Week 80 – August 10,2011

On most photos you can click once and then again to view larger version.

 

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Just got to love The New York Botanical Gardens.

 I’ve been spending a lot of time there, especially with free Saturday’s.  Let’s just put this into a picture is worth a thousand words category.

 I would love to take a walk thru here with Roberta and Jeannean and their macro gear

 Nikon D300 – AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @ 135mm  1/320 sec, f/9, ISO 250

 Tags: Monarch Butterfly, New York Botanical Gardens, Joseph Leotta Photography

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

 Good Morning Sharpshooters!

When you’re reading this I expect to be in the air somewhere betweenSan FranciscoandSydney,Australia.  To my Aussie friends, if you see me, smile and say hello.  Or as Matthew says, ‘G’Day M8!!’.  I’m really looking forward to our adventure and hope to take hundreds of photos.

Today I’ve posted a photo of the 13th fairway on Spruce Run at the Grand Traverse Resort inTraverse City,Michigan.  I was playing in an outing and while moving to our finishing hole, I looked to my left and saw this.  I grabbed my camera and very carefully squeezed off three bracketed shots.  This is the result.  I have already printed one that is now framed and hanging in my playing partner’s home.  Hope you like it as much as she did.

 Have a wonderful week! – G’Day M8s.

D90 – 1/20sec – f/4.5 – 18-200@60mm ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – Handheld – CS5 HDR

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 I was lucky enough to get to spend a weekend at a friend’s cottage in the Muskokas, inOntarioCanada. This was taken onMuldrewLake, in the wee hours of the morning just before sunrise.

The surface of the lake was like glass, and it was so quiet and peaceful.

Handheld  Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 55mm, f/11, 1/20 sec, ISO 200, – 0.3 EV.

   Tags:  Muskoka, Muldrew lake,Ontario.

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Another week has rushed by, and it is now time to post a self portrait.  🙂 🙂  Maybe not what you ordinarily would call a self portrait, but the shadow is me, and the photo is taken by me!

Nikon D300, Nikkor 18-70mm @46 mm,  ISO 200, 1/250 @ f6.3,  some manipulations in Lightroom. 

Per-Christian

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

I’ll start out by saying I’m a huge Harry Potter fan – I’ve read all the books too many times to remember, seen all the movies just as many times and attended the most recent mid-night showing of the last movie (which I loved). This week, me and my girlfriend are on vacation and visited the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios inOrlando,Florida. The place is incredible. I loved every second that we were there. We had lunch in the 3 Broomsticks (a wizard pub), got chocolate frogs & Bertie Botts Every Flavor jelly beans from Honeydukes Candy Shop (literally, I had vomit, bogey, and bad egg flavored ones), visited Ollivanders Wand Shop, enjoyed an absolutely amazing glass of butterbeer and got to experience Hogwarts castle in all it’s glory. This is a shot of the castle. You’re greeted with this views as you turn a corner right past Ollivanders wand shop. If you are a fan at all, I highly recommend you making a trip here. I know I can’t wait to come back, whenever that may be.                                                                                                                                                             

   

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Just to show another dedicated photographer.

From a pantomime, well from my job again, sorry, Spend too much time there

Have a nice week all.

Jens

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“PrimevalForest”

The location is high above Muir Woods, featured in the new “Planet of the Apes – Rise of…”movie. Went hiking with my wife Saturday morning in the usual summer fog – one trail was closed for repair (all year) so we rerouted and climbed the Ben Johnson Trail out of Muir Woods.  We got to the top near Cardiac Hill and took the Dipsea Tr. back to the car park of this spectacular National Monument.

Canon EOS 7D, 16-35 2.8L lens at 16mm, ISO 400, -1/3 EC, f/3.2

Such a wide aperture was a mistake on my part, but it worked – a little post-processing of the raw file, not much and a photo I love and will print and frame.

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is not the greatest of shots but I was so excited to see these 3 fawns in my backyard that I did not take time to check camera settings or anything. I was afraid they would take off before I could get off any shots.  We have woods behind our house and it’s not unusual to see deer down behind our fence- and though I know they probably do wander inside the fence when we are not around, I’ve never actually seen them this close to the house.  My husband was just about to step out and start the grill when I glanced out the window and saw 1 fawn very close to the deck. I grabbed my camera and stepped out on the deck as quietly as possible – just started to take a shot when a 2nd fawn wandered into view and then a 3rd-  really cool!!   Unfortunately, they had their backs to me most of the time and as mentioned I never really thought about my settings so this is the best I can offer.   I’m hoping they will make a return visit and maybe I’ll be better prepared next time! 

 

 

 

 Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

I’ve not been overly impressed with most of my photos this week and there have been some I’m umming and aahing over, I may include them in future weeks.
This week I’m using a photo I took back in March at Twyford Zoo, I got quite a few photos that day which I liked but I’m choosing this one to submit, simply because the joy seeing pink flamingos brought to my daughter. She’s 3 (well, was 2 then) and like most girls of that age adores anything pink.
I hope you’ve all had a good week x
 
Camera: Canon EOS 350D Exposure: 1/500 Aperture: f/11.0 ISO Speed: 250 Focal Length: 200mm

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

Just some clouds that I thought were interesting. I fifn’t have to go far — just out of my front door. Maybe I should have had this one last week.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, F/11, 1/60 sec.                                                                                               

 

 

 David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to comment on my past contributions to Sharpshooters International. I feel lucky to be among such a talented group of people.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

This is ‘Mysterious Message’ (barn name – Max) at 2 weeks old.  My daughter and I spent almost 3 weeks living at the barn to see the birth of this little guy but he had other plans! It wasn’t until after we had to leave for a planned vacation that he came into the world.  Of course, I shot a ‘zillion’ photos of him but this one is my favorite.  I caught him catnapping in the middle of the day in the sun. 

Again, thanks for your compliments on my photos, I am REALLY enjoying the great photos everyone has been submitting.

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Portrait, 1/664 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

 Joe’s nostalgia week photos prompted me to send this photo of a Blue Heron flying.  My photo in that week was of geese landing!  My thanks to everyone who commented on my pastel flower, I appreciate it.  I finished comments on about half the photos and haven’t yet had time to finish them.  Maybe I can do so before Wednesday.

 Nikon D5000, 220mm, 1/1000s, F/7.1, ISO 1600 ( I think I must have forgotten to change it.)

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Hi all.

Thank you so much for your comments on my pastel photo last week.  I am encouraged 🙂 Here is the shot of one the standing Guards at the entrance gate of Asakusa temple – the famous tourists spot.  It was a very nice weather (read: HOT!), but the turn out was great as usual.  I tried to focus on the eye through the wire fence and I hope you feel the “power (?)” of this guard.

D700, 28-300 @190mm, 1/50s, f/5.6, ISO800 (Auto)

 

Tag: Asakusa, Tokyo, Senso-ji

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 Thought this week I’d submit a pic taken by the Mamiya I recently acquired. The memorial in the photo is one that commemorates all those who died in the Anglo-Boer wars. I’ll let you goggle to find out more.

As for the photo it was taken a little before sunset but sadly the scan from the lab is really not that great. Going to have to save for a decent scanner. Will have to find more interesting subjects for future photos.

 Shot with a Mamiya MSX 500 with Osawa 28 f/2.8 with polariser and Fuji Velvia slide film

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 Thank you to those who found time to comment on last weeks Pastel theme. I really enjoyed seeing everyone’s photos. I’m sending in my original pastel theme photo from last week for this week (it was my bug back-up shot I mentioned last week). This is definitely more what I’m used to photographing. I found a nice model in my garage that stuck around for a couple of days, but alas, it got a better gig somewhere else. He’s a young mantis (body length and development), so I can’t blame him. Luckily, I have all of you to share different places with me! 🙂

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 (Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm 2.8 macro@1/125, f/8, ISO 400) Click once and then again to view larger version.

 Tags: mantis, mantid, pastel, hybrid hydrangea

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Spending my spare time working with my new macro lens. Really hard to focus when your only 4 inches away and hand holding. My camera is very heavy.:( Liked this little guys antennas. Thanks for the nice comments this past week. Great pastels from everyone!!.

 Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 1/60 sec, F/8, 800 ISO, SB 900 Flash.

 

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This shot was taken at a rest stop during our roadtrip fromPhnom Penhto Siem Reap while inCambodia. This rest stop consisted of a small restaurant and a food stand under a thatched roof of palm leaves. I noticed this girl and another woman who had what look like cucumbers on their face – I’m guessing to keep the moisture during the hot afternoon. I decided to forgo posting it (you can see it on my Facebook album) but I also took a picture of a big bowl of fried spiders for sale. Tasty. 

This shot was taken with f/4.5 and the 70-300 at 70mm. I would’ve used my 35mm f/1.8, but had to get back on the bus soon. ISO was 400 and since I only shoot in RAW, I took this one and all of the trip’s shots in RAW. It’s worth it, as this shot was underexposed, but able to be salvaged with shadows.  

 If anyone gets a chance to visitCambodia, I’ll say go for it – but expect the unpredictable. 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

 We went toVersailleswhile inParisa couple of weeks ago and probably went on the worst possible day – Saturday. The day after we were there, the attendance was almost 30,000 people. Anyway, my picture for the week is a hall, somewhere early in the tour of the palace. The entire place is a photo opp. Again, thanks to Joe for putting up with all of us and our goofy schedules, and for working so hard in putting a quality group together.

 Nikon D300S, Sigma 17-50mm f2.8, 17mm, f4.5, 1/80 sec, center weighted

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hi everyone
This weeks photo is a simple flower on what is pretty much a dormant tree in the middle of winter. The twisted, thorny branches make this shot interesting

D90 Lensbaby Composer 1/640sec @ f5.6

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

 Hello Everybody,  Thank you very much to all of you, who commented on my photo last week, I really appreciate your time and effort you put into this.

For my photo this week I chose a picture from my mega photo session I did recently, I had 7 girls from my dance group booked for Film Noir style (there were 2 other photographers covering different styles, one bathtub and another one steampunk photos). The conditions were difficult, as I had a tiny space set up as a studio, I did my best to block off the daylight (with mixed results), so I had to improvise a lot. I used one light with honeycomb and barn doors and I had a lovely fireplace with some pictures and lamps as a setting. Despite the difficulties I had to overcome, I had the most fun in ages. I chose a photo of Natasha, she is one of my dance friends and also teaches me aerials (acrobatics in the air on silks and lyra), hence we have a special bond. I loved the pose she adopted for this photo and the result is lovely. I hope you like it. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to seeing your photos. 

Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/125s

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!
I’m on a vacation on on a small island in Adriatic sea, here in Croatia. Because it is so small, only way of internet connection is available trough gsm mobile connections. And all you that remember 14.4K modems… Yea, it’s often not faster than that.   Before I write a word or two about my photo let me tell you that living on the edge will bring you over the edge, eventually… 
What I’m talking about, you’re probably wondering.   Well, yesterday evening I went on the remote west part of island to photograph sunset over large rocks with waves crashing on them. But, I wasn’t careful enough and one rather large wave hit my camera, splashing it properly. And first signs were not good. My beloved wide angle sigma lens was stuck at f95!! and I couldn’t change apertures, and so…
I’ve packed back home, put some silica over the camera and when I came home I discovered that it was Sigma that was making camera go berserk, and with any other lens camera worked normally. Next step was to put the lens in to a plastic bag with some toilet paper, seal it and leave it in that over night in hope that water that got in the lens will evaporate and will be absorbed by toilet paper. To my surprise it worked!   Only problem now is that the green led marking that camera is writing on the memory card is constantly blinking in interval of about 10 seconds when I take first shot after camera is turned on. Stay tuned for news on how this will evolve. 

OK let’s talk about my photo now. I took this two evenings ago, and combined two exposures in to one in post processing. One darker for sky, one lighter for sea, and blended two layers to create, I hope pleasing seascape.

And last, but not least, thank you all, for your comments! I’m sorry I can’t respond to all of you personally, but I appreciate any comment me or the whole group receives. 
Greetings, Filip.                                                                                                                                        

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hello everyone.  What a great week last week, wonderful submissions from all !!!

 I have been trying to get a bee in flight (BIF) for  quite some time. Those little suckers are fast and very unpredictable !

 Have a great week everyone.

 Birdie

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello all

Thanks to all that have commented on the photos.

Here a water faucet in a small train station outsideBuenos Aires

Nikon D300 + 18-200 @ 56 mm ISO 500 – f 5.6 – 1/1000

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

 This week is a head shot of my daughter.  I was playing around with a new 50mm/1.4 fixed lens.  I like the capture of her candid pose and wildly wavy hair after she cut it short. It was unexceptionally bright day so dealing with the sun was very challenging.

 Canon 60D, ISO 100, 50mm, -1.67ev, f/1.4, 1/1250 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 My parents (now semi-retired) live on a small farm on the GoulburnRiverin Victoria Australia.  Inside thier farm is part of the old river bed before it was re-cut when a large irrigation dam was built upstream.  So there are many remnant lagoons and ox bow lakes on my parent’s farm which fill with ground water in wetter seasons, providing great sheets of dark reflective water.  I took the opportunity to capture some low angle sun one evening upon my recent visit. 

This image is straight from the camera with only a touch of sharpening added to the reeds in the water on the lower right of frame.  I managed to get a nice star burst effect to the sun by closing the aperture to f/16 and placing the fork of the tree in line with the sun to reduce it’s intensity. 

Taken with my D700 + AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8  @ 82mm,  f/16,  1/125th sec,  ISO 800  with active D lighting set to ‘Normal’

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

 The photo I chose for this week is the leftovers at the edge of a hayfield that had just been plowed. I really love backlit sunset nature photography, and I would really like some critique on this week’s photo. As I am in school getting my BA in Photography now, I’m constantly learning new things. I’ve been shooting backlit scenes like this longer than I have been in school. In my last class, the professor prohibited backlit photography, and when I asked him why, he explained that it was too difficult a technique to master as an amateur, and he didn’t want the class to turn in to “how to properly take backlit photographs.” I really like the feeling of backlit nature photography, particularly when the sunset is the lighting. The sky does tend to get overexposed, but I hesitate to use any kind of filtering to make it appear more blue. So…what do you think? Does the bright sky take away from the focal point of the photo? Does anyone have tips on how to improve shooting scenes like this?

Thank you for honest critique, and I can’t wait to see everyone’s photos this week! 

Stacy

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

 Thanks a lot for your unbeatable words to my post for pastel theme last week, I appreciated.

9th of August is World Indigenous Day. Native Surinamese are Indians as usual and they lost their lands during English and Dutch colonizations. Suriname Government announced  International Indigenous Day as one of national days few years ago.
There was a holy Tamusji Ceremony ( AKA face washing locally ) today. It’s preparation starts before sun rise. Native Surinamese Indian Chief was waiting one of speech during the ceremony. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/60sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 This is a deliberate re-send of a shot that I took in November 2008.  Even though the earlier version was “technically” more correct in terms of exposure, this “slightly over exposed” rendition of the subject is a more accurate presentation of how I actually remember “seeing” the Kookaburra.

Nikon D200 + 70-300 VR at 300 mm, f/6.3, 1/640 s, ISO 110 (manual, handheld).

 

Guest submission 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Westbrook,CT.  Start of the second race of the evening in the Duck Island Yacht Club Captain’s series.

Shot with my Motorola Droid X2 cell phone camera.   One of these days I would like to go back to a “real” camera.  I used to shoot with a Cannon A1 and miss the abilities and features of a real camera.  

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

You can see for milesJoseph Leotta

 The last time I was up inVermont, we had the best sky day for taking pictures that I’ve seen in a long time.  Every once in a while I have to sneak one in.

 This one was taken inDoverVermont, near the top ofCooper Hill Road. From up there you can see for miles.Vermontis called theGreenMountainStatefor a reason.

 Nikon D300  AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF  @ 24 mm  1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 400  Circular polarizer filter on top of UV filter,  shot in Jpg                                                                                 

 

Miniature train – Haig Tchamitch

 A fully functional miniature train, and the engineer, at the base of the CN Tower inToronto.

They use it to give rides to kids and adults around the yard with a variety of ‘retired’ locomotives on display.

 Pentax K20d + the DA16-45 @ 16mm

This entry was posted in Weekly thread. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

