Week 87 – September 28, 2011

On most photos you can click once and then again to view larger version.

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Farm House

Fall is here. It’s my favorite time of year for photography.Vermontis one for the best places for fall foliage. Jumping the gun just a bit to plan out some of the places I want to be sure and visit, I went thru last’s years files.  This one I completely overlooked last time, but it just popped out this time for some reason.

Taken on a road by my house in Wardsboro, this was a farmhouse in earlier years. Now it’s a fantastic country home on a back road across from a rolling meadow that was to be a farm field.

Nikon D700 AF-S Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED  1/125 sec, f/22, ISO 400  Raw>NX2

Tags : WardsboroVermont, country farmhouse,Vermontfall foliage, autumn colors

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Mount Annan Botanic Gardens, just south ofSydney..

Talk about getting the evil eye J. Lucky I had my 55-300mm zoom between me and him!

Pentax k20d + DA 55-300 @ 190mm, f/6.3, 1/80 sec, ISO 320

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“3405 th Squadron Quadrangle, Keesler Air Force Base,Mississippi” — I used to live there. This is an “archive retro” and was taken in 1962 with a Kodak Instamatic X-15 camera, black and white film (don’t ask me to remember what kind). I no longer have the negatives, only the scanned images. Nearly 50 years ago. Ah, the memories!

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

First of all- I loved everyone’s shots from last week – continually amazing! For my shot this week I’ve chosen another from our recent trip out west – this is from theTetonPasslooking down into Jackson Hole as we drove fromIdahotoWyoming.  Inspite of the haze from fires, still so beautiful.  This picture doesn’t do it justice, but hope it gives you an idea of the beauty of this area of theUS.   I love the variations of blues/purples/greens in the pic and the serenity.

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Spent a day at the zoo and what a day it was.  I have always been fascinated with monkeys, apes and gorillas since I was a little girl.  I would always ask my dad if i could have a pet monkey.  It was amazing to just sit and watch these guys hang, play and eat. I did my best to capture some emotion and expression in their eyes or face.  So very human.

Cannon EOS60D, Lens Tameron 18-270, iso 400, 270mm, f/6.3, 1/100 

                                   

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings. I took this a while ago but just never got to post it. We had a family of weavers setup home in the tree in my front yard. One afternoon I went out camera in hand and managed to catch Mr’s Weaver at home. Shooting straight up from underneath I needed a little fill flash to see her in the nest.

Taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron 70-300VC (this lens has been an awesome investment.) 

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

This weekend there was another dance competition in which my daughter participated.  I have previously tried to take the crisp sharp images of the dancers when they are leaping or doing some other movements in their dance performances.

 However, this time I wanted to try something completely different.  I wanted to play with the movements and long exposures, in order to present some of the action the dancers muster.

The camera is handheld, manual exposure set to 1/3 or 1/9 sec.  Just press the butter, and see what becomes of it…. 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

Big Sky –Sonoma”

It was a very (nearly extremely) windy afternoon inSonomaValleylast Saturday, 9/24. A cold front was just starting to move in pushing out the hot weather – which you can see in this picture – fog rolling in quickly over the hills from the west (below 1,000 ft.) and the fair weather, high cirrus clouds 40,000 ft. above.

Anaba Vineyard – Canon EOS 7D – 24-70 lens at 27mm, ISO 100, f/6.3, 1/640.

Anaba has a nicely “valued forwarded” wine list with a tilt towardsRhonestyle wines – they have both a red and a white “port”.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

My photo for today is a follow up to Davorin’s last week photo. He wrote that three of us were together on the lake, and I thought it would be interesting to see different (i hope 🙂 )perspective on the similar motif.

Gej, there was no need to thank me. I really liked your photo and I thought I could add an different view on it.

Wayne, Google does better job with photos, but I suspect with the new changes FB will cover that issue. I am on g+, but I think I’ll stick with FB. I guess I like it more, sloppy as it is…

Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@10mm, f13, 3sec, ISO 100.

Pozdrav, Filip.                                                                                                                               Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning!

My photo this week is of the Sydney Opera House, one of the most recognized structures in the world.  Contrary to its name, the building houses multiple performance venues. It is one of the busiest performing arts centers in the world, hosting over 1,500 performances each year that are attended by over 1.2 million people.  It is also one of the most popular visitor attractions inAustralia, with more than seven million people visiting the site each year, 300,000 of whom take a guided tour. I was one of the 300,000 that took the guided tour this year and was completely blown away by all that I saw. It is truly an amazing building!

As always, I look forward to viewing all of your work.  Have a wonderful week!

I took this photo from across theSydneyHarborat around 8:30pm.  D90 – 30 seconds – f/11.0 – 18-200@34mm – ISO 200 – Aperture Priority – Tripod

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

Here is this weeks picture… taken again onMonheganIslandof the light house on the island. There are literally hundreds of painters on the island in the summer (30 – 40 galleries) and this has a painters canvas in the foreground and the keepers house in the background. I think I submitted a picture last summer taken near the same spot of two painters set up side side by side painting the same scene. The actual lighthouse is just behind me.

Taken with a Canon 7D, 28 -90

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

I never get tired of taking pictures of my daughter and Cinderella.  We have been having so much fun together lately and I think it’s because we came soclose to losing our Cinderella during the Hurricane’s flash flooding.  She just seems all the more special now.  Neither of us can get enough of her. I love any photo of the two of them where they seem to be on the ‘same wave length’.  Here they are looking out at the damage in the field and thinking ‘how did this ever happen to us?’…emotions still run high around here, even though the valley is coming back together, it’s heartbreaking when you travel on a road you haven’t been on yet and see a missing house or a crumpled building.  But this valley is united and it
WILL come back!!!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/83 sec, f/7.1, ISO 100

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Some people went to see the world championship in bicycling, but I had to go to work. The championship took place only a mile from where I work so….:-((

Anyway, something very rare did happen at my job too. This is a house originally placed at a small island, been at the museum for decades, and instead of using thatched roof they used what was ‘on hand’, seaweed.

It’s put on in a very thick layer, up to10 feetand doe properly it last for many many years. Could be a one of a lifetime photoJ

Have a nice week all

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody, 

my photo this week is one of the photos I did for the opera singer, this set up had a work title Queen of Birds, Lisa, the singer, was wearing a feather collar I chose for it, and my wonderful make up artist Rachel produced the most amazing eye make up resembling the feathers in the collar in colour and in feathery shapes. Strong light creating shadows over Lisa’s face worked a treat. I added the light effect later in photoshop. 

I look forward to seeing all your photos, 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/125s, f/8

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Mine.

Nikon D3s + 200-400VRII at 1/1000s, 380 mm, f/4 and ISO 250

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone.   Last week had some amazing photos!!!   Remodeling almost finished at the house, so hopefully will have more time to comment and to shoot.

For the first time in many weeks , I was able to get up early and try to find some subjects.    The dew drops always catch my attention.

I hope you like this one.

Tags,  Macro, Flowers, Dew Drops

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello all.  I, too, am sorry that I have not had time to make comment to all for the past several weeks.  I will try to do so next month.  Very long month, quarter end and half fiscal year end here.
Last weekend, I took a walk with PC-E lens, just for fun to take the buildings, structures and like this fake miniature photos.  As you can see, there is the Bullet Train rail road and the plaza full of people surrounded by the buildings.  The sun was just looking toward me in the late afternoon and hope all made this look like the rail road diorama set 🙂  Just playing with the lens.  Note that automatic mode doesn’t work well with this lens, so has to do all manually.  Hope you have a great week.

D700, 24mm PC-E, manual mode, f/6.3, 1/640s, ISO 200
www.kih.me

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Taken two Sundays ago in Areco, a small rural town, nearBuenos Aires.

A folklore fair with horse breaking shows.

Nikon D300+ 80-200 2.8 @ 200mm  ISO 1000 – f 2.8 – 1/2500

Tags: areco, horse, gaucho, riding

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This image was taken last Friday in the late afternoon on my way home from work.  This field is usually a green pasture but this year the farmer has sown a crop of canola into it making for a lovely golden carpet leading up to the distant slopes of Mt Hesse.  I captured this photograph elevated about 4 feet above ground level on the tray back of my ute (pickup truck) in the delightful warm early spring afternoon air with the sweet scent of canola flowers drifting across the road on the breeze…….

Captured hand held with D700 + AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 @ 20mm, f/9, 1/1,600th sec  ISO 400.

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Another hummingbird shot from me again this week. There are so many around right now due to their migration, so figured I’d take advantage of it while it lasts. They’re really fun to watch. I captured a pair mating the other day (some of you saw that on Facebook), which was a first for me. This one is also a first; an actual in flight shot. I’ve gotten them hovering before, but they are SO fast, in flight shots are pretty much luck (at least for me).

Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/2000, f6.3, ISO 400.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

Tags: Ruby throat hummingbird

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello Sharpshooters!

I am impressed with your photos from last week.

This week I present to you a photo called „The morning light dancing on the river“.

Equipment: Olympus E3, Olympus ED 9-18mm @ 9mm, ISO 100, 0,8 sec @ f/10, tripod, Cokin GND filter.

Greetings, Davorin          www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Peggy, thanks a lot for your words for my post last week. I appreciated.

My photo taken few hours ago, while two workers empties the steel beams from traditional passenger boat. Low tide of river allowed me to capture the boat slightly from upper. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2.8, 1/2500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

This little crab spider was such a pest. He started a web on a picture inside by our back door. I carefully carried him and his web outside and put him on a tree right outside by the back door. Woke up the next day and he had built a web across the back door so you had to walk thru it to get out. I removed the web again. The next morning I got up to the same web across the door way. I took him and his web out away from the back door this time. I woke up the next morning and went out to the trash cans and he had built this beautiful very elaborate web between two tree’s. It was covered with dew and in the direct sunlight. Thought I’d share my pesky little friend with you.

Nikon D3, Sigma 150 2.8 macro, 1/400 sec, F/5, 800 ISO Tags: Crab Spider.

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This was taken in Jiufen, a small town on the northern coast ofTaiwanwhich was famous for its Japanese-owned gold mines that sprouted up during the Japanese colonial era. Now, it’s known for the main part of town, which consists of old Chinese alleys that wind up and down hills. This woman was selling herbs, tea, and sweets and was kind of surprised when I asked for her photo in my bad-but-improving Chinese. 

Taken with the prime 35mm as usual, which was great for this. Dialed down to f/1.8 at ISO 400 and a nice 1/1250 shutter speed. I was surprised how quick it was given the dark alley. 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is a shot in the L’Hotel des Invalides in the Musee de l’Armee. I really like this one – it looks like a group coming at ya.

Nikon D300s 27mmn f2.8, 1/25 sec, center weight

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Well what can I say?  It’s a weed.  Hope you find it an attractive weed, however!  (-:

Nikon D7000, Nikon 80-200 F/2.8D, 120mm, F/2.8, 1/200s Auto ISO 110

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Post and Rail fence on a walking path

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Gorgeous sunset taken inPhoenix,Arizona. Added a little bit of fill-light and cropped in Lightroom. Otherwise, no adjustments…I didn’t see any way to improve this one, what a stunning view and a gorgeous night!

Nikon D3000 10mm 1/4000@ f/5.6 ISO100

 

 

Gladys Millman – Westport, Connecticut

End of summer shots fromNorwalk,CT. The lady on the beach was taken with a Coolpix S8000, probably set to backlight because it was a very bright day.  She just seemed so iconic of the season.

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

Roads I’ve never traveled  – Suzanne Bauer

Traveling on roads I’ve never traveled before due to the road closures I have found the neatest things. Here is one of them.  Some type of stone house.  Not sure what it is or what it’s used for but I plan to go back soon and see if the owners are around to find out.  I’d also like to get a closer look!

Great photos everyone, every week! And thanks Joe for all your hard work getting this all together every week!

 

The Roadside barn – Joseph Leotta

Vermontis nicknamed Gods country in the fall.  One of the best places to visit during foliage season

 

 

Roberta Davidson

Bugs seem to be few this summer .  Bees however are all around, so I have been practicing at trying to get decent bee in flight (BIF) shot.

This little guy was so loaded down with pollen that I think he was not flitting about as quickly which helped me get a few shots.  These little guys are quick !

Hope you enjoy !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 87 – September 28, 2011

  1. rangewriter says:

    Stunning images, every one! I’m loving this blog!

Leave a Reply

