Week 92 – November 2, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

October Snows

35 years, that how long I’ve been going to Vermont. In all those years I’ve never seen a October with 20 inches of snow. 5 fell on Friday and another 15 Saturday night. This was yesterday in Wardsboro, WindamCountyseemed to get more than northern Vermont. Some fall leaves still on the trees and knee deep snow on the ground. Throw in a bight bright blue sunny day and temperatures in the 30’s and you have one the best days of the year. 

Sunday it seemed like 3 seasons rolled into 1 , Fall with some foliage left, Winter with the new snow and Spring with the great warm weather, sunshine and melting snow.

By the way, that’s Junior and his sister Jillian a little don the road taking pictures.

Nikon D300 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED A18mm ISO 250   1/640 sec   f/13  October 30, 2011   2:19:04PM

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

“Shado the pirate” — This is my neighbor’s pet wearing his Halloween costume. I’m sure he’s thinking, “The things I have to do to satisfy these humans.”

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/8, 1/1000 sec

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

Ma Solitude

Wandering around Clatsop Spit nearFortStevensin Warrenton, I came across this scene.. for some reason it reminded me of the song by Georges Moustaki, “Ma Solitude”, hence the title.

Pentax k5, Tamron 28-75 @ 75mm, f/7.1, 1/800, ISO 800, EV + 0.7

 This where you will also find the wreck of the Peter Iredale. The Peter Iredale was a four-masted steel barque sailing vessel that ran ashore October 25, 1906, on theOregoncoast en route to theColumbia River.  All that’s left of that wreck is pretty much a part of the bow. (wiki) 

Pentax k5,  Sigma 10-20 @ 10mm, f/11, 1/160 sec, ISO 400, EV +0.7

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Sailing the boat fromConnecticuttoKey WestFloridafor the winter . Taken along the way.

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

Precious memories.  Hoping for a little of the Mayberry/Opie look here.

 

 

 Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

My daughter was so excited to get these beautiful silver engraved stirrups at the benefit auction we had this past weekend for the stables where we board her horse.

She put them on immediately of course and they match really nice with her saddle.  It’s always something to buy when you have a horse, but luckily this time, she used her birthday money.

Have a great week everyone, one of these weeks I’ll get a minute and comment on each of your photos.  I do love them all, beautiful work.

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Landscape, 1/166 sec, f/9, ISO 100

 

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.  The VIVID week was so successful and everyone did a great job, everyone.  These theme week do challenge me and it makes me think a bit more than normal week.
My submission this week is a bit different.  There was an event at Leica Ginza Store and I had an opportunity to do a short photo session with Leica’s S2 system.  Wonderful body (and the price, too….).  I didn’t have much time with the model, but thanks to the equipment, lighting, and a beautiful model, I think I did okay for a “beginner”.  I am really NOT used to taking people, so I did not know what to do or say and I was so nervous 🙂  Enjoy the product of that sweaty experience.  Ken
www.kih.me

Leica S2, 70mm, f2.8, ISO320 (Auto ISO, I guess)

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Thanks for the comments on my photo last week, very appreciated.

Has not seen the sun for more than a week now, but on Saturday around a little
lake this motive came up. So, to get an actual photo you get it.

Have a nice week all

Jens

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

One Day at a Time

Oh how can we even imagine what it is like to live one day at a time.

Cannon EOS 60D, ISO 100, f/8, 270, 1/100

 

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

Great Vivid week pics. Thanks Wayne and Gej for your nice comments. This is another pic from the playground. I hope these two remain friend for many years.

Nikon D3, Nikon  80-400, 280 mm, F/22, 1/80 SS, ISO 800

 

 

 Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

These drummers are part of a Japanese drum group which performed a few weeks ago here in Jhubei. The drum style known as Taiko inJapanhas mixed Chinese-Japanese origins and is taken very seriously here inTaiwan. A recent large competition was held which hosted people from all overAsia. 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello everyone!

This week’s photo was taken on theDravariver near my hometown in the summer evening.

Equipment:OlympusE3, Olympus ED 9-18mm, Cokin GND 4, tripod.

Best regards, Davorin

My photos: www.davorinmance.com 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Cows under Apple Tree

Sunday after the October snow storm

 

 

David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

This scene always catches my eye when I drive past it. I don’t know what became of the barn. The house, too, is no longer there. I’d been thinking this might make a good photo, so when I had the opportunity recently I took several shots.

Thanks again to all who have taken the time to comment on my photos over the weeks and months. I have yet to make any individual comments (I tend to get “tongue tied” if I try), but I hope to do so eventually = )

Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

I’m inLondonin the beginning of an european trip. Last Sunday I went to listen and take pics to Speaker’s Corner inHyde Park. What a colorful bunch of crazy people. Very Funny

“Too many people speak in name of God so I will speak for Satan”

Nikon D300+ 18-200 @ 120mm ISO 800 – f 5.3 – 1/100

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Last saturday I was on trip in part ofCroatianamed Istra. It’s a peninsula with rich culture and diverse landscape, with lot of little towns along the coast and inland, on small hills. If any of you will be near or inCroatia, I strongly advise you to visit Istra as well. Trip was organized by local photo clubs for Fotoklub Čakovec that both Davorin and I are members. I won’t speculate on his photo though. 😉

So, as some of you might seen, recently i bought Nikon F70 (film camera) in mint condition for less than 50$ and I decided to take it to trip with me so I would have wide angle lens on digital, and telephoto lens on film. I’ve had two rolls of expired Fujipro 160 asa, and I finished them both.  This is photo of two small towns there, lower one is named Kostanjica and one on the top is Motovun.

Nikon F70 + Tamron 70-300@300mm f8 or 11, 160asa.

Thank you Gej, Wayne and Peggy for making comments! I appreciate them very much.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

On the run … taken earlier this year during a match … while testing out the TC-20E III teleconverter.  Conclusion … long length and good image quality in a tight package that can be hand held.

Nikon D300 + 70-200VRII fitted with TC-20E III at f/5.6, 1/640s, 400 mm and ISO 200 (hand held)

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Earth Signs BeforeSunrise”

I am drawn to this art over and over again for the past 15 mos. The other day I had good timing about 10 mins. before sunrise with the awesomeBayBridgeas a background structural icon along with the relatively new Pier 14. This is on the SF Embarcadero and is the Raygun Gothic Rocketship. How far do you want to go?  How much do you have to risk — to Barnard’s Star or to the red dwarf Proxima Centauri (“Alpha Centauri C”)? 

Canon EOS 7D, shot raw (18MP); 16-35 f/2.8 lens, ISO 800, -2/3 EC, f/3.5, 1/200.

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning to all Sharpshooters around the world.  Thank you to everyone who commented last week.  Most appreciated!

Had a little fun a while back and tried something that I had seen on YouTube. It was easy and fun to do.  Hope you like it. We didn’t have a single guest come to our house.  Here’s hoping you have some leftover Halloween candy to enjoy.  

Have a great week! 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

This was one of the photos I took last week when my son and I visited the butterfly farm and which I had planned to use for the vivid theme. My son picked this one for my photo of the day on my 365 project as he liked the butterflys stripey eyes. I hope you like them too!
Hope you all had a good Halloween, I really enjoyed it this year as the children were old enough to get into the spirit and we had fun carving pumpkins and made parkin (Yorkshire gingerbread) last week so it had time to age before Halloween.
Thank you for the comments on last weeks photos

Emma x 

 

 

 

Per-Christian Nilssen – Sarpsborg, Norway

The autumn is over us, and the foliage is presenting itself from its best, with lots of strong colors. 

Thank you everyone for your nice comments the last weeks.

Per-Chr.

Nikon D300, Nikkor 18-70mm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jim Fredriksson – Lond Island, New York

Southold 125th Anniversary of Volunteer Fire Dept. Parade

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

A couple of weeks back a major local cycle race (Jayco Herald – Sun Tour) passed through my neck of the woods and as I was off work at the time, I took the opportunity to drive up the road and set in waiting for the race to pass by.  I’m a keen cyclist myself but would rather be on the camera end of these bikes as the glare of the overhead sun made for a very warm humid day, quite exhausting conditions for riding in the peleton, esp. up this moderate slope I was set up on.  Quite often photography for me is about enjoying the moment as much as it is capturing the images, the countryside was green and healthy and sun was out and there was a bike race to enjoy as they ground their way past me…….. what more could I ask for…?

Captured hand held with D700 + Nikkor AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 lens from roadside.  35mm,  f/9,  1/800th sec,  ISO 400  Active D lighting set to’normal’

 

 

 

 Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Shot this photo while waiting for a train in an obscure train station somewhere inRomania. It was the same place and moment when I took one of my favorite portrait shot of Mony presented here some times this summer, pretty amazing how some nice photo opportunities might come up in rather unexpected moments or places.

Technical info: Nikon F3HP, Nikon 50mm F/1.8 D lens, Kodak TriX 400, Nikon Coolscan 900ED.

 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hello everyone.  Each week seems to just get better and better.

While out photographing the dogs, I noticed an osprey hunting in the area.  Now my big wish and desire is to get photos of his fishing sequence. Now, I have not even come close to doing so, but have had great fun watching him.

I like this shot because you can  see those deadly talons.

D7000   300mm f/4 with 1.4 TC

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

My picture this week is an attempt at capturing a sunset at the beach- I went to Perdido Key for the weekend with a friend while our husbands were at the Georgia-Florida football game. Go Dawgs!  (I’m anAuburnfan but gotta pull for the home team!)  It really was a beautiful sunset but I would have liked it if there had been some clouds to add some drama.  The night before was too cloudy- oh well!    I really want some lessons from Gej after viewing his sunset shots on facebook – I’ll be back in PK around Thanksgiving so will give it another go – maybe remembering the tripod will help a bit.

Hope everyone has a great week- thanks to those who commented last week- there were some beautiful shots once again!

 

 

 Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

Dear Gej, Dear Wayne, thanks a lot for great words to my post last week. I appreciated. Gej, you may imagine that how important the vivid colors in Hindustani culture and art. Artists were using many basins for coloring rices before laying them on soil at surround of a giant ghee pot. Rice is also one of the best growing products in Suriname. 

I was one of invited photographers for four days long 9th Suriname Jazz Festival. My photo taken during “Jazz in the Street”, the last day of festival while one of the member of Jean Durham Jazz Group performing. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,
Ertugrul Kilic
http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D AF, Aperture Priority, f/1.4, 1/100sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

Sorry if you saw this already, but I liked the shot, so thought I’d post it here too. Kiskadee in flight. (Nikon D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/1000, f/6.3, ISO 400) Tags: Kiskadee

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

 Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

A shot taken in Surprise,Arizonaduring Texas Rangers training camp exhibition game against the Cubs. I was amazed at the amount of flexibility CJ Wilson (pitcher) has, and took about 20 different shots to get it just at the right moment. Photo converted to B&W in Lightroom, added red gradient in photoshop to simulate slight light-leak.

Nikon D3000 300mm 1/1000@ f//5.6 ISO200

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.

Last week’s photos were once again truly inspiring. Such a wondeful selection each week from everyone.

I’m coming to enjoy these themed weeks. Decided this week to combine a shoot I have been wanting to do with the vivid theme. Quite happy with the result.

Taken with a Nikon D300 Tamron 70-300VC @ 300mm 1/160s f/6.3 200 ISO

 

 

 

Jana HughesBrisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Wonderful work last week.   My photo from this week is from a mega-session I did on Saturday. All 3 ladies left very happy after 9 hours of photography, everything went really well. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to your photos.   Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8 @ ISO 200, 1/200s, f/8

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Joseph Leotta

Dots ofDover

There’s more to enjoy in Vermontthan scenery. For as long as I can remember my favorite Breakfast and lunch is Dot’s of Dover. It’s a nice cozy dinner restaurant in DoverVermontright on Route 100. Now the food is good but what makes the place is the people. We never sit at a table but always choose the counter show here. There is just so much interaction going on with all the staff that has become friends over the years,

This is one of the best things about Vermont, cozy place, good food and great people. We go out for breakfast more than we eat it in. If we haven’t been to Vermont for a while, it’s the 1st place we want to go to.

 

 

Peggy G

Beautiful morning at J. P.ColemanState Parkwhich is in a cove off the Tennessee River.  At about 8:30 a.m. on the morning we left, my grandson just could not resist one last swing.  And I could not resist several last photos!  Beautiful mist coming off the water, beautiful sunshine, just right temps – what could be better!
 
Nikon D7000, Tamron 18-270, 46mm, F/8, 1/1000, ISO560

 

 

 Roberta Davidson

Vampires and Halloween go hand and hand.    Below is a close up of a  naturally black and white “blood sucker”.  It is the Asian Tiger mosquito.   It is not native to theUnited Statesand came to theUS  in a shipment of used automobile tires .

The difference between this breed of mosquito and our local mosquito  is that the Asian Tiger  feeds all day long and not only at night.    

For those that are curious , that is my hand it is feeding on.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

