from afar.  So Gej, they will have no trouble spotting you and your wife getting off the plane.

Nikon D300 + 200 VR II at 1/160s, -0.33 EV, f/2 and ISO 200

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

A week after returning home to Australiafrom a month long trip on the West Coast of the USA, my mind is still spinning from the sheer amount of scenery we traveled across and many climatic regions we passed through.

Gazing at my collection of photographs taken over the course of the past month I’m very pleased to both had the opportunities to view and photograph such wonderful scenery and also pleased that I managed to get some images that really speak to me of the beauty of the landscapes of the West Coast.

This photo was taken inside the Colonel Bob Wilderness Area immediately adjacent to the Olympic National Park (Lake Quinault Section) in Washington State.  This rain forest is particularly wet and the locals begin to panic if it fails to rain for more than two days in a row up on this part of the Olympic Peninsula.  So true to form the day we arrived at the Lake Quinault section of the park saw heavy rain showers continuously pushing through with very brief periods of warm sunshine in between prolonged overcast periods.  My partner Susan and I were prepared for constant rain interruptions so we were delighted to have a half hour break in the rain where we ventured a little further up into the Colonel Bob Wilderness Area forest which features a particular species of golden hanging moss which festoons the entire forest area.  I really like the way the light plays in this photo, taken at the beginning of the walking trail close to the roadside.  The forest was open enough (still partially dormant deciduous trees) to allow the sun to penetrate right down to the forest floor.  The forest is a wonder of nature with jaw dropping beauty when viewed in this light, we were very lucky to be at this place at that time.

Captured in early May 2011  with D700 + AF-S 17-35mm @ 20mm, f/6.3,  1/400th sec, ISO 400

 

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is a shot from last weekend, which was full of traditional Chinese festivities due to Dragon Boat Festival. These women are wearing traditional bridal clothing and were at a festival that went on all-day Saturday.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Upper Floor Riches –HearstCastle”

San Simeon,Calif.

Toured theHearstCastlelast week; this is an unusual photo submission for me as it is really “just a room” but it’s got a ton of depth and shows off the original art that was collected and fills up the rooms. I printed the original of this large and it looks stupendous at 19×13 inches – nearly 3-D quality and super sharp. After the Castle Tour it was back on to more wine tasting!

Canon EOS 7D, 16-35 2.8 at 16mm, ISO 800, -2/3 EC, f/3.5, 1/60.

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Just a snap of aManhattan streetscene

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning Sharpshooters!

This week I sending you an array of colors.  I saw these bags/sacks hanging in a ‘flea market’ inNew Orleansand the colors popped for me.  I hope you like them too.

Have a great week!

Gej

D90 – 1/10sec – f/5 – 18-200@ 46mm – ISO 320 – Aperture Priority

 

 

 Special Bonus photo

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Graduation – Rick Dohme

Joe got a picture of his daughter’s graduation last week so I thought I’d slip one in of my daughter and son from her graduation last week.

Nikon D3, Nikon 28-120, 102mm, F/5.6, 1/60 sec, ISO 1000, SB 900 flash bounced off flashes white card.

 

 

J Patrick Hyde – Joseph Leotta

There are friends and there are friends who you really become close to and are like family members. When I became a ski instructor over 30 years ago I met Pat Hyde at Mt Snow and he soon became one who was family. Pat was one of the nicest and highest quality people that you could meet. He became one of the most loved instructors along with his family.  I shared a lot of good times with him over the years.  He was put in charge of the Sundance base area operations of the school.     It only had a handful of regular instructors compared to the rest of the school, but if you were in the know, you knew that it was the place to be. He turned it into a close knit group known as Team Sundance. You had to work hard there because it was primarily beginner bus groups, but he made it more fun than anywhere else.  At one point on his own got all the regulars personalized vests to wear making them part of the “team”.   He also loved boating and spent most summers on his boat usually off the shore inNew Jersey.

Pat passed away unexpected this past Saturday afternoon.  The photo below of myself and Pat at Sundance from a few years ago always meant at lot to me. 

Both Bill Shenton and I have worked with Pat at Mt Snow for many years.  In these 2 photos he’s wearing one of the vests I mentioned.  The 2nd is with his wife Barbara.  They have 2 daughters and 4 grandchildren.

We’ll miss you Pat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

