Week 89 – October 12, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

The Stone Wall

Did I mention that I like to take pictures during the fall in Vermont.
I just can’t get enough of them. 2 to 3 weeks of photography heaven each year.

There are stone walls like this one all overVermont. Most of them are at least a century old if not older. The amount of work that it must have taken to find all these stones, drag the over to the spot and then build miles and miles of these walls is unimaginable..

Nikon D200 18-135 dx zoom at 24mm  Iso 320

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

One of my earlier and favorite photos with my then relatively new Pentax k10d and 70-300 Sigma lens.  This was shot on an Australian beach (NSW) in 2008.  I was fairly lucky in that I guessed the right speed to shoot at so as to get some motion blur in the bat and the ball.

f/11, 1/250 sec, ISO 200, EV + 0.3

Young Spiderman honing his batting skills

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Hope your weather has been as nice where you are as it is here.  A week in the 70s without rain in October is a nice change.

This week I’m submitting another photo from the Farmers Market.  The straw flowers bouquets filled the containers that they were arranged in and they begged to be photographed.   I obliged and hope you find them as vivid and beautiful as I did.

Have a great week!

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Sometimes when you’re in a rut, you go back to your roots. I’ve shot this railroad several times in the last year, and it is where I really first experimenting with depth of field when I first got my 50mm f/1.8 lens. I decided to make the short trip after shopping for my daughter’s birthday. It has been very cloudy inDallasthe last few days – a sure sign that autumn is here. Although we didn’t get a storm out of the clouds on this day, it sure looked like the bottom could drop out at any moment.

I experimented with this shot quite a lot, and it was in the experimentation that I spotted the rock on the track. I’m not a fan of laying on a railroad track, even if it is out of service, so I was also experimenting with blind shooting with the camera on the ground. It took 14 blind shots to get the focus just how I wanted it, and I actually ended up shooting this one at a slight angle and straightening it in lightroom. I hope everyone enjoys it, it’s one of my favorite shots of late, and made me realize that I had been in a rut and just needed to get out to be inspired. 🙂

Nikon D90  Nikkor 35.0mm f/1.8 1/640 @ f/5.6 ISO 200

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Subway station connector tunnel – Bryant Park station to the number 7 train

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

One of my Veteran’s Park birds.  This one has been there for a few months but I’ve never got a shot that I was pleased with before.  Big white birds in bright sunshine are hard to photograph!  This one was over-exposed but I corrected that, maybe too much?  Roberta, Jeannean, is this an egret? Looking forward to everyone’s photos.  Last week’s were great!!
 
Originally, F/6.6, 1/3200s, ISO 1000 with my 70-300 at 300mm

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Hope you all have had a nice week. Thanks for the comments on my photo, appreciate it a lot.

My contribution this week is from work again but this time, while having a coffee break in the afternoon,

this little hawk got he’s dinner right in front of me. Took several pictures with my p7000 and even had time to run for my D700 with 70-200 + TC20E.

All the best,  Jens

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Big Fish Eat Little Fish

Found this happy guy inChinatown, Los Angles.  Sometimes it just makes you wonder about happiness.  Seems that i find some of the most content people during my street excursions.  Maybe it is true that less is more.  

Cannon EOS 60D, Lens Tamron 18-270, iso 320, 168mm, f/10, 1/200

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings. I do apologize for not commenting on last weeks pics, but work has been hectic. But that is mostly over so I get to go spend 4 days at our National photo expo playing with new toys and doing workshops. Mini holiday for me!!!

I got invited to my first murder mystery dinner this weekend. Great fun! I must just remember that I make a lousy politician. I did get the camera out during a break and got this candid of my “wife” for the evening. Was going to go for B&W but I felt a hint of colour gave the right feel. The white is her cigarette smoke.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tokina 28-70 f/2.8 @ f/2.8 70mm 1/60s 800 ISO

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This image is part of some magnification experiments I tried with the following set up :-

Tripod mounted D700 + AF-S 300mm f/4 lens + TC 1.4 E II + 30mm worth of cheap extension tubes.   This is a full frame image taken as close as I could get to the flower.  I just waited for bees and flies to come and hunt for nectar and shot with fully manual metering using the aperture collar on the lens for depth control and manual focusing of course. 

This is a hit and miss affair and teaches one patience -especially when the sun is in and out from behind cloud cover and the wind is blowing the subject around but works just fine if you don’t have a dedicated macro lens. I edited the image in PS with a touch of exposure comp. upward and some minor shadow dodging and re-sized for emailing purposes.  I’m surprised how sharp the subject is despite using multiple magnification devices and the whole rig not being the most stable unit with the dodgy Nikon 300mm OEM lens collar……..

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“G. Ferrer Vineyards / October”

The pinot noir is still hanging on the vines this Columbus Day 2011. Weather was overcast & drizzly — thus I hustled around to get a few vineyard photos this Monday morning in four differentSonomaCountylocales. I love October almost as much as I love good red wine & photography!

Canon EOS 7D, 70mm, ISO 100, f/7.1, 1/40 – center weighted-average metering, on a tripod, 2-second shutter delay. 18MP raw original image file.

 

 

 Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks for the kind comments from Ken and Sandi. Last week was again very special. Today on my way to work I passed this mirror calm lake. I saw this Lady who had been Jogging right beside the lake all of a sudden change her pace and run across the road in front of me like her pants were on fire. I said to my friend in the truck with me something must be wrong with that jogger. He said “look in the middle of the lake there is a big gator”. I thought photo opp. We went up the road close to the jogger and turned around. She saw us an turned around and ran over to our truck and said ” did you guys see that big gator” We laughed and I asked her if that was what she was running so fast away from? She still looked scared. The gator was about 100′ from her. We went back to the lake and I got out to shoot the gator. He had gone under and we didn’t know where he went.

I walked down to the edge around the middle of the lake. Next thing I knew the gator surfaced 10 feet right in front of me. He sat there and let me take a few pics and them moved along. My friend stayed close to the truck in case the gator started to chase me. Great friend.:)

Tag: Gator Head,MirrorLake

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Another shot from my recent trip – this is a view of the Grand Teton atJennyLake.  I think I could have sat there all day just soaking in the beauty and serenity of nature. This was early in the day before the storm clouds started rolling in – still a bit of a haze from the fires but nothing can really detract from nature’s splendor.   Hope everyone has a good week.     Thanks for your comments last week Ken- much appreciated

 

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hi everyone
Sorry i have not been contributing as i have been getting ready for a trip to China for my 50th Birthday. The trip was planned at the last minute, so it has been a hectic time.
My photo today is not much but a self portrait before i go :-)) Not planned, i just happened to find myself inside the photo. I really liked the dome shape of the engine as it makes me look much slimmer than i actually am 🙂
Anyway I will go now and be back in touch with you guys in about 4 weeks

 

 

 

 Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Another pic from the same Opera I posted last week. This time from the Dress Rehearsal, the last one before the concert perfomance. I enjoyed a lot taking this kind of pics.
Here the baritone Norberto Marcos in the role of Pluton
 
Nikon D300 + 80-200 2.8 @ 120 mm
ISO 2500 – f 2.8 – 1/400

tags: rameau, hippolyte, aricie, opera, 

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Took a walk to the bay area (about an hour walk from my place) and took many beautiful places.  The bay area is full of factories and such and one of them was concrete factory.  There were lots of  mixer cars in front and found this subject.  Thought this was interesting as the three mirrors (back mirrors of the mixer truck) show different scenes.  Hope you like it, too.

D700, 28-300mm @65mm, A mode, f/7.1, 1.500sec, ISO200

There are several others from the walk here.
www.kih.me

Tag: TokyoBay, Mixer, Mirror.

 

 

Filip Lucin –Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

It’s always nice to look at your photos from all over the world. Thank you for congratulations on mine and Davorin’s having photos in the book. We actively participated in it’s creation and the promotion will be held this friday. Jeannean, congratulations on the article! You really have great photos, you deserved it. Ken, thank you for comment. Yes, 30 sec, my D80 is not modified for IR so I have to use long exposures… Sandi, thank you for comments, too.

Last saturday Davorin and I were on a trip not so close to our home, but it was well worth it. Since I had no time to process 300 photos from that day, and I know Davorin showed one great photo on FB I’m sure you’ll see his photo from this trip.

For this week, I’ll show a photo from two weeks ago, a simple flower photo. It was just after sunrise and sun bathed the flower with warm light, and the droplets of water add to the whole scene

Nikon D80+Tamron 70-300@300mm, f5.6 1/250sec, ISO 400.

I’m looking forward to your photos on Wednesday.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

Sorry I’ve been absent the last few weeks. A lot has been happening and it all got a bit much even to the point that I didn’t update my 365 project for almost 2 weeks (this is unheard of for me!) and some days it took a lot of kicking myself to get my daily shot. However the worst has passed for now and hopefully things will start to improve again. This weeks photo is one I took today (11th October) of my daughter. I got home from work and she was already topless. Although this was only a brief moment in between a lot of happiness and laughter I thought it conveyed such a strong sense of vulnerability, one which as she gets older will no doubt be hidden away as the innocence and honesty of childhood slips away with each passing year.
I hope that as she gets older, even if she hides her weaknesses from the world she will always turn to those who love her to support her when she needs it.
 I’m sorry I’ve not commented on your photos over the past couple of weeks, I hope to get make time one veening this week to catch up on them.
Emma
 Taken with Canon EOS 350D (trust me, if/when I get a new camera you’ll all know about it!) Exposure 1/6 Aperture F/5.6 ISO 400 Focal length 28mm

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Beautiful fall colors are even more beautiful when they have been touched by the morning dew…

 Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Long Horn Sheep” — A family not too far from my house has a few Long Horn Sheep in their yard. Maybe they are pets, or maybe it saves gasoline while helping to keep the grass short.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/250 sec.

 

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Down and out!  Two years ago while inSydneyI experienced one of those days where the sun produced a lethal burn that caused anything alive to melt.  It was seriously hot when I came across this bird which was almost down and out.  The radiant heat off the camera felt like a blow dryer against my face when I looked through the viewfinder.  Every time I look at this shot it takes me back to that day and the heat … and that famous poem “My Country” by Dorothea MacKellar (born inSydneyin 1883 and died in 1968) “I love a sunburnt country, a land of sweeping plains …”

Nikon D200 + 18-200 VR at f/8, 200mm, ISO 140 (manual, hand held)

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Bill, Dear Ken thanks a lot for your comments to my post last week. I appreciated.

My hands are itching again for silhouettes & sunsets… Fisherman was tighten his boat’s rope. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/2, 1/2500sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone .  Thanks to those who made comments last week.  It is greatly appreciated.

I am still taking the dog shots, but this week also found some  dew covered damsels.   You know I am a sucker for dew covered critters!

D7000   105mm micro with extension tube  f/9   1/250

Hope you enjoy.

Tags:  Damselfly, macro, dew drops

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont


The Hinsdale Greyhound Race Track, Hinsdale, New Hampshire
My mom used to love to go to this track on her visits to Vermont.  I remember taking my son where he’dstand by the edge of the track and after the dogs ran by he’d yell ‘Doggie Dust Mommie, Doggie Dust!’. Now it’s just a grass covered track. We always had a good time when we went, valet parking (my mom), lunch in the dining room and when we were lucky enough some winnings!
Sadly, the business went bankrupt and now this is all that’s left.  I thought of changing it to black & white but then I decided not to because I think I captured the ‘darkness’ of the loss.

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/49 sec, f/5.6, ISO 125

 

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

This is the statue at the front of the AmericanMilitaryCemeteryin Normandy. Its a depiction of a man leaving the ground, ascending. Turn around from this viewpoint and look out over 9,000 graves, it’ll bring tears to your eyes.

Nikon D300s, 17mm, f9, 1/320 sec, center weight

 

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

First I’d like to thank Peggy, Birdie, and Ken for your kind words about the article feature in the magazine. It was appreciated. 🙂 My back is better and I was able to go toEsteroGrandeState Parkand enjoy nature. I pretty much had the whole park to myself Tuesday afternoon. It was great. Still tons of hummingbirds around and couldn’t resist. I love watching them.

Nikon D90/70-300mm VR@1/640, f/7.1, ISO 800.

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This MP was standing guard for the Republic of China’s 100th anniversary. It was celebrated last Monday on “Double Ten Day” inTaipeiand involved military shows, marching bands, and religious processions. 

Lens: Nikkor 70-300mm at 125mm, f/4.8, ISO 400 and 1/3200 shutter.

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

My shot for this week was taken couples of months back at one of the local fairs I came across this summer, these cool looking youngsters attitude emulating pretty well the overhead adds.

Shot with Nikon F3HP, Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D lens, Kodak TriX 400

 

 

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Another shot from my trip into the woods with my two good old friends, the Nikon D70 and Nikkor 1.8

 

 

 

 Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

The Golden fields.

My daughter and I drove all afternoon by the local hills in search of interesting motifs. We were not impressed and a little disappointed we were going home. The sun was setting and at one point in the car rearview mirror I saw how the sun beautifully illuminates the clouds. Instinctively I turned on the gravel road and headed across the field toward a small hill. We arrived at the moment when the sun is going down and all I managed to shoot this day was this photo.

Equipment: E3 + Oly ED 9-18 f/4.0-5.6 ( 18-36mm eqv. )  @ 9mm, ISO 100, 1/30 sec @ f/11, Cokin GND S ( 3 f stop ), handheld, pp in photoshop CS3

Regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Just a nice sunrise – Suzanne Bauer

The view from my house this morning.  My daughter yelled ‘Mom have you looked outside?!’ (She’s trained)
So I ran out to take some photos in my PJ’s, luckily no one was driving by!
I love the outline of all the different tree types.
 Have a wonderful week!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/32 sec, f/5.6, ISO 640

 

 

 

 Carneros Pinot Noir – Ken Papai

“Carneros Pinot Noir” – Cuvaison F5 Block

10/1/2011 – Excellent pinot noir from this classic Carneros region vineyard.

 

 

 

Just a nice sunset – Joseph Leotta

 No words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 89 – October 12, 2011

  1. rangewriter says:

    What a feast for the eyes and inspiration for the soul. Is there a way to comment individually to the different photographers?

Leave a Reply

