Week 75, July 6 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

More Green Water

Funny coincidence that this photo happened after last week’s photo. I took a ride into the city on the 4th and ended up walking thru part ofCentral Park with the family. The lake is pretty big and even though we never went by the boathouse, we passed it on the west side.

Monday was the perfect sunny day to spend in the park. Could not help myself when I get by the lake and I had to shoot a few.  I never get tired of that green tint in the water. This time you can see some of the pools of algae floating on the surface of the water near the bottom.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @35mm   1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 320

Shot Raw and processed in Lightroom  – July 4, 2011   3:41:16PM

Tags: Central Park,Central ParkLake,Central Parkboat rentals, Joseph Leotta

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

I’m about 10 years into my interest in photography, but I’ve only been pursuing it on a regular basis for the past year or so. For my first submission I chose a recent shot of a hummingbird that I photographed outside my living room window one afternoon shortly after a rainstorm.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35,  auto setting: Close-up/Flower

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all

In the same art museum where the Bourgeois exhibition was taking place there was another one. It was called Patria Petrona. Mrs Petrona was a famous tv cook at the sixties. Her cookbook was in every home. The exhibition consists of life size porcelain replicas of a selection of Petrona’ s most classic cakes, taken from her famous cookbook, reinterpreting Doña Petrona’ s aesthetics.  Childhood memory meets national history.

Here cake to celebrate that a girl is born.

Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @24mm  ISO 1600 – f 3.8 – 1/50

Tags: Cake, art instalation, porcelain

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Bear with me

Driving toPentictonfromVancouver, I was fortunate to run across a black bear with her 2 cubs.  They were grazing by the side of the road, pretty much ignoring motorists who pulled over.  I actually got out of the car and got a little bit closer (keeping a lookout for Mama, and the car door open).

 One of the cubs was brown, and the other one was very black!

Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 260mm.                                                                               

Tags: Black bear,British Columbia

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

It has been a very hot and wet weekend with lots of water where it was not supposed to be, in the basements, blocking highways and so on.

Not in my basement though.

As always, a larger photo at www.fotomedia.dk/WednesdayMail.

Have a nice week, Jens

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Happy 4th of July! 

As I had a moment to sit on my porch this weekend, drinking my morning coffee, I noticed the flag hanging in front of our home blown in to this position by the wind.  I decided to capture it before straightening it out.  There is something about one’s flag withstanding all the elements without showing much wear and tear. This flag has been gracing our front porch since 9/11…  Gladys

ISO, 200, -1ev, f/5.6, 1/1000

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Popular local swimming hole”

With temperatures near or over 100° F for most of the past month, I’m looking for any place to cool off. This was photographed late this past November, and I have it on good authority that it is being well used right now. (Well, maybe – we have had less than an inch or rain in the past two months.) We hit 102° F for the past three days in a row.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/3.5, 1/180 sec.

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This was taken with the P7000 last weekend while experimenting with it a bit more for street photography. I still like the camera, but definitely notice a lack of response compared to the D5000. The quality is great, but I just wish it had more of a mechanical feel to it than the “gadgety” feel that it has. 

Anyway, these street carts are a regular sight here. Shot at F/3.5 and 1/320. I wish the small sensor gave me easier bokeh more often, but I can’t complain too much I guess. 

 I’m getting excited as I’m leaving for Cambodia and Thailand in 3 weeks. If anyone has recommendations on where to go/what to do, let me know.                                     

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

We finally got some rain this summer and everything greened right up.

This is my backyard about 40 miles south of downtownAtlanta. Amazing what a little rain water will do for a thirsty lawn and pasture.

Nikon D300s Sigma 17-50 f2.8 lens (NEW!), 1/250 sec, f5, center weight

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

From my side not been out shooting much thx to work and the really cold weather of late. So for now this is a photo I took recently of a good friend while testing out my newly aquired beauty dish. Or as David Hobby calls it, the character dish. I can see why they are so popular now, but it’s by no means the answer to all lighting needs.

Photo taken with a Nikon D300 with a Tamron 70-300 f/4.0 – 5.6 VC @ 70mm f/5 1/200 sec 400 ISO. Nikon SB-600 with a 42cm beauty dish triggered by CLS camera right.

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi everyone
Went for a walk at Woody Point near Brisbane on the weekend and say a pair of small cataramans. Loved the sails
The guys using them had just slipped ashore for a quiet beer

D90 Lensbaby Composer Telephoto attachment 1/800sec @ f5.6

 

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

My photo this week is from a burlesque party I photographed recently, and here the performer looked really stunning in her uniform. I like the pose of the man behind her too, he makes the photo work by giving it another dimension and interest, I think. 

I enjoyed the show very much, as it was very, very funny, and that’s precisely what good burlesque should be about, tongue in cheek fun with a little edge. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing all your photos. 

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm .8@ISO 6400,1/80s,f/2.8                                                          

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Ever since I was a boy in the early 1980’s I dreamed of visiting the coastal redwood forests of Nth America.  I first read about these magical places in ‘Science and Fact’ books for boys, ‘Tell Me Why’ books and seeing award winning photos of the Redwoods in National Geographic magazine which my parents subscribed to. 
I always carried this wonderment and urge to see the forests right through my teenage years and as a young man.  Reading about the relative heights of the tallest trees and the delightful enchantment of an emerald green redwood forest in spring, dripping after a spring shower with the sun bursting through small gaps in the forest canopy must have left a strong impression on me. 
This year I finally convinced my partner to visit the U.S. west coast with me and just this past May I finally lived out a small but long lived boyhood dream by visiting the various coastal redwood forests in northern California and southern Oregon.  The forests were everything I had dreamed they would be, every bit as enchanted and every bit as impressive.  Seeing the coastal redwood forests was truly a highlight of our journey and I’m equally pleased to have some valued photographs to keep with me.
This particular image was captured some way north of Point Patric State Park in California at a small highway rest stop.  The weather had been constantly showering and the overcast skies made for very dull lighting thus making any photography difficult.  However, as we pulled into this rest stop which had a modest stand of  small remnant redwoods, the rain eased and the beautiful California sunshine burst through the parting clouds to illuminate this scene for me only moments after parking the car.  I have plenty of other deep forest photographs from other locations but I recall the light being at it’s best in this particular image.

Captured hand held with D700 + AF-S 17-35mm @ 20mm, f/9,  1/125th sec,  ISO 1250

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Taken at the nearby natural park again.  The vertical bush looked interesting as photo subject.  Hope you like it, too.

www.kih.me

D700, 70-200 VRII, @200mm, f/3.2, 1/800 sec, ISO200

 
Tag: reed, telephoto zoom, Tokyo

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, welcome to new members of the group, I hope you will find this (not so little anymore) group of ours a nice place to hang around. I sure did. 🙂 Anyway, my photo is from the zoo, with this nice kitty. 🙂 Looks almost as my at home. Just a little bigger. 😉

 Nikon D80 + Tamron 70-300@230mm, f6.3, 1/125, ISO 500.

I look forward to all your photos.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

tags: zoo, leopard

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear David, welcome to the board.

There was 18 Kilometers / 11.25 Miles long swimming marathon onSuriname Riverlast Sunday, organized by Staatsolie, state owned local oil company. Two young ladies were greetings each other after they completed the route. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @10mm, f/4, 1/1250sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Just another (work) day inIstanbulbazaar.

Shot with Mamiya 645 PRO TL, Mamiya 80mm F/2.8  lens, Kodak Tmax 100.

All the best to everyone and a warm welcome to the new members.                                   

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

It’s continued to rain and with it, things have been coming to life. Everything was pretty much dead around here, so seeing flowers and green make me very happy. This is a wild Lantana flower before it blooms. They call it the butterfly plant because it attracts butterflies, but also notice what the blooms look like before they actually open. (D90/Sigma 150mm@1/125, f/8, ISO 400) Tags: Lantana flower

A big welcome to our new members Wayne and David!

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

A curious magpie … I was shooting sport over the weekend when this magpie hopped in front of the lens.  These birds are common inAustraliaand are not afraid to look you in the eye.

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Spend a few hours on the 4th taking pictures of bugs and flowers.This ant is less than1/4th inch long. It was very windy and I was hand holding the camera. Not recommended. Hope everyone had a great 4th.

Nikon D3,Micro Nikkor 105 2.8 AIS, Nikon Ext.Tube PK-13 27.5F/4, SS 1/250, ISO 800, SB 900 flash, hand held.

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from the Peachtree Road Race 2011- an annual 4th of July event inAtlantafor the last 41 years.  Not the greatest shot but it gives you a little taste of the race.  It’s a 10k race and this year 60,000 runners participated. My husband ran his 23rd Peachtree yesterday and my 3 sons have been running for the last 11 years – I’m a volunteer at a water station at the 4 mile mark since 1994.  It’s become a tradition for our family along w/ several of our friends-none of us are crazy about getting up at 4:00 in the morning to make the trek downtown, but we all feel a great sense of satisfaction when it’s over!  A wheelchair race kicks off the race- I’m amazed at these men and women!   Then the serious runners with qualifying times start at the head of the line, but after that it’s a seemingly never ending mass of humanity pounding the pavement to the finish line inPiedmontPark.  

Great fun and a nice way to celebrate the 4th.

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone.  Hope you had a great week.    I have been trying something a bit different these past few days.   You know that I love macro and getting detail, well trying to get a bit more of the “big picture”.

In an effort to do so, I am trying the 70-300 with extension tube.   I was quite surprised the amount of detail on the wings this combo captured.  So instead of just a close up of an eye, here I present a Needham Skimmer  at the edge of the swamp.

Hope you enjoy !

D7000   Nikon 70-300 with 20mm extension tube.  Handheld, natural light

.Tags:  Dragon Fly,NeedhamSkimmer

 

 Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning to all my photo enthusiasts!

I took a job in May as a starter at a golf course.  Taking a back road home one evening I came upon a garage / barn that was weathered and I found it to be interesting.  I returned the next week and took a number of shots not realizing that I had set the camera to bracketing the last time I was out.  Most of the shots were either over or under exposed.  There were only two that I felt were good enough to keep and this is one of them.  I really liked the contrast, not only the newer Master Padlock but also the pealing paint and screw holes where the previous lock had been.  To the right were hugh sheets of corrugated sheet metal that were weathered to a golden brown rusty patina.

Have a wonderful week!  Gej

D90 – 18-200@70mm – 1/500sec – f/5.0 – -2.00 Exposure Bias – Aperture Priority – ISO 100 – CS5 to correct Exposure Bias – Handheld

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Pt. Reyes – Drake’s Bay Vision”

The horrible scars of the massive Vision Fire (1995) are in the foreground – this is looking out to the Pt. Reyes peninsula and Drake’s Bay. We were hiking late Sunday morning when I grabbed this shot.

Details: Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L lens @ 43mm, ISO 100, f/7.1, 1/500, 7/3/2011

Read more on the fire:

http://www.nps.gov/pore/parkmgmt/firemanagement_visionfire.htm

 

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Bike path byLake Champlain

Shadows make the photo

 

 

 

 Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 Kids, I said, “Hit the woods!  The crazy lady with the camera is coming!”
 
F/6.3, 1/500s, ISO400

                                          Tags:  wildlife photography, turkey, Sharpshooters,

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Flag for the 4th – Rick Dohme

we had a bad thunderstorm blow through. Only lasted 15 minutes then this beautiful rainbow showed up and we had fireworks and no rain.

Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120, 120mm, F/22, 1/250, ISO 800, SB 900 Flash

 

Strawberry Fields – Joseph Leotta

At 72nd Street inCentral Park on the west side there is a area called Strawberry Fields.

It’s named after a line in a Beatles song – “Strawberry fields forever”.  It’s at 72nd street because it is right across from the Dakota Apartment house where John Lennon lived, but is better known being the spot where he was tragically shot to death.

Strawberry fields were created as a moment to John Lennon. Its trademark is the circular Imagine tile mosaic – named after another one of his songs. It’s also one of the most visited places in the park.  Monday  while I was there, it was a constant changing crowd, all stopping to take pictures. It the 15 minutes I spent there at least 50 people posed for pictures on the mosaic – one right after the other.

Tags:Central Park, strawberry fields, John Lennon, Imagine mosaic

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

