Week 93 – November 9, 2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

TheBronxRiver

This one surprised me. In the middle of The West Farms Section of the South Bronx there is a small park on the side of the BronxRiver. It’s in the middle of a run down urban section that I must have passed a 100 times but would never stop and go into. I had to call on a client about 2 blocks away and ended up parking by the park. On the way back to my car I decided to check it out. Mind you this is in a congested urban area and surrounded by apartment buildings and crowded streets.

I’m completely shocked that I got this shot there off of180th street andBoston Post Road. No one in my house believes me about where I took it. TheBronxRiver is mostly hidden there. Large parts of it are covered over, pass thru small concrete channels between buildings or are just out of sight as it snakes it way to the long Island sound. 

This may be a bit soft, these are the shots I was taking when the silent wave focus motor in the 18-200 self destructed.  Nikon says the repair involves replacing the SWM, zoom helicoil and a sensor, not covered by warranty.

 

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

 I’ve had a particularly hard week at work so I was happy take part in this weeks theme of Serenity on the 365 Project. I found this flower growing on one of the paths near my house and although not perfect I thought it was still beautiful.
I hope you’ve all had a good week and although I’ve not had time to comment last weeks photos were spectacular.

Shot with Canon EOS 350D at 120mm plus 14mm extension tube. Aperture F/5.6 ISO 200 Exposure 1/50 sec

 

 

 

 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

It was foggy Saturday morning and the sunlight was streaming in, dew was everywhere, and I shot this at the side of my driveway.  I tried several close ups of the spiderwebs, but my droplets just weren’t good enough.  I changed up the color quite a bit on this photo, I hope it looks ok.
 
I am so sorry I did not get to complete my comments last week.  I will try to do better next time. 
 
Nikon D7000, Tamron 18-270, 78mm, AF-S, F/5.6, 1/250s, Auto ISO 100.

 

 

 

Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This shot is from the WWII Memorial inWashingtonDCand I’m using it this week in honor of Veteran’s Day –  my dad was a WWII and Korean war vet and he was fromUtah- this is for him and for all those who served / serve.  Have a great week everyone

 

 

 

 Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

Thanks for commenting my photo from last week, very much appreciated.

Finally after two weeks the sun broke through, shortly I was in the forest again and only had a few minutes to catch it, this is what i got..

And then now and back to grey and foggy weather.

The museum season ended last week so I hope I can find time to comment on all the photos soon.

All the best

Jens

 

 

 

 Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

 A big thank you to all of you that made comments here and on Facebook.. much appreciated J

I have anotherOregonscene for you this week.  I had so many interesting photos from my trip toSeaside, that I’m afraid as I look into my crystal ball, I see moreOregoncoastline shots in your future..

This one is a view ofCannonBeachand the Haystack, fromEcolaState Park.

Pentax k5, DA 55-300 @ 230mm, F/8, 1/800 sec, ISO 400

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

Caught this guy having a snack

 

 

 

Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

 I was so excited to finally get a shot of an American Kestrel in the wild. They are the smallest falcon inNorth Americaand are usually sitting on poles or wires waiting for prey. I startled this one and got off one shot. I was lucky it was in focus!

(D90/70-300mm VR @ 1/1600, f/6.3, ISO 400) Tags: American Kestrel

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com

 

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

“Barefoot but not pregnant”

I have seen this women sitting against this wonderful and vibrant wall 2 out of the 3 times that I have been toChinatown.  I am sure you can see why I was so drawn to her.   I did not speak to her, but maybe one of these days I will.

Cannon EOS 60D, ISO 100, f/6.3, 270mm, 1/50

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

Cedar Hill Football

This is Cedar Hill junior running back Jared Rayford during the Tom Landry Classic high school football game in August. I have been asked to shoot for Cedar Hill again on Saturday the 19th when they play at the Dallas Cowboys Stadium for the State Championship playoffs. This is assuming they win this Friday night. 🙂  I am so excited and so thrilled that the school liked my work enough to approach me and ask if I would shoot for them. It will be really neat to be on the field at the Cowboys Stadium. I’ve been to several games there, but never on the field! 🙂

Nikon D90  1/2000 @ f/5.0   200mm ISO6400

 

 

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

Simple photo from me this week. It’s one from the archive, but I liked the contrast of yellow vs dark green.

Gej, tnx. for comment. To answer your question, No, the town on the hill is just older, there was town there even beforeRoman empire, while the village under is first mentioned in 12. century.

Pozdrav, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

 

 Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

I have been toKyoto(just came back late yesterday) and have hundreds of pics to go through, but I picked up these two for this week.  Not much post processing but just used HDR software in the simplest mode.  Autumn leaves season just started there and many temples were having “light-up” at night. 

 

 These are two of them and I think are good enough to show here.  I did not bring tripod and it was a bit difficult to capture it with low enough ISO.

www.kih.me
D700, 35mm f1.4 at f2, from 1/320s to 1/20s, ISO 1600, handheld

 

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello all
Last Friday in Camden Market, I don,t know what these things are but I like the light.

Nikon D300+ 18-200 VR @95 mm
ISO 1000 – f 5.3 – 1/1000

 
 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

 Took a walk last week down to our church lake. This Egret flew out of the lake and landed on the fence . He let me get pretty close as he held on tight in the very stiff wind. His hair and mine look about the same.:) Great pics last week. Looking forward to great things again.

Nikon D3, Nikon  80-400, 330 mm, F/14, 1/320 SS, ISO 500

 

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

I took this shot when we merged our girls (6 of them total) and one boy into one pasture. As you can tell, Bam was feeling a bit left out. And he was trying to hang out with the “cool” girls too…

Nikon D300s, 1/60 sec, f4.5, 17mm, center weight 

 

 

 

Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone.  The bur marigolds are in bloom .   These lovely little  aquatic flowers create a yellow blanket in the   swamp .   I found my first Gulf Fritillary and was absolutley thrilled when it landed on the gorgeous yellow flowers.

D7000   300 mm f /5.6  1/1000  ( it was very windy)

 

 

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

Greetings all.Another week, another wonderful journey through the lens.Been busy shooting for a charity called Help portrait this week, and will be for another month. Wonderful concept started by an American gent by the name of Jeremy Cowart. While most places in the world will only shoot on the 10th of December, here in South Africa it’s a 3 month project with the aim of shooting and handing over 25 000 portraits to those who are in need. Sadly I cannot post any of those pics of the little faces I’ve been shooting, so instead I’m submitting something from a recent photo expo. Shot on film I’ve done no tweaks as I love the old hollywood feel to this.

Taken with a Nikon F80 (N80) and 50mm f/1.8 lens and Illford XP2 400 ISO film.

 

Now this was taken last sunday while I was out scouting locations for a forthcoming shoot. Love the colours and textures.

Taken with a Nikon D300 and Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 lens

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Photo for this week was made last weekend on my favorite river. I came on place about an hour before sunrise. I have  plenty time for searching the right spot for taking photos. I was occupied with one rock in river and not taking attention to sky behind my back. When I  turn around I see most beautiful sunrise in last few months. I set camera in that direction and start taking pictures like crazy J 

Equipment: Olympus E3,OlympusED9-18mm @ 9mm, cokin GND filter and tripod. Exposure: 1.6 sec @ f/11, ISO 100 

 

 

 

Bill Shenton – Sheldon, Connecticut

11 days after the October snow storm manyConnecticutresidents are still without power. We fortunately had ours back last Friday afternoon… 7 days after the storm. I must admit that there was something relaxing about being without power… phone… TV… mobile and Internet…

While there were trees, limbs and wires down everywhere from our recent earlyNew Englandsnow storm… I thought I would use some of this damage… a few feet from our house… to show a little different image of our Fall Foliage inNew England. The following picture shows the limbs of a large white oak that had snapped off from the weight of the wet snow

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

I would like to thank everyone for the kind words and the inclusion in this group.  I don’t think I measure up looking at some of the other work, but I am trying.  I need a sit down with Joe to learn the capabilities of this camera. 

This is one of the shots from my 18+ day sailing trip.  I helped sail a Pearson 36’ sailboat fromCape MayNJtoKey WestFL.  I have about 350 shots to go thru to find some shots that try to measure up to this group.  I seem to do OK with sunsets, they are slow moving and allow me to try several things to try to get the shot I want. 

Sunset below Frying Pan Shoals inNorth Carolina, about 35 miles offshore.  Nikon D200 F8 @ 1/250 sec.  48mm

I used the built in flash to illuminate the main sheet blocks.  The texture and reflections on the block caught my eye.

 

 

 

Bogdan Nicolescu – Pitesti, Romania

Reenacting the daily life in historical Transylvania town ofAlba Iulia, former residence of Transylvania authorities and the very first capitalRomanianKingdom. The history of this place goes way back to the time ofRoman Empirerule when existing settlement was known as Apulum and was garrisoned by the famous Legio XIII Gemina – Thirteen Twin Legion.

Shot with Nikon F6, Zeiss 35mm F/2 Distagon lens, Kodak TriX 400 film

 

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

I thought I would be different this week and take a photo of a person. 

This is a very special person to me, it’s my daughter Mallory.  She is such an angel.  I know everyone says that about their kid but for me she’s a godsend.  My memory isn’t what it used to be and she keeps me on my toes!  She’s organized, hardworking and just a joy to be around.  We laugh and sing and disagree.  We couldn’t be more different but in reality we’re actually so much alike.

This is her ‘annual’ halloween costume. I say annual because it seems like she’s a witch every year, she just does it a bit differently.  And that’s OK, she’s her own person and for that reason I love her to death!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Program AE, 1/64 sec, f/4, ISO 400

 

 

 

 

Ertugrul Kilic – Paramaribo, Suriname / South America

People are leaving from traditional passenger boat on theSuriname River. Hope you like it. Take care and many cheers you to all my dear friends. Regards,

Ertugrul Kilic

http://www.ertugrulkilic.com/

Nikon D2Xs, Zeiss Makro-Planar T* f/2 100mm ZF.2, Aperture Priority, f/4.5, 1/4000sec, ISO100, ExposureBiasValue -0.67

 

 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Hope everyone is well.

Nothing too special this week.  The sign caught my eye and I liked the colors.

Happy Shooting

 

 

 

Jana Hughes – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello Everybody,

Thank you for your very kind comments on my photo last week, this week the same model, but in a different set up. My fashion stylist Allie owns the most amazing pair of shoes and I keep photographing them on every client, this one is no exception. Stunning, aren’t they? The model was such fun and beautiful girl, laughed throughout the photo shoot, we had a great time with her. 

Have a nice week and I look forward to all your photos.

Jana

Nikon D700, 24-70mm f/2.8@ISO 200, 1/200s, f/9 

 

 

 

Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“Pier 14 SF Embarcadero – Img # 0315”

I didn’t take that many photos this past week but last Friday I did visit Pier 14 (San Francisco) — a place I go to from time to time, for a little photo inspiration. It’s an in-your-face composition and looks best printed large (at least 19×13 inches). Pier 14 is new

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 at 27mm, 11/4/11, ISO 200, f/4.

(also attached same view from late September, early morning — “the sunrise” )

 

 

 

Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is a photo I took this week of one of the gardens which I am responsible to maintaining.  I have worked for these people for nearly 10 years and have enjoyed every moment of my time in this garden.  It is the peak of the spring season here in south easternAustraliaand thus a very rewarding time for gardening.  My camera bag is always close at hand at this time of year to be ready for then the light and shade is just so.

Captured hand held with my D700 + AF-S 17-35mm Nikkor @ 30mm,  f/11, 1/320th sec.  ISO 400  with Active D lighting set to normal

 

 

 

Joshua Fahler – Jhubei City, Taiwan

This puppy was born a few weeks ago at my wife’s grandparents’ house. Her name is “Xiao Long” or “小龍” which means little dragon. Apparently, dragons are born individually as she is an only puppy. 

 

 

Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Next door renovation

 

 

 

Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

Joseph Leotta

 The most famous baseball diamond in the world.

Just a baseball diamond for kids in a park. But the history of this one cannot be beat. Babe Ruth played here. So did Joe DiMaggio.  Mickey Mantle was a regular. Roger Marris hit 61 here. Yogi and Thurman caught there and Jeter closed the place. The team that called it home won 26 of their 27 world series here.

 The original Yankee stadium came down last year after the new one was built.  The ground where it stood is now a park. A park with the most famous baseball diamond in the world.

Have a look at the just completedHeritageParkand the most sacred ground in the history of baseball.  Can’t wait for the temporary fences to come down any day and stand at the plate.

 

 

 

Stacy Winsett

 Monarch Butterfly

I posted some of these on Facebook and on my 365. I got so many beautiful photos of the Monarch butterflies at the Dallas Arboretum on November 1st. I’ve applied a slight split tone (green/purple) here to bring out some of the background colors from the field of flowers.

Nikon D90  1/500 @ f/5.6   300mm ISO250

 

 

 

Alejandro Held

With me in Camden Market was a person, that the ones that post in the Photo.net Wednesday Nikon Thread will surely remember. Anish Mankuthel. Here posing for my camera. He is not posting regularly now. He is not taking too many pictures nowadays, almost only in his travels but luckily he travels a lot and has a great collections of pics!! I told him about sharpshooters, perhaps in the future he will be a contributor also…   

Nikon D300+ 18-200 VR @24 mm
ISO 500 – f 3.8 – 1/400

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

