Week 77 – July 20, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Stone Mill

The New YorkBotanical Gardenis a wonderful place.  I took another walk thru it this weekend and am completely impressed. It’s a 100 times nicer than I remembered it from years ago. 
It is better than any park, and it is rated one of the best botanical gardens in the world. I think that I’m going to get a family membership as I want to start spending time there. It’s not just flowers. They are only a small part of it. It’s the conservatory, the different gardens, the grounds, the stables, the rose garden, the restaurants, the education center, and so on. You really should see their web site: http://www.nybg.org/

When it became the NYBG in 1890 the grounds were already rich in history and a number of historic buildings were in place.  One is the Stone Mill. Originally a working grist mill on theBronxRiverwhen it was built in the 1700’s, it has had several uses. For a large number of recent years it was a cafeteria for visitors. Completely renovated in 2010 it is now a hall for parties and weddings, with one of the premiere NY caterers handling affairs there.

Nikon D300   AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @ 22mm                                    1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 250   

                                                                                                                                                                                Tags: NYBG,New Yorkbotanical gardens, stone mill,BronxRiver, house in the woods

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

My son races motocross and I love all the colors of the bikes and clothes.  This was a perfect sunny day to grab those colors.  Thanks for including me in this group, I’m so excited to be a part of it.  I love looking at all the different photos.  And I welcome any comments.
This photo was taken at Winchester Speedpark inWinchester,New Hampshire.

Shot with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, 20 mm, Auto exposure, Action (High speed), 1/790 sec, f/10, ISO 400                                           

 

  

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This photo was taken towards the end of a recent family holiday on 20th June 2011. We drove from our home in Coventry, England, through Franceand down to Lake Garda in Italy. This photo was taken on our return journey at a campsite on Lac de Chalain.
I have two young shildren (3 and 4) so rarely have the time to sit for any extended period of time, this evening I was able to sit for about an hour and watch the sun set. I’m glad I did as it was a spectacular sight, the lake turned from the deep blue of day to a molten silver then through golden and red tones and finally ending with a bright purple.
This photo was taken after the sun had dipped behind the hills and the clouds began to take on a dramatic purpley-red tone.
 
I look forward to seeing the weekly emails,
 Emma                                                                                                                                       

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

If you drive to Naramata (British Columbia) located on the east bank of the Okanagan lake, you can then get on a trail that used to be part of the old railroad. It is now a biking and hiking trail.  The trail run high up alongside the lake, so you have great views all the way.  And then you come to a short tunnel.. lots of fun taking pictures in there.

Pentax k20d + DA 16-45 @ 45mm, f/11, 1/250 sec, ISO 250

Tags: Naramata, Okanagan

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

I was deer “hunting” on my drive home from work Sunday morning, and these are two of the five I ended up finding.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

The calendar says summer and sun but until now it has been rain and rain and ..

Here is one more from work, bad weather do not stop visitors from arrive in large numbers.

Maybe because admission is free on all the180 acres. After 6 days with rain showers, a day off is very pleasing.

Have a nice week.

As always, a larger photo at http://fotomedia.dk/wednesdayMail

Jens

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

A few days ago I returned from a short trip to Jujuyand SaltaProvinces, in NW Argentina. A fantastic week with more than 40 of my photo workshop pals.
I couldn’t before so : Congratulations !!! to Bogdan and Joshua, and Bienvenidos (welcome) to all the new members !!

From my trip: a pic of an old lady in Purmamarca, a small town in Jujuy.

Nikon D300 + Tamron 70-300 @ 300 mm
ISO 200 – f 5.6 – 1/200

Tags: colla, jujuy, purmamarca 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

From my side a new and a slightly older.

The new is from Sunday when my sister in law was willing to sit for me to play with various lighting setups. In true tradition this is the 1st shot and just the 1 light. The other was from a shoot a few months ago. One of those captures that just happens. Gotta love the character.

1st shot with a Nikon D300 Tamron 70-300.VC @ 120mm 1/200sec f/8 200ISO.
2nd shot with a Nikon D5000 Nikon 18-55 @ 52mm 1/100 sec f/6.3 400ISO

Depending on how the test roll comes out, might have some pics from my 1970s Mamiya 35mm SLR to share next week. Have to admit we are so spoiled with digital. So much more flexable. But shooting film really does make you stop and think.  Have a wonderful week

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

We just got back from 10 days inFrance, so get ready for your fair share of vacation pics.

The below is a familiar landmark, but I decided to put it in the middle of a field rather than the bay everyone else uses. Obviously, I took it from land (actually a field) and shot it low enough to give the illusion that the island is actually sprouting from a farmer’s field.

I used my new Sigma 17 – 50mm f2.8 lens the whole trip and loved what I could do with it. The f2.8 with optical stability rocks for low light. Unfortunately, the lens elements seem to be “loose” in the barrel and when you move from portrait to landscape, the image moves (because one of the lens elements move). If you gently shake the lens, it rattles. However, it did not seem to affect the picture quality, but I am still going to return it. I really found a great range for my style of shooting. Ironically, the shot below is using the Sigma 50 – 500.

D300s 50-500 Sigma, 198mm, f9, 1/800, center weighted

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

This is one of the photos I took at the nearby natural park.  Was checking the lens that fell by the quake whether it functions well while the appearance is flawless.  It seems to be doing okay.  I don’t know the name of this flower but it was so nice and beautiful, especially when closing in.
D700, 70-200 VRII, @200mm, f/4, 1/320sec, ISO200, cropped and sharpened by Capture NX2.

 Tag: Tokyo, Spring, Telephoto zoom, bokeh

 

 

 Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

This picture was taken off the coast ofMaineapproximately 10:pm of the full moon.

Hand held with a Canon EOS 7D, EF 300 1.4 with a 1.4X extender 1/30. The picture is untouched and the color of the moon is real.

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Thank you very much for all the kind comments on my photo last week, I really appreciate them.

This week a photo from a very interesting photo shoot I did on Saturday, a client wanted photos of his uniform collection, we asked one of the burlesque dancers to model for us the women’s uniforms and it was so much fun! The photo shoot lasted 6 hours, but it was one of the best ones I’ve done as yet. We also recreated a final scene from the film “An Officer and A Gentleman”, you can see the photo on the “What The Butler Saw” Facebook page, if you are interested. I thought it came out quite well 🙂 
Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing all your photos.

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/125s

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Shot in Downtown Amman, Jordan, where classic cars like this are still pretty common, and brings up images of those days when everything was not that speedy as our modern times….

Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak TriX 400 TX          

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello all, I have not been home much and without my camera, so here is a whimsical photo of miniature bears (the size of a thumb) I used to collect for my daughter.  Each represents a theme.  Not great photography but I am trying to not miss a week!  I will be home for a ‘staycation’ next week and hope to master watermarking my entries. A good week to all.   Gladys

Canon EOS 60D, 50mm, f/20, -0.67ev, ISO 200

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I was off chasing dragonflies and such down in the canal by my house Monday morning. I had fun and saw some interesting things (also was a mess!), but decided to post my last shot before crawling back up the side. This is the view from my side under the road to the other side. Everytime I see it, it reminds me of a keyhole, so I finally took a picture. Taken with Nikon D90, Sigma 150mm, 1/4x teleconverter @ 1/500, f/8, ISO 400, spot metered. Hope everyone has a great week!

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

First, let me greet new ladies in our group! Welcome Suzanne and Emma!

Second, Roberta, thank you for your comments! And to answer your question, no, I use tripod. Since everything is manual and the dof is so shallow,  it would be impossible for me to capture the photo without it.

Now, about my photo for this week… It’s one of my favorite motifs, water, cloudy day and something interesting to help the composition.

Shot with Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@10mm, f8, 1/13 sec, ISO 200.

I hope you like it. I’m looking forward to seeing you photos.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

tags: boat, water, lone tree, reflection, lake, cloudy, melancholy, dock

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi everyone
Today is a photo of a scene that could be seen anywhere around the world. An elderley couple sitting looking over the water. They are gazing back over a small part of Moreton Bay at Woody Point which joins the mouth of the Pine River. There is a bridge in front of them that crosses this junction and is 3 kilometres long. Enjoy

D90 Lensbaby Composer 1/800sec @ f5.6

 

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

During a family trip to the western part ofNorway, we went into the local aquarium, and I managed to get a shot of these two catfish friends, staring at the visitors on the other side of the glass.  I thought these two reminded me of the two old men on the wall in “Muppet Show” if you remember Jim Hansons muppet characters…. I wonder who is on display, the fish or us?

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Last weekend the Michigan High School Golf Finals were held for the boys.  I helped as a rules official and had a terrific time watching some of the very best young men inMichigancompete.  The champions deserved their awards, winning by as many as 40 strokes.  These boys were great!

 Right next to the awards area was an antique car show.  All of the cars were Grahams. This is a car that I had never seen or even heard of.  Some of the cars were valued at over $250,000 and it was easy to see why.  They were beautiful.  This car was not up in the high price group but it caught my eye because it had character.  It needs some TLC and if I had the money, I would consider buying it.  (I told Sally of my thoughts and she rolled her eyes and shook her head)  It’s not going to happen!

Photo was taken with my phone.

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

These are boats from Danshui, a waterfront area on the northern tip ofTaiwaninTaipeiCounty. The city has quite a few things relating to traditional Chinese culture as well as some of the best seafood inTaiwan. Taken at f/11 and a shutter of 1/500 at ISO 200.  This was before I did most of my photography in Aperture-priority mode and the photo is about a year old even though I only recently processed the RAW file.                                                                                                       

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone, and welcome to the new members !!

My macro hunting ground is mainily my  back yard and garden.    This summer, the anoles (lizards) are quite plentiful.  Trying to find something other than an anole, I got up before sunrise.  I was greeted with  high humidity and dew point which produced this wonderful dew. An anole is what I found , and seeing him covered in dew, I was quite delighted.    Those who know me, know I love dew drops and a critter covered in dew, well I could not ask for anything more!

I hope you enjoy.

D7000   105mm macro with extension tube.

Tags:  Anole, Dew Drops, Macro

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Spent last weekend celebrating our 28th wed. anniversary Near MurphyNorth Carolina. Stayed with our close friends in the mountains. No cell phone or internet for 3 days. I fell in love with this old well pump as soon as I saw it. My friend gave me the pump and I can’t wait to set it up at my house. Our house was built in 1930 and had a well for almost 50 yrs. We love antiques.

Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400 VR, 270MM, F/8, 1/125 sec, ISO 2000.

                                         Tags: antique, well pump

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Emma, welcome to the board.

Lady fruit seller was busy with her customer last Sunday. Luckily her stand was located under sun illuminated area. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/60sec, ISO125, ExposureBiasValue -0.67                                                                        

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski –Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Congratulations Bogdan (baby) and Joshua (married).  Both events are moments of ongoing love and affection. 

Welcome Emma and Suzanne.  Suzanne, I did have a look at your photos (a lot of WOW! shots spread over many categories).

Roberta, thank you for your comment.  My son had a similar reaction when he saw his first indigenous black man performing a tribal dance around the same age.  Thankfully my son is now colour blind when he looks at other people.

Over the weekend I shot a game of soccer.  The defender (in white) produced a perfect slide tackle that caused the striker’s shot on goal to deflect the ball sideways towards me.

Nikon D300 + 24-70 F/2.8 set at 50 mm, f/2.8, ISO 800 and 1/1603 s (hand held).

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

My contribution this week, again harks back to my recent visit to the west coast of the USA.
This photo was taken at a highway rest stop area close to the eastern end of the Columbia River Gorge.  This beautiful stream with it’s rolling cascades was unmarked on most maps and not sign posted as a tourist stop so I was pleased to just come across it when we stopped for lunch at this site. 
To capture the image I actually took off my shoes and rolled my jeans up and stood in the stream for a good 12 minutes or so with the tripod, taking several long exposures.
This one was caputured using my D700 + my old Nikkor 35-70mm f.2.8 lens – the tripod was wearing some home made water proof boot sleaves I brought on tour with us!  Using a Lee 10 stop ND filter this was a 20 second exposure @ 58mm, f/9 and ISO 400
My feet have just about thawed out now……..

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Foggy Dipsea Redwoods”

This trail is several hundred feet above Muir Woods. I shot this last August (2010) while hiking with my wife. Didn’t shoot anything that “show-offy” this past week.  I gave Joe 2 photos and allowed him the complete editorial discretion to choose this one.

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 2.8L at 27mm, ISO 800, f/6.3

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Black & White in full color” I carry a little Panasonic FZ28 super zoom in my car for emergencies, and I had a chance meeting with this pair of swans in New Orleans City Park a couple of weeks ago. Just enough time to grab the camera, and get about four shots before they decided to move on.

Panasonic Lumix FZ28, ISO 100, f/4, 1/200 sec, aperture priority.                                

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

From a hike I took last year with some friends  to the summit of Camels Hump, VT’s second highest peak. It was a gorgeous day and the hike was a blast!                            

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Last week we went on vacation to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee with two eight year old boys, one seven year old boy, and one 3 1/2 year old boy!  At Dollywood, we watched this young man entertain at the Gazillion Bubbles Show.  It was great!  This is a different photo for me, I hope it is ok.  It is “as is” from the camera except cropping a little bit, and resizing and converting the color profile.  If anyone would like to make any suggestions for improvement, I would certainly love to hear them! 
 
Nikon D5000, 240mm, F/5.6, 1/50, ISO 1000                                                                 

 Tags:  Dollywood, Gazillion Bubble Show, Sharpshooters, entertainment

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo section this week is Ken’s photo essay

 Ken Yamamoto

Here is series of the shots of the house we have been cleaning up for the past few months, to make it look good enough to show to the prospective buyers.  May look “lively” with couch and a few furniture, but to us, this house is very empty.  I grew up here from the age of 14 until college graduation.  Sister left even earlier.  But my parents lived here for more than 30 years.  Since father passed away, nothing has been done to this house for three years.  Three years it took my mother to touch anything.  The house was as it was when they left to move to my apartment inTokyowhich happened to be close to father’s hospital (I was still in NY back then), with the intention to come back, but never did. 

 

Father was a scholar by education and profession and there were lots of books, magazines and on the table was the memo and script he had been writing for the next article or book.  And I completely understand why mother did not want to go back there (I’ve been there, too).  Too many stuff or too much to remember father.  But life has to go on and she decided to sell the house.  It was a real hustle for all of us to bundle and take out the literally tons of magazines, books, clothes and many, many memories of 30+ years (this house has attic, too).  We finally hired the mover for the final take-out.  

 

 
I will always regret that I was not a good son since I left the house.  I was not there when they needed me most.  This house is such a beautiful one – father’s architect buddy designed it and father designed its structure – featured in the architecture magazine back then.  I have been so proud of father and this house and of course mother.  Such is life….

D700, 14-24, f/5.6, Auto ISO

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

