Week 79, Pastel colors – August 3, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 I started to think about it and realized that pastels have a very important place, not everything needs to have hard contrasts and vivid colors.  The more I looked the more I saw pastels as an important tool.  One of the purposes of this photo group is to broaden everyone’s knowledge and use of photography – To give inspiration to others to get more diversity into their photos. I know that this is happening. This theme has already caused Ken Papai to look up pastels and send a email to all with a pastel color pallet.  He said “I have never hought in pastel before.  Now my eyes are open”.

 When we do other themes I hear complaining from some who dread the though, and then go out and produce some of the finest pictures of the week, Photos that they would not have produced if it was not for being pushed to try something different.  I know that this group has improved my and others photography tremendously.

It’s back to the beach. The lighting that day caused muted colors with a pastel sky.

Nikon D200  AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6D IF – Shot at 34 mm           1/500 sec, f/11 ISO 400, Compensation: +1/3 shot Jpeg & processed in NX2   

                                

 Tags: Orchard Beach, Pastel colors, Bromx shoreline, Joseph Leotta, Blue Sky

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

One of my favorite places to visit.. An Australian beach 🙂  This is close to Port Macquarie in NSW.

It was a rather uneventful day for photography, but the sunset colors were beautiful.

Pentax k10d + DA 40 mm Ltd., f /4.5, 1/40 sec, ISO 250, EV +0.3           

                       

 

 

 Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Last year sometime I submitted a photo from this pond of the yellow water lillies and their brown pods.  They are a beautiful pastel yellow so I thought of them again for this week’s theme.  I almost missed them, a large portion in the middle of the pond had already turned brown and ugly.  However, just looked a little closer and still found beauty!
 
Nikon D5000, 70-300 F4.5-5.6, 300mm, F/8, 1/1600s, ISO800

Tags:  Sharpshooters International, flowers, photography, nature

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning Sharpshooters!

This week has been a challenge but I think the results were worth the effort. Ken, thanks for your help and information.

When I found this little guy, I ran for my camera, stitched lenses and began to shoot.  He kept moving away from me but I kept shooting and finally got the shot I was after.  I hope you like it!

Have a great week!  Gej

D90 – 1/200sec – f/3.2 – 105mm macro – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Tripod                      

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

I had no idea what to do for my pastel shot (besides flowers) and it was my daughter who gave me this idea.  I had a lot of fun trying to figure out the best setup for a good shot…170 photos later (no kidding, I’m crazy I know) here’s the one I decided on. The only thing I changed with this shot was to flip it horizontally and then flipped it vertically. I kinda liked the effect so I left it.

Thanks for all the nice comments last week, I’m really enjoying looking at your photos and participating every week.  Off toUtah, I’ll have to look for a Landmark to shoot and share for next week!!

This photo was taken with a Canon Rebel XSi, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, ISO 400, 

                 

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

I love pastel colors, and I love using them to express fragility and innocence in portraits. As long as I have the right lighting, I will usually start my photo processing in lightroom with a blue/orange or yellow/purple split tone. This photo is my daughter, Andie. She has crazy hair about 99% of the time, and I have taken advantage of that messy mop on more than one occasion in my photography. This is a candid shot of her from April. She was looking at a book in the back seat of my car as we were waiting for her brother to finish with soccer practice. I love the softness in her skin, and the focus on the  strands of her hair that are contrasted by the darker background.

Shot with Nikon D3000 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. 1/80 @ f/4.5, ISO 400

Looking forward to everyone’s photos this week!   

                                                                   

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Going for pastel colours was a little more difficult than I expected.

Would not use PS to get the colours, so when one evening the sky and colours was what I was looking for just had to look for a foreground.

Hope I got it.   Have a nice week all.

Jens

Tags: Sunset, Pastels, Flowers

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Thanks to those who commented on last week’s thread. Well done! 🙂 I had a back up bug shot, but actually liked the way this one turned out. It’s very different for me. An abstract macro of glass. I don’t know Photoshop that well, but am trying to experiment a little more with it and this gave me the chance. I took the original photo, flipped it, and made a new layer so they were opposing views overlaying each other bringing in a symmetry I hadn’t expected (both layers were set to about 50% opacity). I added a slight diffused glow and grain, with a touch of “liquify” in the middle to finish it off. Most of the time with macro work, it’s all about the tiny details for me, but this opened my eyes to how artistic macro photography can be and brought a new perspective to explore. (D90/Tamron 60mm 2.0@1/200, f/13, ISO 400) Tags: macro, abstract, pastels

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Pastel pink Fireball Flower at the New York Botanical Gardens this past Saturday.

Nikon D200 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED at 135mm           1/25 sec, f/13, ISO 200, Compensation: +1/3  – raw >lightroom

Tags: New York Botanical Gardens, Pastel flower, pink fireball

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Monkey in a pastel colored cage

Hello all!                                                                                                                                   This was taken during my last trip to the zoo. This little guy stuck out his head in front of people that were watching. I thought it was an interesting scene.

Nikon D80, Tamron 70-300@135mm, ISO 320, f6.3, 1/50 sec.

Greetings, Filip.

                             Tags: zoo, monkey, fence, grid

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

Soft… Slow…Sunrise… Deep in theEverglades…    

                                                                 

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

Instagram: 87th Birthday taken on July 14

                                                                                                                                                                                      

 

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

For the pastel special a pair of pics, again from my last trip. The colorful mountains that surroundPurmamarcaTowninJujuyProvince

Pic 1 Nikon D300+ Nikkor 80-200 2.8 @200mm ISO 200 – f 11 – 1/500   

 Pic 2 Nikon D300+ Tamron 70-300 @300mm ISO 200 – f 9 – 1/2000        

                

Tags: purmamarca, color, mountain,jujuy

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

During my excursion weekend, I visited again the Tokyobay area and saw this “exhibition”.  Pure coincidence.  Not sure what was their “theme”, but to my eyes, I saw flowers in the sand made with pastel color paper bags.  Used a bit extensive post processing (extensive for me), changed the background B&W and Color Boosted the bags.  I am not really happy with the result – became as if the storm were coming.  Sure, it was cloudy, but not that cloudy….  But on the other hand, had the colors stand out….  I need critics and what could be done better.  The bridge should have made the pic more authoritative 🙂  Have a great week!  Ken

D700, 28-300 @28mm, f/5, 1/2500sec, ISO200

 Tag, Tokyo bay, Daiba, Beach flower

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks to all who took the time to comment. Enjoying our new members and there feed back. I got the opportunity to shoot a skim board tournament last Sat. Got lots of cool pictures. Lots of light and fast action. Some cool pastels. This was my friends son who would jump a wake and sail up to 10 feet in the air and come down on his board.

Nikon D3, Nikon 70-400 VR, 240mm, 1/1000 ss, F/13, ISO 800.                                                                      

 

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Thanks a lot for your valuable comment to my post last week. I appreciated.

Luckily I found an earlier frame for this week’s theme. A lady was passing this old, traditional Dutch house in the city. It was an instant capture that taken more then two years a go. Hope you like it.

Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,                                     Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                                                          http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Shutter Priority, f/1.8, 1/5000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67                                                                                                                                                                                                          

 

 

 Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello all,                                                                                                                                   I discovered that I do not have a lot of pastels in my life!  I had to be resourceful and create something…so, bear with me…

Thank you for the comments from last week’s submission.  Yes, Stacey, I have seen the hibiscus open up too.  I take pix of them all the time because they seem to change color moment to moment and never get enough of them.  Ken Y- it was the end of the day when I took last week’s shot.  I find that is the best time for me and my camera to work cooperatively together!  Per Christian – I am very moved by your photos last week.  There is nothing I can say; I will send my prayers though…

This is an antique teacup & saucer past on to me from my mother. I filled it with vanilla ice cream, covered it with sprinkles and waited to see what would happen…

Canon EOS 60D, ISO 400, -0.33ev, f/5.6, 1/30

Can’t wait to see everyone’s interpretation of pastels! 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Many thanks for your very kind comments on my photo last week, I will answer personally.

This week’s theme, Pastels, is my favourite theme to date, I have to say. I suddenly see pastels all around me and they are so beautiful! Very pleasing to the eye. I found many of those in the sweets isles of the supermarket and decided to use marshmallows to create my portrait for this week. I asked my make up artist Rachel to pose for me, as she has the most amazing hair colour, that looks wonderful with pastel colours, I also asked her to create a look resembling the pattern in the marshmallows. I think the picture came out well, it looks to me, like she is floating in marshmallows and silver and pink cachous 🙂 

Have a lovely week and I can’t wait to see your creations.                                  

Jana 
Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/5.6

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

I have no idea what “pastel colours” really means.  My attempt at this theme isBurwood Roadin Hawthorn during the late afternoon.  The golden silhouette is the city ofMelbourne.  So my “pastel colours” are the golden silhouette and the splashes of orange that appear elsewhere.  I will be interested to see how others have interpreted this theme.

D3s+70-200VRII at 200mm, 1/200s, ISO 360 (manual, handheld)     

                             

 

 

 Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi Everyone
Had to put my thinking cap on this week for the pastel theme and as usual most thoughts come back to my stomach :-))))
Hope you enjoy the photo as much as i did the marshmallows
D90 Tamron 17-50mm lens 1/50sec @ f4 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all. Found this week to be really challenging. Been so busy trying to learn to see in black and white so pastels threw me. Thx Ken for the colour chart. It helped.

After lots of thought I came up with the idea of the pastel nail polishes. Then ran into a problem. My usual models all have gelled nails so weren’t going to wear nail polish. Finally got one of our producers at work to model for me. It’s somewhat arty but always good to step outside your comfort zone and stretch yourself. For that I thank Joseph et al for forcing me out of my comfort zone.

Shot with Nikon D300 Tamron 70-300 VC @ 120mm 1/60s f/9 400 ISO  

                           

 

 

 Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Well I’ll be honest, I struggled a little this week. I am generally a fan of bright vivid colours so toning things down to pastels was a challenge. I was tempted to send in an old photo of another sunset with pastel pinks and purples but wanted to see what I could do.
My first photo came about through a bit of silliness in the garden. It has been beautiful weather here this week so on Sunday we decided to blow up the paddling pool, I don’t know what came over me but I allowed my daughter to hold the hose pipe. Of course she had to spray EVERYTHING! I noticed that she had managed to get some droplets on a dandelion clock which were sparkling in the sun. I wasn’t happy with the grey cement behind the dandelion so I decided a pink sparkly dandelion was 100 times better than a normal sparkly dandelion.
This was taken with my little p&s camera (there is no way I am taking my dslr into range of a pre-schooler with a hosepipe!)

Canon Powershot E1, exposure 1/60,  aperature f/8.0, ISO speed 80, focal length 6.2mm

 
 My second photo wasn’t planned at all, on Monday the children again went in the paddling pool but found 2 ladybirds in there. They brought them to me and asked to put them on the towel as they had been “swimming for a long time and now want to get dry and rest”. I didn’t have the heart to tell them they were dead. Well it shows how much I know. After a couple of minutes both ladybirds began to walk across the towel and opened their wing cases to dry their wings before flying off.
I couldn’t resist taking this photo with the water droplet on its shell and when I looked at it again I realised the towel was a lovely pastel blue!

Again taken with my Canon Powershot E1, exposure 1/250 aperature f/2.7, ISO speed 80, focal length 6.2mm        

                                                                                                          

 

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Hi guys, and thanks for all the warm comments to my photos last week.

Just having returned from our summer house by the sea, I could not resist bringing a sunset photo to this fine group of photographers.  Our summer house is very close to this lighthouse inLangesund,Norway, near where the Chinese vessel “FullCity” went on shore 2 summers ago and caused a major oil spill in the archipelago.  Thanks to a large number of volunteers, the oil spill has now been cleaned up, and the site is again considered a holiday resort.

Per-Christian

Nikon D300,  Sigma 50-150@ 50mm, 1/80, f10, ISO 500

 

 

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Can’t wait to see the photos for this week, good choice of the theme but so difficult to pick a photo…This is a shot from Istanbul, Bosporus waterfront, not very compositional shot but I like the colors. My dream photo trip is a full circle tour of Black Sea, that would be a round trip crossing six countries, Turkey, Georgia, Russia, Ukraine, Romania and Bulgaria, well, maybe one day…

Technical info: Mamiya 645 Pro TL, Mamiya 80mm F/2.8 lens, Kodak Ektacrhome EPP100 (discontinued last year by Kodak)                                                                                                                                            

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

French Quarter Voodoo and Cigar Shops.

 What appealed to me here, was that this particular building reminded me more of something in Mexico rather than in the New Orleans French Quarter — just my opinion.  Well, one of the shutters is pastel, anyway. 😉

Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/8, 1/160 sec.

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone!  Thanks to all who made comments as they are greatly appreciated.   These specials do stump me!   Thanks to Joe who suggested that I had not sent in any water drops lately.

The water drops are really what sparked my interest in macro .   

I hope you enjoy this one.                                                                                                        Birdie                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

I really struggled with this “pastels” theme.   I know exactly what a palette of pastel colours should look like and really wanted to use a recently captured photograph for this week’s special theme but I was never happy with just two pastel shades in the image so I have yet again resorted to the magnificent wilderness areas of America for an image that has more pastel tones and does not require any editing or adjustment to make these colour combination appear in pastel tone shades.
This is the high desert of Southern California, captured way up on a side road off the No.15 Interstate called the Kingston Peak Road.  The photo is taken at an altitude of approx.  just under 2,000m  above sea level looking eastward over to the border with Nevada.  Due to the unseasonably heavy winter rains in this region of So Cal, the desert flora had renewed life and colour by the time we visited in May – plenty enough to contrast gently with the surrounding ochre hues of the local geology.  I particularly like the greens of the native sage bush which abound in this desert. 

Captured hand held on my D700 with AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 lens @ 30mm,  f/9,  1/1,600th sec,  ISO 400

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Well- I’m one of those who dreads the “special theme” weeks since I’m just not very creative – this shot is from Perdido Key as the sun was going down and the moon was on the rise.  I do like the soft pastel colors at dusk and there is a touch of pastel pink in the sky to add a little interest to the blues here.  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s shots this week –  I hope in the next couple of weeks I’ll be able to post some more current shots- have a couple of trips planned that should provide some photo ops and I’m looking forward to some vacation time and some spare time to use my new camera.   Thanks to those of you who commented this week- always enjoy seeing other’s perspectives of the various shots- I hope to have time soon to offer some comments as well- in the meantime can only say I’m so impressed every week by your work!  

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Toronado IPA”

Photo: Saturday, 7/30/2011 – Joe reminded me beer is pastel colored and many pastels in the bar’s background.

The Toronado is my favorite beer bar in theUSAand I’ve been going there since 1992. I can hardly wait to see how many, if not all of you photogs outdid me on pastels this week.  You guys will nail it!

Exposure: Canon EOS 7D, 16-35 2.8L lens at 16mm, ISO 400, f/20 for 5 full secs.

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

 Surreal sunset – Jeannean Ryman

Tropical storm Don was expected Friday night. Everyone was excited about the possible rain. We got a sprinkle. 😦 However, it did provide a surreal sunset. I walked outside about 8:00 pm to take the dogs for a walk and promptly went back in to grab my camera and change lenses. Everything was a glowing pink, including the ground and ME (too bad it wasn’t the blush of youth returning ;). I hurried to the canal bank to get off a couple of shots before it was too late, and managed to get about five before the light changed. This is one of them. I was shooting in “neutral” mode, so upped the vibrance and saturation a bit in post, but tried to recreate the colors as they were. Like I said, it was a surreal and beautiful sight!

(D90, Nikon 35mm 1.8@1/250, f/6.3, ISO 800) Tags: pink sunset   

                                  

 

 

 The Vacation Holiday – Jens V Frederiksen

I have had so many great holidays,  but a few years back at the Greek island Skopelos (Mama Mia, you know), was a real HOLIDAY week , good food, great weather, fine beaches, nice people and an island at a size one could cover with local transportation in a very slow pace.

That’s holiday.

All the best, Jens                                                                                                      

 

 

 My own pastel image – Gladys Millman

Moving along with the create my own pastel image theme, I filled crystal glasses with water, added a dash of sprinkles to each, placed them behind some ‘water glass’ and waited for the sun to move…

Canon EOS 60D, ISO 400, 0ev, f/8, 1/30 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

