Week 88 – October 5,2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Storm Clouds

What lousy weather we had all weekend – Rain, rain and more main. The only good thing about storms is the intense clouds that they bring with them. You have to wait out the storm or be in front of it as it comes rolling in. If conditions are right and the sun is low in the sky (morning or night), you can catch some dramatic clouds with backlighting. 

Sunday after a weekend of rain, it started to clear up. I took a ride up US1- Boston Post Road into Town of Mamaroneck where they have a harbor on the Sound. Only had about a 10 minute break in the clouds that let a little blue sky peek thru. 

I think the hardest part of photography is to plan well to be in the right place at the right time. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. I’ve been noticing this spot for a while now and was waiting for the right situation to go with a camera.

D300   AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR @18mm 1/400 sec, f/10, ISO 320 Compensation: +2/3    Raw >Lightroom >NX2        October 2, 2011   5:22:05PM

Tags:HarborIslandPark,MamaroneckNY, storm clouds, dramatic clouds

 

  

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Wandering around small towns in the south ofFrance, it’s easy to find little gems here and there..  And sometimes you see things that you just love to photograph.. I could not resist the colors and textures I found in these old wooden shutters J

K20d + DA 16-45 @ 20mm, f/9, 1/160 sec, ISO 250, EV + 0.3 

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Another shot from my trip into the woods with my two good old friends, the Nikon D70 and Nikkor 1.8

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

What a lot of great photos last week too.

Today, Sunday, my wife and I had a great day and a long walk in the Forrest.

Other did it their way, on bicycle through small paths and steep hills mud etc.

All the best

Jens

  

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning and Happy Wednesday!

Last weeks photos were absolutely sensational.  It never gets old, “It may have been our best week ever”.  

Joe’s fall photo inspired me to look for something colorful and while visiting a farmers market, I spotted the peppers.  The sky was overcast (no harsh sunlight) and I really liked the result.

As always, have a great week.

Gej

D90 – 1/30sec – f/4.0 – 18-200@28mm – ISO 100 – Aperture Priority – Handheld

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

I have been waiting on these wildflowers to bloom!  I thought it was earlier last year when they bloomed and I thought I had missed them.  The butterflies love them.  I sent photos on them last year.  But I couldn’t resist as we have had so few butterflies at my house this year.  And never before have I caught one in flight that wasn’t a total blur!
 
Nikon D7000, Nikon 70-300, F/5.6, 1/1000s, ISO200

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is another shot from my recent trip to the Teton’s  – we arrived in the park just in time to see the sunset- it was really nice, although another gentleman who was shooting it mentioned that the Teton’s are better known for sunrise shots-  not sure about that as we seemed to get going a little too late every morning – plus we had early morning clouds a couple of days as well – so we never caught a sunrise.  It’s really magical in the Park at sunset -and just after – especially when you are lucky enough to see some of the wildlife.

  

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

Spring is well and truly blooming away furiously here in south eastern Australiaand with 6 acres of gardens to gaze at it was high time I mounted the macro lens to my camera and went out into the inviting sunshine to stare closely at the world in minutia.

We had had exactly an inch of rain the evening / night before so there was water droplets aplenty trapped on top of the leaves of the nasturtium vines next to the vegetable beds.  I took several shots before noticing this particular pool of water which had a fragment of forget-me-not flower break off and float about in it.  This image illustrates how the surface tension of the water against the leaf causes the droplet’s outer margins to recoil and raise the height of the droplet making for a more dramatic looking pool of water.  I like how the droplet behaves likes a blob of mercury, with it quivering as a result of the ever so slight vibration caused by the passing breeze.

Captured on a sturdy tripod with my D700 and trusty manual focusing  Kiron 105mm f/2.8 macro lens at full 1:1 magnification.   105mm,  f/16,  1/50th sec,   ISO 400   Active D-Lighting set to ‘Normal’

  

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Week 88….  Good number for Chinese people, I heard…
Well, sorry again that I did not have time to leave comments for you.  Everyone is great, and getting better (so is mine, I hope…).
This week submission was taken on the same day as the last week’s.  Tried to make some artistic thing and, hahaha, I don’t know how it turned out to be.  You be the judge 🙂
I first thought that the color was better, because there was green hanging out from each floor, but the contrast was more interesting in this subject, so I decided to convert it to B&W.
Hope you all like it. 

Ken
www.kih.me
D700, 24mm PC-E, all manual, 1/50sec, f/8. ISO800

  

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

This was an OMG moment.  I found this dandelion week and picked it up and walked over to a grey car to take the shot.  As i was walking over, the wind had blown away some of the seeds or whatever they are called and out came this shot

Cannon EOS60D, Lens Cannon Macro 100mm, iso 400, 100mm, f/7.1, 1/800

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone.  Hope all had a great week.   I found myself out in the spillway Saturday.  Saw some folks training dogs again.  Could not resist asking if I could take some shots.  I really have found a new  love with my photography —-   retreivers !!  These dogs are absolutely amazing to watch.   Such a partnership and trust between the handler and  the dog.   So, here’s to fall and beginning of duck season.

D7000  70-300 VR at 270mm   ISO 280 f/5.6  Shutter  1/1600

 Tags:  Dogs, Hunting, Retreivers

 

  

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Went to the park for a walk last night. Finally cooled down in the 60’s. Caught a glimpse of this wild rabbit as I walked towards my car. Slowly got close and watched him eat. He kept a close watch on me also. Got a few shot before he took off.

Nikon D3, Nikon 300 2.8, 1/100 SS, ISO 1,000, F/2.8

 TAG:Bunny, Big ears

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

One of my favorite parts of air travel is getting the window seat and shooting aerial photography from the plane. The was taken just after leveling off around sunrise, after leavingTexason the way toLas Vegasfor our wedding/honeymoon weekend. I love being above the clouds. If I could live up here, I would.

Nikon D90 1/200 @ f/5 ISO 200 24mm

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 GardenDistrictMansion” — This is one of the many mansions and upscale homes of the New Orleans Garden District. This particular house happens to be one of the homes of author Anne Rice. I promise, that purchasing one of these requires deep pockets. However, there is plenty to photograph there — not only the houses, but the trees, iron fences, gates, and such. Last week you saw the barracks that I lived in when I was younger. I will never live in one of these.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/11, 1/400 sec.

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

This guy is making a living by playing a music box and advertising various local cultural events, he is pretty well known funny character on the streets of Old Bucharest. He’s also got a pair of fortune tellers parrots and a white mouse under his hat.

Shot with Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm F/2 Distagon ZF lens, Kodak TriX 400TX.

  

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all

Thanks for your comments about my last week pic.

Today a different one. Last Saturday I had the chance to take pictures at a rehearsal of a Opera that will take place in 2 weeks here. The work is Hippolyte et Aricie by Rameau (1742) I took more than 700 pics during the rehearsal that last more than 4 hours.

Nikon D300 + 80-200 @ 86mm  ISO 2500 – f 2.8 – 1/80sec

Tags: Hippolyte, Aricie, Rameau, Opera

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

After some time I’m rather satisfied with photos I took last Sunday, when I was photographing with Davorin. Location where I made this photo was our last for the day, and as soon as I saw this tree I knew i wanted to try IR photo of it. So, here it is. I hope you like it. Another IR photo from that day you can see on my blog. Techs are: Nikon D80 + Sigma 10-20@18mm, f9, 30sec, ISO 320, Cokin IR filter.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

tags: tree, willow, infrared, IR, blue, landscape,Mura,Croatia

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

This week’s photograph was taken in order for the book published by Photoclub Čakovec whose members are Filip and I. The book talks about the technical, artistic and philosophical side of photography and is intended for a wide audience, from beginners to experienced photographers. Promotion of the book will be next week and we firmly keep our fingers crossed that succeeds in the market. Filip and I are both very happy because we helped in the realization of this project and we are especially proud that our photos are in the book.

The book’s author, Davor Žerjav ( also memeber of photoclub Čakovec and our friend ), was looking for a photograph of still life that evoke the look of a painting made by hand. He suggested that I try to photograph something like this. One afternoon we met and with his assistance, this photo was taken. The lighting is natural, from a large window, with no direct sunlight. On the left side of frame light from window is reflected of the sheet of plain white paper in order to soften the shadows. The flash is not used.

Equipment: Olympus E510, Olympus ED 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 @ 31mm, ISO 100, 1/15 sec @ f/10, tripod.

Looking forward to this week’s photos.

Regards, Davorin

  

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

Osprey photographed on the coast ofMaine. A few minutes after this picture was taken the bird on the right dive bombed the water with a great splash returning to flight with a large mackerel in it’s talons and flew across to the island for a meal.

Taken with a Canon 7D EF 300mm 1:4 L IS, 1/640, Av 9.0, ISO 400.

  

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings fromSouth Africa.

I managed to sneak a few hours at the local computing gaming expo last week. My main aim was to capture some of the guys who like doing cosplay, in other words dressing up as favourite characters from games movies cartoons etc. Unfortunately they were only coming the following day and I would be working. I’ve never seen so many cameras at an event. The place was swarming with gear, and it seems quite a few were being used for video. Wonder what the photo expo in 2 weeks will be like.

This gent was there promoting a computer game and was most accomodating with his slightly oversized breadknife. Gave me a chance to try out the Topaz B&W plugin I just bought. Great bit of software for $30.

Nikon D300 18-55 kit lens SB-600 flash with Rogue flashbender. 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Bill, thanks a lot for your comment to my post last week. I appreciated.

My photo taken few days ago during an event while the cooks were pouring washed rice to a big wok behind the net at night. I used my mono pod.

Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends.

Regards,                                                                                                                                                Ertugrul Kilic                                                                                                                           http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

 Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/10sec, ISO800, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

  

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

 Taken on a beautiful fall day along theWinooskiRiverinVermont.

  

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

For the first time in my life, I experienced “back trouble” last week. I could hardly move and it frightened me. (I’m pretty active, and the thought of not being able to do what I wanted really scared me.) In light of that scare, I am posting a photo that most of you wouldn’t care to look at, but to me, it’s a treat because after a week of hardly being able to move, I was able to crouch down Tues. morning and take a macro shot of this robberfly. I admit they aren’t pretty, but they do have incredible eyes. 🙂 I also received another nice treat Tuesday afternoon; a “photo spread” of some of my work and a short bio of me was published in a local magazine (of course I hated MY pic…took it on a windy day after riding around in a golf cart! I needed Jana for that one. 🙂 Not a big time deal, but I am flattered. If you’d like to see it, there is an online version here. They got the Nikon macro lens wrong, because my macro lenses are a Sigma 150mm and a Tamron 60mm, although I do shoot them with a Nikon body. This one was taken with my Nikon D90/Sigma 150mm @ 1/100, f/8, ISO 400 on a tripod.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

Another photo from one of the ‘detours’ I drove through. I liked this one because it’s not my typical photo (horses!) and made me ‘think’ outside the box for a change.
These tall trees caught my eye as I drove by so I backed up and took a few shots.  If you look at it for a while I think you’ll see what I see and that is the 3 dimensional edge to it – the ground, the tall trees and the smaller trees behind the tall trees.

Always enjoy your photos, I hope someday to get to your level of expertise!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/49 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100.

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 Paraduxx Winery – Rector Creek Vineyard along Silverado Trail,Napa Valley,California.   Saturday, Oct. 1, 2011 – Canon EOS 7D, 16mm, ISO 200, f/8

 A beautiful, colorful herb garden along Paraduxx’s (a Duckhorn winery) Rector Creek vineyard. My wife & I, and a couple friends enjoyed a beautiful Saturday afternoon tasting wine and the scenery.  I took this photo after trying and enjoying over six different red wines.

One quick note – last week’s photos I think were our best efforts in total so far!

Cheers, Ken

  

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

High walker and low flier taken in May 2011.  Not the sharpest of shots but also very ordinary panning technique.  This shot taken during a period of experimentation with the 200VRII (I have never been one to shoot bricks). 

D300 + 200VRII at 1/2000s, ISO 720 and f/2 (hand held).

  

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

 This shot was taken at the very end of Ghost Month, which occurs through August of each year. It is a month-long period in which the gates of hell in the Chinese religion open up and spirits wander the streets. People are very wary of superstitious things during this time – for example, you should not pick up other people’s belongings off the streets, or it may be cursed. Joking about death is a BAD idea during this time and in order to appease both your ancestors and the ancestors who have no living family, people set up small altars in front of their homes and burn “ghost money,” which acts as a sort of spiritual currency for the ghosts. It’s a bit confusing to explain, and even more confusing for many foreign English teachers who first arrive inTaiwanin the middle of the month – suddenly families and businesses each have a burn barrel in the middle of the street in front of their houses! 

Anyway, this shot is actually my mother-in-law. I learned how to burn this and while we were at it, we set off some fireworks. While my wife and I are Christians, it’s a part of the Chinese culture that people just do as normally as we might set up Christmas lights. I took this with the 35mm at f/2, ISO 200 and a 1/400 shutter. 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is the harborof Dinan, France, taken a couple of months ago. Even with the departing storm clouds and rain, the town was extremely photogenic. It’s only October and I’m already planning my next vacation through the heart of the USon my way to the Rocky Mountainsin early summer next year.

Nikon D300s, 34mm, f5, 1/100 sec, center weight

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Working night shift (11 p.m. – 7 a.m.) is not my favorite thing to do, but it does mean I often get to witness some beautiful early morning sights that I wouldn’t get to otherwise see…

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Thank you very much on the comments on my photo last week, I very much appreciate them. 

This week another one from the opera singer collection, this time a very vivid photo (I know I will regret this, when the vivid week comes and I won’t have anything suitable to post :-). 

Have a lovely week and I look forward to your photos.,  Jana 

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, f/8, 1/200s

 

 

Guest submission 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Playing with my “new” Nikon D200 and 55-200  VR zoom lens.

I have a butterfly bush in the front yard and a few winged visitors showed up last weekend.  I was playing with depth of field and zooming in as tight on as possible on the subject.

Nikon D200 175mm F/5.3 at 1/30 sec ISO-100

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Old pier  – Haig Tchamitch

 This is an old pier inAstoriaOregonat low tide.  Behind me is the Maritime museum, which is excellent.

In the background you can see the bridge that goes toWashingtonState.

Pentax k5, Sigma 10-20 @ 10 mm, F/9, 1/640 sec, ISO 800, EV + 0.3

  

 

The Butterfly and the Bee – Peggy G

Got the bee as a “bonus” in this photo! 
 
300mm, F/5.6, 1/1000s, ISO200

 
  

 

One more sunset shot – Sandi Mahncke

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

