A retrospective of each member’s 1st photo – August 5, 2011

Our photo group has now grown to 32 very talented members. 

What started as 1 person trying  to share a photo a week with friends via email, has grown into a wonderful and very talented group of photographers. 

I had discovered that by sharing my photos with other I was pushing myself to do better.  I was sharing photos elsewhere but that did not work out. I decided to start sending a photo to a few friends each week by email.  Luckly Jeannean, Roberta and Per-Christian were on the list. After 2 weeks something magical happened – without asking they each sent me a photo to include for the 3rd week.  The email now went out with several photos in it and word spread to other friends that we all had who were photographers.

We just grew from there. Later came this website and then a facebook page.

In this retrospective of each members 1st photo that they submitted, you can see when they joined the group and how long they have been in it.  We grew very qickly and the core has been with us almost since the beginning.  As time went on we found some very wonderful  people who joined us.  Then for the last 6 months we did not gain anybody but grew into a close knit group.  In the last month we added 5 fantastic new members.

Looking at their 1st photos it gave me the idea for this retrospective.

Hope this brings back wonderful memories.

Week 1 – Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Feb 3 2010

This isBrooklyn – To be a little more specific,Coney Island.

Still no time to get out and shoot these days, and this past weekend I was feeling sick and didn’t fee like going out into the brutal cold weather the NY area was having. This one was from a few weeks ago while I was inBrooklynfor a business appointment. Stopped atConey Island’s Nathan’s for Hot Dogs and took a short walk on the boardwalk at Twilight.

I have spent the last week getting everything I need to process B&W film again and picked up a total of 20 rolls of Tri-x and Plus-x.  I’m really looking forward to this. (Hope I can still load film onto a stainless steel reel)

 Nikon D300  AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 Shot at 24 mm  Program AE, 1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 250                                                           

 

 Week 3 – Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

I am still trying for the water drops.  Can be frustrating at times, but fun.

D300 60mm f/3.5 shutter 1/250  SB600 off camera                                                                

 

 Week 3 – Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Winter, Snow and minus 10 degrees Celsius.  Not shot at the North Pole, but inHamar,Norway

D300, SIgma  150-500@ 220mm handheld   1/640 f8 ISO200

 

 Week 3 – Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Before the bug made it’s entrance and distracted me, I was working on DOF, off camera flash, composition, and getting the right exposure in water drops reflecting a flower.  I have a long way to go, but I guess this is not too bad for a beginner. I vow to practice everytime we have dew or rain (and I have time!). 🙂 

 

 Week 4 – Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 This is my first entry here. Hope NOT to lower the level of the masterpieces too much. First off, let me introduce myself. I was a camera kid when I was in high school with Canon AE-1 (very nice camera…), but as I grew up, I kinda lost it as other stuff got more priority in life. As I grew old enough and have sufficient time and some cash (particularly after I lost my wife to cancer a few years ago with no kids to take care of), I decided to re-start this hobby. Still learning a lot and my photos are at the very beginner or tourists level, but I want to make it better by taking lots of photos every weekend and learning from yours. Oh, and check out my self portrait on My page on PN – I had two surgeries on my neck in the past 2 years. That was yet another bummer in life, but again this hobby is helping my physical therapy by making me carry a heavy bag and walk for a long time every weekend. I guess I am doing okay 🙂

I was inTokyofor the past two weeks to coincide the first anniversary of my father’s passing away. There was family/relative gathering in the western part ofJapanwhere our family cemetery is. I took a bunch of those photos but may not be interesting for you. It’s been bad weather 2-week, but the last day was relatively nice and I took a stroll around my place in Tokyo and found a very nice, although tiny, garden adjacent to an art museum nearby. It is in the middle ofTokyo and surrounded by busy street and elevatedMetropolitan Highway- but you would forget it is as it is so calm inside. Very well maintained (of course, because it is not free – you pay $2 admission to enter the garden!) and the Prunus Mume is wonderful at this time. So, I hope my photo can convey the beauty of it. See you next week!

 By D700, 17-35 f2.8 @35mm, f3.2, A-mode, 1/125sec, ISO200, used NX2 for some enhancement and cropping.                                                                                                       

 

 

Week 4 -Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 Getting the boot! And this all happened because the bird on the left didn’t paint the nest. But these birds are an item so they quickly settled their differences, and best of all – they don’t have to worry about falling off ladders.

 Taken last year.                                                                                                                      

Nikon D300   Lens: AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6G                                        Settings: 300 mm, 1/2000 sec, f/5.6 and ISO 560 (Manual, hand held, VR off)

 

 Week 5 – Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

I have been cheating this week a little, as my son has been very sick for the past few days and I had no chance to photograph anything. This photo has been taken in my studio, Indigo (the girl on the photo) is wonderful at posing, you wouldn’t know she is only 13. 

Now a little about myself. I come fromCzechRepublic, I lived inLondonfor 6 years, where I’ve met my husband Tim, we moved toAustralia5 years ago and had our son Sebastian here. I have struggled with the move greatly and being fromEastern Europe, where we are very close to our families, I found myself feeling very lonely and homesick. That’s when photography bug kicked in, and even I don’t like to admit this to everybody, I will write it here, I have started to photograph at the end of 2008, but I completely immersed myself in it and practiced and practiced, and took private tuitions with a wonderful photographer from Brisbane, I went on photography course, where I’ve met my friend Grant Tanner (you might know him from Nikon Wednesday) and with Grant we went on many photography outings and practiced together. The professional photographer, I had tuitions with, suggested, that I start photography as a business, that I am doing well. So I did, I upgraded my D60 with 2 kit lenses to D700 and 3 wonderful lenses and suddenly, out of the blue the jobs started coming my way. I am well and truly over my “lonely mother at home” feeling, all thanks to my love of photography. The feeling of being worthless, as I had no salary, no recognition for years, is gone now and I love being able to tell people about my venture. I owe my happiness to my son and to photography. 

 I look forward to all your photos. I feel privileged to be part of the group of excellent photographers, it is an honour. Thank you to all of you for such warm welcome. Thank you Joe for organizing this showcase of talents.     Regards, Jana Hughes

 

 

Week 5 – Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Thank you for the invitation!

It’s been a cold and not so nice week.  I’m sending you a picture I took in September when it was warm and beautiful.

Forty years before the word cowboy came into existence in the United States, native Hawaiians, tutored by Vaqueros from Mexicoand Spain, were riding and roping pipi ahiu on the Islandof Hawai’i. As KumuHulaJohnLakeso aptly put it in his narration of Edgy Lee’s film “Paniolo O Hawaii”, “In Hawaii, the Indians were the Cowboys.”http://www.knudsentrust.org/wellington-ranch2.html

While riding aroundKauai I spotted this on top of the gate to the Rocking W Ranch.  Later I Googled the Rocking W Ranch and what showed up was a picture of the entrance before the artwork was added.  It’s been there for a number of years.  Time and the elements have taken a toll on the artwork but I think it still looks pretty good with the clouds and blue sky behind it.                                                                                              

 

 

 Week 5 – Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I am very much a beginner at photography. I had a Kodak Z7590 that I got in 2005 as my first digital camera. It took awhile to actually delete a bad photo, but once I realized how wonderful it was to be able to do so, and to preview immediately, I fell in love. Then I began to wish I could zoom farther for grandkids ballgames, and just to catch those grandkids quicker, and I began to think of a dslr.

I bought a Nikon D5000 in November 2009 with two kit lens. I have really been struggling with it. When I go out to take a picture, I just can’t seem to ever know which settings to start with for whatever the current lighting conditions. I still have some problems with focus, also. My photos always seem to be overexposed or underexposed. Hopefully, I’m making a little progress, but I have seriously thought that maybe I should go back to a point and shoot.

Anyway, I strictly take photographs for my own enjoyment. My camera is for grandkids, birthday parties, vacation, and my own enjoyment.

These were the first visiting geese I’ve been able to see this winter. If my dog had stayed at home, I might could have taken some photos while they were still swimming  Thanks                                                                                                                                           

 

 

 Week 6 – Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Shot from the Larkspur commuter ferry out ofSan Francisco.

Canon EOS 7D, 85mm 1.8 lens.

ISO 200, 1/1000, f/18 into the setting sun making the clouds  spectacular over theGolden Gate

 

 

 

 Week 6 – Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

I am sending a photo of what many of you will think is a bike part but in actual fact it was a part of a fence I found inAdelaidewhile there on a conference last week. The fence was very interesting and as you can probably guess it was made up completely of bicycles. Very unusual. It was in the heart of the city on the banks of the river and surrounded a stage for a music festival they are having at the moment. I am not sure whether it is a permanent structure but it was very well put together and stood 2 bikes high, with bikes in all different positions. I have another conference inAdelaideat the end of March and will be checking to see if the fence is still there.

About myself. I am 48 years old, worked for Shell Oil Company for 14 years after leaving school and then left to join my father’s hardware and building supply company where I have been for 16 years now. I am also the director and part owner of a fastener company. I live inBrisbaneAustralia; have a wife and 3 children. My hobbies are photography and coin collecting. I am a keen sports lover and play darts these days but also have played cricket, squash, tennis, soccer. This is why I enjoyed Greg’s cricket photos of his son’s cricket team.

I had loved looking at photography magazines for years and decided in November 2008 that the time was right to buy a DSLR and in February 2009 I went to a photography course where I met Jana Hughes as she has mentioned. We became instant friends and pushed each other along at photography. At this stage I have not decided what type of photography appeals to me the most but am trying to learn more all the time until I decide.

 

 

 

Week 7 – Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Let me start by short introduction. I’m in this photo game for about 6 years, but only three years actively. My favorites are landscapes and cityscapes.I’m shooting mostly with digital (Nikon D80), but I do shoot negatives and slides both in 35mm and MF. I also play with pinhole cameras. 🙂 I hope this will be beginning of a friendship with people all over the world. I live in small town in northern Croatiacalled Cakovec.  
Now, about my photo. I’ve named it “Sunrise over Drava river”. 
It’s a HDR created from 6 photos. Equipment was Nikon D80, Sigma 10-20@11mm, f11, exposures were 3, 1.6, 1/1.3, 1/4 1/8 and 1/15 seconds. I did played with it in Capture NX as well. It was shot last Sunday at 06:30 AM. I usually don’t get up so early on weekends, but I was invited by friends  and I thought it would be nice to change time of day that I usually take photos. (Day and evening) 🙂 

Pozdrav, Filip. 

 
 

 

Week 7 – Jim Fredriksson – Long Island, New York

Jim has been on the distribution list and receiving the photo of the week email since the beginning. Jim is a avid photographer who in the past worked for a pro studio for a while. The Wednesday email has gotten his photographic juices flowing. Perhaps with a little encouragement, Jim can be talked into becoming a weekly member.

Nikon Coolpix 5100 f/6.1                                                                                                         

 

 

 Week 8  – Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

I am back on line now and here is my first contribution to your initiative. I took this shot in a flea market using a Holga camera and a Lomo B&W film. My location isRomaniaas you might already know.
Regards                                                                                                                                      

 

 

Week 8 – Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

San IsidroCathedral

Every Friday I take part in a Photography Workshop. Our theme now is to picture our hometown 

San Isidro (part of North Greater Buenos Aires). We are planning an exhibition for july (if we get a bunch of decent pics) Last week I focus in the Cathedral and specifically on the hanging Christ over the transept. To try to see it from different angles.  This is one of the pics. I will rework this idea with different focals since Christ seems too small in this one to my liking.                                                                                

 

 

 Week 9 – Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Hello to all. Thanks for letting me join in on this thread. Last week I got to go with my wife’s first grade class toBuschGardensin Tampa Fl. We went on kind of a behind the scenes guided tour. I went for the sole purpose of getting some cool pics of her class and the animals. Well I got alot of both. The kids were great models. Its funny how we just love to have our pictures taken when we are young. Seems everyone over 16 runs from my camera. I have to use my 400mm lens to catch the older folks. The animals also were not shy of the camera. I caught these two elephants doing the love thing. Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400 VR, 175mm, F/10, 1/400sec, ISO 320

 

 

Week 9 – Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is my maiden contribution to your photo of the week email.

This is a photo taken last Friday with beatiful mid morning light and a decent sky to show of this historic building.  The photo is taken with my D700 and my Nikkor 16mm f/3.5 fisheye lens.  I like using my fisheye lens to capture very long buildings like this old stables complex – at the distance i keep with this combination, the distortion of the frame is acceptable to my liking.  These stables are at Mount Hesse Station which is a 6,800 acre sheep (wool) property where I maintain the gardens and grounds every Friday.  These stables were built by hand in 1849 out of local basalt rock found on the property.   Horses were used extensively to move the sheep on the property until the early 1980’s where two wheeled and 4 wheeled motor cycles have now taken over this role.  The stables are now largely defunct, however, the current management maintains the stables in a reasonable condition. 

Cheers, Matthew.

 

 

 Week 10 – Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

My photo from this week is from my job.

Have worked all the holidays had to take the camera with me. This is from an old farm (I work at an open air museum) and I like the dept, Coming from the line of rooms and the sun shining into them.

Have a nice week all.  

Jens

 

 

 

Week 12 – Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 I’ve been into photography for 15 years now, first with 35mm, then 6×6 and then digital. I prefer landscapes over anything else – don’t know why – and you’ll rarely see a human in any of my shots. I love to travel and look for opportunities to capture the local environment in ways to get others to appreciate and look at the world around them. For example, attached is a picture of a tea field in MalaysiaI took while on a business trip. It was taken with a point and shoot Canon PowerShot S70 in raw format. I normally shoot with my old D100 but the Canon fits in my pocket so I don’t miss an opportunity like the one attached. Here is the data:
Thanks much, Don
Canon PowerShot S70 55mm 1/500 sec, f/11 ISO 200                                                         

 

 

 Week 12 – Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Hi All,
I’m Suriname based photographer Ertugrul Kilic. This is my first post for Dear Joseph’s excellent idea.
I was waiting for reflection of cloudy sky on muddy river bed during low-tide at edge of Suriname River in Paramaribo, Suriname South America. Luckily added one bird to my early scene. Captured with Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, at 18mm, f/6.3, 1/320sec, ISO100, Exposure Bias Value -0.67.

Hope you like it. Thanks for stopping by and many cheers to you all. Regards,

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/                                                                                               

 

 

Week 12 – Joseph Leotta, Junior – Burlington, Vermont

Last year my son wanted a decent camera. I came across a D100 in excellent shape for $200.00 and put one of my spare lenses on it.  He is finally starting to use it.

 He took this one last week inBurlingtonatLake Champlain. He is up inBurlingtongoing to college at The University of Vermont and Graduates in a few weeks.

 

 

 

Week 13 – Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

How’s my pedicure look?

This was shot at the San Diego zoo, a couple of minutes before the tremor on April 4th.  I was actually so engrossed with getting a shot of one of the flamingoes, that when the tremor hit, I thought somebody had jostled me J. The flamingoes went crazy, dashing madly back and forth in their enclosure, and making enough of a racket to wake the dead.

Pentax k20d, DA 55-300, at 108mm, F/8, 1/1250 sec., ISO 640 and +0.7 EV.

 Thanks again,                                                                                                                    Haig

 

 

 

 Week 25 – Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

I am a friend of Jim’s from way back when.  jim has been kind enough to invite me in on your photo-sharing.  What I lack in talent, I gain in enjoying the   process. There are two versions of a shot I took in NYC a few weeks ago as a quick storm was rolling in.  I looked and saw a ‘window’ to heaven and shot it with my Nikon Coolpix S8000.  I later worked on it iPhoto to see what I could create.  I must admit a friend had some input on one of them. 

Thanks, Gladys

 

 

 

Week 31 – Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

As for the picture I sent…  I typically carry one of two small canon camera’s in my pocket a canon SD 880 LS 10 MP and a SD 900 10 MP and I have a Canon 7D with multiple lens;  all three camera’s take great pictures.  This picture was taken by the 880 and was taken at sun set. We had just put the anchor down and were getting set to spend the night near the island inPenobscott BayMaine. We were out about 12 miles from the nearest town and the sun set was beautiful as they often tend to be over the water.                                                                                                                                  

 

 

 Week 32 – Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Hi. AsJoetold you, I am originally fromNew Orleans, my heart is still there, and I will be too, if I get my way.New Orleansis my favorite subject to photograph, and you will see a lot of that from me.

 I started as a fine art painter in the late 1960’s (while having a real job, of course), and painted over 35 years, easing into photography along the way. Now, it’s just photography, with some painting work that I still must do (one day). I like to present subjects in a way that most people don’t see them, encouraging a another look.

 My primary equipment is a D200, with various Nikon lenses, and a Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ10 and FZ28 as backup cameras. [If Nikon doesn’t soon come out with a decent replacement for the D300, I might switch to Canon 😉 ]. My interest is in landscapes, cityscapes, and documentary of the humorous and unexpected. On occasion, I might do a few macros or close-ups (desperation). My objective is to be as good as all of the other photographers I see.

 This image is of the French Quarter in the evening. It is at f/5, 1/30 sec., ISO 800, hand-held. I usually shoot RAW, and do a little adjustment in Photoshop.

 

 

 

Week 43 – Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

I’m an American teacher living and working in Jhubei City, Taiwan.  I first got into photography after deciding to move overseas and bought a Nikon D5000 and 18-55mm kit lens as a result.  I now use the 18-55, a Nikkor 70-300 and a Nikkor prime 35mm f/1.8.  My website is located at http://joshintaiwan.com and I’m on Flickr at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jfahler

This photo is an HDR of the East Gate of Hsinchu City, Taiwan.  The city wall was first built in 1827 by the Qing Dynasty to protect the city’s Chinese settlers.  The Japanese colonizers destroyed much of the complex, leaving only this gate when they reconstructed the city.  

I chose this framing because of the obvious Westernization and change just behind it.  Interestingly enough, it is also a spot for young Taiwanese to hang out and even practice hip-hop dancing.  

 

 

 

 Week 52 – Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Thnx for the warm welcome and instructions- I’m a little behind the game tonite as I’ve been out of town and just arrived home a bit ago- not quite with the program yet.    I’m attaching a photo from a trip I took out west a couple of years ago- a lot of photo’s will be from prev trips as I’ve not had a lot of time recently to get out and take some new shots- I’m a little intimidated by the great shots I’ve seen from everyone else but will give it a go…

This shot is fromUtah-CanyonlandsNational Parkin theIslandin the Sky section – we traveled up this road to the top of the canyon eventually –  I really love it out west- the wide open spaces and the sense of stepping into another time and place.    I’m using a simple Canon Power Shot right now. 

Sandi                                                                                                                                          

 

 

 Week 74 – Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all. This is my 1st time submitting and I’m both really honored that Jana invited me, and feeling a little overwhelmed by the quality I see here. Going to really have to stretch myself to come close to the group standard.
For my 1st submission this is from a boudoir shoot I did recently. 1st time I managed the short DOF look I’ve been going for.

Wayne E.

Photo taken with a Nikon D300 50mm f/1.8D @ f/2 160s 200ISO                                    

 

 

 Week 75 – David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

I’m about 10 years into my interest in photography, but I’ve only been pursuing it on a regular basis for the past year or so. For my first submission I chose a recent shot of a hummingbird that I photographed outside my living room window one afternoon shortly after a rainstorm.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35,  auto setting: Close-up/Flower

 

 

 

 Week 77 – Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

My son races motocross and I love all the colors of the bikes and clothes.  This was a perfect sunny day to grab those colors.  Thanks for including me in this group, I’m so excited to be a part of it.  I love looking at all the different photos.  And I welcome any comments.
This photo was taken at Winchester Speedpark inWinchester,New Hampshire.

Shot with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, 20 mm, Auto exposure, Action (High speed), 1/790 sec, f/10, ISO 400                                           

 

 

 Week 77 – Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This photo was taken towards the end of a recent family holiday on 20th June 2011. We drove from our home in Coventry, England, through Franceand down to Lake Garda in Italy. This photo was taken on our return journey at a campsite on Lac de Chalain.
I have two young shildren (3 and 4) so rarely have the time to sit for any extended period of time, this evening I was able to sit for about an hour and watch the sun set. I’m glad I did as it was a spectacular sight, the lake turned from the deep blue of day to a molten silver then through golden and red tones and finally ending with a bright purple.
This photo was taken after the sun had dipped behind the hills and the clouds began to take on a dramatic purpley-red tone.
 
I look forward to seeing the weekly emails,
 Emma                                                                                                                                       

 

 

 Week 78 – Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

One thing I love about springtime inTexasis all the amazing wildflowers. They are long gone now with the scorching 100+ temperatures of July, so I thought I would bring back spring, even if just for a moment. This is a lone red poppy in a field of purples, blues and whites.

Shot with my back-up Nikon D3000, Sigma 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6  300mm + 1/640sec @ f/8.0                                                                                                                                      

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

 Our 1st bonus photo  was created in week 6 and inspired by Ken Papai.  The day after the 2010 academy Awards he sent me a photo of a person proudly showing off a real Oscar from years before.

 The Oscar       Ken Papai

Shot on the Golden Gate Ferry, 6:35 AM run from Larkspur to S.F., 3/8/2010.

Ferry boat deckhand “Carl” holding his partner’s father’s Oscar from 1950 – Best Animated Short.

Canon EOS 7D, 16-35 2.8L lens at 23mm, ISO 1600, Av (aperture priority) move, 1/25 at f/4.                                                                                                                                         

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

