Week 90 – October 19, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

TheMountainRiver

This weekend I took a ride in Vermontdown a back road by the Summerset Reservoir and found this mountain river flowing towards it.

The foliage is starting to wind down itVermont. Last week was peak. This week some areas like this one have lost all of its leaves, while others are still showing plenty of color. Yopu can’t beatVermont in Fall.

 Nikon D300  AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED @ 18mm 1/400 sec, f/6.3, ISO 320  – October 16, 2011   1:34:44PM     Raw > NX2

 

 

 Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

The lightshipColumbia# 604, was built in 1950, and decommissioned by the Coast Guard in 1979. It is maintained as an operating exhibit by theColumbia RiverMaritimeMuseuminAstoria,Oregon.

The older paddle boat that’s all lit up behind her is some sort of cruise ship.

Pentax K5, DA 16-45 @ 23mm, f/6.3, 1 sec, ISO 800, + 0.3 EV

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Lingering fruits of late summer.  These pears were in my brother-in-law’s yard at the reservoir nearJackson.  He’s a wonderful gardener and a bee-keeper.  I wouldn’t let anyone pull one until I had photographed them as much as I wanted too!  (-:

Nikon D7000, 70-300 @ 135mm, F/5.6, 1/160s, ISO100.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Thanks for the comments on my photo last week. Saw it on FB evenJ

Not much to say about this picture. From Sundays walk in a nearby forest. Beautiful autumn sunshine and great colours.

Looking forward to yet another great photo week.

Jens

 

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Ruby-throat Hummingbird” — They are just about all gone, now. We had only three here yesterday, but they will all be gone by this weekend, because the temperatures will dip to around 41°F. The dominant bird sits in this little tree on my patio, and guards “his” feeder from all others.

Stanley Beck Photography on Facebook

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/160 sec

 

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.  This was taken at the same walk that I took the last week’s image (truck’s back mirrors).  There is a “sky-walk” which has roof, partially glass and it was the corner of that sky-walk where I saw that building reflecting another building in front of itself.  Interesting composition, I thought.   This is HDR as the building reflection and the part of the sky was too bright, but I wanted to show the detail in the darker area.  Hope you like it!  Ken
D700, 16-35mm f/4 @16mm, f/6.3, 5 shots bracket 1 stop interval.  ISO200
www.kih.me

 
 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

 “Well Hello There”

Found this wonderfully happy man hanging at the mall inSanta Monicathis weekend.    Loved the outfit and all the wonderful character in his face.  You can’t see it in this shot but he is wearing a skull bracelet on the wrist of the hand that is in his pocket.  Happy Wednesday.  

Canon EOS 60D, Tamron 18-270. Iso 320, F/10, 1/12w

 

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

These two pictures were taken recently during the tower set for a new 6 person chair lift atMountSnowski area inVermont. The first picture was taken from the bottom of the mountain (a long way away with a 300mm and a 1.8x) of the third tower from the top being put into position.

 

The second picture was taken at the lift off of another tower being attached to the helicopter… Hope you enjoy..

.

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Last week I was babbling about photo that you didn’t see. 🙂 This week I’ll stick my nose where it belongs. 🙂 But first, thank you all that took time to comment, I’m grateful. It’s always nice to see how other people feel about my and all other photos.

This week I’m showing you a photo from trip I was talking about last week. This is probably one of most underdeveloped and most scarcely populated part ofCroatia. All the armies that rolled over this part of world throughout history did they best to do they worst here, including the last war. But, because of that, nature is almost intact and it’s beautiful. This nice tree was posing for me with part of Velebit mountain in the back, and of course a bit of fog in the distance for extra touch. 🙂 I hope you like it.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hi,

Two weeks ago I made a long-standing intention and went to photograph the hill Zir in the Lika area inCroatia. The night before a cold front passed and meadows around the hill were covered with a thin layer of snow. A light breeze was wearing a thick fog from the north towards the Velebit. The sun is only at times managed to break through layers of fog and top of the hill was only occasionally visible, so I waited over half an hour to take this photo.

Olympus e3, olympus ED 9-18 @ 9mm, ISO 100, 1/200 sec, f/8, handheld. Converted to B/W in Photoshop using channel mi

 

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning and once again, Happy Wednesday!

While photographing the MSU Forest Akers Golf Courses, I noticed an abundance of milkweed seeds flying through the air.  I tracked down their source and immediately envisioned the photo I wanted to capture.  Foolishly, I had left my camera bag at home and only had my tripod and favorite lens (18-200mm) with me.  I finished my morning shoot and went home to get my 105.  By the time I returned, the wind had died down.  I set up my tripod and after taking numerous photos, I believed I had what I was after.  

Using Photoshop CS5 I stacked five of the photos and the result is what I’ve posted for this week.

Have a wonderful week.

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Man with dragoon shirt, this is one shot of my attempt of a photographic series about gipsy people. As difficult photographing people is for me it proved that most of these guys were more laid back than I expected and quite a few were actually willing to have their photo taken.

Shot with Nikon F3HP, Zeiss Makro Planar 100mm F/2 ZF lens, Kodak TriX 400TX, scanned with Nikon Coolscan 9000ED.

 

 

 

 

Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

On the way to dinner one evening, we walked past this “interesting” urban artwork inParis. Thankfully, I had my trusty iPhone to capture the moment… I love this shot.

iPhone 4, f2.8, 1/15 sec, 3.9mm (this cracks me up posting the data)

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

Had a wonderful 4 days attending our local photo expo, playing with new toys and doing lots of workshops. Even got to try out the new Nikon 1 system. VERY interesting.

This is an older pic which I finally got around to editing. I confess to spending alot of time editing trying to find the look I wanted, and mostly succeeded. For me the blue tone gives it a different feel and I like the final result.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and 18-70 lens.

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

 Hello All

A few days ago Pedro, my nephew and godson, had his 5th year birthday.

Here his profile against the window.

Nikon  D300 + 80-200 2.8 @ 92 mm  ISO 1600 – f 2.8 – 1/640

 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Run out but not out!  The batsman was past the batting crease but nothing was grounded when the stumps were broken.  My son who is the wicket-keeper just assumed that the batsman was safe and didn’t even appeal.  How wrong he was!

Side note.  I know in real life it’s really difficult to even see this and it would be a brave umpire to give this out with the naked eye.  The batsman should always be given the benefit of any doubt.

Nikon D3s + 200-400 VRII at 400mm, 1/2000s, f4 and ISO 1600

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Another week gone to the birds! I’ve really been enjoying getting out and experiencing nature while looking up for a change. I was at local place watching a few birds at the feeder, when all of a sudden this Cooper’s hawk flew through trying to nab it’s breakfast. I’ve never seen this (flying through a feeing area), but evidently, it’s pretty common. It flew through a few more times, but never got anything. I was in the shadows watching for some hummingbirds and it flew in again and decided to perch about 10 feet from me. I held my breath, raised the camera and clicked off a few before it saw me. When it did see me, it flew right past me, but of course, that shot was blurry. 😦 Anyway, I was excited to be the close to a hawk AND have it on a perch other than a light pole or dead tree. Taken with Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/500, f/6.3, ISO 800.

http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This was taken back in March at a park near to where I live. I still like this photo and the cold misty feel to it, now winter is drawing in again and the days are getting colder I thought it was relevent.
The photos last week were really great quality, I look forward to seeing each of your photos this week.
Emma x

 

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

I love this section of road in my area, yes we still have many ‘dirt’ roads!  But this one feels like a ‘tunnel’ of trees and in the fall with the leaves lining the side of the road it’s just beautiful.  I took this during a light rain, which I thought gave it a nice effect.

Have a wonderful week!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Portrait, 1/64 sec, f/5, ISO 400

 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

 Hi everyone!!   Great week last week.  Joe, hope your internet issues are better.

Being out in the spillway with the dogs, has introduced me to all the gorgeous birds that inhabit the area!!  I have seen some gorgeous birds. Of course this has made me want a longer lens.

I purchased the Nikon 300mm f/4, whiich I can use with a 1.4 TC.  Rick I am so jealous of your 300 f/2.8 !!! So, now I am trying to practice with the dogs and the birds.

Todays photo is a pied billed grebe.   This is such a cute little duck.  He can fly, but when they feel threatened,  they dive under the water.  They truly are fun and amazing to watch.

Hope you enjoy.

 

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

Presumably, this small statue is meant to be an object of beauty – a gentle angel watching over a gravesite. But, I was struck by how odd the eyes look. To me, the eyes seem more demonic than angelic.

 Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

Another shot from my recent trip out west.   This isBearLakewhich is at theIdaho/Utahborder.  Quite some years ago we made a trip out west with our kids and we drove this route from SLC to the Tetons .  As we came over a mountain top we saw this beautiful blue lake in the middle of nowhere -it was really a wow moment as you came over the mountain because prior to that there was not much color in the landscape.  So this time we made sure to drive the same route back to SLC from the Tetons-  it’s not as spectacular coming across the lake on the reverse route since you are lake level as you approach it but we made our way up the mountain to find the same spectacular view from the same spot we stopped at years ago. Now there is a scenic overlook and rest stop there and a lot of folks stopping to enjoy the view.   Luckily for us it was a gorgeous day – brilliant blue sky, puffy white clouds and the shimmering blue lake….  my kinda view!      Hope you enjoy it too.   Have a great week.

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

This week’s submission is my friend and partner in photography crime, Atali. We are currently working on our studio, and this was one of a few candid shots I got with the new setup when her little Yorkie pup Sketch ran in for some love during a break. My color version of the photo was great, but because of the stark contrast in Atali’s creamy skin and black hair and eyebrows, I wanted to give some high-key high-contrast processing a shot. Gearing up for some studio shooting later this week, so I will be sharing some portrait shots soon and would love critique!

Nikon D90  Nikkor 35mm f/1.8  1/200 @ f/3.2  ISO 200

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Thanks for all the kind comments last week. I did a photo shoot with my baby girl and her homecoming date this past weekend. Had some fun with the sign. I hope he got the point.

Nikon D3, Nikon  80-200 2.8., 112mm, F/10, 1/60 SS, ISO 400, SB 900 flash.

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Emma, Dear Greg thanks a lot for your comments to my post last week. I appreciated.

Traditional passenger boat on theSuriname River. Hope you like it. Take

care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority,  f/2, 1/60sec, ISO140, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

 “Douglas Fir in Fog”

High on the Matt Davis Trail above Stinson Beach, 10/15/2011.

Most Xmas trees areDouglasfirs; this old forest above Stinson is a mature Douglas Fir dominated ecosystem that’s likely relatively unchanged since the last ice age ended — 15,000 years ago?

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 lens, ISO 800, f/4, 1/80.

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

 After nearly the best part of a week in hospital I’ve been at home recouperating from a major viral meningitis infection but have been enjoying the fine spring sunshine here in S.E. Australia.  I’m not really up for much so I decided to put my macro lens on and find something to shoot at 1:1 but settled instead for sitting and watching the New Holland Honey Eater birds in our garden feeding on every flower they can cling onto.  We have perhaps a few hundred of these birds permanently in our garden, we plant a lot of autumn / winter flowering plants to keep them in the garden all year.  I couldn’t get the shutter finger and the birds on the sunny side of the flowers to work in unison this time so a shaded bird on the wing shall have to do this time.  I have a while to go before I’m really back to feeling 100%.

This photo is only taken with a 105mm focal length lens at the closest working distance I could reach without disturbing the birds off the flowers.  Hand held with my every trusty D700 + Kiron 105mm f/2.8 micro lens @ f/5.6, 1/1000th sec, ISO 1250.

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

My contribution this week is from a session with a client I’ve had recently, she asked me to create a photo book for her and this was the cover she chose. The book turned out perfect, by the way 🙂 

I look forward to seeing all your photos.

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/10

 

 

 

 Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

Another shot from my trip into the woods

 

   

 

 Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

The Ring – got engaged Saturday

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Haig Tchamitch

 In keeping with shots taken after sunset, I managed to capture this fast moving ant while I was out looking for sunset shots.

This is a ‘huge’ bug exhibit currently on display at the Desert Botanical Gardens here inPhoenix.

Pentax k5, sigma 10-20 @ 20mm, f/7.1, ISO 800, 1/8 sec, -2.0 EV.  Handheld.

 

 

 

 Gej Jones

Another stack

 

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman

 This Lesser Goldfinch probably would have been a tasty appetizer for the hawk. I found it munching on some sunflower seeds along the canal bank where I walk my dogs. D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/1600. f/6.3, ISO 400.

Jeannean

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

