Week 94, All Black and White Photos – November 16,2011

Joseph Leotta – Bronx, New York

Clouds over the Harbor

I always find that B&W creates very dramatic clouds because of the way it accents the contrasts between the clouds and sky.  This fall we’ve been having plenty of storms so the ops to find the have been plentiful.   I spanned this one last month up Boston Post Road at Harbor Island Park and right away that I had to save it for our B&W theme.

Shot in raw with my favorite walk round combo – the D300 and the 18-200 lens in raw and processed in NX2.   @8mm , 1/320 sec, f/9, ISO 320, Compensation: +2/3

 

 

Stanley Beck – Jackson, Mississippi

 “Jackson Square,New Orleans” — Just about sunrise. Taken from theMississippi Riveroverlook. If you want photographs here without people, then 6:00 am is the time, otherwise, you get crowds.

Nikon D200, ISO 200, f/11, 1/15 sec., tripod

 

 

Jens V Frederiksen – Elsinore, Denmark

 My BW photo is fromCopenhagen Town Hall Placethe 11.11.11.

In the foreground a guy who tries to convince everybody about a conspiracy theory of 9/11. Not much audience. The group in the back is what’s left of the Occupy Copenhagen group, that is theCopenhagenpart of the world wideOccupy Wall Streetmovement.

To the right the entrance to the City Hall all day occupied by couples who wants to be married at that particular date. looking forward to see a lot of great photos yet again.

Have a nice week all.

Jens

 

 

Suzanne Bauer – West Dover, Vermont

It doesn’t happen enough, but when my son and daughter get along it’s magical and we have some great sidesplitting laughs!!  Today we went to the barn and my son decided to come (he was bored).  So not only did he help his sister, he got on Cinderella and rode for a little bit.  She was showing him what to do and he WAS listening to her.

It was a wonderful way to end our busy weekend.

Have a great week!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi, Auto exposure, Program AE, 1/332 sec, f/13, ISO 800

 

 

Stacy Winsett – Allen, Texas

These were all taken betweenSan AntonioandSaint Hedwig,Texas, on a weekend trip to my mother’s house to go junk shopping. 🙂 I was so excited to find some old cameras, and I need to do some research on whether there’s anyone who can still develop Verichrome Pan film. I got 2 unused rolls that are stamped with “Develop before September 1949,” but I want to shoot the film anyway just to see what will happen! I bet my old PhotoJ teacher at the highschool (he’s still there!) would LOVE to give it a shot. 🙂

Reclaimed Barn Door

Nikon D90  1/320 @ f/9.0   35mm ISO 200

Morning Fog Lifting

 Nikon D90  1/1250 @ f/5.6  300mm ISO 200

 

 

Robin Warner – Santa Monica, California

Davis

Davislives on the streets of downtown.  What a wonderful man with a beautiful soul.  We met him and talked to him for about 25 minutes about his life and how he got where he is today.  He only has one eye, his right eye is missing and i really tried to make sure that i covered it out of respect.  We gave him a lot of money (like 60 dollars) to help him through his week.  This man made an incredible impression on me and I am sad that i have not been able to see him since to give him this photo. 

 Cannon EOS 60, T 18-270, ISO 125 F/7.1, 1/125, 77mm

 

 

Filip Lucin – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello all!

I know this week will be interesting, our B&W weeks always are. 🙂 My photo is from recent trip with my photo club. This was shot on digital, cropped to square and processed in Capture NX2. I used b+w 10 stop ND filter to get longer exposure.

Nikon D80+Sigma 10-20@18mm, f11, 20 sec, ISO 100.

Greetings, Filip.

Moje fotke i blog: http://www.filiplucin.com/

 

 

Haig Tchamitch – Scottsdale, Arizona

I was inSeattlefor a visit in July of 2009.  Contrary to popular belief, the weather was fantastic (not a drop of rain!).  I think the locals tend to exaggerate these stories to keep people away.. lol

This was shot from a ferry withMt.Rainierin the background.

Pentax k20d, Tamron 28-75 @ 75mm, F/7.1, 1/800 sec, ISO 200

Converted to BW in CS3.

 

 

Alejandro Held – Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hello All

A pic taken a few days ago at San Pietro, in theVatican. The Pieta of Miguel Angel

Nikon D300 + 18-200 vr @82 mm ISO 1000 – f 5.0 – 1/50

 

 

Rick Dohme – Tampa, Florida

About 3 weeks ago, I saw this guy out front of our church. He was holding a small computer up in the air as 3 large black crows were circling over him and following him. I thought he was out there casting a spell on our church. I grabbed my camera and started taking his pic. When he saw me he started to pose for me. He then came over to talk to me. He was defiantly from another planet. 9:00 on Sunday morning and no full moon???

Nikon D3, Nikon 80-400, 400mm, F/22, 1/160 sec, 800 ISO.

 
 

 

Peggy G – Tupelo, Mississippi

This tree on the edge of a cove on the Tombigbee Waterway was almost completely blanketed by fog.
 
Nikon D7000, Tamron 18-270, 60mm, F/6.3, 1/100s, Auto ISO 100

 

 

Wayne Ervine – Johannesburg, South Africa

last week was again a wonderful collection of work. The level of work is a constant challenge and inspiration for me.

From my side seeing as it’s a black and white week, I thought for a change of pace I’d submit some shots I took while scouting out a location for a portrait shoot. I’m enjoying shooting film, especially black and white, and hope it will help me improve my digital conversions.

Photo  taken with a Nikon F80 (N80) Film is Illford XP2 400ASA.

 

 

Grant Tanner – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Hello everyone
Back from my holiday to China. Had a fantastic time
This is a photo of the mall in Wangfujing Street Beijing about 8am. The mall disappears into a smog haze the further you look down it. My lungs are still burning and i have been back in Australia for 6 days now. This mall is peppered with designer and top end shops but are very expensive. I checked out photographic equipment and it was 10-15% more expensive than i could buy it at home.
I was amazed that you could be in a city with fine weather for 4 days and not see the sky. The only thing visible was a very bright red sun

  

 

Ken Yamamoto – Tokyo, Japan

Hello everyone.  It has been really hectic week or weeks and I apologize for not commenting or responding to your comments.  Much appreciated.  Again, Kyotowas great, although the fall leaves are not at its best yet.  My submission this week is again from my recent trip to Kyoto.  This is a very well known yard – called “seki-tei” or “stone yard”.  Literally, they are all stones – small white stones and big stones put here and there.  These stones are put there with calculation for the beauty – kept like this hundreds of years.  The white stone yard is patterned every morning by the monk, I heard.  And look at the far side wall.  It is getting lower from this side to the front wall – in order to make this yard look bigger when sit in the center of the terrace.  Hope you have a great week!  Ken
www.kih.me

D700, 28-300mm @28mm, f/8, 1/100s, ISO 2000 (auto), converted to B&W by Picasa

 
 

 

Gej Jones – East Lansing Michigan

Good morning!

I had to look hard for a photo this week that I was pleased with.  Finally went back to the ‘Ferris Wheel evening’ for my photo.

Looking forward to your submissions.  B&W weeks tend to bring out the very best!

Some of you know that I have taken on a new venture.  A former student owns a printing company.  His company produces vinyl banners for billboards and other commercial businesses that are 54 inches on the short side.  The long side is only limited by the length of the vinyl.  My daughter had given me one of those Canvas on Demand Groupons for my birthday.  When I received the canvas I was very impressed.  So impressed, that I suggested to Michael that we try to produce a similar product.  For nearly 60 days, on and off, we have been experimenting.  Yesterday, I’m please to say, our work paid off.  We printed a beautiful photo that is worthy of framing.  Now all I need is wall space.

Have a wonderful week.

Gej 

 

 

 

 Matthew Brennan – Birregurra, Victoria, Australia

This is a scene I pass every Tuesday when I leave work.  MountGellibrandis a dormant volcanic hill on a farming property where I tend the gardens on Tuesdays.  This photo is just taken from the side of the gravel road leading into the farm – the difference in light from the morning drive in and the drive out in the afternoon is remarkable.  The same scene in different light on the same day is barely recognisable.  This is a place where I really love to observe the light and the way it plays on the surrounding landscape.  I take many photographs on this volcanic plain area which is just a 15 minute drive from where I live.  There is nothing particularly special about this image, just some long spring grass going to seed, being tossed by the warm afternoon winds with a long view up the north slope of the mount.  There was a cloud front breaking over the sky as I drove out this past Tuesday so I stopped and took a few frames with this week’s B&W special in mind. 

Captured hand held with D700 +  AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 @ 28mm, f/9,  1/640th sec, ISO 800 and a CPL filter fitted and converted to B&W in PsCs3

 

 

 

Emma Roberts – Coventry, England

I forgot it was a black and white theme this week and on Friday (Armistice Day) I decided I would use my photo from then for this week. Well, that won’t work because it’s in colour!
Instead I looked back and realised I took a LOT of black and white photos during October, so here is another picture from Tropical Bird Land in Leicestershire.
(If you want to have a look at teh photo I would have used it’s on my 365 project here: http://365project.org/emmar84/365/2011-11-11)
 
Hope you’ve all ahd a good week.
Emma

 

 

 

Davorin Mance – Cakovec, Croatia

Hello sharpshooters!

„Black river“ is the photo for this week. It is taken on one of my favorites spot on river. Foggy morning ruined my plans to photograph the sunrise so I turned to search for motifs suitable for black and white images. Fortunately, I’ve taken a few photos with which I am extremely pleased. One of them is in front of you.

Equipment:OlympusE3, Olympus ED9-18 @ 9mm, 30sec @ f/11, ISO 100, filter: glass from welding mask, tripod. PP in photoshop.

Regards, Davorin

www.davorinmance.com

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman – McAllen, Texas

As most of you know, I don’t do post processing very well and always have trouble with black and white conversions. I forgot this week was a black and white week, so hadn’t taken any shots with that in mind to make matters worse. So…I decided to download a trial of Nik’s Silver Efex Pro and see if it could do the job for me. I like it a lot for ease of use and intuitiveness. Pretty darn simple! I’m sure in the right hands, it could be a wonderful tool. With my “click and see what that looks like” approach, it did ok. I’m sure it would have helped to have better photos to work with. Anyway, these are two of the effects I got my clicking on a preset. Like I said, EASY! 😉 The first photo is of a Queen Butterfly on a Crucita plant and the second is a pack of wild Javelinas I ran into not long ago (and Silver Efex did the border on that one in one click :).

Jeannean
http://jeannean.zenfolio.com/

 

 

 

 Roberta Davidson – Destrehan, Louisiana

Hi everyone !   Hope you all had a great week.

Mr. Lloyd is the subject of my black and white photo.  Mr. Lloyd is about 85 years old and is out every morning at 6:00 am doing what he loves —-  training retreivers at no charge to the guys.

So in the words, of Mr. Lloyd,  ” Find what you love to do and get up everyday and do it”

 

 

 

 David Fisk – Sullivan, Ohio

The Past In The Present”

An Amish farm in Ashland County Ohio.

 Panasonic Lumix FZ35

 

 

 

 Greg Kowalczewski – Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

As a young boy I enjoyed being a fast bowler in the game of cricket.  My son who now plays cricket has always been a wicket keeper (or the “catcher” for those more familiar with baseball).  During the pre season trials for the U/16 A team that he plays for it was discovered that he can bowl faster than anyone else in his team.  The coach asked him if he wouldn’t mind opening the bowling for the team. Last week in his first full game as an opening bowler he removed both opening batsman and collected a third wicket in his second spell.  Here is the delivery that knocked over one of the openers.  This shot in B&W reminded me of the way cricket shots were shown in newspapers back in the 1970’s and 1980’s.

Nikon D3s + 200-400 VRII at 400 mm, 1/1000s, ISO 400 (with monopod)

 

 

 

 Sandi Mahncke – Snellville, Georgia

This is a shot from the central area of the Cemetery- one of the 4 structures that makes up the Piazza del Duomo inPisa- and an example of medieval architecture.  I enjoyed visitingPisaeven though there really is not much to the city beyond theLeaningTowerand the rest of the Piazza area but I really liked the style of the buildings.  It was a beautiful day with an amazingly blue sky and white puffy clouds but I like the effect in black/white too.  

Hope everyone has a great week

 

 

 

 Don Enderlein – Brooks, Georgia

Another of my favorite coast ofFranceshots.

Nikon D300s 1/500 sec, f11, 50.0mm, center weight

 

 

 

 Ken Papai – San Rafael, California

“The Sad Remainders”

What’s left after the Cabernet Sauvignon harvest which occurred two weeks ago in thisSonomaValleyvineyard.

Canon EOS 7D, 24-70 at 70mm, manual focus, f/5, 1/50, ISO 200, 11/11/11. Shot raw and convert to B&W with a tint, sRGB for proper Web/email/PDF display.

However, these grapes more fermented brothers & sisters will likely go into a wonderful bottle of red wine, vintage 2011! These very few grapes remaining will fertilize the vines for the 2012 harvest.

-Ken Papai

 

 

 

Joseph Leotta, Junior – New York, New York

This is a shot I took 2 weeks back afterVermontgot a foot and half of snow. I was taking a few shots with Dad of the foliage, snow, and some very friendly cows in a field, when I snapped this picture of the barbed fence that kept the cows in. Simple shot, but I’m a fan of it, especially after it was converted to B/W.

 

 

 

Steven Lakose – Wallingford, Connecticut

Black and white harbor shot

 

 

 

 Special Bonus Photo Section

The bonus photo is of interest from somewhere in the world

 Jens V Frederiksen

In 93 (1993) I was on vacation in china and inBeijingI saw a huge amount of bicycles.

Now inCopenhagen, the present ‘city of bikes’ there are even more. This photo is from the centre of the city at a Metro and local train station.

Jens

 

 

 Jeannean Ryman

 

 

 Ken Papai

“Old Vine Zin”

This stout, gnarly, old, moss-covered Zinfandel from Pagani Ranch has produced scores of superb vintages from its bounty.  Two of the better wineries that use Pagani’s grapes are Ridge & St. Francis.
SonomaValley photo on 11/11/11

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

