Week 82 – August 24,2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

3 Fishermen – 5 poles

The extra poles have a small bell attached at the tip to signal the fisherman that a fish is hooked.

Taken at Rodman’s Neck in theBronx on last Wednesday afternoon

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR at 18mm  1/500 sec, f/9, ISO 320 processed in Lightroom                                                                                                                                                                                       

 Tags: Rodmans Neck, Bronx NY, fishing in the bronx

 

Robin Warner -Santa Monica,California

Abraham

Abraham lives in a camper in the parking lot atVeniceBeach.  He lives with his wife and makes his money singing in a band and painting.  He sells and sings on the thevenicebeach boardwalk.  Abraham was one of my veryfirst streetshots. He is so full of life and love.      He has opened up my eyes to the beauty that is in the soul.  He does not have access to any electronics so I make copies of the photos that i take of him and bring them to him.  He is touched beyond words and could only say…how blown away he was at seeing his image (he never really sees himself) and that he loved me.

Life changing moment for me.

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

A bit of fun with an Ultra wide zoom.  I stayed at a small hotel in Cuq les Terraces while I was driving around inFrance.  Perched on top of a hill overlooking fields of sunflowers and pretty French scenery.  The inside was also quite quaint 🙂 I could not resist taking several shots of this staircase.

Shot with a Pentax k20d using the Sigma 10-20 @ 10mm, f/6.3, 1/4 sec, ISO 400, + 0.7 EV                                                                                                                                                        

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Since I found parents cameras when we cleaned the parents’ old house, I have been obsessed with the film camera.  Parents’ had had cameras since 50s, before they even met each other.  It was really rare to have cameras at that time (soon after WWII and many were still hungry) but they were fortunate to have jobs and the cameras cost a few months worth of their salary.  Mother even had the film development equipment in the attic, but it was too huge/old to keep and we threw it away.  Their cameras – Canon and Konishiroku – were unfortunately beyond repairable but I got obsessed with film shooting with the camera as old as theirs.  And here is one of the first roll I took since almost 25 years ago (we had Canon AE-1 back then, but was sold later).  I realize that I have to practice a lot to get used to the manual camera and metering, etc., but it was fun!  By the way, I got really cheap equipment set, thanks to my German connection 🙂

Leica M3, Summicron 50mm f/2, f/5.6, 1/125s (I think…), ISO100 Fuji Neopan

 Tag: Leica, Summicron, Neopan, Hotel Okura

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello!

I’m back to the lake photo. I’m still processing photos from vacation, and it’s going slowly so I thought I’ll dig this from recent archive.

This photo was taken at same day and on the same lake as was photo I submitted on week 77.  I would like to thank Stanley for taking time to write comments, and thank  you all for support on my and Davorin’s little adventure with selling our photos.As I wrote we have lot of plans, and I’m sure we will have interesting photos and stories to share with you…

Tech about the photo are: Nikon D80+Sigma10-20@15mm. f14, 25sec, ISO 100.

Take care and see you!                                                                                                          Greetings, Filip!

 

 

Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

Moon from August 8, 2011, 9:20pm CST

Not much to say…it’s the moon, and one of my favorite subjects

NIKON D90  0.0016 sec (1/640) ISO200  300 mm@ f/5.6

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Mallory and her 11 yo Haflinger mare Cinderella.  I can’t believe I captured this moment.  This photo is priceless to me.  My beautiful daughter and her horse.  Best Friends, Happiness and Love.

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, 1/49 sec, f/4.5, ISO 200

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

I really enjoyed the landmark photos and will try not to send in any more work related photographs…. except for this one

I have taken a series of pictures from one of the small cottages with a couple of flashes placed around to avoid too many strange shadows and to make the light match the angles from the incoming light from the windows.

I only finished 12 photos that can be seen at http://www.fotomedia.dk/Gallerier/OpenAirMuseum/index.php under ‘Englerup’.

Hope you all had and will have a nice week                                                                           Jens

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I’m submitting one of my “contenders” for the landmark theme. This is “El Cristo de los Pescadores” (Christ of the Fisherman) atSouth Padre Island. It’s a statue depicting Jesus blessing fishermen who have been lost at sea. Plaques on its base memorialize some of these departed souls, and families still bring flowers and notes here for them. An inscription, written in both Spanish and English, reads: “Father! Receive the souls of these brave fishermen who have sailed through this pass and never returned.” Tags: El Cristo de los Pescadores, Christ of the Fisherman,South Padre Island.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Another pic from the photo walk. One of the other photographers taking a break. But with that many cameras around no one is safe, even behind bars. Not sure why this pic grabs me, but as someone said recently even the most technically brilliant photo means nothing if it doesn’t connect on an emotional level. Good photos tell stories.

I’ll keep adding other pics to fb so I can shoot something new for next week.

Shot with the Nikon D300 and Tokina 20-35.

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

Harsh winter here, a long month before spring.

A tenacius leaf holding on

Nikon D300 + 18 – 200 VR@ 105 mm   ISO 400 – f 6.5 – 1/4000                                             

 

  

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “RED WINE”

Wine tasting last week on my birthday – Paraduxx Winery outdoor “backyard patio.” This is on the Silverado Trail inNapaValleyand we are members of their wine club. The weather was nearly perfect and three of us had a great time. The back of my mind I was thinking of my few days’ upcoming visit to the oral surgeon. EOS 7D camera. People come all over the world to visit wine country out here and we are fortunate enough to have it in our back yard.                                                                                                                   

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Down The Stairs” — this photo was taken looking down the stairs to the main entrance and hallway of Madewood Plantation, inNapoleonville,Louisiana. This plantation home is a Bed & Breakfast, and is also rented for parties and wedding receptions on the spacious grounds. It is furnished with period antique furniture, and unlike other historic homes, you are free to use this furniture.

 During our last stay at Madewood, we were told by the concierge in the evening, after a wonderful meal in the dining room, that we would be the only guests that night, to lock the doors before retiring. As luck would have it, we were alone in this massive mansion, and shortly after getting into bed, a serious storm came through, with rain, lightning, and strong winds that caused the shutters to bang upon the window frames. I don’t recall seeing any ghosts, however.

Nikon D200, ISO 100, f/8, 1/60 sec., aperture priority with flash.

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Spent a couple of hours at a new butterfly garden in our area. I had to wait for 1.5 hours for this guy to land. His body color was so different. Really hot at the park. Had to sweat for this one. Saw about 100 butterflies. Swallowtails never seem to stop moving.

Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 1/250 sec, F/22, 800 ISO, SB 900 Flash.

            Tags: Swallowtail, Butterfly.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Visited my daughter this past week and discovered she had many butterflies in her yard.  Many more than I have seen at my house all summer.  So I made the most of the opportunity.  This particular one I had never seen before and simply could not catch it’s wings wide open!  We’ll have to ask Roberta and Jeannean the name of this one!  The only editing done to this photo was the border and text, resizing, and converting to sRGB.
 
Nikon D5000, F/5.3, 1/250s, Auto ISO 640, 240mm                                                                 

 

 

 Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi everyone
Todays photo is of the bicycles for hire around Brisbane. There are many stations to pick up a bike, ride around for a while and drop it at another station. A great way to see the city
Anyone for a Liptons :-)))

D90 Lensbaby Composer 1/500sec @ f5.6

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

I see this type of bird often enough where I live but have no idea what it is.  

Can anyone in the group identify it?

Nikon D3s+200-400VRII at 400mm, 1/1000s, f/4 and ISO 250

 

 

 Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Thank you for the kind comments on my photo last week, I very much appreciate them. 

This week a photo of somebody very special to me, Mick Harvey, I’ve been following his solo career (away from Nick Cave’s band The Bad Seeds) since 1995 and I finally had an honour of meeting him in person last Friday at the Gallery of Modern Art in Brisbane, he was very nice and approachable, surprisingly remembered me from some emails we exchanged prior the event and we even had a little chat about his music, before photo-savvy ladies group interrupted us. The concert was fantastic and every minute of the evening was my dream come true.

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 4500, 1/60s, f/3.5

 

 Here is one more photo from the concert showing all the other musicians, from left Rosie Westbrook, Mick Harvey,Brisbanebased Skritch Trembles and J.P. Shilo. I am aware of the shortcomings of the exposure on this photo, but this is the best I could do given there were very different lights used for the stage, some lit the stage from below, some from above (there was a huge neon sign with a definition of surrealism right above the musicians), and nobody stood still even for few seconds 🙂 Still, this would have to be my most cherished series of photos I’ve done so far. 

Nikon D700, 24-70 mm f/2.8@ISO 4500, 1/50s, f/3.2

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing all your photos.

Jana

 

 

 Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This is part of the remains of St Bertins Abbey in St Omer, I took this on my way back toEngland after our holiday inItaly.

The abbey was first built in the 1100’s and was rebuilt on a grander scale in the 1300’s. During the French revolution St Bertins Abbey was one of the properties confiscated and was partly demolished with the bricks being used to build the new town hall. Part of the abbey including the tower remained and was strenghened with a buttress but due to heavy bombardment in World War II it was weakened and collapsed in 1947.
The town ofSt Omer is trying to raise funds to rebuld the abbey and the foundations of where it once stood are still marked out, this is only a tiny segment of the abbey but it hints at the beauty that once was. 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Sometimes, off the beaten path, you’ll find the best stuff. This is the altar inside the cathedral ofBayeaux,France. We had intention of stopping here, but there was no one near or in the cathedral when we arrived, so we decided to stop in. My hope is that one day, my pictures will do places like this, justice.

Nikon D300s 17mm, f2.8, 1/6 sec, hand held, no strobe        

                                                

 

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Here’s a shot taken at the Botanical Gardens a few weeks back of a trail they have going through the forest. I love that places exist like this in the Bronx as it reminded  of being inVermont.  

                                                                                                                   

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This week I’m going back out west- one of my favorite destinations.  This is another shot fromCanyonlandsNational Parkoverlooking theColorado Riveras it winds it’s way through the canyon.  I really like the layered colors in the canyon walls and rock formations.  I like the wildness and desolation of the canyon – the quiet solitude.   

       

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This monk was at Angkor Wat while I was visiting a few weeks ago. I was able to get a good portrait of him as he was showing the temple to other younger monks, boys aged 8-10. 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone!   I really enjoyed the landscape special , great shots from everyone!

My shot this week is from my files since I am still really distracted with the house renovations

I did a small series of the dew covered anoles and this is one of them.

Hope you enjoy.

Birdie  

                                                                                                                                             

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Robin welcome to the board. DearStanleythanks a lot for your comment to my post last week. I appreciated.

Chinese immigrants are inSurinamesince more then 150 years. Of course they have own weekly market places but they build a new one after they moved. I follow them during the construction period and also their first Sunday market day. Those sun rays were exactly first sun rays in the market – and I was alone – 😉  First, they fired rolls of firecrackers as Chinese tradition then they poured bottles of famous local beer Parbo to the market ground  asSurinametradition. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic            http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC, Aperture Priority, @10mm, f/4, 1/350sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

                                                                            

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Thank you to those of you who commented on my photo last week–very much appreciated!

I met this little dog once as a puppy recently.  It had a remarkable ability to “pose.”  Lots of personality too!

Canon 60D, ISO 100, 68mm, -1ev, f/5.6, 1/160

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is a panoramic photo I made up from a set of 12 exposures taken at the amazingly snow bound (for the month of May) Hurricane Ridge in the Olympic National Park in WashingtonState.  We were blessed with beautiful clear air, a little wan sunlight and no wind to speak of.  I have never seen snow of this quality or quantity – even in New Zealand, as a visitor to a snow bound scene like this the snow was a pure delight given the agreeable conditions.

Captured on my tri-pod with a regular ball head using D700 + Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VRI @ 70mm x 12 frames, stitched together in Photoshop CS3.  The final print file will print just over 1 meter long at 240 dpi.                                                                       

 

 

Guest submission 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sunset at in the waters off ofDuckIslandinWestbrook CT.

Shot with a Kodak EasyShare C190 camera. 

 

 

 

Guest submission

Kathy MacLeod  – West Wardsboro Vermont

(Kathy has been following us and wanted a chance to join us one week – let’s see what happens)

I am a rookie. I have a cannon point and shoot and would love to learn more. I have some good rookie results.

Thanks ever so much                                                                                                                    

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Kingsnake – Haig Tchamitch

This is one of the resident California Kingsnakes at the Desert Botanical Gardens.  Prince is still young, and relatively small.  They are one of the few living things that are immune to a rattler’s poison.  They hunt and eat rattlesnakes as part of their diet 

Pentax k5, DA 12-24 @ 24mm, f/5.6, 1/60 sec, ISO 400, camera flash.                               

 

 

Ball in dispute … Greg Kowalczewski                                     

 

 

Shipyard – Gladys Millman

Norwalk,CT. 

The ships were perched in the shipyard near a dockside restaurant we go to often in the summer time.  I don’t know their history but a lot was going on those boats the other day.

Canon 60D, ISO 800, 25mm, -0.33ev, f/5.6, 1/1250                                                               

 

 

And Finally – look what happened to Ken Papai

I was knocked out during the procedure: I took two Ativan (lorazepam) before seeing the doctor — Dr. Lee took out my two remaining wisdom teeth: #1 and #32. Still some pain today but doing well and ready for a real photo shoot this weekend!

Photos are taken with my camera phone and my EOS 7D.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

