Week 78 – July 27, 2011

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

The tragedy in Norway

I had originally scheduled another photo for this week, but I don’t think anyone have missed the dreadful news of the twin terrorist acts in Norway, committed by a Norwegian, who’s name I do not want to repeat.  I am still, 4 days after the act, very angry.  This “person” (note the intentionally placed hyphens) said he wanted to harm the social democrat led government and political party and its youth organization, and not the Norwegian people.  He was proven wrong.  The whole Norwegian nation, regardless of political sympathies, has taken this as a terrorist act committed to them personally and to the nation as a whole.

After the initial national fear and anger has been reduced, it is time for grief and warm thoughts.  Yesterday evening, “Rose walks” were carried out in most Norwegian cities, and these were all initiated by ordinary citizens, using social Internet media, and not initiated by politicians nor county officials.  In the capitol,Oslo, between 150.000 and 200.000 persons participated; a fantastic view for those of us who followed the ceremonies on TV.                                                           

Leica D-Lux 5,  ISO 640,  1/160 @f 5

My photo this week is a snapshot taken in front of the Oslo Cathedral Tuesday morning.  Ever since the tragedy happened, people has come and placed flowers in front of the main entrance.  In the evening, they light candles.  As one youngster said a few days ago:  “When one man can do so much evil, think of all the love all of us together can give each other”  Flowers and bouquets everywhere.  This is one of hundreds placed by citizens around the City Hall during last evening

Per-Christian

Leica D-Lux5,  ISO 200, 1/100 sec @ f4.5

 

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The perfect sky

Having 2 kids go to theUniversityofVermont, you get to visitBurlingtonperiodically.Burlingtonsits on theVermont–New Yorkbroader withLake Champlainseparating the two. The lake is one of the 5Great Lakesand is spectacular.  If you follow sharpshooters you have seen a number of photos of it that Junior took while he was at college up there. Now it’s my turn with one that I took on my last visit up there.

This one was hiding in my files and I can’t believe that I did not get to it till now. The late afternoon sun when it is low in the sky can work wonders if you catch it right. We may have to do clouds as a theme someday.

Nikon D700 AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF  at 60 mm  1/320 sec, f/29, ISO 320

Tags : Lake Champlain, Burlington Vermont, Clouds,  Impressive sky, blue sky 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

And the rain stopped. Why not get a Tattoo

The guy was standing like this for several minutes, believe he was asleep.

Have a nice week all.

Jens

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

Hsinchu Cosplay

This shot was taken at a recent Cosplay event inHsinchu City,Taiwan. I never personally liked Anime/Manga, but found some interesting subjects nonetheless.   

     

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“If you are going to drink, drink in style” — This is in a local hospital lobby. It is another example of how nice it is to have a camera with you; otherwise things like this would go un-recorded.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/4.8, 1/15 sec., aperture priority.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Except for our vacation, I haven’t had many opportunities to photograph anything lately.  So, Friday, I carried my camera to work.  Coming down my drive that afternoon Ms. Turkey presented herself!  I got out of the car and followed her hoping if I got close enough she would fly.  But I think it was just too hot for both of us!  She finally just eased into the woods, and I had a long, hot walk back to the car. (-:
 
Nikon D5000, 300mm, F/7.1, 1/320s, ISO 250

 

Tags:  Wildlife, turkey, Sharpshooters,

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

My apologies for not being terribly communicative, but I have hardly been home for the last few months.. and it is not about to improve anytime soon.  Thanks to all of you that have taken the time out to comment on everyone’s photos.. and mine!Welcome to our 4 new members… and congratulations to our other 2 members that are working on the next generation of “Sharpshooters”.

 

Two for one

This week’s photo is from my latest trip toFrance, shot 2 weeks ago.  The setting is the French Catalonia at Molitg les Bains.  Lots of lavender in bloom, bees and butterflies all working hard, harvesting and feeding.  I think I captured a ‘sulfur cloud’ and a ‘buckeye’ feeding on the lavender in this shot.

The second shot is from the top of Chateau de Riell looking atMountCanigou.

Pentax k20d + 16-45 @ 45mm, f/5.6, 1/800 sec, ISO 250.                                              

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Another shot from Amman City Center street, this time a classic photo camera. I am not entirely sure if this is correct but my impression is that this camera used to expose directly on photographic paper instead of film and the processing is done on spot, that explains the rather large wooden box. I had a small chat with the guy, he used to own a small photo lab but business is low and he’s got to try to make money selling watches and other small items. He was also intrigue to see somebody still shooting TriX these days, oh well, signs of our time…

Shot with Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 55mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak TriX 400TX, scanned with Nikon Coolscan 9000ED

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

‘This is Bella, a 7 year old Haflinger mare that we’re training at the barn where my daughter keeps her horse.  After training, on these hot, hot days we give the horses a cool bath!  Most horses don’t like water on their face and Bella is no exception.  I was so happy to get this shot, where she’s shaking off and I was able to capture the water spray and droplets.’

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Shutter priority AE, 1/1,024 sec, f/5.6, ISO 200

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Portrait photography is, I feel, the area I’m weakest in. For a period I worked as a schools photographer but that is very much “Sit…smile…next”, very posed and un-natural. I much prefer natural portraits and thankfully I have two young children who are perfect little models for me to practice this style of photography with.
This photo was taken in April and wasn’t planned but I rarely go anywhere without my camera, as they were playing in the bath I couldn’t help snapping a few shots of them. This one is one of my favourite pictures of the two of them and already copies of this are hanging on various relatives walls!                                                                  
Camera: Canon EOS 350D Exposure: 1/60 Aperture: F/4.5 ISO Speed: 400 Focal Length: 20mm

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi all!  First, thank you Ken, Greg, Joe and Emma, for taking your time to comment on all photos!  I appreciate it very much! My photo for this week is a panorama of a hilly part of my county.

Next Monday, I’m going on a 2 week vacation, so you can expect more seascapes in next couple of Wednesday photos. 🙂 Be well! See you all on Wednesday!

Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                       Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 tags: panorama, spring, road, hills, vineyard, green

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Due to work constraints didn’t really get a chance to get out this week. So spent the evening trying my hand at product photography with my model being the Mamiya film camera I was given recently. Never knew they made 35mm SLR’s until now. What’s handy is this body takes the same M42 screwmount lenses as you find on the older Pentax cameras and alot of cold war era Soviet and eastern block cameras. So I have a new past time of finding older lenses and trying to find out if they are worth buying.

Decided the grey background felt “period” so went with that. But must buy some sheets of black and white cardboard to make infinity curves. Way less editing. Must also lose my aversion to going smaller than f/8.

 Photo info: Nikon D300 with Tamron 70-300 @ 145mm 1/200s f/8 200 ISO.

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

 This is a photo from a small, rural cemetery that has become a frequent haunt of mine. The cemetery dates back to the mid-19th century.  I thought the contrast between the softness of the blossoms and the sharpness of the rusted fence wire looked interesting.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 We were walking across this bridge and I saw this “thing” looking over it’s shoulder, back towards me with smirk on its bronzed face.

Fortunately, it was doing this to everyone so I didn’t feel completely creeped out, so I took it’s picture with a familiar backdrop. Just think of the captions you could come up with this look…

Nikon D300s 17-50 f.2.8 Sigma, 50mm, 1/320 sec, f7.1, center weighted                                 

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hi everyone
My photo today is another one of Woody Point. This time of the renovated jetty, which is a favourite of people fishing. Unfortunately the beach here is not of the usual sand we are renowned for in Australia but stone. Still I like the texture

D90 Lensbaby Composer 1/800sec @ f5.6

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks to those who took the time to comment. Great pics last week.I got hired to shoot a black belt testing. It took around 7 hours and over 2200 shots. I had never shot an event like this. A lot of challenges. Mirrors on three walls and  the 4th wall was a glass storefront window. No room to move around. Very fast action and having to use flash. I ended up with 2230 great memories for all the testers. This kid was amazing. One girl was only 7yrs old that received her black belt.

Nikon D3, Nikon 24-120 VR, 55mm,1/60 SS, F/8, ISO 1000, SB 900 flash

 tag: Karate, Kid, Martial Arts

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 Finally … some rain … some mud … and a muddy goal!

 D3s+70-200VRII at 200mm, f/2.8, 1/2000s, ISO 360 (Manual, handheld)

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Last weekend was the long weekend here and I went up a bit north to enjoy hot spring and the World Heritage.  Coincidentally the Landmark theme is coming up and I will keep such photo for that week.  The one I show today was just the watch, put on the menu of the dinner – outside is still bright but it was already 6:30pm or so.  Just played with DOF with telezoom and this one turned out pretty good.  The “atomic” mark is due to the tritium used as luminescent of the hands back when the watch was made (1991 for desert storm).

D700, 28-300mm @150mm, f/5.6, 1/125s, ISO1000


Tag: hot spring, Nikko, Stocker and Yale 490

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all

Another pic from Purmamarca,Jujuyprovince

 Nikon D300 + 18-200 @18mm ISO 200 – f  5.0 – 1/1600

                  Tags:jujuy, purmamarca

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

  Upon my recent tour (May 2011) of the west coast of theUSAI was keen to see (and photograph) as many of the giant, snow capped volcanic peaks as possible.   The weather conspired against me for much of this  pursuit, however I did see 3 large volcanic peaks, Mt Jefferson (10,497 ft above sea level) in centralOregonbeing one of these.  Apart from the Southern Alps inNew ZealandI have not seen many tall mountains in my travels – or at least not at this proximity so this glimpse of Mt Jefferson was very special to me.

This photo was taken on the side of highway 97 somewhere betweenMadrasandRedmond.  I like this image because it has a linked foreground and background.  The water used to irrigate this lucerne crop originates from the snow melt on the eastern slopes of the mountain range of which Mt Jefferson is a part of.

 Hand held with my trusty D700 + AF-S 70-200 f/2.8 @ 185mm, f/9,  1/2500th sec,  ISO 400

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,                                                                                                                               Thank you very much for the kind comments on my photo last week, I really appreciate them.

This week I’ve had a go at Film Noir style of photography, I used one light positioned high and equipped with beauty dish with barn doors and 25 degrees grid to create hard shadow on the model’s face. We used some of my vintage clothing to create the glamorous 40s feel. Initially I wanted to convert the photo to B&W version, but I like the strong colour scheme, that I’ve decided to present it in colour version. I asked the model to screen her face from the light to create a shadow of her hand across her face taking care to show her eyes a little.

Have a lovely week and I look forward to your photos. 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/125s, f/5

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 These pink hibiscus flowers (I think) were struggling with the outrageously high temps here in the northeast.  They remained closed like this for a few days.  I liked the way they were seeking out the sun in their closed state.  Also, tried my hand at including my name on my photo – not a watermark but was able to use PS Elements to create a text box. To do this, I had to import the photo to PS, insert the text box,  export to my desktop, then email to Joe. Is there a way to do this straight from Aperture?  I am appreciative of some guidance with this…Gladys:)

 ISO 400, 50mm, -1ev, f/2, 1/400                                                                                                           

 Tags:  Hibiscus, pink 

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 Thank you to those who were able to comment this week! I know it’s appreciated. 🙂 My submission this week was taken on Monday morning in my sister’s watermelon patch. The bees love watermelon too! It was taken with natural light on a tripod with my Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm macro@1/90, f/8, ISO 400. Hope everyone has a good week!

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/                                                                                                                 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 My boys all played various sports growing up – baseball and cross country running being the most predominant. I started taking photos of their high school teams and provided the shots for the websites.  My youngest son played a couple of years of college ball – this is a shot from one of his games -one of my favorite things is getting shots just after release of the ball – this isn’t the most crisp/clear shot but not bad for a cannon power shot camera thru the netting and snapped based on timing vs continuous shooting.  At the end of the day, the kids and the parents all enjoy seeing the pictures and that’s the best part about it.                                                                     

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Thanks to everyone who made comments , they are greatly appreciated.

This week found me trying something completely different and new for me. I was out trying to find some bugs in one of my hunting grounds called the spillway.  I noticed these guys training their dogs to retrieve birds. I asked them if I could try and get a few shots. They were very gracious and allowed me to follow them around through the mud and muck. This is the first time I have ever tried anything like this.  All I can say is WOW, I had a blast.    Dogs, water, reflections, what more could a girl ask for !! It is amazing to watch these dogs work.  I hope I can get the opportunity to do this again.

 You can see some of the other shots at : http://birdied.zenfolio.com/p778361498/h26865f3c#h26865f3c

  D7000 with 70-300

  Tags:   Dogs, Reflections

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

My dear friends thanks a lot of your valuable comments to my post last week. I appreciated.

I was at an event last Sunday. One of Capoeira group member was performing during his turn. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/2000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67                                                                                                          

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning to everyone.  I’m anxious to see your work.

My photo this week came from one of the Graham cars but not from the one that I posted last week.  The car was beautiful and I later found out it was valued at over $250,000.  The Black and Yellow were spectacular and I’ll try to send a followup of the car on Thursday.

D90 – 1/400sec – f/4.5 – 18-200@26mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Beach at the Hamptons on Long Island                                                                                     

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Catalan Fest Guitarist”

Went to the Gloria Ferrer Catalan Festival on Saturday, 7/23/11.  Ferrer make a LOT of sparkling wine (“cava” if it’s from Spain)and a place my wife and I love going to wine taste and relax – in fact, MOST New Years Eves we spend part of the day on the beautiful outdoor patio at Ferrer toasting with their sparkling wine.

There was some excellent Flamenco dancing too but I opted for one of the guitarists.

Canon EOS 7D, 35mm, ISO 400, +1 ec , f5                                                                         

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Vivid colors at the Feast – Joseph Leotta

The Feast ofSt.Theresa, my local church was held this past week. 5 days of a 6 block long street festival right around the corner from my house.  It’s very tough on the neighborhood, It’s like a invading army comes in.  But it has its fun points – The food. There are dozens of food booths selling everything that you love to eat.

See my blog at www.leottaphoto.wordpress.com   and I guarantee that you will get hungry.

Besides the food, It’s full of vendors, rides and games.  This one is shoot the water gun in the center of the star and race your figure up a pole. 1st one to the top wins a prize.

Exercise in low light photography – Nikon D300 AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF @ 28mm  Handheld Iso 3200  1/100 sec, f/5, Auto white balance, shot raw – Noise reduction in lightroom

 

 

 More Dogs – Roberta Davidson

Joe was gracious enough to let me post another one of the dog pictures as a bonus.

The handlers used whistles and hand signals to direct the dogs.  It was something to see.  The handler would point , give the command and that is when the fun began. These dogs would go from being perfectly still to this explosive energy in a split second! They would  launch themselves into the water –  some with grace and power and others, well had a bit different technique.

Hope you enjoy !

 

 

 Yard Bugs – Rick Dohme

I’ve been chasing every bug in my yard for 3 days since I got my new lens. I didn’t know ants had hairy backs. This ant was 1/8″ long. Thanks Jeannean and Roberta for this obsession.                                                                                                                                                     
Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 150mm,1/250 SS, F/8, ISO 800 Tags: Hairy ant,

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

