Week 86 – September 21, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Better in Black and White

Last weeks Black and white thread was super and restarted a love of mine for it. All week I’ve been working in monochrome.  Monday I stopped by GlenIslandon the way home and snapped a few.

Black, White and Gray are beautiful colors in them self and when used with the proper balance and contrast, they create beautiful photos. The hardest part of B&W photography is that you need good subject matter composed properly. Without the color distraction, the objects in the photo become more important.  
         I really though that this was going to be a color photograph but the colors shifted late in the day and the sky & clouds were getting blown out. Black and white can also solve problems that occur in some shots. Many photos are saved by converting them to monochrome. That’s also the case with this photo.  Some color aberrations are just uncorrectable, even in raw files. Remove the color and the problem goes away. 

D300   AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @18mm  1.3 sec, f/10, ISO 320

September 19, 2011   5:45:23PM  Raw processed in Lightroom

Tags: Long Island sound, Black and White clouds,GlenIsland, Joseph Leotta

 

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

It is very sad that we have gotten to the point where photographing children has become a crime in some societies.

Kids, unlike adults make great subjects for candid shots.  They tend to stay in their own world, totally immersed in whatever it was that was occupying them at the time. Even when your presence is acknowledged, you are soon ignored, and you then have opportunities for some wonderful shots.

This young lady in Jerash (Jordan) was trying to entertain herself whilst her parents took photos of the ruins and listened to their guide.

I only had time for this one shot as she skipped over the cobblestones towards me.

Pentax k20d + DA 12-24 @ 24mm, f/9, 1/200 sec, ISO 200, EV +0.3

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Ruby-throat Male Hummingbird” — It’s eating time for the hummingbirds now, as they prepare for their migration toMexico. This little guy sits in a small tree near one of my feeders, and ambushes any other bird that tries to feed there. This forces the other 99 hummingbirds to fight over the remaining feeders. They are very unsocialable, an have a real attitude when it comes to eating. At this time of the year, they consume about a gallon of sugar water a day, keeping me quite busy. The image is cropped.

Stanley Beck Photography on Facebook

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/160 sec, 80-400mm lens (280mm).

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

My submission this week is back to Nikon.  The sunset was so beautiful from the terrace and I just took my watch on my wrist then and the sunset in the bokeh’d background.  Wasn’t thinking too much, but I think it turned out to be not too bad.  Hope you have a great week.  Ken
www.kih.me
D700, 60mm f/2.8 Macro, 1/125s, f/11, ISO400 (all manual mode, I tihnk…)

 Tag: sunset, Omega, Speedmaster, Nikon

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Great week of BW pics. I loved everyone of them. I was just hunting for a shot around my house when this little bandit showed up. We have 3 pecan trees in our yard. The squirrels come and fight us for the pecans every year.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, , !/1000 sec, f/3.2, ISO 800

 Tags: Squirrel, pecan

 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

So many very fine BW photos last week. Hope this week will be as good.

Here is one from this weekend I spend with members of the photo club at a hostel near the Great belt and the theGreatBeltBridge.

A lot of grey weather and rain, but we did get some pictures though. This is a panorama put together from 3 photos, showing half the connection between the two islands parted by the Belt. The other half is not so spectacular. The pylons are240 mhigh.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

Last saturday I went to two concerts, one classical and the other one pop rock. I wanted to test and practice with a new lens, the Tamron 17-50 2.8. Some good pics but many others not so. Have to practice much more!!

Nikon  D300 + Tamron 17-50 2.8 @36 mm   ISO 2500 – f 2.8 – 1/160

Tags: mentettes, niceto, rock,

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Spent the day atVeniceBeachinCaliforniawatching some street performers in action.  This guy did 3 back-handsprings and then a backflip he was amazingly fit and talented. 

cannon EOS60D, Lens Tameron 18-270, iso 200, 25mm, f/9, 1/640

 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This past week was spent in Europe again and fortunately, I was able to take my clients on a field trip toNormandyfor a day. Here is another picture of theAmericaMilitaryCemeteryon a picture perfect day.

Nikon D300s 17mm, f10, 1/400 sec, center weight, ISO 200

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi, everyone.  I really enjoyed last week, great shots from everyone.

Went our in my backyard this afternoon.  The anole’s are stilling ruling the yard.  Got this little guy while he was hunting for his dinner.

Hope you enjoy.Tags:  Macro, Anole, Lizards

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

My grandson plays on the Dorsey Bulldogs team (black and gold).  Here is a shot from one of his games. 
 
Nikon D7000, Tamaron 18-270, 270mm, F/7.1, 1/1250s, Auto ISO 280, Exposure tuning -2/6, AF-S

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

 Greetings all. After shooting lots of everything else I really needed to get back to shooting people. This young lass was a very helpful model last week where I was doing some photos for her mom and using the opportunity to show her how to use fill flash outdoors. Here I have her standing in shade with a sunny background with just a little flash to balance things out. Taken with my broken Tokina lens. Love the bokeh on this lens. Wish I could get it repaired or replaced but they are quite rare it seems even on ebay.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tokina 28-70 f/2.6-2.8 @ 70mm f/4.

Wayne 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is a photo taken last week on one of the farming properties I work on.  It is located on a large open volcanic plain approx. 15km from where I live.  This is very rocky topography with volcanic boulders and bed rock strewn all over (and under) the ground here.  Because there is so much rock the land is mainly used to graze (wool producing) sheep upon.
          This ‘rocky barriers’ country as it is called here has special illumination – the light in this largely flat distant horizon landscape is always very interesting and I love taking photos here , especially at this time of year when the sun is still at a relatively low angle all day.  This image was captured last Wed. on my day off.  The light was very enticing so i went back to my workplace to shoot some photos in the mid afternoon light.  There is a lot of dry standing dead grass and pale lichen covered stone in this landscape which I’m sure assists to illuminate the scenes I shoot.  This image is basically out of the camera with a little dodge work on the shadow along the base of the wall and some extra sharpening as it was a very windy day and some of the grass was thrashing about wildly.

Nikon D700 + AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 @ 70mm, f/9, 1/800th sec, ISO 400  Active D lighting ‘Normal’ and a CPL fitted.

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

This picture was taken from a boat of a ship wreck onMonheganIslandinMaine. This ship wrecked in the late 1950’s. The Wreck is in front of Jamie Wyeth’s (a famous painter and grand son of N. C. and son of Andrew more famous artists) home on the island. The next point of land South East from this wreck isSpain.

It was taken with a Canon 7D and a 75 – 300.

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning!

Last Friday the forecast called for a heavy or hard frost.  I called the University and asked if it would OK with them for me to photograph the West Course.  They agreed as long as I kept the golf cart on the cart path while traveling from one location to another.  Of course I would honor their request.  What I didn’t realize was the MSU Women’s Fossum* Invitational practice round was being held on Friday and I had the golf course to myself until 11:00am.  I have to admit, it was an odd feeling to be the only person on a very popular golf course for such an extended period of time.

        Some of you saw my photo posting on FaceBook.  Filip commented on the photo and I took his suggestion and then reposted the photo.  The results of his suggestion really made the photo much better.  Thank you for the suggestion.  We have an incredible wealth of knowledge in Sharpshooters International.  When someone makes a suggestion or comments on a photo, it is done in a positive spirit and I can attest that I’ve gained knowledge and have improved my skill level because of the group.  I thank all of you for taking the time to comment or make suggestions.  You’ve made a difference!

        My photo this week comes from last Fridays shoot.  It’s of the frost steaming off the 18th fairway as the sun hits it for the first time.  I was in the right spot at the right time for the shot.  As someone who doesn’t relish getting up early, I’m glad I made the effort.

       Have a great week and thank you again to Filip.

 * Bruce & Mary Fossum were the golf coaches atMichiganStateUniversityfor years & years.  Both the mens & womens golf tournaments they held were later named in their honor.

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

I’ve been enjoying all the hummingbird activity lately. They’re hard to shoot because they’re so fast, but occasionally, they sit still. 🙂

Buff-bellied hummingbird

Ruby-throated hummingbird (female).

Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm.  

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello everyone!

Wonderfull pictures last week.

 Along with Filip, and another friend a few weeks ago we waited for the sunrise on the river. We expected the mist-shrouded river. When we arrived the wind was blowing and there was no fog. That has not stopped us yet to find interesting shots. The coast has always attached great number of boats which are my favorite motive. Thus, at this week’s photography boats are the main motive. The composition of this photograph was built around the rhythm of the wooden slats of the pier and on the floors of the boats that lead the eye toward the brightest spot of the image,sun.

Equipment: Olympus E510,OlympusED12-60mm f2.8-4.0( 24-120 eqv.) ISO 100,1/20 sec @ f/9, Cokin GND S ( 3 f stops ) filter, handheld.

Best regards, Davorin Mance           My photos: www.davorinmance.com

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Hi all, I hope you’ve had a good week? I received lots of photo goodies for my birthday and have spent a fair bit of time playing with them this week, I was bought a tripod, reflector, remote shutter control, 50mm lens (1.8) and some macro extension tubes. They all add up to lots of fun! I also received a bouquet of flowers from some of my colleagues and that’s what this photo is of, even if its not recognisable as such. In the bouquet were delicate thistle like flowers and this is part of one of the leaves with the prurple flower as bokeh in the background (taken with macro tubes)
I instantly liked this photo, it’s abstractness and golden tones gave me a sense of magic happening, which I suppose it is every time we press the shutter 🙂
Hope you all enjoy the week ahead
Emma x
 
Date taken 17.09.11, Canon EOS 350D, Exposure 0.3sec ISO 100 Focal length 50mm + extension tubes 28mm, 14mm and 7mm, Aperture f/1.8 

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello!

It’s wendsday again! (Shaking head in disbelieving.) I hope you all are well and are having a good time. My photo for this week is a macro shot of a wild flower.

I photographed it on a vacation, using extension tubes. Flower is only 2 or 3 mm wide. I look forward to your photos. See you!

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

tags: macro, flowers, white

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Having our hands full with the new baby girl we’ve got recently we did not travel much this summer so I had to try to find something to shoot around my place. I got this shot at a rather unknown local fair in a nearby small village, the main attraction being this old style funny looking merrygoround. The painting and collors could be a good match for Kodachrome but I’m happy with the B&W as well. Shot with Nikon F3HP, 50mm F/1.8D lens, Kodak TriX 400, scanned with Nikon Coolscan 9000ED.

Best Regards

Bogdan

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

My mother’s dog (very playful and loves chasing tennis balls).

Nikon D3s + 200 VRII at 1/1000s, f/2, ISO 360 (hand held) 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

The black and white theme last week was superb, I really loved the photos. 

This week a little attempt at funny pin up from me :-), I hope it worked. Catherine was a great model with a sense of humour and was willing to try out this housewife set up I prepared for her. I had the costume for a long, long time, but never had a client willing to make a little fun of herself. I think she looks extremely cute, don’t you? 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to seeing your photos. 

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/7.1, 1/125s

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

A drunken fisherman was chatting with his t-shirt at the edge of river a week ago. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/1500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

The photos from last week, the B&W themed week, were uniformly great. As much as I love vivid color I have to say black and white photos are almost always my favorites. My compliments to everyone who participated last week.

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot of the Salmon River just outside Salmon,Idahowhere my husband ran a marathon last week-  the race went great though the high altitude was a challenge!  There were also fires in the area so there was a bit of a haze in the area that also affected the runners a bit.  Still – even with a little bit of a haze it was beautiful out there.  You will prob see quite a few pics in the coming weeks from this trip.  I wish our trip could have been a lot longer as I just can’t seem to get enough of being out west.   So when my husband plans his next marathon in a western state I will def plan to tag along. 

Have a great week everyone!

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

When Hurricane Irene hit and the waters started to rise beyond anything we could have imagined, we were very fortunate to be able to move the horses to the farm up the road on higher ground.  The next day when I went with the ‘crew’ to feed the horses I noticed this ‘water trough’.  I am always thrilled by anything from yesteryear and this was no exception.  This is hooked up to a water line and the horse learns to push on the arm which fills the bowl.  Old but it’s something I wish we had at the barn where we keep our horse, it’s much easier than filling water buckets!

As always loving all your photos!  Sorry I haven’t been able to comment lately, life is still hectic around here.

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Program AE, 1/64 sec, f/4, ISO 400

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett  – Allen, Texas

Had an amazing weekend — Got married in Vegas, drove to Pasadena, went to the Texas v. UCLA game at the Rose Bowl Stadium, went out shooting in Hollywood and Malibu with Ms. Robin Warner and a few other ladies from 365, drove back to Vegas, and came home. I have over 1500 shots to look through, but this one really stood out to me. It was taken on the way home while riding in a Jeep going 70+ MPH through theMojave Desert. I wish I knew how to do geotagging on my Nikon (or get it from the metadata if it’s already “working” on the camera) so I could say exactly where this is. I love the railroad curving into the mountain, and how you can tell where the mountain was cut to accomodate it. I love all the rich colors in the plant life. It was a VERY HOT drive, but so beautiful.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Tunnel – early morning bike commute”

An unusual photo from me because I captured this via my camera phone. This was early this (Sept. 20) morning on my bike commute toSan Francisco. This was an old railroad tunnel in Marin that was re-opened to bike traffic only late last year. It’s been closed for almost 30 years to rail traffic and took $23 million to reopen it.  I love it!

This is the last week of summer in the Northern Hemisphere – just 2.5 days until autumn officially starts. 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Mertz Library –New YorkBotanical Garden

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

Hello all,

This week’s submission is a bit macabre.  I was walking on the beach on eastern long island this past weekend and noticed a number of ‘unlucky’ beach creatures.  Here is a picture of one- it looked a bit like a fossil in the making to me.

ISO 400, 70mm, -.33ev, f/13, 1/125

Have a good week,

Gladys

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Some months ago, I turned 50, and one of the gifts I received was a softbox and stand from Lastolite.  So many things, good and bad, have happened in my life this last year, so it was only yesterday, I found time to unpack and mount the kit.  This image is one of my first, and is by no means perfect, but I thought I would share it with you anyway.  I also tried to shoot tethered via Adobe Lightroom 3.4, and it went perfect.  (Tethered shooting is when you attach a cable to your camera, and the images go directly into the computer, without saving to the flash card first.  The intention is to see the image on screen immediately, so that you can change the lighting or values when needed, and not having to rely on the small LCD screen on the camera back).

Here the model got 10 seconds to prepare for the “photo shoot”, as she exhausted had just returned from her dance class.

Nikon D300, 24-70,  SB-800, Lastolite EzyBox

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Steeplechase Pier –  Joseph Leotta

Black and White can be more dramatic than color. 

On a big B&W tear since last weeks thread, Your photos inspired me.

 

 

The Hawk – Peggy G

This is the hawk that lives in the Clay community.  They like to perch on the side of the four lane highway and watch for “meals” in the grass.  This one is diving for a mouse or something.  I haven’t captured these acrobatics before and was excited.  I’ve found that you pull off the road as soon as you see them and be getting your camera ready and your window down. Then, pull up closer to them.   I usually get a shot or two out the window of them perched.  Then if I’m really lucky, I get out of the car and try to get some of them in flight. 
 
F/6.3, 1/1600s, ISO 1600 

 

More Tunnel – Ken Papai

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 86 – September 21, 2011

  1. Wonderfull photographs this week. All are very good.
    But my absolute favorites are Stanley Becks “Hummingbird” and “More tunnel” by Ken Papai.
    See ya all next week!

Leave a Reply

