Week 81 – August 17, 2011

On most photos you can click once and then again to view larger version.

 

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Coney Island Cyclone

When you talk Rollercoaster, there is nothing better than an old classic wood one. The steel giants of today are taller, steeper, faster and can invert but they can’t even come close to the old wood classics in character.  They still build some wood ones today, but the older the better. Coney Islandhas one of the grand-daddy classics of all time – The original Coney Island Cyclone.

Once one of 4 massive wood coasters there, it is the sole survivor.  Several times it looked like it was going to be torn down, but massive campaigns always saved it. It’s now safe and should be around forever as it has been declared a national landmark. It is now owned by the City ofNew Yorkwhich has made it part of the parks department and untouchable.                                                                                                                          

Had to go thru Brooklyn last Thursday and I always stop at Nathan’sConey Islandfor a Hot Dog and I snapped a few while I was there.

 http://www.lunaparknyc.com/about-us/the-cyclone.html   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coney_Island_Cyclone

D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @200mm 1/500 sec  f/11, ISO 400   

                                                                                                                                         

 Tags : Coney Island Cyclone, Coney Island, Wood rollercoaster, Famous rollercoaster 

 

An old friend is back

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

 Hello everyone. Coming back after a few months. The whole time I followed the group and from week to week, I rejoiced to your pictures. For those who do not know, my name is Davorin Mance. Living in Cakovec, a small town in northern Croatian. I mostly like to photograph landscapes. This photo I took on theDravaRiverduring sunset.

Equipment I use: Olympus E3, Olympus ED 9-18mm f/4.0-5.6, Cokin M (0.6) and S (0.9) GND filters, tripod. Exposure: 1 / 6 sec @ f/1

 

 Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

I seem to be having a thing for reflections in water recently.  This was shot on a grumpy day inPenticton.  Facing northwest onLakeOkanagan.  Originally I was thinking of submitting this for the B&W theme, but I did not like the conversion as much, so here it is:  Feeling Blue

Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 55 mm, f/6.3, 1/1000 sec, ISO 320, + 0.7 EV 

                         

 Tags:Penticton,LakeOkanagan.

 

 

 Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good Morning to all Sharpshooters!  I hope your week went well.  As you know I’m traveling and when I sent this to Joe I don’t know if I would have access to the internet or a computer.  I’m firing blind.  So here goes!

First I would like to thank Alejandro for posting the Rolls Royce Hood Ornament back in Week 44.  Because of that posting, I now look at antique cars with a different eye.  Now, I always look to see if the hood ornament is unique or has a beauty of its own.  I try to photograph any hood ornaments that appeal to me in such a way that the background doesn’t distract from the subject.  If I don’t have a choice, I try to set the aperture to something below f/8.0 and if all else fails, there is always Photoshop.

Today I have one more of the Graham Automobile Hood Ornaments.  I liked the reflected colors on this ornament.  My hope is that they appeal to you too. Again, Thank You Alejandro!

Somewhere inAustralia,                                                                                                                                          Gej

D90 – 1/500sec – 18-200@40mm – f/4.5 – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Handheld – Cropped in Photoshop                                                                                                          

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Hope you don’t mind seeing turkeys again!  There were three on the side of the highway, but I liked this one with only two in it because of the colors of the leading turkey. 
 
Nikon D5000, 280mm, F/7.1, 1/1000, ISO 200, VR- OFF    

                                                Tags Wildlife, turkeys, Sharpshooters

 

 

 Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Life can be so ironic. After recently doing a workshop where one of the focus points was posing portraits, I find myself submitting another pic where there was no posing. Well, directed posing at least.

How would you direct a dog anyways?

Think I’d call this “King of my heap”.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Nikon 18-55 f/4-5.6 VR (cheap kit lens) @ 55mm 1/8000 s f/9 3200 ISO (Note to self, CHECK ISO!)

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

 Hi all.                                                                                                                                        Many thanks for your comments last week.  Much appreciated.  Busy week & weekends as the time here is for vacation season (not that I am taking vacation or work for touristic area).  Anyway, my submission this week is again from my Nikkotrip (north of Tokyo) and this is the shot of unnamed stream.  I walked from the hotel for about an hour and there was a small fall in the middle of nowhere (photo of the fall will be posted someweek later).  And this stream is the down stream of it.  Have long wanted to take the water flow with long shutter speed.  Hope I did okay.  It was really in the woods and it was after the shower, so not really bright spot, but maybe tad dark?                                
D700, 28-300mm @85mm, f/22, 10sec, ISO200, EV -1.0

                           

Tag: river, water flow

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“White Tiger” — This was made a few years back, at the Audubon Zoo inNew Orleans. They are unique, but I wish they still had the Bengal Tigers, because they are so colorful. He has his tongue out — after walking around there for a couple of hours, my tongue was hanging out, too.

Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/5.3, 1/125 sec., Aperture Priority.

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

An ‘old’ group of folk-/country musicians, playing for fun in surroundings dated to most of the tunes they are playing.

Hope you all will have a nice week                                                             

Jens  

                                                                                                                                             

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

“This is Cinderella (in the front, my daughter’s horse) and Honey.  They are registered Haflinger mares and the best of friends.  Although Cinderella rules, they are always together.  Cindy is 11 years old and Honey is 12 years old.  The Haflinger horse is known for their thick winter coats so they pretty much stay outside all winter. And best of all, they have a quiet disposition, which make them great horses for kids. 
My daughter was luck enough to receive Cinderella as a gift on her birthday last year from the owners of the barn.  If I can share, here’s a link to the day they gave her the horse (get your Kleenex first).”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qumac9JGy3g

Regards,
Suzanne

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/128 sec, f/8, ISO 100

 

 

 

 David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

A cute little amphibian enjoying a mosquito lunch by a puddle of stagnant water.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

 Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This was taken back in April, I’m including it this week as I was looking through photos this weekend and came across it again and it made me smile. It is my son on a day out to a local country park, after taking it I came to think of it as being a picture which almost captures the essence of a young boy.
I’ve found some things hold true in young boys, 1. they will always find a stick to play with, the bigger the better 2. If they are by water they absolutely HAVE to throw something in it, if not themselves and 3. Even if you put them in a white sealed room, if you returned after 5 minutes they would have grass stains on their shorts.

Seeing as there are members of this group spanning hte globe I’d love to know if it holds true where you are too.   

                                                                                               

 

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 hello all

Another pic from my trip a month ago. Crossing and old bridge

 Nikon D300 + 18-200 VR @ 65mm  ISO 400 – f 5.6 – 1/500

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Thanks to those who took the time to comment. And yes I do have the BUG. Spent alot of very sweaty hours outside chasing bugs last week. This weeks model was very easy to work with. Looking forward to this weeks pics.

Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 1/80 sec, F/13, 800 ISO, SB 900 Flash.   

                       

Tag: Toad stool, 

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is a picture of the northern coast ofFrance, near the little town ofEtretat. I really enjoy taking pictures of landscapes and  found this area full of opportunities.

Y’all have a great week.

Don

Nikon D300s, 17mm (Sigma), 1/500 sec, f11, matrix

 

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

I am still a bit taken by the hibiscus on my deck. Next week, I will start with other subject matter- promise!

ISO 400, 55mm, 0ev, f/6.3, 1/25, WB/Cloudy   

                                                                     

Tags: hibiscus, rain, orange

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

A boundary umpire throws the ball in during an Australian Rules football grand final played over the weekend.

 D3s + 200-400 VRII at 400 mm,  f/4, 1/1000 s and ISO 800

                                            

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 These men were taking part in a parade for theYiminTemplelast Saturday.YiminTempleis an important landmark for Hakka people, a Chinese group to which my wife belongs. The ceremony is concerned with celebrating a military victory against the Chinese Qing Emperor and remembering the relatives. It also falls during Ghost Month, a time to pay respect to all ancestors. 

Taken with the 70-300mm at 70mm. Shutter was 1/3200 at f/4.5 and ISO 400 with no flash.    

                                                                                                                                 

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Amongst the 6 acres of garden we have here, there lives a local wallaby family who appear to spend more and more time inside the garden as the years pass.  This particular wallaby was born inside the garden and has only left the actual confines of our garden to graze on early spring grasses in a neighboring creek tree plantation in the past month or so. 

The parents of this juvenile are reasonably tame and will allow the two of us to approach to a range of 30 feet or so before they back away to open the distance a bit.  This ‘junior’ wallaby is very used to us peering at him/her and will allow us to approach to 15-20 feet quite happily.  Despite spending a lot of time inside our garden this current trio of wallabies really don’t cause much damage to the plants and in some cases their careful nibbling of many bushes and shrubs helps us out as they tip prune a lot of plants to keep them tightly foliated.

 This photo was taken this past week on a windy but delightfully sunny day through a small gap in one of the shruberies.  Although I’m able to walk right up to this ‘junior’ wallaby and take shots front on, in the open, I liked this particular exposure as the bokeh of the out of focus leaves being dashed about in the wind makes for a different look to this

image.   Taken hand held with D700 + AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 VR I @180mm, f/3.5, 1/1,600th sec,  ISO 1250

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 This Buff-bellied hummingbird was taken with my 70-300mm VR as it was coming up to the feeder. I needed a faster shutter speed to freeze the body motion, but felt lucky I got the head in focus. They move SO fast!.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/  

                                                                                               

 

 

 Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

 LakeLavon                                                                                                                            This photo was taken in June when we went to the lake in search of a good sunset shot. Of course a storm blew in, and apparently my sense of direction is flawed, as we ended up facing the wrong way to catch the sunset anyway. I love how the clouds in the sky had such depth that they look like HDR – there is no HDR treatment on this photo

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello to all!

I’m (sadly) back from vacation, and things are starting to get back in to “normal”…  I started processing photos from vacation, and sending you is the photo I made on a first day, while I was on a ferry carrying me to the island where I stayed. I saw many boats on the horizon, had my tele lens on, and snapped this photo. I set wb to 9900K, and then added orange filter on the sky in Capture NX. And of course, cropped photo to3:1 format, it looked interesting to me… I look forward to all your photos tomorrow!

Techs are: Nikon D80+Tamron 70-300@260mm, f11, 1/800 ISO200.

Greetings, Filip!

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

tags: sea, sailboat, orange, summer, panorama,Croatia

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

I missed last week as my network card was burned by a near by lighting strike, the good thing was that the pics are safe.

These days it’s the time for summer fairs, one of the main attractions among kids is this old fashion chain wheel, good photo opportunity to grab some shots. Photo taken with my old newly refurbished Nikon F3HP and 50mm F/1.8 Nikon lens

Regards                                                                                                                                         Bogdan

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,     thank you so much to all those, who so kindly commented on my photo last week. This week another one of my Film Noir shots, I seem to be a bit mono-thematic lately, I am aware of that, but am just trying to explore the style as much, as I can. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to all your photos. 

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/5, 1/125s

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Hi All – great shots last week- I really enjoy looking back through the pictures over and over again and am constantly amazed.   My shot this week is of the Coliseum inRome-or at least a small section of it.  Something about this shot just grabs my attention – not sure why – I like the colors and the stormy sky peaking through the openings-it’s an amazing structure and exudes an ageless sense of the power of Imperial Rome.

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone.  Thank you to those who commented last week, it is greatly appreciated.

I was experimenting with my 85mm f/1.8 lens and the 20mm extension tube.  I was taking photos of flowers , and low and behold here comes a little jumper spider. Even  thought did not have my macro lens, on had to try and get a shot.

D7000  85mm with 20mm extension tube.

Hope you all enjoy.   Look forward to seeing all your  pictures.

                                               

Tags:   Spiders, Jumpers, Flowers

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Lake Tahoe sunset

From the west shore – vacationed a few days last week at Lake Tahoe /Squaw Valley. My wife and I had dinner at one of our usual spots where we knew we’d get natural full color, sunsets.

Canon EOS 7D, 58mm FL, ISO 400, 1/125 f/4.5 and lightly cropped and barely processed out of raw file. (I set the white balance to 5800K and neutral tint.)   

                  

 

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

My photo comes from March 2011.  A Chinese lady shop keeper moves her cart full with local – and famous – Parbo Beer bottles during rainy hours. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                                                     http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67     

                                                                                         

 

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

TheBronxRiverpasses thru The New York Botanical Gardens. 

On a outing there last Saturday I had to climb over a small fence and down some rocks to get the proper angle for this shot.

 Nikon D200 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED @18mm  1.3 sec, f/10, ISO 250, Handheld, Compensation: +1/3  Shot Raw > NX2

 

 

Guest submission 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sunset at in the waters off ofDuckIslandinWestbrook CT.

Shot with a Kodak EasyShare C190 camera. 

                                                                        

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is a current event of interest from somewhere in the world

Dragonfly – Stacy Pace

I am submitting a dragonfly shot that I absolutely love – 2 different species on one reed in the pond. Taken inMcComb,Mississippiduring 4th of July weekend.

Have a great week!

 

 

 

 Home to Birds – Suzanne Bauer

 The center of our apple tree made a terrific place for a nest!  I love to look at the nest closely to see all the materials birds are so clever at finding to make their ‘home’!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Program AE, 1/64 sec, f/5.6, ISO 400 

 

The photo stand – Filip Lucin

There is a story behind this photo. First, let me introduce (for you that haven’t met us on FB 🙂 ) Davorin Mance (the left one) and me, being the one on the right, obviously. 🙂 Most of you remember him from this group as well. Davorin and I share same passion for landscape photography, and we made some plans how to share our passion with our town, county and country :), and maybe earn a little money. So, we finally decided to try our luck this year on our town’s fair which held place from 29th of July to 2nd of august. Fair is once a year in same time, and is connected with celebrating the day of Our Lady of the Angels on 2nd. of August. The fiesta that is celebrated for over 350 years in our town. Unfortunately we had our stand only three days, but I think I speak for both of us, it was great experience, and we actually earned more than little money! 😀 But most important is that we had promoted our photos, and talked to numerous people, fellow photographers, ordinary people, met many interesting people from we can say all over the world. We even sold some photos to a couple fromOklahoma,USA! So, yea, this is us, we are happy to meet you all, and yea, people liked and bought our photos! 🙂 Photo it self was taken by Davorin’s daughter with my Nokia mobile phone…

tags: fair, stand, photographs, selling, art

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

