Week 76 – July 13, 2011

Theme week – Vivid color

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

A trip to the New York Botanical Gardens 

A good place to go when you want vivid color is the New York Botanical Gardens. Bright sunshine, just the right DOF and a bit of luck to hit it right. As shot in JPG except for resizing. The fill flash (built in pop up) really made the flower pop out from the background.

D300 with  AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED [II] at 62      1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 250

Tags:New YorkBotanical Garden, NYBG, Lilly, vivid color photo

 One more from my trip to the NYBG on Sunday. How about a colorful background with a earth tone main subject. Jacked up the shutter speed to get a small DOF to make the puff ball stand out.

AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED [II]
Shot at 80 mm   1/1,000 sec, f/5, ISO 250

Tags:New YorkBotanical Garden, NYBG, vivid color photo

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

There were a lot of these flowers around Naramata when I visited a few weeks ago.  I think it’s a type of rose, but I am not certain.

Pentax k20d + Tamron 28-75 @ 75mm, f/6.3, 1/400 sec, ISO 320

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Caladiums” — My patio faces East, so in the mornings, I often get some great opportunities for back-lit subjects (if I’m willing to put down my coffee to get them). Light coming through some plant leaves often gives the effect of stained glass.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5, 1/160 sec., slightly cropped for composition

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Happy Wednesday!  I hope the rest of your week goes well.

I had fun with this weeks project.  It came at the perfect time.  The Lilies are in full bloom and are gorgeous. I combined 8 shots, stacking them in CS5.  The following is the result.  This was my second attempt at stacking and I’m so please with the results.  Thank you to everyone who talked about stacking and gave suggestions during our weeks together.  You’ve taught me to try new things and sometimes I’m able to produce a photo that I’m really proud of.

D90 – 1/800sec – f/4.0 – 105macro – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Tripod – Stacked in CS5                                                                                                                                            

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

For my vivid color image, I chose a shot taken last year while visitingHong Kong. This skyline is probably one of the most-photographed locations in the world, so it was nice to have a beautiful sunset as we were about to head across the harbor toCentral HK.  Even though it was taken last year, it was actually missed and I only recently processed it in Aperture. I played around with saturation levels and liked this – though I can’t believe it was never used in the first place. 

Hope all have a good week! Thanks so much for the wedding wishes. When I get time, I’ll post some photos

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks Josh for taking time to comment during your honeymoon.I sure wouldn’t have. 🙂 This was taken during my day off on the 4th of July. I was just wandering around my property looking for models. The sun was behind this lizard and was shining thru his throat. It really made the colors stand out. Looking forward to VIVID!!

Nikon D3,Micro Nikkor 105 2.8 AIS, SS 1/100,F/4, ISO 800, EC+1, hand held.

 Tags: bright colors, lizard

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Hello Guys.

Looking for a subject for this week vivid photo I hope this will do. A purple Hollyhock, one of many different colours often seen in front of older cottages.

Have a nice week all.

Jens

 

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

This is from my past trip to the BrooklynBotanical Garden.  I was looking through my album knowing that I wouldn’t have much time this weekend either.  It was a nice day and there was a wedding party going on there.  I just noticed this with VIVID color and took it.  A bit enhanced and cropped by Capture NX2.  Hope to have time again soon to make comments for you all.  Sorry for having been a bit distant.

D700, 105 VR, f/7.1, 1/200s, ISO560 (Auto)

 

 

 Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

I decided to to get out for a bit on the weekend so did a short trip with a local group who restore and maintain old steam engines. Was a fun day and quite inspiring to see the passion of these guys. It was quite something to see how people react to seeing a steam engine on the lines. Smiles, waves and just a sense of wonderment. But then a steam engine seems to embody such a feeling of strength and power which nothing else seems to. Hope to do more outings with them in the future.

Shot with a Nikon D300 with 18-70mm @ 70mm 1/320s f/14 ISO 1600.                     

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Thanks to everyone who welcomed me to the group. It was greatly appreciated.  My photo this week is a recent shot from a nearby state park where I spend a lot of time wandering the trails. I’m very partial to photos where the landscape is reflected in a lake, pond, or stream.

 Panasonic Lumix FZ35,  Auto setting: Normal Scenery

 

 

 Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

I was in East Hampton,Long Islandthis past week with a best friend.  These sunflowers seemed to glow and their centers changed colors over the course of 3 days– very lovely.  I have been loving everyone’s shots these past few weeks!  Gladys

Sunflower 1: ISO 200, -1ev, f/5.6, 1/60

 Tags: sunflowers

 

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Vivid was somehow a difficult theme for me as I use mostly NC films and more B&W in recent days. Shot from my archive files taken last winter, these are some folks belonging to that Balkan minority that makes this part of the world famous all overEurope. This is customary to walk around the village wearing allegorical masks for good fortune to the households at the Christmas and New Year time.                      

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone, hope you had a great week.   I looked to nature for vivid color and well, she did not let me down.   I found this lovely young female Rambur’s Forktail Damselfly.  The orange coloration is so vivid and catches your eye when trying to find these little creatures that are less than 1″ long.   I hope you enjoy.

Tags:  Macro , Damselfly, Rambur’s Forktail

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

My contribution to the ‘Vivid Colour’ theme week is a new take on an old theme for me.   In the past several years I have twice before stopped on my way to work on a winter’s Friday morning to photograph this same scene, each time bathed in glorious sunrise colours.  This most recent capture has the most variety of colour in the scene, previous year’s attempts have had mainly red or orange but this year the clouds yielded a stronger range of hues and plenty of vivid colour in the small window whilst the light was like this.  The pale colour in the foreground is a heavy frost, it was perhaps still below freezing point when I stopped and wound the window down in my vehicle to take some photos.

Straight from the camera j.peg with a little sharpening in PS  D700 + Nikkor AF-S 70-200 f/2.8  @ 180mm, f/4, 1/500th sec, ISO 400

 

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Thank you very much for the comments on my photo last week, I really appreciate them. For this week’s Vivid theme I chose one of the photos I did with Miss Bertie Page, as the hat she wore has very bright, cheerful colours. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing all your photos.

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 1100, f/2.8, 1/80s

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all

Here a row of old siphons at an antique fair inBuenos AiresWith my new (old) nikkor 80-200 2.8

Nikon D300 + 80-200 2.8 @200 mm  ISO 500 – f 2.8 – 1/1600

Tags: siphons, antique, colored glass

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello folks!

Another week flew by and here is another Wednesday. My photo is a macro of a red flower.

I used extension tubes (120 mm combined) with nikkor 28-70 on my D80. ISO 160, f8 or f11, 1/125 sec.

Welcome is due to Suzanne Bauer! Welcome aboard and looking forward to your photos.

To rest of the group, I’m sure I’ll enjoy your photos, so see you all tomorrow! 🙂

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

                 tags: red, flower, macro,pestle

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

I had to dig back to find a picture that fits the vivid colors theme-  just can’t seem to find the time right now to get out and take a lot of pics – and on top of it we’ve had some dreary days lately w/ cloud cover so no great vivid shots out in nature where I really like to be!  This is a shot from Easter a couple of years ago – my “great” nephew Aidan is checking out his haul in the middle of my mom’s azaela bushes – she’s an avid gardner and her yard is usually full of flowers esp around Easter.                                                                                                                                    

 

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Where else  as usual  –BurlingtonVermont

 

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

My interpretation of “vivid colours” is about not seeing the differences.  I think No 22 is 6’4″ and No 16 is 6’1”, so they do stand taller than most other players (both play U14).

D300+70-200VRII at 200mm 1/801s ISO 200 AP

 

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

The most vivid flower I have seen is this deep purple variety of the Passion Flower. I went over to my neighbors to photograph one for this week, and found a Gulf Fritillary caterpillar munching away. My neighbors always hope they don’t show up, but they turn into such beautiful butterflies, so I’m always happy to see them (although they do a lot of damage to the plants). Taken with Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm macro@1/180, f/6.7, ISO 400. Tags: passion flower, gulf fritillary, vivid color

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“MuirBeachMailboxes – Hwy 1”

ThePacific Coast Hwyis one of the most beautiful highways in theUSA. It’s out of control gorgeous in Mendocino andSonomaCounties, and just as spectacular as in my homecountyofMarin.  I was hiking Saturday morning when I came across these mailboxes.

Canon EOS 7D on a  cloudy, foggy day – typical mid-summer weather. 24-70 2.8L lens at 50mm, ISO 200, f/4.5. Copyright © 2011 kenpapai.com, 7/9/2011.

-Ken Papai

 

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Suzanne, welcome to the board.

My photo luckily taken almost five months ago. I was at one of my favorite places and this sank boat was waiting next high tide on Suriname River to leave. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/3.2, 1/2000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Cupcakes – Rick Dohme

Just a picture before Audrey ate one of her birthday cupcakes. Lots of vivid icing.

Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120 VR, 1/60 SS, F/11, ISO 800, SB 900 flash

 tag: pretty girl, cupcakes.

 

 

Summer dinner – Jeannean Ryman 

Papaya Boat filled with pineapple, mango, peaches, strawberries, kiwi, honeydew melon, blueberries, and red grapes. It was yummy!

 

 

Red Doors – Joshua Fahler

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

