Week 83 – August 31,2011

On most photos you can click once and then again to view larger version.

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

 Good Night Irene

 Taken Sunday early evening as the skies started to clear after hurricane Irene passed thru theBronx.   This one is fromPenneyfield Avenuein Throggs Neck pointed towards theWhitestoneBridgeandManhattanin the distance.

The Bronx had some damage, but nothing compared to what happened inVermont. Just in the 3 towns in my area alone the damage was devastating and destroyed most roads and bridges to the point that whole towns are cut off.  It look’s likeVermontmay have been the hardest hit part of the country.

 D300 AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @18mm   1/500 sec, f/11, ISO 400

 Tags: Hurricane Irene, Strorm clearing, Dark weather, waterfront strom clouds

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

There’s one in every crowd!

July inFrancecan sometimes be daunting..It’s hot, and there are hordes of tourists at all the popular spots. If you manage to get away to some of the more remote areas, you can have a great time..in peace and quiet.

This was shot in Loriol du comtat, which is close toAvignon, but not quite as busy.

Pentax K20d + DA 16-45 @ 21mm, f/7.1, 1/800 sec, ISO 320, + 0.7 EV.

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Rosebush With Rain Drops” — Just a grab shot of a potted rosebush after a good shower. Most of the time, I have trouble getting good photos of water droplets. This time I was lucky.

Hope all of our members in theNortheast U. S.got by Irene by with no losses.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/32, 0.3 sec., aperture priority (these auto modes are amazing — I would never have chosen these settings).

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This Sunday I went to nearby Kenilworth Castle which had a re-enactment on of a siege which was the longest in English history, I took so many photos that I had to ask Joe if I could do this weeks photo essay so I will explain more about the siege with those.
Kenilworth Castle was founded in the early 1120’s by Geoffrey de Clinton, Lord Chamberlain to Henry I and underwent many modernisations and expansions during the next 500 years.
During this time Kenilworth Castle was of hostorical and strategic importance playing an important part the Second Barons War and the first Civil War. Kenilworth Castle was also reqgularly frequented by the monarchy, notable Henry IV, Henry V, Elizabeth I and James I.
 In 1414 Henry V who used Kenilworth extensively, but preferred to stay in the Pleasance, the mock castle he had built on the other side of the Great Mere (a man made lake/moat surrondng part of the castle) , was mocked by the French by sending him a gift of tennis balls at Kenilworth. The French aim was to imply a lack of martial prowess and the gift spurred Henry’s decision to fight the Agincourt campaign. The account was used by Shakespeare as the basis for a scene in his play Henry V.
 During the First English Civil War Kenilworth was used as a Royalist garison to balance the Parlimentary forces housed at Warwick. (By the way Warwick Castle is a spectacular castle and if any one visits England I would reccomend a visit). Security concerns continued after the end of the first civil war in 1646, and in 1649 Parliament ordered the slighting of Kenilworth. One wall of the great tower, various parts of the outer bailey and the battlements were destroyed.
 As you might tell I love the history of castles and the changes of their keep and use. It’s also a little bit incredible as you walk around them to think that you are walking in the same rooms, on the same floors as some of the people who changed our nations history so significantly. Also to stop and consider the lives of people and how they have changed over the hundreds of years that the building has been there.
 
Camera Canon EOS 350D, Aperature F/10, Exposure 1/200 ISO 100, Focal Length 28mm.                                                                                                                                                 
 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

I’m happy to hear that no one of you inUSAwere hurt by Irene.This kind of weather reminds us all how small and fragile we are…

My photo for this week is star trails photo. This year I’ve tried new technique of stacking many photos together instead of having one photo with long exposure. Since I’m not really patient person, this photo took “only ” around 35 minutes to take. It’s total 68 exposures of 30 sec, at 10mm, ISO 1600, 30sec, f4. Shot with Nikon D80. I’m looking forward to your photos, see you all on Wednesday!

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Shower Time:  Homeless life.  This was taken on Venice Beach Boardwalk at 9:30 in the AM.  The reality is intense.  I watched this guy bathing for like 15 minutes and was deeply moved

cannon EOS60D, Lens Tameron 18-270, iso 250, 270mm, f/9, 1/640

 

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

So, I was stranded in my house through the hurraine, but before we jumped on to the big clean up, we took a quick stroll through our localNatureCenter. This is a turkey hawk in captivity (he is injured) that I caught with my iPhone. I am still trying mot to miss a week! My phone is my only technology right now!

Gladys

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Been very quiet my side so not really shot anything. So decided to submit an old pic. Some time ago I discovered an article on flickr about using 2 lenses to do macro work, so thought I’d give it a shot.

I had the 18-50mm kit lens on the camera, and hand held a 50mm f/1.8 lens reversed in front of it. Then I discovered I needed light, so put

2 strobes on the desk lying each side of the watch. This was the end result. And a darn site cheaper than a true macro lens too.

Shot with a Canon 500D with 18-50mm and 50mm f/1.8 lenses.

Wayne

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Last Sunday in North Greater Buenos Aires. A bigua playing with the fish

Nikon D300+ 80-200 2.8 @200mm
ISO 200 – f 2.8 – 1/6400

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

 This is a shot from my brother’s back deck in the North Georgia mountains –  he and his wife live on Sassafrass Mountain near Jasper, GA.   It’s really a gorgeous place and he built his home from the ground up – virtually by himself.   We went up for a visit yesterday and enjoyed the clear fresh mountain air – much cooler up on the mountain than aroundAtlanta!   I could sit on his back deck for hours and just gaze at the mountains.  It was a bit hazy in the distance but I still like the shot – it relaxes me just to look at it.  

Hope everyone has a great week.   Wishing Joe and Suzanne and anyone else affected by Hurricane Irene well and glad thatyou all are safe.  You too Joshua – inTaiwanw/ the typhoon

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hi, all.  Really glad all are okay.  Natural disaster or catastrophic events are becoming more and more common globally and that I am concerned now….. 
Okay, let us stop worrying for a moment and enjoy life or being alive.  Here is my submission this week.  The same situation as the last week – with a 50+ year old manual film camera/lens and monochrome film, at the lobby of the hotel.  Actually, I think this was the first or second shot I took with it.  Beginner’s luck, I guess 🙂  I thought it was too contrasty, thanks to the glass, bright sunshine outside and darker inside, but found it was not too bad.  I have just finished the 2nd roll and am waiting to see how or whether I am getting more used to the camera.  Hope you all have the brighter week!  Ken
www.kih.me

M3, 50mm f/2 lens, (I believe it was) f/2, 1/60s, ISO100, Fuji Neopan

 
 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Weeds…………..not to interesting; so, colorfull…..maybe?
 
Nikon D7000, Tamron 18-270 VR F/3.5-6.3G, 270mm F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 100, exposure tuning -2/6

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

 

My wife modeling during an afternoon walk.  I like that she unguidedly tilted her head so that it fit into the water reflection.  She is a fiiiine model!  🙂   Nikon D70, Nikkor 85/1.8 

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone
Got a new set of Taylormade Burner 2.0 golf clubs the other day and while taking the plastic of the clubs i noticed how good one of the golf balls looked on my red rug. Could not resist getting the camera out for this shot. Thought i might try a couple of slogans, forgive me if they replicate Taylormade as i have no idea what their marketing is 🙂 The ball is also a Taylormade Burner

“Taylormade Burner”
“The ball that will set your game alight”
or
“Taylormade strut the red carpet again”
or
“Try the red hot Taylormade Burner golf ball”

Sorry guys i got carried away
D90 Lensbaby Sweet 35 Optic 1/25sec @ f5.6 ISO400 handheld

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is an image I captured in April 2010.  It’s one of many old ruined hand built stone huts in the deserted former gold mining area around Old Welshtown in Central Otago on the south island of New Zealand.  My partner and I spent several hours exploring this site and counted evidence of more than 30 standing ruins in the area around this old hut.  Despite New Zealand’s reputation of being very wet, Central Otagoregion is located in a strong rain shadow and as a result is a stark contrast to the coastal and alpine landscapes it sits in between.  It is also a very windswept location in New Zealand.  This site at Old Welshtown is a well kept secret for those who appreciate light and like to use it in photography.  I’d love to have stayed locally and been at this site for sunrise and sunset shoots but I was pleased enough with the light I had to work with on this particular day. 

The ruined mining village is located high above a massive valley floor in the foothills of the Southern Alps.  This location facing north and the abundance of the fabulous red tussock grass (Chionochloa rubra) really sets off the stone work in the walls of the ruins.  The skies are also very blue on a clear sunny day, no filters or photoshop effects required to make a well illuminated image here.  Next time I visit this site I’d like to try mid-winter to capture some snow on the distant hills and mountains and maybe on the actual ruins too.

Tripod mounted, D700 + Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VR  @ 70mm,  f/9,  1/500th sec,  ISO 400  active D lighting set to ‘normal’

 

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

A shot of a young robin from a few months back. Birds fascinate me and are frequent subject matter for my photos, though I’m frustrated by the lack of variety I typically see in the local bird population.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone,   I hope those on the east coast are doing okay.

Still occupied with the home projects, so not much time for shooting.

Did grab the camera for the first time in weeks and went in the back yard to see what I could find.  Cone flowers still hanging on despite the horrid heat and lack of rain.

Hope you enjoy.

D7000   105mm micro

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

This week I have a photo from my latest photo shoot with a wonderful lady, who is a painter, writer, books illustrator and yoga teacher. She is very inspiring and I had a really thrilling day photographing her. 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to your photos.                                                           Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/5, 1/125s

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

 Reaching out … Australian rules football grand finals are now underway … and the individual efforts to “win” the ball are exceptional.

As much as I love photographing sport it pales into insignificance after I read about the recent disasters which many you have faced and continue to face.  My thoughts are with each and everyone of you.

Nikon D3s+200-400VRII at f/4, 1/2000s and ISO 2000 (with monopod)

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

So glad everyone weathered the storm OK. Got to go back to the butterfly garden on Sat. My photographer friend said to go earlier when they are sleepier. They were supposed to be slower and easier to shoot. Well we were still having strong winds left over from the hurricane. I still got plenty cool pics. I didn’t want to bore you with another butterfly pic so this beetle was kind enough to pose for me. They are alot slower than butterflies.

Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 1/250 sec, F/10, 800 ISO, SB 900 Flash

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Hello and Good Morning to all Sharpshooters!

Arrived home on Saturday.  Both of us have been inside ever since with colds and coughs.  Aha, the joys of flying in economy. 

 The trip toAustraliawas absolutely amazing!  The people ofAustraliacouldn’t have been friendlier.  The country is beautiful with a different vista or national treasure around every corner.  The food is delicious and the wines are spectacular!!!! 

 My only regret was not being able to meet any of our Aussie Sharpshooters.  Greg’s offer was most gracious but by the time I received his message I had leftMelbourne.  My loss!  If I’m fortunate enough to have a return visit, I’ll make sure I have a cell phone that has a signal all of the time.

My photo this week is a night shot of theHarbourBridgeinSydney.  This is one of a couple that I like.  I look forward to seeing all of your photos.

D90 – 30sec – f/22.0 – 18-200@55mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – Tripod 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

My photo for this week is one shot I’ve got on a train trip across the impoverished Southern part of my country. We decide to do this trip by a slow moving commuter train used by ordinary people, many of the characters we came across on this trip would make some great shots for a more skilled photographer. Here is a portrait of this kid returning from a local fair with couples of her friends, I wish I could tell more about her, all I know is her name, Mony.

I hope everybody are safe from the recent storms and hurricanes, looks pretty bad on the news though…

Technical info: Nikon F3HP, Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D lens, Kodak TriX 400TX

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Simple photo of a flower I took.

I love this picture simply for the color and how it pops. 

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This is an aerial silk artist performing during a Hakka celebration of the Yimin Festival, a time to celebrate a series of past military victories here inTaiwan. I took it with the 300mm at f/5.6, so I had a fast ISO, manually-set shutter speed, VR, and was wishing my 4.5 fps could go just a little faster. I’m happy considering the lens limitation.

 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Hurricane Irene  I live inSouthern Vermontwhere the weather changes if you just…

‘wait a minute’ but not like this.  Hurricane Irene just came through our small town and has brought our town to it’s knees.  Never would anyone here have thought we’d experience a storm like this.  Right now there is no way out of our valley, all roads have been closed – bridges out or roads washed away.  Food is in short supply and gas is almost out.  The National Guard is here and helping rebuild roads as fast as possible.

Thankfully we are all OK and my daughter’s horse was moved to higher ground when they realized the water was going much higher than ever imagined.

I will have more photos I’m sure (Joe has already asked me to put in for the double next week!).

This week I had to use my old point and shoot (didn’t want my good camera getting wet!) and I grabbed this shot…someone missing a boat???

Canon PowerShot A620, Auto exposure, 1/60 sec, f/4.1, ISO 168

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Soraya and the Double magnum”

Soraya is almost 7 mos. old and the wine is nearly 3 years old. During a BBQ last Saturday I snapped 8 photos of her posing with the 3L / Double Magnum bottle of Paraduxx (a Duckhorn winery out ofNapaValley).  We won this bottle 4 mos. ago by correctly guessing “92 corks” in a bottle at a Paraduxx picnic event.  How fun!

-Ken Papai

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is an exterior shot of the cathedral atBayeux,France. It’s over 1,000 years old and in pristine condition, considering it was spared from WWII and the invasion ofNormandy.

Nikon D300s, 17mm, f9, 1/320 sec, center weight

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

There was first Inter Guyana’s Cultural Festival in Paramaribo, between -formerly- three old Guyana’s ; English Guyana (Today’s Guyana), Dutch Guyana (Today’s Suriname) and French Guyana. French Guyana is still an European land in South America, it was same forSurinameas Dutch Guyana  till 25 November 1975.

Two Guyanese dancers were performing their dance.  Hope you like it.

Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic         http://www.ertugrulkilic.com

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 Stacy Pace – Allen, Texas

This is just a standard John Deere tractor/hay baler that you would see dozens of around where I live. I thought it deserved some retro-style processing. This photo is comprised of 4 layers, one brown/cream split tone of the photo, one full color of the photo, a pink gradient, and a green gradient. I liked the way it turned out.

Nikon D90  18mm  1/400@ f/10 ISO200

 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Yet another archive, and again from my flight overCopenhagen. This time it shows the town hall and the centre of the city.

I love being up there, has to be as a passenger though I tried to get a certificate once but instead I got hearing aidsJ

S… happens. Also more time to use the camera as a passenger..

Have a nice week.        Jens

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

Emma has a 3 photo essay this week

 Siege at Kenilworth Castle  – Emma Roberts

Photos this week from the re-enactment of the siege atKenilworthCastlein 1266. The seige was the longest in English history, according to historian Norman Pounds and at the time was also the largest siege to have occurred inEnglandin terms of the number of soldiers involved.

Simon de Monfort’s son, Simon VI de Montford, promised in January 1266 to hand over the castle to the king following his Fathers defeat at the Battle of Evesham . Five months later this had not happened, and Henry III laid siege toKenilworthCastleon 21 June. Protected by the extensive water defences, the castle withstood the attack, despite Prince Edward targeting the weaker north wall, employing huge seige towers and even attempting a night attack using barges brought fromChester. The distance between the Royal trebuchets and the walls severely reduced their effectiveness and heavier trebuchets had to be sent for fromLondon. Papal intervention through the legate Ottobuono finally resulted in the compromise of the Dictum of Kenilworth, under which the rebels were allowed to re-purchase their confiscated lands provided they surrendered the castle. The siege ended on 14 December 1266.

 The water defences at Kenilworth influenced the construction of later castles inWalesby Prince Edward, most notably Caerphilly.

The re-enactment included mounted duals, infantry fighting, the use of trebuchets (firing tennis balls in a nod to the French insult to Henry V) and archery.

The re-enactment had also included camps set in and outside of the castle walls showing daily life whilst under seige, women cooking for their families and tending injured soldiers/knights as they returned from battle, children helping collect firewood and playing as children always will do.

They also showed some of the more leisurely activites, women playing flutes and fiddles, men enjoying the ale and gambling and also there was this falconer with his beautiful hawk. I had chance to speak to him and he told me his bird was called Jess and is nearly 3 years old. She was so docile and you could see the love he had for his gorgeous creature in every careful move he made whilst she was on his wrist.

I took about 300 photos today and choosing only 4 to share on here was difficult. I may include more in future weeks!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

