Week 73 – June 22 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

City Island Seafood Traditions – The ultimate fried clams and shrimp 

City Island is famous for its seafood all over the city. There are at least two dozen seafood restaurants on CityIsland– all good. Some of my favorite ones are: SeaShore, The Lobster Box, Sammy’s Fish Box, The Harbor and the Crab Shack.  Then there are the 3 cafeteria style fry houses – Seafood City, Tony’s Pier and the original one that is 60 years old Johnny’s Reef.  Johnny’s is right at the far tip of the island, and is always crowded. Their inside seating is large but their outdoor area right on the water is huge. It was built in the 50’s with an art deco style and is still the same today, inside and out.   It is home of the best fried clams, shrimp and scallops along with other specialties.

The fried clams with french fries, cold slaw and lemon slices all served in a paper boat – $10.00 and less than 4 minutes to cook to order. $12.00 for the shrimp, both shown below.   Come to NY, we’ll go.

Nikon D200 AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6D at 24 mm – 1/80 sec, f/3.5, ISO 640, EV +1/3

 Tags: Johnnys Reef Restaurant, Fried clams, City Island seafood, Fried sshrimp            

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Wide angle lenses can be a lot of fun when you use them to capture nearby objects.  This was shot late afternoon at a friend’s house inScottsdale.

Pentax k20d, DA 12-24 @ 12mm, f/7.1, 1/200, ISO 200

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Within the last year or so these guitar replicas have been placed around town.  They are made of metal and each is painted differently.  You may or may not know thatTupelo,MSis the birthplace of Elvis Presley, and that is why they have been displayed.

Nikon D5000, 32mm, F/18, 1/100s, ISO200

 

Tags: Tupelo, Elvis, sharpshooters

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

My 6 year old granddaughter.

Guess what she wants for Christmas?

I hope to find time to comment on all your great photos soon.

Have a nice week

Jens

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Found a couple of frogs hanging out by my pool. Made them pose for a few shots. There not very fond of my flash. Hope all you guys had a nice fathers day. I sure did.

Nikon D3, Nikon 105 2.8 AIS, 1/60 ss, F/3.2, ISO 1000, SB 900 flash.

tags frog, pool.

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

This week I’ve got a casual shot taken in a pizza place in Bucharest, the body language of these two young ladies discussing important matters was rather interesting to watch.
Thanks everyone mentioning my little fishermen story from last week, I’m glad you like it.

Technical info: Nikon F6, Zeiss Distagon 35mm F/2 ZF, Kodak Tmax 400, Nikon Coolscan 9000ED.

Best Regards
Bogdan

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Where?” I love signs. If it wasn’t for creative traffic engineers, I would be deprived of the fun of photographing directional signs like this.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/11, 1/320 sec.

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

my photo this week is from my photo shoot with a model Gabrielle, I loved the sun light in her hair and that’s why I’ve chosen this photo. 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 280, f/4, 1/100s; I most probably used a fill in flash on the lowest setting of 1/128s. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana  

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

I really enjoyed capturing this photo.  All to often I photograph the back of my partner Susan in a vain attempt to add scale to my images, however, on this occasion having her on the path around 100 yards in front of me really makes the photo what it is for me.

Captured early in the morning close to the Forest of the Giants at Sequoia National Park in California USA.  The valley below was still shrouded in fog as we drove up to this elevation but soon after arriving the breeze had begun to lift the mists up the mountainside and over the tops of the giant sequoia trees.  A wet winter / spring assured plenty of remnant snow which I think works well with the ghostly white sky.  The silence in this forest with the snow on the ground and thick cloud above has to be experienced to be believed.

Taken with D700 + AF-S 17-35mm   @20mm,  f/9,  1/800th sec  ISO 800

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

I have been real busy with parent’s house clean-up to sell for the past weeks and months and was wondering what to submit this week for this Wednesday photo club.  And one day, I could leave the office early and had free time to look up and saw the sky.  I had forgot that the sky was full of expressions.  Not the greatest of all, but I like this one.
www.kih.me

D700, 24-70, @70, f/8, 1/125sec, ISO360 (Aperture Priority, Auto ISO).  Capture NX2

Tag – Skyline, Sunset, Tokyo

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

On the prowl …

D300 + 70-200 VRII at f/8, 1/250 s, 200 mm, ISO 200 (manual, spot, handheld) using onboard flash.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Last Saturday I finally had time to have a good bicycle ride trough hilly part of my county.

It’s been a long time since I had anything challenging, and I’ve found that 67 km was quite enough after a long pause. 🙂 Anyway, I was photographing something else when I spotted this roebuck, put my longer lens on camera and fired away. 🙂 As you can see, 300mm is barely enough but I liked the composition and contrast of colors. I had to whistle to get the animal’s attention though. 🙂 Since I’m going to the zoo tomorrow I suppose there will be more animal photos from me next week. 🙂

Info: Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@300mm, ISO 500, f6.3, 1/400 sec.

Tags: roebuck, hill, vineyard, grass, green

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Garden Flower/Home

5.6, 1/500, =1.33, ISO 200, Canon 60D

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Last saturday I went to the exhibition of French-American artist Louise Bourgeois here in Buenos Aires.
“The Return of the Repressed” was called. In words of the Curator : “a first in depth analysis on her relationship with psychoanalysis and art.”
Here “Mamam” the spider that greet you at the Art Museum entrance.

Nikon D300+ 18-200 VR @ 18mm –
ISO 1600 – f 3.5 – 1/20  

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I  haven’t found much of interest to shoot lately, so this is my submission for the week. Noah and Maggie discovered a Red-eared Slider turtle on the canal bank. It’s funny to watch them discover something new, but I had to pull them away before the turtle decided to latch onto Noah’s nose.  It wasn’t a happy camper from the attention.

Nikon D90/70-300mmVR @ 1/350, f/5.6, ISO 400. Tags: turtle, dogs

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

This week, I am submitting a landscape photo from the western part ofNorway, near the Hardanger Fjord, taken on a trip last weekend.  In the background you can see the glacier Folgefonna, which is the 3rd largest glacier inNorway.  The water looks green, and it was really so – no artsy colouring or wrong color temperature!  😉  In the photo, I miss some foreground, but it simply was nothing I could use in this small parking lot.

 If you are inScandinavia, I can really recommend a photo trip to the Hardanger Fjord area.  Lots of photo ops!

Leica D-Lux 5,  60mm equiv.  (For those with a technical interest, the D-Lux 5 is very similar to a Panasonic LX5.  The photo was originally shot in Leica Raw, and converted to DNG during ingestion in Lightroom, and finally converted to jpg for this audience.)

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a another shot from our condo in Perdido Key – the view off the back porch of the Old River –  such a relaxing place to be and if you are lucky you can catch some dolphins swimming by!   I like the clouds in this shot – I’m a cloud person – they add so much interest to a picture and when set off against a brilliant blue sky they look really cool.

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

This is a shot of a place I walk past twice everyday, once in the morning coming out of Grand Central Station on my way to work and once at night on my way back into Grand Central Station. I’ve been looking at this shot of the Chrysler building/Grand Central for a few months now and finally brought the camera into work and snapped the pic. 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi Everyone !  I hope you all had a good week with great photo opportunities.   Still hot and dry here, really need some rain. This week is a insect  —  the three-cornered alfalfa tree hopper .Found this little fella ( less than  1/4″ ) on a sunflower leaf.  Hope you enjoy.

D7000  105mm micro with 20mm extension tube SB900 Diffused.

Tags:  Threecornered Alfalfa tree hopper, macro, insects

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning and Happy Wednesday to all my friends!

While inNew Orleans, Birdie took me to the cemeteries.  They are magnificent.  I really didn’t do justice to them but this photo shows how vast the cemeteries are inNew Orleans.  They even have street signs and speed limit signs.  I could spend an entire day just shooting there.

Summer arrived today!  Have a wonderful week.

D90 – 1/40sec – f/22.0 – 18-200@18mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – Handheld

 

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

I was working on my desk today, around 14:00 o’clock and heard a terrific brake and collision noise then I run to the scene immediately.

A small truck and a station wagon car made an accident due truck driver’s fault. One of the passenger from car had arm broken. He was full with pain and screaming loudly while waiting the ambulance and paramedics. Here is an interesting rule. Only police or military police can call ambulance inSurinameafter they arrived and inspected scene. That’s why paramedics were late 30 minutes. Please, please be careful all the time, every minutes, every seconds.

Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,                                 Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Aperture Priority, f/1.4, 1/8000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67                                                                                                      

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is a shot of my father-in-law’s back yard in theNorthGeorgiaMountains. This was my first time using a flash to fill in the shadows of the tree. I just found out that I have a business trip toLe Havre,ParisandAntwerpin two weeks. I have three days to do nothing but shoot. I hope I see something interesting there…..

Nikon D300s 14mm, 1/400 sec, f10, ISO 200 center weight                                           

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“MarinCountyCivic Center Neighborhood”

I want to show my neighborhood from a high-up, hillside vantage point. Saturday morning hike, 6/18/11 – Frank Lloyd Wright designedCivicCenter. (We live behind the hillside far right.)

Today I just installed a 2nd, dual monitor for better photo editing: a super sharp and very high resolution Dell U2410 (1920×1200 resolution).

This photo: Canon EOS 7D, 35mm, ISO 200, f/10, 1/200.

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

The annual Dragon Boat Festival in the world of Chinese culture. It is celebrated through racing dragon boats – large oar-powered boats with dragon heads. The races resemble that of a Western regatta, with teams competing throughout the day.

Tags : Dragon Boat Festival

 

 

Special Bonus photo section

Matt has a 3 photo essay

Black Bear Cub – Matthew Brennan

My Partner Susan and I have recently returned home to Australiafrom a month long vacation on the west coast of the USA.  In mid May, at Sequoia National Park there was still huge amounts of sight seeing snow, from 2 to 6 foot deep in large patches but some patches were 8 – 14 feet deep still, this is all a result of the very wet/snowy winter and spring that most of the west coast USA has experienced this past year.  We had hoped to see wildflowers but excess snow meant no flowers yet but some nice patches of snow to see.

Susan and I usually entered the parks / natural sites/ National Monuments etc early in the day to get ahead of the crowds which usually began building in most places around 10 am.  We got out of the car and took a long walk around a snowbound meadow with a forest of giant sequoia trees ringing the open meadow space.  Only 10 min. into the walk we came right up on this black bear cub.  At first it mostly us largely and came much closer to us as we stood still (luckily I was fast and quiet enough to swap my lens over to the 70-200mm I had with me.  I took about 50 exposures of this particular bear cub in all.

The bear confidently snuffled up to within 8 m of us then it all of a sudden it looked up concerned, staring over our shoulder and behind a 8 foot high snow drift leaving us blinded to what be on the other side – we were freaked out a bit as this cub was definitely small enough to still be dependent upon it’s mother and to be stuck between the cub and mother bear is a very bad place to be……….  but I continue to take photographs as we felt it was up to the bear cub to make a move as we could only move back into our ‘blind’ spot to find goodness knows what….

The bear then bristled and began to growl a little, bearing it’s teeth but in hindsight we feel it was not bearing it’s teeth at us – maybe it sensed another bear or smelt another bear or a threat of some sort behind us, in the depths of the forest.  The bear cub then burst into a flurry of action, swinging about 180 degrees and in one movement it took a flying leap right onto the side of a large ponderosa pine.  It gripped the trunk of this substantial sized tree with it’s claws and hauled itself up without assistance from any branches to around 40 feet off the ground.  I took more few more shots while all this was going on, fully hoping there was no adult bear making it’s way in haste towards us……..   The black bear cub remained in the tree for another 30 min as we moved right away from it but kept an eye out for mumma bear – just in case……..

All three photos were taken hand held with D700 + 70-200mm lens.  Luckily for me I have a vertical battery grip on my camera and a fast loading CF card so the high speed shooting mode on the D700 worked in it’s full capacity for me.  This was mid morning around 9:30am and the fog layer in the valley below was streaming across the meadow on the breeze like low cloud making for very rapidly changing light conditions, hence the different look to the illumination in all three exposures.  It was a truly thrilling experience to have an opportunity to shoot native American wildlife so in such close quarters.  On our month long trip we spotted two other bears and managed to get photos of all and we were even graced with a cougar crossing the highway in front of our car at the Olympic National Park in Washingtonstate but that’s another story to which I alas cannot put a photo to……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

